9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Is Lego a good investment?

differ
post Jun 28 2022, 08:56 PM

399 posts

Ideas Sesame Street also retiring this year. May be worth to keep 1 or 2 boxes for investment.

Another one I think the price will go up if can hold is Daily Bugle. I mean just the number of minifigs alone is mindblowing.
blanket84
post Jun 28 2022, 08:58 PM

1,499 posts

QUOTE(differ @ Jun 28 2022, 08:52 PM)
Parisian Restaurant now mahal leh, now cheapest I can find in SG is between $500 to $600. I managed to get mine for $400 previously. The details and all, most ppl rank it in their top 3 modulars.

Pet Shop not expensive cos actually also not very detailed, esp the interior.
You can find people selling Parisian Restaurant in carousell for RM1,000. Few months back there was one person listing it for RM850. It took 3-4 months before it was sold.
differ
post Jun 28 2022, 09:03 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jun 28 2022, 08:58 PM)
You can find people selling Parisian Restaurant in carousell for RM1,000. Few months back there was one person listing it for RM850. It took 3-4 months before it was sold.
Should buy and bring to SG to sell
aaronpang
post Jun 28 2022, 09:19 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,973 posts

I'm gonna be devils advocate

Lego investing is not easy as buying a set then selling for big bucks at a later date.

Most are professional re-sellers.
They have the funds and holding power to purchase 10 units of a set to resell.
Also don't buy full retail that will hurt your margin.
Need to invest in racks and safe storage space.

Casual collectors 1 or 2 sets here and there are only going to make chump change.
Buy wrong set and either make minimal returns or worse sell at loss.
Ding, kink, scratch or dented box habis lah return on investment.

Did I mention Lego sets take up a ton of space.
Case in point mine are all over the floor mega_shok.gif

arinpresto
post Jun 28 2022, 10:15 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jun 28 2022, 08:36 PM)
Parisian Restaurant and Pet Shop actually didn’t appreciate much because they were on shelf for quite some time. Brick  Bank on the other hand..
Brick bank, assembly square….

Haishh…i surrender ady.
arinpresto
post Jun 28 2022, 10:17 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(differ @ Jun 28 2022, 08:56 PM)
Ideas Sesame Street also retiring this year. May be worth to keep 1 or 2 boxes for investment.

Another one I think the price will go up if can hold is Daily Bugle. I mean just the number of minifigs alone is mindblowing.
Agree. Same case deathstar.
TSRoboguru
post Jun 29 2022, 10:46 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(Manuk1188 @ Jun 28 2022, 01:16 PM)
i agreed, that's why i said, it is dying in particular in asia country which counterfeit is berleluasa....just a matter of time. youngster like me used to like LEGO but my kids now are more on the digital.....soon when my generations is gone, my next generation won't look into LEGO. so in the end, LEGO no longer produce so called bricks, maybe digital or somethin which is not original LEGO products....
I don't think so. tongue.gif . Lego is growing in Asia. Legoland JB is doing very well, 10 years old and still full of visitors. Lego have also open theme parks in china, korea & japan. Their target demographics of upper middle income/rich families with children 4 to 16 year old. What more the parents or lego enthusiast who grew up playing with Lego in their 90s/00s. These adults know first hand, how fun & educational Lego is.

As many have pointed out, counterfeit products don't have IP. Lego not worried about counterfeit because they will never grow big enough to challenge Lego billion dollar revenue. If they get too big, Lego will shut them down like they did with Lepin. Lego also owns the biggest 2nd hand market seller, bricklink. Lego control the market & fully monopolised it.

I'm not a fan of digital games.. Especially of the mobile gaming genre.
Sooner or later, your kid is going to encounter predatory Gacha games like Diablo Immortal or Genshin Impact. Then RIP to your wallet.

Lego toys offer more control to parents. I know I can leave my kids to play alone & don't have to monitor their activity.

Besides, Lego is an activity that improves fine motor skills, hand eye coordination, reading & following complex instructions, science & engineering and so much more.

blanket84
post Jun 29 2022, 08:57 PM

1,499 posts

QUOTE(arinpresto @ Jun 28 2022, 10:15 PM)
Brick bank, assembly square….

Haishh…i surrender ady.
Assembly square haven’t retired yet. You could still get them for below RM900 during sale. I got mine for RM870 early this year.
JimbeamofNRT
post Jun 29 2022, 09:20 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,461 posts

QUOTE(Roboguru @ Jun 28 2022, 10:00 AM)
I was searching the second hand market & also brand new for Lego and I have notice that popular or rare Lego sets actually appreciate in value anywhere between 100% to even 500%!
It got me thinking whether Lego is actually a good investment vehicle?

What more, if you are missing pieces also not a big issue because can purchase any single Lego brick that you are missing to complete the set.

So in other words, buying Lego for your kids is not wasting money and actually it can become a great investment vehicle.  icon_rolleyes.gif
according to my humble experience, even if you missing some piece, all you gotta do is contact their CS and they will send it to you.

one of the best CS I have experience so far.

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Jun 29 2022, 09:21 PM
arinpresto
post Jun 29 2022, 09:27 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jun 29 2022, 08:57 PM)
Assembly square haven’t retired yet. You could still get them for below RM900 during sale. I got mine for RM870 early this year.
Lucky you.

Me still looking good price for assembly sq.

Grand emporium really rugi tak beli masa murah dululah.

I thought dulu lego takde org nak scalp like hotwheels and takde expired date.😂
arinpresto
post Jun 29 2022, 09:28 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jun 29 2022, 09:20 PM)
according to my humble experience, even if you missing some piece, all you gotta do is contact their CS and they will send it to you.

one of the best CS I have experience so far.
This is the way.

Sukhoi35mkm
post Jun 29 2022, 09:46 PM

last time i also like collecting lego technic sets but once ada anak....habis la ..... all become their toys and in pieces... now only lego technic 42009 crane, 8403 excavator and 42030 volvo loader survived and collecting dust on top of shelf for ages... i guess that's all toy about..kena main baru syok...

now collecting something else...
touya_zell
post Jun 29 2022, 09:58 PM

59 posts

are those for sale?
if so, why just stack it like that? not in bubble wrap/ plastic wrap to keep it mint condition?

for me yes it is a form of investment, but depends on the model
cos people if they want certain model, depends on price, some people are willing to pay

aaronpang
post Jul 1 2022, 07:47 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,973 posts

QUOTE(touya_zell @ Jun 29 2022, 09:58 PM)

are those for sale?
if so, why just stack it like that? not in bubble wrap/ plastic wrap to keep it mint condition?

for me yes it is a form of investment, but depends on the model
cos people if they want certain model, depends on price, some people are willing to pay
Not for sale grin.gif

When I retire I'll slowly bukak and assemble to pass the time thumbsup.gif

Justin.Loong
post Jul 8 2022, 12:33 PM

5,266 posts

SINCE the mid-2010s, it has been stated online on many occasions that a Lego set – an Ultimate Collectors Series (UCS) edition of the Millennium Falcon of Star Wars fame – was sold at auction for USD15,000 (RM66,420).

Did this really happen?
VERDICT:

Yes, a UCS Millennium Falcon set was sold at that price in 2014.
However, there were several factors that drove up the cost; it was sold at an auction in Las Vegas and it was a mint set in a sealed box which was itself in an airtight case.

Additionally, the set was discontinued as of 2010 having been originally released in 2007.

The price of the set itself has fallen considerably in 2022, especially after its re-release five years ago in 2017; a check on the online marketplace BrickLink shows that on the global marketplace, this set is available for anywhere from RM3,097 to just over RM27,000

Source: QuickCheck: Was a Lego set once sold for over RM60,000?

upah...

mick84
post Aug 1 2022, 02:07 PM

54 posts

10305 Lion Knights' Castle : RM1,699.00

hobby kita mahal giler
TSRoboguru
post Aug 1 2022, 02:16 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(mick84 @ Aug 1 2022, 02:07 PM)
10305 Lion Knights' Castle : RM1,699.00

hobby kita mahal giler
haha yeh. the new sets are crazy expensive.
mick84
post Aug 9 2022, 04:46 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(differ @ Jun 28 2022, 10:53 AM)
https://jaysbrickblog.com/tag/lego-90th-anniversary/

Yea me too but will build and display next to my Blacksmith hehe

I have no space to store unopened sets. So far only left unopened is UCS Millennium Falcon, which I got for 25% discount from Lego SG during the 4.4 sale.

Still deciding whether to build or hold for resell next time. 😆 🤣
bro, blacksmith price revised, increased 20%.
have u unbox it?

https://www.theverge.com/2022/7/11/23204181...-ideas-nintendo
differ
post Aug 9 2022, 06:54 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(mick84 @ Aug 9 2022, 04:46 PM)
bro, blacksmith price revised, increased 20%.
have u unbox it?

https://www.theverge.com/2022/7/11/23204181...-ideas-nintendo
All Lego prices went up on 1 August le
mick84
post Aug 9 2022, 07:23 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(differ @ Aug 9 2022, 06:54 PM)
All Lego prices went up on 1 August le
Yalo. Mine still in box. tongue.gif

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top