Can we connect refrigerator to an extension cord?

TSsharpfick91 P
post Jul 8 2022, 11:35 AM, updated 4y ago

Probation

Hi
I have a question

Is it safe to connect a refrigerator to an extension cord?

How to choose which extension cord is safe to connect with a refrigerator?

Hope I can get good answer here.
Thank you
marfccy
post Jul 8 2022, 11:38 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

quick answer, yes

long answer, no if your extension cord is being used with other devices. fridge are high power consumption devices and they usually saturate a single consumer home powerline which usually maxes at 2200-2500W per socket. you wouldnt want to underpower your fridge would you?
kuntilanak
post Jul 8 2022, 11:39 AM

977 posts

not recommended, but if no other way, connect only the fridge to extension and hope for the best lo...
kuntilanak
post Jul 8 2022, 11:40 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 8 2022, 11:38 AM)
quick answer, yes

long answer, no if your extension cord is being used with other devices. fridge are high power consumption devices and they usually saturate a single consumer home powerline which usually maxes at 2200-2500W per socket. you wouldnt want to underpower your fridge would you?
worst if you overload the extension...
FusionXY
post Jul 8 2022, 11:42 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

Never!
Waiting house to burn.
marfccy
post Jul 8 2022, 11:49 AM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(kuntilanak @ Jul 8 2022, 11:40 AM)
worst if you overload the extension...
been there too, last time we plugged in two induction cooker onto a single socket without knowing it was under single socket

suffice to say we burnt the main socket out and destroyed the extension. there were even smoke kek
MrBaba
post Jul 8 2022, 11:51 AM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jul 8 2022, 11:38 AM)
quick answer, yes

Normal 1-1.5k je 2k one expensive
acbc
post Jul 8 2022, 11:52 AM

9,048 posts

Can but don't share with toaster, oven, rice cooker and others which generates heat.
SUSbananajoe
post Jul 8 2022, 11:53 AM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

Nope
Zot
post Jul 8 2022, 12:02 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(sharpfick91 @ Jul 8 2022, 11:35 AM)
Hi
I have a question

Is it safe to connect a refrigerator to an extension cord?
Yes it is safe and No because normally extension is poorly design and not designed for high power load to be use permanently and continuously. Over time it will tend to heat up due to poor contact and cause possible fire.

How to choose which extension cord is safe to connect with a refrigerator?
I guess none in the market. However, if you buy socket with casing (best is heavy duty metal one) and make your own extension with 2.5mm wire, then you are good.

Hope I can get good answer here. 
Thank you
marfccy
post Jul 8 2022, 12:12 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Jul 8 2022, 11:51 AM)
Normal 1-1.5k je 2k one expensive
yah but theyre still very iffy to the power cheap extension cords can provide

if insufficient later fridge not cold enough etc, then come home to dead fridge is never a fun experience
ApocalypseSoon
post Jul 8 2022, 12:15 PM

214 posts

If the refrigerator is "Inverter" then it is safe as it consume less power.
U can also check the extension plug/cable temperature, if after few hour of connecting it become hot then it is unsuitable.

This post has been edited by ApocalypseSoon: Jul 8 2022, 12:17 PM
Fzeo
post Jul 8 2022, 12:19 PM

455 posts

1. yes. heavy duty extension.
2. also check the fuse if supports a higher ampere.

else, either socket or fuse is damaged.
max_cavalera
post Jul 8 2022, 01:43 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Just dont.

My ex colleague flat terbakar coz he do exactly this.

Use extension and shared with other high powered device like coway, etc2
brkli
post Jul 8 2022, 01:48 PM

592 posts

depend on what kind of refrigerator. if low capacity, 2 door or 1 door. most likely it peak wattage also around 300-500W or so. as long as you dun hook it up with other appliances and add up consume more than what the extension and your single socket rated power, should be fine.
nihility
post Jul 8 2022, 01:55 PM

1,596 posts

Not advisable.

Usually a ring circuit from 16A MCB will have 2 nos of 13A SSO. Unless you are certain about the power consumption of all the devices connecting to the extension cord power rating will not exceed the 8A simultaneously when used together with the refrigerator. Remember, refrigerator got rotating equipment (compressor ) which required higher ampere during compressor kick in.
pretty23
post Jul 8 2022, 02:04 PM

1,791 posts

can. Make sure the extension material is good enough.

Example

GoodMorningMY
post Jul 8 2022, 02:06 PM

34 posts

make sure your total amp not exceed the rated amp on your extension cord
nihility
post Jul 8 2022, 02:20 PM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Jul 8 2022, 02:04 PM)
can. Make sure the extension material is good enough.

Example

Not accurate. It have yet to cover the worst case. Usually a 16A MCB will have 2 nos. of 13A SSO. Usually this 13A SSO will be installed close to each another. If the

1) 1st 13A SSO in used for the electrical kettle / oven
2) 2nd 13A SSO in used for refrigerator + the extension you use for another ( high power consumption device)

The 16A MCB will trip, if it did not trip/malfunction, the cable for this circuit will be melted /burned.

It has nothing to do on the material of extension cord. It start with the fundamental on how much ampere / kW the circuit can take from the 16A rated MCB.
pretty23
post Jul 8 2022, 02:25 PM

1,791 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jul 8 2022, 02:20 PM)
Not accurate. It have yet to cover the worst case. Usually a 16A MCB will have 2 nos. of 13A SSO. Usually this 13A SSO will be installed close to each another. If the

1) 1st 13A SSO in used for the electrical kettle / oven
2) 2nd 13A SSO in used for refrigerator + the extension you use for another ( high power consumption device)

The 16A MCB will trip, if it did not trip/malfunction, the cable for this circuit will be melted /burned.

It has nothing to do on the material of extension cord. It start with the fundamental on how much ampere / kW the circuit can take from the 16A rated MCB.
LOL.

extension material now on the market so damn poor, not even can reach 3000w also can melt.

0.0218sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:36 AM