5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

is it ok to buy refurbished laptops?

c64
post Jul 11 2022, 09:43 AM

711 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Jul 11 2022, 12:11 AM)
FYI iPad processor are better than half laptops in the market.
But but....can it run Windows???
sunny281199
post Jul 11 2022, 09:47 AM

66 posts

take a look here:
https://www.dell.com/en-my/outlet/SystemsSt...20Tablets&pid=2

I brought 2 Inspirons for my kid studies (15", 11th gen i7, 8gb ram, 512gb), so far used for 6months, no issue, comes with 1 year warranty on hardware 1-1 exchange on site. Can purchase extended warranty.

This post has been edited by sunny281199: Jul 11 2022, 09:49 AM
SUSbananajoe
post Jul 11 2022, 09:53 AM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Jul 11 2022, 09:32 AM)
any reason ?can share

thanks ...
current generation is 11th.

for the price u are paying for anything below 6th, performance wise doest make any sense.

just to give you some perseptive.

11th gen i3 is equally or better than 4th gen i7 in terms of performance and battery saving. you will also have less failing parts and easier to get those for newer gen

This post has been edited by bananajoe: Jul 11 2022, 10:20 AM
pakmulau
post Jul 11 2022, 10:10 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(sunny281199 @ Jul 11 2022, 09:47 AM)
take a look here:
https://www.dell.com/en-my/outlet/SystemsSt...20Tablets&pid=2

I brought 2 Inspirons for my kid studies (15", 11th gen i7, 8gb ram, 512gb), so far used for 6months, no issue, comes with 1 year warranty on hardware 1-1 exchange on site. Can purchase extended warranty.
wowww thank you very much for sharing this link

never know that dell malaysia got this hidden section for refurbished laptop
jayjay
post Jul 11 2022, 11:02 AM

Jay Tiew Jin Jie
1,720 posts

I wouldn't buy a refurbished (rubbish) laptop in 2022.

Now that supply chain issues have been resolved,
you can pick up a NEW laptop that
performs similar or vastly superior to refurbished "i7" laptop

Not to mention there are many new technologies such as:
1. Fast Charging
(get 80% battery charge that lasts 6-8 hours of usage)

2. Noise Cancellation
(remove your mic background noise)

3. High Refresh screen (120hz)
Vibrant colors LED screen (IPS Panel instead of old LCD)

If you can spend the extra,
this Dell i3 (12th generation) laptop performance will last you years.
https://www.dell.com/en-my/shop/laptop-note...ni35201003plamy

This post has been edited by jayjay: Jul 11 2022, 11:02 AM
rooney723
post Jul 11 2022, 11:08 AM

596 posts

QUOTE(jayjay @ Jul 11 2022, 11:02 AM)

1. Fast Charging

2. Noise Cancellation

intel celeron or pentium? lol

nowadays u can get used 7th 8th gen i5 laptops for around 1.5k, still much better than a celeron or pentium processors
jayjay
post Jul 11 2022, 11:21 AM

Jay Tiew Jin Jie
1,720 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Jul 11 2022, 11:08 AM)
intel celeron or pentium? lol

nowadays u can get used 7th 8th gen i5 laptops for around 1.5k, still much better than a celeron or pentium processors
Might want to do some research before giving advice...

7th Gen and 8th Gen i5
doesn't come with 1 Year Dell/HP/Lenovo onsite warranty
doesn't come with the latest tech (Fast Charging)

But performs slower/around a Pentium 7505

https://www.cpu-monkey.com/en/compare_cpu-i...l_core_i5_7300u

This post has been edited by jayjay: Jul 11 2022, 11:23 AM
azbro
post Jul 11 2022, 11:46 AM

4,403 posts

Depending on what and how you use the laptop, when plugged in, my kids I5 2nd Gen (16gb, SSD) no difference with my I5 7gen and also 11gen for MS Office.

Zer0 c00L
post Jul 11 2022, 11:52 AM

i haz hammer!
3,510 posts

Almost no reason to get refurbished when u can get a brand new r5 5500u for 1.8k
sgpdsmss
post Jul 12 2022, 10:04 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(bananajoe @ Jul 11 2022, 09:53 AM)
current generation is 11th.

for the price u are paying for anything below 6th, performance wise doest make any sense.

just to give you some perseptive.

11th gen i3 is equally or better than 4th gen i7 in terms of performance and battery saving. you will also have less failing parts and easier to get those for newer gen
just purchased used hp 840 g3..i7 6500,16h ram,256 ssd 900RM ..
hope can serve for long ...
rooney723
post Jul 12 2022, 10:35 AM

596 posts

QUOTE(jayjay @ Jul 11 2022, 11:21 AM)
Might want to do some research before giving advice...

7th Gen and 8th Gen i5
doesn't come with 1 Year Dell/HP/Lenovo onsite warranty
doesn't come with the latest tech (Fast Charging)

But performs slower/around a Pentium 7505

https://www.cpu-monkey.com/en/compare_cpu-i...l_core_i5_7300u

pentium gold 7505? show me where can u get a pentium 7505 laptop for below 2k, im comparing those pentium silver N or celeron J , N series processors
anakkk
post Jul 12 2022, 10:38 AM

2,119 posts

some big band has their own refub online shop like DELL
SUSbananajoe
post Jul 12 2022, 10:40 AM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Jul 12 2022, 10:04 AM)
just purchased used hp 840 g3..i7 6500,16h ram,256 ssd 900RM ..
hope can serve for long ...
6th gen still ok la not bad. How much u got it for ?
SUSbananajoe
post Jul 12 2022, 10:42 AM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

QUOTE(jayjay @ Jul 11 2022, 11:02 AM)

1. Fast Charging

2. Noise Cancellation

I3 new gen is not bad. It is more than sufficient for day to day use..

sgpdsmss
post Jul 12 2022, 11:32 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(bananajoe @ Jul 12 2022, 10:40 AM)
6th gen still ok la not bad. How much u got it for ?
RM900
joedpa82
post Jul 12 2022, 11:34 AM

586 posts

Bought thinkpad z420. Best investment ever.
herojack41
post Jul 12 2022, 11:35 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

for me...anything below 8th gen is a big no

cause im using 8th gen and is still capable
SUSbananajoe
post Jul 12 2022, 11:47 AM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Jul 12 2022, 11:32 AM)
RM900
Not bad
sgpdsmss
post Jul 12 2022, 11:54 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(bananajoe @ Jul 12 2022, 11:47 AM)
Not bad
great ...mainly for kids use for online tuition class + utube for them
toiletwater
post Jul 12 2022, 12:00 PM

531 posts

Purchase a 2nd hand tablet. That's what I did. Can consume media during lunch break using cellular. TV shows, movies and manga. If going for android can download flud and torrent.

Screens & battery life are normally better. Downside: cannot play PC games only iOS/android.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0237sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:37 PM