Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer

LostAndFound
post Jun 8 2023, 10:38 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jun 7 2023, 03:36 PM)
https://www.tyrereviews.com/

Go into this website, select your tire size on the upper right hand side, select summer tyres and check on the recommendation tires.
Clink into the tire which your interested like example Falken ZE310

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Falken/ZIE...E310-EcoRun.htm

Check on the Latest Tyre Test Results
click on the View Full Test>> link and see the tires being tested.

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Article/2023-Be...yres-Tested.htm

look under into Environment, Noise area and also the tire ranking below of their remarks.
These look like awesome resources. I'm sure I'm missing some understanding due to being a newbie though, does this site or related site have 'tyre 101' to help understand what it means?
LostAndFound
post Nov 17 2023, 01:37 PM

6,257 posts

Hi sifu sekalian, please advise. Subaru XV (second hand AWD 2016 manufacture) tyres, these are the front tyre (Michelin)

And these are the rear tyre (Continental)

The rear looks like has reached the marker already, does it need changing urgently or relatively soon?

The front still can use? Or better to change 4 same time? Or perhaps swap front to rear and then change out the Continentals?

My regular drive is roughly 70-85km per day, mostly highway in Klang valley. Thank you for your time.
LostAndFound
post Nov 27 2023, 01:14 PM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Nov 19 2023, 10:50 AM)

In a way I find your current practice of differing tyre brands/models between front and rear axles as being practical and helpful to the wallet. Suggesting all four tyres must be of similar brand models (with aftermarket tyres) is a MYTH out of fear-mongering related, to me.
Thank you for your response and teaching. Now to explore tyre brand/types....
LostAndFound
post Nov 30 2023, 08:22 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(FatGrass91 @ Nov 29 2023, 09:21 PM)
Hi Sifu, any brand to recommend me? me using ori Atlas tyre that comes with my saga (latest one). Now mileage already 16K + haven change tyre before, driving every day and do alot of cornering thus need tyre with good grip 🙏
Wah 16k mileage only already wanna change tyre?

0.0705sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:36 AM