Update no. 10: Sharing my drawings, and how to draw them

mowlous
post Jun 21 2022, 04:21 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Jun 21 2022, 03:19 PM)
should be under Arts & Design rather than Serious Kopitiam
Sad to say Arts and design eye ball is like maybe 10 people once in a while, barely get any traffic at all. TS look like a good student who is willing to share how to draw technique for potential viewers such as my self that want or think to be serious artist ..... I think mod can accept this as part of social discussion since its interest also attract a niche in a more formal way. I'd see A&D is more of a question and answer zone for industrial related topic mostly, compare to TS is more social interest.

As for TS, the position of the tank reminds me of "tank man" at different angle

While drawing on paper with pencil is the cheapest option, I'd suggest people whom is seriously considering art as a hobby or carrier should get a good cheap tablet if you already have a com, as digital mistake much faster to correct, no need to waste paper (because after your draw either store in somewhere that require space or throw if not nice). Easier to transit to selling them online, keep as record or reference and whole lot of other benefit that out weight in the long run. That's in my own personal experience and opinion.
mowlous
post Jun 22 2022, 01:00 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(code10 @ Jun 22 2022, 12:04 AM)
Thank you for time and comments given, Mowlous. I appreciate it.  I initially had consider posting my thread at Arts and Design but held back because of low traffic observed.  In fact, I have pose questions in that section before, and only gotten reply after 2-3 days later.  That somewhat discouraging for TS and the other interested members.  Some of my questions weren't even answered in that section -like the thread "a drawing a day". I guess the TS was too busy with other things.

I have posted a couple of my videos/drawing at Kopitiam section, asking for their feedback/comments. Sometimes, I received constructive comments and feedbacks from members on how to improve the drawings.  They were all very helpful and useful. 

Other times, I have gotten comments/respond from members, like....:if I could draw sexy lenglui, sexual innuendo remarks, which were totally out of topic.  Some respond were quite rude.  Then again, I am not offended by them knowing that it's Kopitiam afterall.  Different folks, different strokes.       

Yes, most of the tanks I drew are "standard" tank-man angle.  They are done because its naturally at eye-level, and easier to relate to viewers. Also, it is much easier to draw, esp. to those who are interested to learn drawing.  Architecture drawings are sometimes presented in such a way. 

For the time being, I am doing drawings the simple, old fashion way- using paper, pen and pencil. My Y/T channel banner conveyed my intention.  Teaching and learning to draw can be intimidating already sometimes, and I don't want to scare/discourage members by teaching them drawings via tablet.  I suppose in most technical schools, basic drawings are always conducted manually at first. The students need to have a good grasp of the fundamentals before moving on to the next level.

If I remember correctly, my first lesson in technical drawing class wasn't about drawing. It was about knowing your paper, pencils, and other stationary, and use them correctly.  My supervisor once said "Scale ruler is to measure distance/length in drawing, while a straight edge (ruler) is to draw straight lines". Once I used them incorrectly, my supervisor threw my ruler out of the design studio window.    Taking care of the drawing paper was also important, keeping it clean, no folding, use a folder to protect the drawing paper, etc. 

Just sharing a bit of my experience of taking technical drawing lessons long time ago.
Well, its common, old school teach focus on the essence of art. I respect that. From my point of view its more of a industrial base fast moving mentality. I invest in my tablet (XP-PEN STAR 06) at a 50% discount price, (roughly around RM200+) take a few training lesson, start doing fiverr gig for $5 ..... by the end of the month already kind of recoup the RM200+ I invested in and starting to stack the extra $$ to fund my other project like buying art supply and joining art class. It starts the cycle to self sustaining a hobby. I can't say the same for physical art as I have not sell or made a single cent out from paper drawing. I use to draw them on cheap school books, which I find it hard to keep them on an ever growing space. Physical can bring anywhere, while digital is kind of tied to one dedicated space. My moto in hobby is to make money first so that you can cycle what you love. And best if you can earn money from the hobby itself.

I also find that digital doodling a lot can keep hobby session much longer and spread the hobby into different sector like water color, oil painting and clay sculpting to keep the art hobby fresh.

0.0164sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:27 PM