Cable 40/0.16 - what does it mean?

TSmactreouser
post Jun 25 2022, 03:55 PM, updated 3y ago

2,512 posts

A cable stated as 40/0.16 what does it mean?
0.16 means 16mm?
TSmactreouser
post Jun 25 2022, 04:09 PM

2,512 posts

Thanks guys for your prompt reply!

QUOTE(h4r8_kIlLeR @ Jun 25 2022, 04:00 PM)
40 is length.. 0.16 is diameter... You nak buat apa? Wire lock?
I see. Yg 0.16 diameter tu kira yg luar ke (3 wire dlm), atau pun yg dlm tu (1 wire 0.16 diameter)?

Utk lampu sambungan biasa. Boleh kan?

QUOTE(ncool15 @ Jun 25 2022, 04:04 PM)
Its 0.75mm2

Assume you are asking about 3 core wires
Oh 0.75mm², how do you translate?
Yes. 3C wires!

This post has been edited by mactreouser: Jun 25 2022, 04:10 PM
TSmactreouser
post Jun 25 2022, 11:02 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(stormer.lyn @ Jun 25 2022, 04:17 PM)
The wire contains 40 strands with each strand maximum diameter of 0.16 mm.
Cross section calculation is
= ((diameter/2)²) x Pi) x (number of strands)
= ((0.16/2)² x 3.14159) x 40
= 0.8 mm² nominal
Wah... You are Expert 😜
Could you "teach" a little bit of the format? Interesting & useful 👍🏻

QUOTE(fireballs @ Jun 25 2022, 04:44 PM)
https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/presentat...NCES%202015.pdf
https://www.energy-solutions.co.uk/technical-information

40strand of 0.16mm2diameter = 0.73mm2
max can use 6ampere if its copper.

good enough for small led lights
Thanks for confirming! 👏🏼
So the 40 is Strand! I see .
And this format "0.16mm2diameter = 0.73mm2" is from the chart given above?

QUOTE(Lada Putih @ Jun 25 2022, 05:59 PM)
016 is the size of individual copper strain
i think
and theres 40 of this strains
Which means 0.16x3 = 40? 😲
TSmactreouser
post Jun 26 2022, 05:17 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Jun 26 2022, 09:53 AM)
0.16 is the diameter
R is diameter bahagi2
To get area is pi r kuasa Dua remember?

So 3.142 x 0.08 x0.08
OMG really forgotten 😭
You are cool! So, you are in the field?
TSmactreouser
post Jun 30 2022, 10:28 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Jun 26 2022, 07:05 PM)
In jagung field ya
QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 26 2022, 07:13 PM)
very humble good job man
Haha. Funny but humble 👍🏻😁
TSmactreouser
post Jul 2 2022, 09:39 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 30 2022, 10:33 PM)
What wiring work you doing?

Please find the sizing over here.

1.5mm2 for lighting/fans,
2.5mm^2 for rings sockets (regular non high current sockets)
4mm^2 for higher loads / kitchen

http://ocw.ump.edu.my/pluginfile.php/11228...al%20Wiring.pdf
Thanks for the information! I'm not Pro , just love to DIY 😁
Learned some ideas from Seller, 1.5mm for normal appliances, 2.5mm for Appliances like Microwave and Oven.

The 4mm wires for Kitchen means? Sockets or Appliances?
TSmactreouser
post Jul 5 2022, 01:55 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 4 2022, 03:01 AM)
usually all these weird size like 40/0076 or 70/0076 don't meet ST requirement for electrical wiring.

also, there are substandard cables (fake copper) around in the market.

this is something that one should read up on as electrical safety is not to be trifled with
I see! But we consumer, hard to differentiate, right?

QUOTE(narf03 @ Jul 4 2022, 05:47 AM)
should be power, signal dont need 40 strands. even so still missing the material, like copper or zinc, copper is alot better, but zinc is cheaper.
What does SIGNAL means. For example?
TSmactreouser
post Jul 5 2022, 02:01 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Jul 4 2022, 11:21 AM)
Unless you are building another webb telescope, why need to be so particular about the wire spec.  In Msia we use cross sectional area 1.5mm2, 2.5mm2 for wire size.
Ya lo. When I asked options or suggestions from the store, they only mentions 1.5mm or 2.5mm. and most probably go for 2.5mm!
TSmactreouser
post Jul 18 2022, 03:52 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Jul 5 2022, 02:06 AM)
signal means data, like network cable, the cable that connect from switch to your autogate(send signal to open / close gate), ignore POE in this example.

signal need very small amount of current, all it need to do is giving signal, not do work
I see! So, switch for lamps/lights consider Signal Cable?

QUOTE(lagenda110 @ Jul 5 2022, 06:08 AM)
Go for mega cable for the best quality....

Usually there are 3 sizes...

1.5mm
2.5mm
4mm

Depend on your load... But imma recommend 2.5mm and 4mm
Mega Cable means the Brand? If that's the name, a lot of people recommended Fajar Cable.

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 5 2022, 09:20 AM)
Yup, my power extension also made from 2.5mmsq
Whatever I plug in to it will be comfortably cool
It becomes a technicality that insurance can and will use to deny claim if you use substandard cable in permanent installation.
Weakest point is the ceiling for max current capacity of any cable.
Still got sell on spee. Its alright for low voltage battery experiments for school but certainly not for point wiring (permanent installation)
Even power strips also use 1.25mmsq as minimum standard in SG.
You always provided very Pro & Useful informations! Learned something 😁
Does it mean, no matter what's the purpose for, you'll always go for 2.5mm?
TSmactreouser
post Mar 9 2023, 10:03 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 19 2022, 11:25 PM)
That depends on what u installing, if concealed in-wall circuits carrying 230V must follow 1.5mm min
its super cheap even if u buy loose cut per meter
don't even bother getting anything thinner because hard to strip

if its those extra low voltage purposes like HDMI/ LAN cable then its not really a problem on cable thickness since those are only for data signal

2.5mm so peace of mind as this is way overspec, its the same stuff as in-wall so this extension can use macam a wall socket (use kettle or vacuum or rotohammers). Its heavy, and expensive, nobody will use 2.5mm except me laugh.gif
1.25mm SG standard for power strips because that CCA > 13A so anyhow fuse will blow before wire catch fire
Using lousy wire for power strips just mean that the wire will overheat before 13A fuse blow

all those 40/0076 70/0076 are substandard cable spec. good for kids to play with science experiments to light up 12V car bulb je
How abou wallt socket for Electric Stove (2500-3500w) ... Oven... Microwave? 2.5mm cable or 1.5mm is good enough?
TSmactreouser
post Mar 10 2023, 10:56 AM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 9 2023, 08:17 PM)
13A SSO must be 2.5mm min
Double socket use 4mm

Electric stove >2990W need to be professionally installed, if it didn't come with a plug top from factory it is not supposed to be used on 13A socket. Either 20A isolator or CEE commando plug
Appreciate your comments! You always awesome la 😁
Sorry, may I supposed to further describe! The Electric Stove means those "Portable" one, came with a Power Cord!

Oh? Double Socket needs a 4mm Cable?! Alamak, I fixed with 2.5mm Cable! Btw, it's so hard to apply a 2.5mm cable into a Double Socket already, can't imagine go with 4mm 😅 So, 2.5mm definitely not recommended?
TSmactreouser
post Mar 11 2023, 12:40 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Mar 11 2023, 10:08 AM)
Another keyword to look when buying extension cable is 'pure copper" and "SIRIM"

Some 'pure cooper' cable dont have SIRIM but it ok as long it 's real 'pure cooper'
Ya lo. But the problem is , a lot of people said that although it mentioned Pure Copper but it may be Not! So? How to ensure? 🤣
TSmactreouser
post Apr 2 2023, 02:30 PM

2,512 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Mar 13 2023, 04:52 PM)
"40/0.16" refers to the construction of the cable's conductors.

The first number (40) indicates the number of individual strands or wires that are twisted together to form the conductor. In this case, there are 40 strands.

The second number (0.16) refers to the diameter of each individual strand, measured in millimeters. In this case, each strand has a diameter of 0.16mm.

So, the full designation "40/0.16" means that the cable has 40 individual strands, each with a diameter of 0.16mm, twisted together to form a single conductor. This type of cable is commonly used for low voltage applications, such as in electronics and small appliances.
Cool! Thanks for the idea! I still get stuck in here lately, especially the following 0.16. as you mentioned, 0.16mm for "each" strand, that means the very little thin copper in every LNE? At first I thought it's the size of each LNE, means Live cable 0.16mm and so on. 😅

So, in Malaysia we always mention Cable size in 1.5mm, 2.5mm, 4mm , right? But in US they called that AWG/Guage? In "mm" seems better way to understand ya.

QUOTE(billyboy @ Mar 13 2023, 04:53 PM)
There are a few methods you can use to verify if a copper cable is genuine copper:

Look for a copper hallmark: If you have access to a magnifying glass, you can look for a hallmark on the surface of the copper cable. This hallmark will typically indicate that the cable is made of genuine copper.

Check the color: Copper has a distinct reddish-brown color, so if the cable has a different color or appears to be painted, it may not be genuine copper.

Check the weight: Copper is a dense metal, so a genuine copper cable should feel heavier than a similarly sized cable made from another material. You can compare the weight of the copper cable to a known copper sample of the same size.

Conduct a magnet test: Copper is not magnetic, so if the cable is attracted to a magnet, it may not be genuine copper.

Test the conductivity: Copper is an excellent conductor of electricity, so you can use a multimeter to test the cable's conductivity. Touch one end of the multimeter to the copper wire and the other end to a known conductor. If the meter reads a high level of conductivity, the cable is likely genuine copper.

It's important to note that some copper cables may be coated with a layer of another material, such as tin or silver, so these tests may not always be conclusive. If you're unsure about the authenticity of a copper cable, you can consult a professional or take it to a testing facility for analysis.
Wow .. love it. Thanks for your efforts! Magnet seems the best way to check ya??

0.0195sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:20 PM