post Sep 28 2007, 11:57 PM, updated 19y ago

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

dudes
if there's already a thread to this, u guys can remove this thread
but if not, enjoy

2900pro review - TweakTown

or try this at a polish site Pclab reviews

but search for a Polish to English translator online cuz Altavista and Google don't do Polish.
X.E.D
post Sep 29 2007, 12:02 AM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

I think this is more worth it than the GTS320. Even when they're priced the same (Pro is cheaper though)

When future games come (See GRAW2 and Oblivion + the gorgeous 2GB Qarl's Texture pack) 320 will be struggling with texture settings while this 512 is the new baseline. 320 might be faster now in some places, but then, it'll be kinda moot.

Just my 2 cents BTW.
TSgtoforce
post Sep 29 2007, 12:13 AM

2,967 posts

the radeon x2900pro series is manufactured in limited numbers though
cuz by november 2950 series coming out

but hey, 2900pro can play dx 10.1
ahaha

arjuna_mfna
post Sep 29 2007, 12:27 AM

**Towards Justice World**
1,496 posts

just read in vr-zone if not mistaken, new hd2950pro will release in November... if true, the hd2900pro and hd2900gt really hv short life... btw amd just produce small number of hd2900pro and gt
riku2replica
post Sep 29 2007, 12:27 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

still it's a monster which desire for more power... maybe same power consumption as HD2900XT
TSgtoforce
post Sep 29 2007, 12:28 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(arjuna_mfna @ Sep 29 2007, 12:27 AM)
just read in vr-zone if not mistaken, new hd2950pro will release in November... if true, the hd2900pro and hd2900gt really hv short life... btw amd just produce small number of hd2900pro and gt
yeah
since they are downclocked XT's or the XT's which failed the tests and rebatched...but still good food though
haha

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Sep 29 2007, 12:27 AM)
still it's a monster which desire for more power... maybe same power consumption as HD2900XT
i dunno why but since the x19xx series, ati card always makan banyak
arjuna_mfna
post Sep 29 2007, 01:40 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Sep 29 2007, 12:27 AM)
if im not mistaken, the power consumption just 150w, i read in HIS website...
sniper on the roof
post Sep 29 2007, 01:57 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(arjuna_mfna @ Sep 29 2007, 01:40 AM)
if im not mistaken, the power consumption just 150w, i read in HIS website...
Just??? 150W leh.. banyak tu.

I'm keeping my money (boycott cute lil seal killer) until hybrid SLI arrives.
Ryo
post Sep 29 2007, 02:59 AM

.:: Rise Lord Vader ::.
871 posts

if the price of this card is gonna be sub RM 1000. then nvidia is going to have a hard time. when will it reach malaysia?
cstkl1
post Sep 29 2007, 04:52 AM

6,799 posts

again...
the hd2900xt is having a hard time against the gts
and u expect this to beat it??

come on guys...

first the excuse was the xt was to compete with the gts
and if this fails.. is it suppose to compete with the 8600gts??

kekek

will be in the wait and see position
maximsilentfoot
post Sep 29 2007, 06:22 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Sep 29 2007, 03:52 AM)
again...
the hd2900xt is having a hard time against the gts
and u expect this to beat it??

come on guys...

first the excuse was the xt was to compete with the gts
and if this fails.. is it suppose to compete with the 8600gts??

kekek

will be in the wait and see position
have you actually LOOKED at the benchmarks? there seems to be a consensus amongst the reviewers: this card rocks! best bang for the buck out there right now. the fact that it is such a great overclocker is def an added bonus. dont get why so many ppl hatin' on ATI for not having the "best" card out there...i mean seriously...the fact that it is cheaper than the GTS and outperforms it in almost every category should speak for itself no?
irenic
post Sep 29 2007, 07:15 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

some people just like to condemn.. instead of trying it.. i used 8800gtx, than 320mb gts, then 512mb 2900xt, n currently 1gig 2900xt..

i dun think 2900xt is having hard time against gts..

and based on the review, it looks promising..
sailen
post Sep 29 2007, 08:37 AM

173 posts

ya. 2900pro is at good c/p card but it life is just too short. anyway singapore ban leong have power color 2900pro 512mb pre-order at $429. still thinking wan to grap one or not? laugh.gif
maximsilentfoot
post Sep 29 2007, 08:53 AM

149 posts

i dont get the whole life too short thing sailen....u mean it wont b around for very long? grab it while u can then!!
sailen
post Sep 29 2007, 09:52 AM

173 posts

limited stock and 2950xx is coming out november. so this one is eol in november i think.
Nemesis181188
post Sep 29 2007, 10:09 AM

635 posts

Looking at the benchmarks and all,this card does seem to do quite well.But if you said 2950's were to come out by november,this card will have such a short life.Don't you think ppl will rather wait?BTW,the price is really something for this card.

This post has been edited by Nemesis181188: Sep 29 2007, 10:20 AM
stanley85
post Sep 29 2007, 12:58 PM

704 posts

It's a nice card...overall performance i think it will be a better buy then 8800gts. smile.gif however, since you guy said that 2950 will be coming..i wonder how many ppl will buy this card? tongue.gif
Doom
post Sep 29 2007, 02:02 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

there still will be for people that desperate for a nice mid range ATI cards..

of course the number would be small but there would be .. else why would AMD released such card without knowing there's response from market..

or probably this card is really mere down clocked 2900XT .. they try to clear the factory and earn a bit more than none...

besides even with the release of 2950Pro .. what would be the estimated price tag .. there's still remains a question that yet to unveil ...

so unless there's further press release or info released for 2950Pro..

this card still a better replacement for those that have budget around RM900 to RM1000....

This post has been edited by Doom: Sep 29 2007, 02:05 PM
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Sep 29 2007, 02:11 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

hmm interesting but i will still wait for 2900XT drop price laugh.gif tongue.gif
lolhalol
post Sep 29 2007, 02:22 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Sep 29 2007, 03:10 PM)
dude have u ACUTALLY TRIED this cards...
and its cheaper by Rm100. dude..
but gets beat
well it is having a hard time... wait for my review 8800gts A3 revisiong +HR03+FM123.. still cheaper than ure HD2900xt and 8800gtx... and its going to beat them both in certain games....
since u guys like benchies...
will be benching against HD2900xt, EVGA 8800gts 640mb, XFX 8800gtx XXX.
will be doing later with HD2900pro, HD2950 pro with the R600.
the reason for overclocking is to compensate performance and cost .. to out preform a higher priced card etc..
until u can show any proof of 24/7 overclocking on ure cards.. ure just a bigot and a benchmark enthusiast.
Firstly, a review cant separate these cards ... im not against u or anything.. but imo, ati HD series cards has ou performed almost any 8800 series card at 3d mark 06. and 05 as well iirc... but in real world gaming, teh nvidia cards outperform the ati cards.. it has something to do with the shader clocks or something like that... , adn also iirc in VISTA teh ati cards seem to be beter.. so if ur a hardcore bencher then u should og and get teh hd2900 series... if u are a high end gamer then go for the 8800gtx , but if ur a midrange gamer, with a 22" screen trust me u wont see any difference between the cards... diff of fps might be there.. but the minimum fps is so high thats its in the 40+ regions in new games... u wont see lag at all...

bro a HD2900Xt vs a 8800gtx in 3d mark 06 , stock clocks, and using a 3.2 quad , the average score is 8800gtx 11k + , HD2900XT 12k~13k + .

ur gts rev 3 can outperform them yes.. but it needs to be clocked.. , if i go and get a 2900pro, yes u can beat it with ur gts, but thats already the limits of ur gts, while i can still clock the 2900pro...adn in certain games do u mean nvidia optimized games? at wat resolution ?

bro im not challenging ur views.. neither do i say ur wrong.. but u didnt elaborate ur views enough ...

peace
cstkl1
post Sep 29 2007, 02:24 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(maximsilentfoot @ Sep 29 2007, 08:53 AM)
i dont get the whole life too short thing sailen....u mean it wont b around for very long? grab it while u can then!!
the 2900pro is actually gpus/pcbs etc that couldnt reach the 2900xt clocks... hences its being sold with a lower clock etc... so again y do u expect it to beat the hd2900xt...

the 2950xt i will be in a wait and see position
lolhalol
post Sep 29 2007, 02:29 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Sep 29 2007, 03:24 PM)
the 2900pro is actually gpus/pcbs etc that couldnt reach the 2900xt clocks... hences its being sold with a lower clock etc... so again y do u expect it to beat the hd2900xt...

as u said,
the reason for overclocking is to compensate performance and cost .. to out preform a higher priced card etc.

so why cant teh pro beat the xt ? its highly possible. manufactureres bin their chips after tests at a certain temperature, and length of time then only they deem it safe of passed... when a consumer uses it he can clock it to xt speed iwht the right cooling or even the stock cooler if hes lucky,,,,
lolhalol
post Sep 29 2007, 02:34 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Sep 29 2007, 03:30 PM)
thats the most sesat score i have ever seen.. this is the stock clocks dunon where u getting ure numbers and i have the screenshots to back it up.....

X6800 3ghz Galaxy 8800gtx .. 3dmark 12100
X6800 3ghz ASUS EN2900xt...3dmark06 12084
X6800 3ghz ASUS EN8800 Ultra ...3dmark06 12874...

also if u want to compare cards USE THE FEATURE TEST SCORES... on 3dmark06...
as i said real world preformance the 2900xt is not going to be the 8800gts... and hell i am willing to take a bet of 1 k.. kekeke might get banned for this ....will do a live demo, game benchies etc... so who is willing to back up their words..... games would be the 10 most popular games on a 22inch as would not want the 320mb to pull u back from ure buying decision.

my article is almost down and will be publishing it soon.. so who wants to back up their words...come on guys..  gf birthday coming soon .. so the money would be well spend for her dinner..
bro not challenging u or anything, but i mentioned that in real world games the atis dont perform well.. and afaik the 2900xts are out performing the nvidia cards in 3dmark06.. current world record stands with the 2900xt

Added on September 29, 2007, 2:36 pm
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Sep 29 2007, 03:30 PM)
thats the most sesat score i have ever seen.. this is the stock clocks dunon where u getting ure numbers and i have the screenshots to back it up.....

X6800 3ghz Galaxy 8800gtx .. 3dmark 12100
X6800 3ghz ASUS EN2900xt...3dmark06 12084
X6800 3ghz ASUS EN8800 Ultra ...3dmark06 12874...

also if u want to compare cards USE THE FEATURE TEST SCORES... on 3dmark06...
as i said real world preformance the 2900xt is not going to be the 8800gts... and hell i am willing to take a bet of 1 k.. kekeke might get banned for this ....will do a live demo, game benchies etc... so who is willing to back up their words..... games would be the 10 most popular games on a 22inch as would not want the 320mb to pull u back from ure buying decision.

my article is almost down and will be publishing it soon.. so who wants to back up their words...come on guys..  gf birthday coming soon .. so the money would be well spend for her dinner..

Added on September 29, 2007, 2:33 pm
okay lets back it up dude.. team koc.. vs cstkl1 ... u do ure benching for the 2900pro...

and i will do mine with the hd2900xt, 8800gts 320mb...

on vista/windows
on the 10 most popular games.

and benchmark will be 3dmark06 feature test.

lets do live... kekeke.. since i already did the benchies for the 8800gts and the hd2900xt...

will do it in low yat plaza...heck can post this shot of the picture for the HR03 review..
bro i already mentioned that im not saying ur wrong. im stating my opinions..and im stating my viewws has nothing to do with team koc... so leave team koc out of this... u sound as though u got something agasint team koc

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Sep 29 2007, 02:37 PM
X.E.D
post Sep 29 2007, 02:36 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Sep 29 2007, 02:24 PM)

The Pro they got clocked to XT speeds.

Most likely a lot can go a bit more from the Pro stock clocks, beating the 8800GTS.

When I get a HR-03 R600 I'd be doing a review too.
goldfries
post Sep 29 2007, 02:37 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Sep 29 2007, 02:34 PM)
but i mentioned that in real world games the atis dont perform well..

from the reviews I've seen, the HD2900XT actually does well, coming close to 8800 GTX and even ULTRA at times.
cstkl1
post Sep 29 2007, 02:38 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Sep 29 2007, 02:34 PM)
bro not challenging u or anything, but i mentioned that in real world games the atis dont perform well.. and afaik the 2900xts are out performing the nvidia cards in 3dmark06.. current world record stands with the 2900xt

Added on September 29, 2007, 2:36 pm
bro i already mentioned that im not saying ur wrong. im stating my opinions..and  im stating my viewws has nothing to do with team koc... so leave team koc out of this... u sound as though u got something agasint team koc
its true friend..but thats only on volt modded high OCEd cards with extreme cooling

dont take 3dmark05 as its a one sided benchies...

on stock cooling... overclock... it doesnt beat the gtx/ultra when both are clocked to the max.

ok to prove it.. those who back up ati cards..
do this on xp/vista up to u which ever is higher..

benchmark 3dmark06 + the feature test.
when its done show the cpuz of 3ghz ram at 667 2gb,
and ati tools artifact scanning for atleast one hour.
riva tuner monitor for clocks/mem and gpu core temps...

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Sep 29 2007, 02:41 PM
lolhalol
post Sep 29 2007, 02:39 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 29 2007, 03:37 PM)
from the reviews I've seen, the HD2900XT actually does well, coming close to 8800 GTX and even ULTRA at times.
in general they lose out... coming close also lose, quote from the fast and furious, doesnt matter if u win by an inch or a mile, winnings wining.
but nost games these days give a slight avantage to nvdia or maybe its the nvidias archetecture... no idea tehre... and bro this is nto a rant towards u.. yeah... i mean no offence at all..
goldfries
post Sep 29 2007, 02:41 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Sep 29 2007, 02:39 PM)
but nost games these days give a slight avantage to nvdia or maybe its the nvidias archetecture... no idea tehre...  and bro this is nto a rant towards u.. yeah... i mean no offence at all..

leh, no worries. smile.gif i'm just curious, based on what i read and what you said.

another point of comparison would be price : performance ratio.

cstkl1
post Sep 29 2007, 02:43 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 29 2007, 02:41 PM)
leh, no worries. smile.gif i'm just curious, based on what i read and what you said.

correto mundo.. so we already know the gts wins against the xt on price performance ratio unless u want to bicker with this then post ure scores for the feature test with a fair cpu/ram comparison.. so it doesnt influence the results too much.

the arguement here is the pro vs the gts.
lolhalol
post Sep 29 2007, 02:44 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Sep 29 2007, 03:38 PM)
its true friend..but thats only on vold modded high OCEd cards..

dont take 3dmark05 as its a one sided benchies...

on stock cooling... overclock... it doesnt beat the gtx/ultra when both are clocked to the max.
im talking bout 3dmark 06 .. adn yeah ill leave it at that... maybe spend so long staring at oced benchies.. i messed up my stock lcocks witht eh oced clocks..lolz...

cheers
reggie
cstkl1
post Sep 29 2007, 02:44 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 29 2007, 02:36 PM)
The Pro they got clocked to XT speeds.

Most likely a lot can go a bit more from the Pro stock clocks, beating the 8800GTS.

When I get a HR-03 R600 I'd be doing a review too.
thats the way.. see finally some sense..somebody that will prove it.
raigores
post Sep 29 2007, 02:45 PM

88 posts

erm erm~~ question blush.gif ?
1) this 2900PRO version come out after 2900XT?
2) what would be the price for 2900PRO?
3) Is it really official annouced that 2950xt will release on november?
4) If.. november release 2950xt, how bout the release of the 2900XTX?

SORRY me Abit noob noob but want to know things laugh.gif
lolhalol
post Sep 29 2007, 02:46 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 29 2007, 03:41 PM)

well i mentioned atis performe less ( i didnt mention by how much) well in real world... well if ur talking bout performanc : price ratio then im in a limbo...

VODOO ftw tongue.gif wub.gif wub.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Sep 29 2007, 03:43 PM)
correto mundo.. so we already know the gts wins against the xt on price performance ratio unless u want to bicker with this then post ure scores for the feature test with a fair cpu/ram comparison.. so it doesnt influence the results too much.

the arguement here is the pro vs the gts.
yeah ..well we wont knw untill the reatial samples re arriveing .. hus got one.. pls bench adn post screenies pls
cstkl1
post Sep 29 2007, 02:47 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Sep 29 2007, 02:46 PM)
well i mentioned atis performe less ( i didnt mention by how much) well in real world... well if ur talking bout performanc : price ratio then im in a limbo...

VODOO ftw tongue.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
yeah ..well we wont knw untill the reatial samples re arriveing .. hus got one.. pls bench adn post screenies pls
yup actually u all should be talking about the hd2950pro.. thats the thing thats got me excited..
not some cheap lame tactic to get rid of their stocks hd2900pro
lolhalol
post Sep 29 2007, 02:48 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Sep 29 2007, 03:44 PM)
thats the way.. see finally some sense..somebody that will prove it.
bro its not that i dont want to prove it.. i just don have to resources to get the card or teh time to bench at the moment.. i wont be free untill end of january.. blardy skoo life sucks.. lolz.. but ill do keep up with reviews so when i return back into benching .. i wont be lost and dont go woah , we got octa core di ? tongue.gif lolz

btw i use a tnt riva 64 whne benching.. lolz... TNT for the win.. aslo have a radeon 9550 pci based.. and an ati rage max pulled form a apple g3

This post has been edited by lolhalol: Sep 29 2007, 02:50 PM
cstkl1
post Sep 29 2007, 02:51 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Sep 29 2007, 02:48 PM)
bro its not that i dont want to prove it.. i just don have to resources to get the card or teh time to bench at the moment.. i wont be free untill end of january.. blardy skoo life sucks.. lolz.. but ill do keep up with reviews so when i return back into benching .. i wont be lost and dont go woah , we got octa core di ? tongue.gif lolz
kekek so far the HR03 on the GTs is nothing short but amazing.. idle at 49/ load around 56 on OCED overclock.. running ati tools artifact scan already 11 hours 23 minutes... no aircon. heck no room fan also.. and all this is in my casing..
dkcc87
post Sep 29 2007, 02:54 PM

1,251 posts

Just asking,when will it be on sale in malaysia?early november?
cstkl1
post Sep 29 2007, 03:28 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(dkcc87 @ Sep 29 2007, 02:54 PM)
Just asking,when will it be on sale in malaysia?early november?
nah by end of the month or early next month.. thats what my supplier said..

end of november /early december expecting the 2950 pro

TSgtoforce
post Sep 29 2007, 04:28 PM

2,967 posts

wah lolhalol and ctskl on a verge there...
anyways, i never really stand on 3dmarks bench
cuz its always been the fact that the graphics cards makers (ati and nvidia) they pay futuremark to up the ante for their cards in this test and that test
this was reported i think a year or two ago

the same goes for games
like fear, it likes nvidia more
the same goes for oblivion
and as for half life 2, it likes ati

better bench on quake 4, far cry, lost planet (the best)
try ur cards on lost planet
that'll be the in thing

btw, 2950 pro is coming either november or the latest early december
tapi it still wont be that cheap
but price aint what we are concerned if the performance is really on par with its publications...what more with the DX10.1 and all
haha
X.E.D
post Sep 29 2007, 05:23 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Sep 29 2007, 04:28 PM)
the same goes for games
like fear, it likes nvidia more
the same goes for oblivion
and as for half life 2, it likes ati

better bench on quake 4, far cry, lost planet (the best)
try ur cards on lost planet
that'll be the in thing
Yay Lost Planet, an nVidia whored out title is THE benchmark for DX10! (Unbelievable) rolleyes.gif

Oblivion likes the new ATI because of shader power BTW.

As for DX10/Driver improvements on the HD2XXX, I think this post will explain it the most:
http://www.rage3d.com/board/showpost.php?p...13&postcount=61
ronaldjoe
post Sep 29 2007, 05:35 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Sep 29 2007, 02:02 PM)
there still will be for people that desperate for a nice mid range ATI cards..

of course the number would be small but there would be .. else why would AMD released such card without knowing there's response from market..

or probably this card is really mere down clocked 2900XT .. they try to clear the factory and earn a bit more than none... 

besides even with the release of 2950Pro .. what would be the estimated price tag .. there's still remains a question that yet to unveil ...

so unless there's further press release or info released for 2950Pro..

this card still a better replacement for those that have budget around RM900 to RM1000....
This card is for people like me who are tight in budget drool.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Sep 29 2007, 05:35 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

adding hundreds juz to get 2000pt in 3Dmark06 doesn't seem to interest me somehow... unsure.gif

if i upgrade i'd go for something tat gives me double or more than my current 3dmark06 score... like my 7600GS did 2k+ and my 2600XT did 6k+... brows.gif
TSgtoforce
post Sep 29 2007, 05:39 PM

2,967 posts

well like i said 3dmark doesnt mean a thing cuz its synthetic tests

real world shows

ronaldjoe
post Sep 29 2007, 07:09 PM

3,569 posts

I wanna get one unit. biggrin.gif
HIS or Sapphire better? drool.gif
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList....ription=2900pro

nik0ns
post Sep 29 2007, 08:16 PM

Ingenium
1,302 posts

i think HIS is better
Nemesis181188
post Sep 29 2007, 10:20 PM

635 posts

Does it even matter.They look the same to me.I'm not sure about their warranty period though.I only know that sapphire offers up to 2 yrs only.
X.E.D
post Sep 29 2007, 10:37 PM

1,955 posts

HIS is one year (insult to the injury? laugh.gif)
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Sep 29 2007, 10:58 PM

13,340 posts

definitely sapphire brows.gif brows.gif
raigores
post Sep 29 2007, 11:04 PM

88 posts

i preciously did post 4 or 5 question hehehe but no ppl reply~~ if can pls look back one page infront give me some info k~ heheheee biggrin.gif

i really wanna know what is 2900xt and 2900pro and 2900xtx difference blush.gif
cstkl1
post Sep 29 2007, 11:06 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(raigores @ Sep 29 2007, 11:04 PM)
i preciously did post 4 or 5 question hehehe but no ppl reply~~ if can pls look back one page infront give me some info k~ heheheee  biggrin.gif

i really wanna know what is 2900xt and 2900pro and 2900xtx difference  blush.gif
there is not xtx..

but if ure refering to teh 1gb vs 512mb well.. the difference depends on reso ure gaming at to take advantage of that 1gb.. other than that nothing really

and the pro.. unknown... but definately not worth it... just wait for the 2950
Ryo
post Sep 29 2007, 11:11 PM

871 posts

i haven't read up on 2950. what would be the difference between 2900 and 2950?
riku2replica
post Sep 30 2007, 12:50 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

walao, i cannot always change pc hardware... sure will get scold, btw my x300 is already tired of being force to work heavily ...maybe should consider a new card.
ronaldjoe
post Sep 30 2007, 01:44 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(nik0ns @ Sep 29 2007, 08:16 PM)
i think HIS is better
QUOTE(Nemesis181188 @ Sep 29 2007, 10:20 PM)
Does it even matter.They look the same to me.I'm not sure about their warranty period though.I only know that sapphire offers up to 2 yrs only.
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 29 2007, 10:37 PM)
QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Sep 29 2007, 10:58 PM)
definitely sapphire brows.gif brows.gif
Personally I ll go for sapphire too drool.gif
arjuna_mfna
post Sep 30 2007, 11:49 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(Ryo @ Sep 29 2007, 11:11 PM)
i haven't read up on 2950. what would be the difference between 2900 and 2950?
some info bout what i know bout 2950:
55nm
dx10.1 backward complaint
got 2 version ddr3(single slot cooler) & ddr4(dual slot cooler)
256bit
320 stream proc
expected late Decembers early January
price range usd229-299

read from web site, so maybe true maybe not...
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Sep 30 2007, 12:26 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Sep 30 2007, 12:50 AM)
walao, i cannot always change pc hardware... sure will get scold, btw my x300 is already tired of being force to work heavily ...maybe should consider a new card.
walao laugh.gif your parts r all high class except the GC itself doh.gif well i m sure waiting 4 another longer period would b more worth it coz 2950pro/xt is coming up along with gf 9800gts/gtx n 2900/8800 will surely drop priced brows.gif

This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Sep 30 2007, 12:27 PM
nik0ns
post Sep 30 2007, 12:57 PM

Ingenium
1,302 posts

technology got better everyday biggrin.gif
sailen
post Sep 30 2007, 10:28 PM

173 posts

sure technology got improve everyday and old technology price drop. but i sure when DX11 come out the price for 2950xx or 9900xx will drop like hell. tongue.gif u wan to wait until that time?

this is HD 2900pro from PowerColor
shinjun
post Oct 1 2007, 01:34 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(arjuna_mfna @ Sep 30 2007, 11:49 AM)
some info bout what i know bout 2950:
55nm
dx10.1 backward complaint
got 2 version ddr3(single slot cooler) & ddr4(dual slot cooler)
256bit
320 stream proc
expected late Decembers early January
price range usd229-299

read from web site, so maybe true maybe not...
Wow, DDR3 single slot cooler...suits me. tongue.gif can fit into my tiny casing. laugh.gif
jy14
post Oct 1 2007, 02:32 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 29 2007, 10:37 PM)
Correction, HIS is 18 months, thats 1 and 1/2 years.
Faint
post Oct 1 2007, 03:14 AM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Oct 1 2007, 02:32 AM)
Correction, HIS is 18 months, thats 1 and 1/2 years.
Is it every HIS product has 18 months warranty?
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 1 2007, 06:25 AM

5,366 posts

good, technology is getting cheaper at the rate faster than ever before sleep.gif
with the release of this, 1950pro will be soon phased out
salimbest83
post Oct 1 2007, 06:42 AM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,648 posts

i think 1950pro already phased out bcoz can find any 1950pro when i bought 1950GT
jy14
post Oct 1 2007, 09:24 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Oct 1 2007, 03:14 AM)
Is it every HIS product has 18 months warranty?
Yes, all HIS is suppose to have 18months local warranty.

dattebayo: actually as salim said, all x1950pro are phased out. I can still get more x1950pro into malaysia, but it'll require an insane MOQ of 30 units. So, I guess we'll just need to go ahead with 2600XT GDDR4 and above.
storm88
post Oct 1 2007, 10:46 AM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 29 2007, 08:09 PM)
I wanna get one unit. biggrin.gif
HIS or Sapphire better? drool.gif
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList....ription=2900pro

well..
as what i know HIS doesnt produce card above mid high level
their 2900XT (512 or 1GB) wasnt being produce by them selves.
so i do bet they take from Sapphire or Diamond 3D

in term of pricing, i wouold say sapphire is better

But, local disti for HIS GCs are always good.

you could take this as consideration

Added on October 1, 2007, 10:48 am
QUOTE(jy14 @ Oct 1 2007, 10:24 AM)
Yes, all HIS is suppose to have 18months local warranty.
dattebayo: actually as salim said, all x1950pro are phased out. I can still get more x1950pro into malaysia, but it'll require an insane MOQ of 30 units. So, I guess we'll just need to go ahead with 2600XT GDDR4 and above.
but.. in real time gaming (DX9 based)
HD2600 is no way to compete with any of the 1950pro leh...

This post has been edited by storm88: Oct 1 2007, 10:48 AM
jy14
post Oct 1 2007, 11:04 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

Added on October 1, 2007, 10:48 am
but.. in real time gaming (DX9 based)
HD2600 is no way to compete with any of the 1950pro leh...

[/quote]

I totally agree. During gaming, the x1950pro which was a high-end card kills all the competition from the 2600XT-series.

Just as the 7900GS and 8600GT, both shared similar benchmark score, but the 7900GS has a smooth graphic production during gameplay compared with the 8600GT.
speedflame5973
post Oct 1 2007, 11:29 AM

112 posts

allopz...wanna ask about the difference in performance between radeon 2900pro and 8800gts. which one have a higher performance?
Chalcedony
post Oct 1 2007, 01:13 PM

86 posts

From what I'm reading I think that the 2900pros are just 2900xts that didn't pass full testing (Like how triple core will be quads with one failed core), so they're VERY limited edition and will be very hard to find here if at all....
speedflame5973
post Oct 1 2007, 02:26 PM

112 posts

bro, what type of psu that u used while running this GC?
fcuk90
post Oct 1 2007, 02:53 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(speedflame5973 @ Oct 1 2007, 02:26 PM)
at least 500w true power?
choyster
post Oct 1 2007, 02:54 PM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(speedflame5973 @ Oct 1 2007, 02:26 PM)
at least 450w
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 1 2007, 05:16 PM

5,366 posts

any idea on how much will the price be for this 2900Pro?
cheaper than 8800 GTS, does it mean the 640 MB or 320 MB version?
X.E.D
post Oct 1 2007, 05:38 PM

1,955 posts

250USD MSRP, currently due to *crazy* demand even Newegg is selling it at 279USD. Even then it's a great deal with the RAM.

If stocks are a bit more it'd go down back to 250USD and in Malaysia, even more (2900XT is only RM1200 here!)
likito
post Oct 1 2007, 06:01 PM

1,468 posts

IMO , sapphire and HIS , which one cheaper get that one ! almost same ..

one question , how much minimum required PSU WATT ?

This post has been edited by likito: Oct 1 2007, 06:03 PM
X.E.D
post Oct 1 2007, 07:59 PM

1,955 posts

Sapphire, Cooler Master iGreen 500W (ONLY iGreen) and/or Silverstone Strider 500/560 can do.
zeustronic
post Oct 1 2007, 11:14 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

PowerColor oso produce good card, most of they've good coolers too..

This post has been edited by zeustronic: Oct 1 2007, 11:18 PM
X.E.D
post Oct 1 2007, 11:56 PM

1,955 posts

2900s are all built by ATI, so that logic doesn't apply.
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Oct 2 2007, 12:21 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Oct 1 2007, 05:16 PM)
any idea on how much will the price be for this 2900Pro?
cheaper than 8800 GTS, does it mean the 640 MB or 320 MB version?
320mb one la of cos laugh.gif rclxms.gif
kazalan_kamitake
post Oct 2 2007, 12:36 PM

This Star Nothing For Me
1,114 posts

yes 8800gts 320mb can get at cheaper price now..
Faint
post Oct 2 2007, 02:36 PM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Oct 1 2007, 11:14 PM)
PowerColor oso produce good card, most of they've good coolers too..
Ya, PowerColor prodce good graphic card. Nice brand
alpha_numeric182
post Oct 2 2007, 02:56 PM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

i'm really in a dilemma rite now..should i buy 8800 gts 320 or wait for 2900 pro or wait for 2950 pro? i'm really in a tight budget..if 2900 pro or 2950 pro is within the price range of 8800 gts 320 then i will consider it..
HaVoC
post Oct 2 2007, 03:20 PM

.:Steam Cutter:.
1,192 posts

Any shop in lowyat selling this already?
karom
post Oct 2 2007, 04:37 PM

Hello everybody
1,262 posts

Hopefully they will be shops selling this.
TSgtoforce
post Oct 2 2007, 06:07 PM

2,967 posts

not yet jual la
rileks
tunggu je
after raya or maybe end of oct, 2900pro will come out
few weeks later 2950 pulak
iZuDeeN
post Oct 2 2007, 07:48 PM

3,467 posts

QUOTE(alpha_numeric182 @ Oct 2 2007, 02:56 PM)
i'm really in a dilemma rite now..should i buy 8800 gts 320 or wait for 2900 pro or wait for 2950 pro? i'm really in a tight budget..if 2900 pro or 2950 pro is within the price range of 8800 gts 320 then i will consider it..
8800gts 320 is rm900 in bulk...

its cheap!
X.E.D
post Oct 2 2007, 07:57 PM

1,955 posts

Cheap, but VRAM requirements for DX10 starts at 512MB for decent performance.

Call of Juarez DX10 on GTS 320MB is bad because there's just not enough of it. GRAW2 can't use high textures, Oblivion can't use QTP3, etc etc etc. It'll get worse in the future too, so better get something wit a little more RAM.

It might be the best DX9 card you can have, but for that we have the RM450 (RM320 in CHINAAA tongue.gif) X1950Pro/GT and that's enough for most DX9 stuff.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Oct 2 2007, 07:58 PM
TSgtoforce
post Oct 4 2007, 06:26 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Oct 2 2007, 11:54 PM)
btw as far as i concerned, ati card has more stable  driver for vista than nvidia.. maybe it's just me , i dunno.. 

so i bet it's worth for u guys to wait for 2900pro rather than getting 8800gts 320mb..
people who knows me and notice my post surely know i've done lots of benchmark for 8800gtx, 8800gts 320mb superclocked, 2900xt 512mb, and 2900xt 1gig..

i'm not talking crap.. i'm not noob and i'm not a fanboy.  but definitely 8800gts 320mb is not worth getting once u considered price vs performance with the 512mb 2900xt.. at stock or clocked.. wtf try to compare oced card vs stock.. all cards can oc rite..

sorry if i'm out of the topic.. but i just notice sthing went on in the earlier pages of this thread that is full of stupidity egoism.. nuff said, i wont reply anymore in this  matter.. roger n out.
dudes
relax
everyone's a fanboy when it comes to nvidia vs ati thing
haha

anyways, u guys can read this
http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/10/01/the...oney/page6.html

they say that the 2900pro is so much bettter than 8800gts 320mb...
and its time to say that ati/amd is doing really well
what more with super stable ati drivers (except that they are power hungry but thats not what matters as long as u can play super games at super reso)
the 2900pro can and will compete with 8800gts 640mb and not the 320mb
read up everywhere
8800gts has the upper hand in synthetic benchies but real world still, it beats the 320mb at fsaa and aniso16x

if clocked well, i'd say that it cud go against the 8800gtx cuz the 2900xt relatively cud gain a foothold in 8800gtx realm and 2900pro can be clocked as high as 2900xt
hahahahaha

im not a fanboy and i dont intend to get any of those cards above
but i just love to see healthy competition
what more the 2900pro being scrap cards to begin with

oh yeah
u guys might also consider the x1650GT over the entry level 2600XT
this is out of topic but i've seen x1650gt went head to head with 1950pro
and it almost catches up...dah la DX10 and SM4.0 beb
even the 7600gt cud be ashamed

yeah...so for those who are into 128bit, go get the 1650gt
and stop yakking about the 8600/2600 crap...i will always say that the 8600/2600 = 7300LE or might even be the radeon X300SE
8tvt
post Oct 4 2007, 08:58 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

i won't see my 8600gt is crap..

u compare with old revision/batch/price.. how about 8800gts with 112 sp..
or maybe some tweaked 8800gt.. which same like current gts spec.. and maybe priced lower?

for me just take which value for money currently and better in performance.. but too early to judge them now..
jy14
post Oct 4 2007, 11:04 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

It all boils down to affordability.

If u got money to spend, u got lots of choices to choose. U can either take ur time and compare, or just buy any of it, try it, sell off, buy another and try it, then only decide which is better after u have tested it.

Irenic: So, in ur opinion, for gaming, which is better. I know for picture quality, Nvidia might not come close to the ATI, correct me if i'm wrong. Still learning from u guys here. My main concern is for gaming, framerates and mayb picture quality as last priority. I want smooth movements during games like Lost Planets, GRAW, CoH, etc.

For those on a limited budget, look for something within the budget, and worthy too. U have to compromise either pic quality or smooth framerates during gaming time.
TSgtoforce
post Oct 4 2007, 12:29 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Oct 4 2007, 11:04 AM)
It all boils down to affordability.

If u got money to spend, u got lots of choices to choose. U can either take ur time and compare, or just buy any of it, try it, sell off, buy another and try it, then only decide which is better after u have tested it.

Irenic: So, in ur opinion, for gaming, which is better. I know for picture quality, Nvidia might not come close to the ATI, correct me if i'm wrong. Still learning from u guys here. My main concern is for gaming, framerates and mayb picture quality as last priority. I want smooth movements during games like Lost Planets, GRAW, CoH, etc.

For those on a limited budget, look for something within the budget, and worthy too. U have to compromise either pic quality or smooth framerates during gaming time.
well
for framerates, the 2600 and the 8600 can handle them quite ok with aa, aniso and vsync off
but then again, rugi la the devs buat game tu kan if u only want to play it fast
i still remembered my friend won doom3 on ti4600
it was laggy and shitty and can run only at 800x600 with all settings off
to me rugi cuz u dont get the game

thats why gamers they chalk a lot of money for rams and gpu
cpu comes next and then mobo
haha

so 2900pro reigns supreme later on similarly with 2900gt
but i heard that nvidia's coming out with 8700 or sumting like that to give assurance before the nv90 cards come out
or maybe they slash the 8800gts 320mb to usd150-180
i dunno

whatever it is, for framerates, on those 128bit cards, get 8600 cuz at least they can survive on 2xaa and 2-4x aniso
2600XT ddr4 cant do that
they'll go from 30fps to 12fps when fsaa and aniso turned on

so u decide
haha
maximsilentfoot
post Oct 4 2007, 02:05 PM

149 posts

whoa cstkl...what's with the hatin bro? no need to be dissing on others just like that...everyone (like urself) is entitled to their opinion. some of us have personal experience with these cards and their problems, some dont. some of us could care less what the cooler of the card looks like compared to how it performs, some really care how it looks.

personally, i want both green and the red monsters to come out with good cards. more choice for us consumers right? i think ppl should stop viewing these cards on a "omg! this one gets 120fps compared to the other one getting 100fps...its a better card must buy!" basis.... sheesh...i cant even tell whats the diff between anything over 30 to be honest. same goes for those fake synthetic benchmarks (e-penis) scores. what about HOW MUCH YOUR PAYING for it??

we must take into account many other factors like the price/performace ratio (to me this is #1). Am i getting what i am paying for? as an example the 2900pro will most likely cost less than the 8800GTS. yet, it provides competitive scores, very playable framerates for a cheaper price., not to mention more ram to play @ higher resolutions. it also has 512bit compared to the 2950 which will only have 256bit despite the dx10.1 some ppl (like myself) would actually pick the 2900pro and clock it to XT speeds.

At the same time, ATI cards got some issues with consuming more power, and apparently producing more heat. This compared to the nvidia driver problems (trust me i keep hearing about them). so like i said, its up to the individuals to make rational decisions. we dont need fanboi/ anti nv or ati hatin comments, they dont help anyone! just my 2cents bro wink.gif
Amal
post Oct 4 2007, 02:42 PM

1,672 posts

juz wait for the new 8800gt 512.. tongue.gif
TSgtoforce
post Oct 4 2007, 02:43 PM

2,967 posts

[quote=cstkl1,Oct 4 2007, 12:35 PM]

[

tsk tsk tsk..
never learn...
again will be on a wait and see position

overall those who buy the 2900pro are pure suckers...

wait for the RV670..sishh.

really dumb to buy this card .. when the RV670 around the corner..

and hello 320mb wins on synthetics benchmarks to the hd2900xt???? shakehead.gif .. are u on drugs??

hd2900xt.. when it came out full of enthusiasm
then excuse.
driver problem
leakage etc
and till today driver driver driver...

nvidia camp... ppl are enjoying their cards...
go check the nvidia forum.. do u here anybody complaining about crashes etc..
and now a product that came like 1 year later wants to compete a 320mb that is going to be phased out..
and the worst part look at the ati cards..
saving so much in cost that the cooler looks like a piece of crap (other than asus who made it look better)
and HIS/GECUBE/SAPHIRE box is like a freaking cardbox... sishh yup never winter nights 2 on saphire cool.. my foot

[/quote]

yup yup
no need fanboyism here
ur a long timer here ctskl
u shud know better
pelik la...cant we all just stand in the middle in this forum?

we've seen reviews and this and that
if u think something is wrong somewhere, maybe u cud test the 2900pro first and make benchies later on
to me i dont really care what card's better now
im not getting them
its just fun to see all this coming up
why take it with all this heat? why call other people noobs and losers?
everything's about flaming this and bashing that...

now no offence dude but honestly, not many of us had the liberty to test this and that card of which u have tried
seriously

anyways, i'd still say 2900pro is a good card not because i love ati or that nvidia sucks all this while for not giving ati the chance to make a run for its money
its judicial notice...
period
yeah, in most reviews we've seen it losing to synthetic bench, and win in some, but do i care?
in real gaming, they already did the benchmarks and its proven good
what else can we conclude?
that they were paid by ATI?
yeah...if yes so what
and if the card is bad, so be it
our opinions does not mean anything to them manufacturers in any way
at least, the 128bit players can have a second opinion on whether to get 320mb, 640mb or the 2900pro based on what they read cuz its impossible to try all b4 deciding

This post has been edited by gtoforce: Oct 4 2007, 02:50 PM
toughnut
post Oct 4 2007, 04:15 PM

3,239 posts

wow. cool down lol.

anyway, got rumour 8800GT out soon. G92.
jy14
post Oct 4 2007, 04:42 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Oct 4 2007, 04:15 PM)
wow. cool down lol.

anyway, got rumour 8800GT out soon. G92.
Off Topic: Will the 8800GT be a watered down 8800GTS ? To compete with this 2900pro or the 2900GT ?
maximsilentfoot
post Oct 4 2007, 04:51 PM

149 posts

i hope nvidia comes out with something soon after the 2900pro and gt's release, something that gives us better value than the 8800gts and 2900pro. when the competition heats up, prices gets slashed, silentfoot sneaks in and goes for the silent kill (purchase:P)
alpha_numeric182
post Oct 4 2007, 05:28 PM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

i'm just wondering..what's the minimum psu requirement for this card? is Silverstone ST56F enough..

ST56F

This post has been edited by alpha_numeric182: Oct 4 2007, 05:30 PM
alpha_numeric182
post Oct 4 2007, 05:39 PM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Oct 4 2007, 05:30 PM)

Added on October 4, 2007, 5:32 pm
The PSU is enough with your current spec.
what if in the future i wanna switch to dual core..let's say c2d..will ST56F still capable of powering my rig?
ghost321
post Oct 4 2007, 05:43 PM

334 posts

Looking at the reviews DAAMIT's 2900PRO 512MB VS 8800GTS 320MB
1 point for DAAMIT
0 point for NVIDIA

Price and performance - hand down to 2900PRO.

NVIDIA's answer to this card --> 8800GT?

I predict COLORFUL 2900PRO 512MB bulk will be around that time... biggrin.gif

Year 2008 is a good year!!
Hyde`fK
post Oct 4 2007, 05:44 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(alpha_numeric182 @ Oct 4 2007, 05:39 PM)
what if in the future i wanna switch to dual core..let's say c2d..will ST56F still capable of powering my rig?
If you do have plan for upcoming future upgrade, it's wiser to spend more getting a higher end PSU. You won't have to change the PSU that often as well. Some people will spend >RM600 in getting a good PSU, because of more future proven. Still, depends on each perpectives as not everyone upgrades their system that often as well too. You might want to consider spending RM500 on a better PSU. Try ask for others' opinion in the PSU thread. I'm sure you will have a clearer idea.
jy14
post Oct 4 2007, 05:48 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

QUOTE(alpha_numeric182 @ Oct 4 2007, 05:28 PM)
i'm just wondering..what's the minimum psu requirement for this card? is Silverstone ST56F enough..

ST56F
Sure enuf la. Just might not provide u with the overdrive feature only. That PSU is a good PSU, can power up a 8800ultra too.
TSgtoforce
post Oct 4 2007, 06:19 PM

2,967 posts

yo hyde
the mobo already arrived
seriously nak call u susah nak mampos
anyways, will pasang the board at moderno's shop i think
ehehe

okay
back to our thing
i'd say i hope my fsp gx600gln can go crossfire this thing with my booster x3
hahahaha
900w of sweet mother of god power

2900pro is stated to consume power just like its brother the XT
but hey, if thats gonna gimme super reso, who the hell cares
plus bill elektrik tak naik sangat due to computering
mesin basuh lagi banyak makan

and rahat, i tot u dont wanna upgrade anymore till we graduate la
alpha_numeric182
post Oct 4 2007, 06:25 PM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

so which psu is ideal for this gc? that can support the ATi Overdrive feature..and not forgetting has the best bang for the buck..

ATi certified psu
Hyde`fK
post Oct 4 2007, 06:30 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Oct 4 2007, 06:19 PM)
yo hyde
the mobo already arrived
seriously nak call u susah nak mampos
anyways, will pasang the board at moderno's shop i think
ehehe

okay
back to our thing
i'd say i hope my fsp gx600gln can go crossfire this thing with my booster x3
hahahaha
900w of sweet mother of god power

2900pro is stated to consume power just like its brother the XT
but hey, if thats gonna gimme super reso, who the hell cares
plus bill elektrik tak naik sangat due to computering
mesin basuh lagi banyak makan

Good to hear that, glad you can get it sooner rather than tomorrow, don't wish you to wait too. Hehe. Strange but other call me, easily can get through. Anyway, wanna tell you also, please clear the CMOS, as I've forget to do it and the settings inside is pre-overclocked settings, first boot might not post. Also, flash the bios with the latest, it's on the old 424 BIOS. New bios should improve overclocking. If there's anything, SMS me, or PM me in forum.
TSgtoforce
post Oct 4 2007, 06:43 PM

2,967 posts

okay
gimme ur ym or msn
easy to contact

i wont be installing it myself
i wanna go moderno to clean my pentium dual core
in the meantime can ask him to check the mobo for me as well
trust the pro on a pro mobo
ahaha

hang on
what is ati overdrive?
i heard its available in the 1950pro already

alpha_numeric182
post Oct 4 2007, 06:53 PM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Oct 4 2007, 06:43 PM)
hang on
what is ati overdrive?
i heard its available in the 1950pro already
well from what i know..it needs 1 8-pin pci-e connector in order for it to work..it's like a simple overclocking tool..correct me if i'm wrong..

ATi Overdrive FAQ

PSU requirement for ATi Overdrive
TSgtoforce
post Oct 4 2007, 07:57 PM

2,967 posts

oh yeah
not the 1950pro
the 2900xt
yeah
dats why it got 8pin
more power for more processing
bst dude
post Oct 4 2007, 09:56 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(HaVoC @ Oct 2 2007, 03:20 PM)
Any shop in lowyat selling this already?
went to lowyat yesterday, a few shop start selling oledi

sapphire 2900 pro 512 gddr3 rm 1000
sapphire 2900 pro 1gb gddr4 rm 1400 ( same price with 2900xt 512mb gddr3)
TSgtoforce
post Oct 4 2007, 11:00 PM

2,967 posts

haha
lets give it a little more time
Ryo
post Oct 4 2007, 11:14 PM

871 posts

good value for the 1gb one. same price as a 512mb XT, twice the memory..only downclocked a bit. am i right?
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Oct 4 2007, 11:15 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(bst dude @ Oct 4 2007, 09:56 PM)

fuiyoh who would buy the card when 2900XT is better choice laugh.gif tongue.gif but the 2900PRO is definitely the best bang 4 the buck now drool.gif rclxm9.gif would most likely upgrade 2 that card when it reaches the melaka shore cool.gif unless 2950PRO can priced at the same range cool2.gif

This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Oct 4 2007, 11:16 PM
bst dude
post Oct 4 2007, 11:36 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Oct 4 2007, 11:15 PM)
fuiyoh who would buy the card when 2900XT is better choice laugh.gif tongue.gif but the 2900PRO is definitely the best bang 4 the buck now drool.gif rclxm9.gif would most likely upgrade 2 that card when it reaches the melaka shore cool.gif unless 2950PRO can priced at the same range cool2.gif
i think 512mb is really worth the money
in general,its only 10% below 2900xt 512mb version (save rm 400) and more likely it beats 8800gts 320mb in most of the benchmark

correct me if im wrong
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Oct 4 2007, 11:43 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(bst dude @ Oct 4 2007, 11:36 PM)
i think 512mb is really worth the money
in general,its only 10% below 2900xt 512mb version (save rm 400) and more likely it beats 8800gts 320mb in most of the benchmark

correct me if im wrong
reli ka?wow now pocket itchy dy. laugh.gif rclxms.gif
bst dude
post Oct 4 2007, 11:52 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Oct 4 2007, 11:43 PM)
reli ka?wow now pocket itchy dy. laugh.gif rclxms.gif
but to bad only sapphire aval,waiting for his

This post has been edited by bst dude: Oct 5 2007, 12:05 AM
maximsilentfoot
post Oct 5 2007, 12:41 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Oct 4 2007, 05:19 PM)
thats what i keep saying. till now already bought 4 new stuff for pc lol. cant help it argh.
anyways, the price for the 512mb looks very attractive. but for the best deal i guess its best to wait till the 2950pro comes out. should be around that range and push the price of the 2900 further down. i'm still a bit stuck on the 256bit (2950) v. the 512bit (2900). cuz the diff from 128bit to 256bit is a helluva lot. does the same apply to 256 and 512? i mean speed wise the pro can clock easily up to even XT speeds for so much less. and we dont know how much dx10.1 will b a leap from 10 yet do we?
zeustronic
post Oct 5 2007, 08:53 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Oct 5 2007, 12:15 AM)
lol... lucky you can wait, not like me i was itchy. u might consider to get Gladiator version 512MB DDR4 2950Pro. that means 2900Pro won't last long in the market, unless they drop the price to cater mid-range.
TSgtoforce
post Oct 5 2007, 09:07 AM

2,967 posts

its already said 2900pro wont last long
thats why the have revival and gladiator
but im sure its just a gimmick to keep all the ati fans sell their 2600xt's and get a better card
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Oct 5 2007, 10:46 AM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(maximsilentfoot @ Oct 5 2007, 12:41 AM)
thats what i keep saying. till now already bought 4 new stuff for pc lol. cant help it argh.
anyways, the price for the 512mb looks very attractive. but for the best deal i guess its best to wait till the 2950pro comes out. should be around that range and push the price of the 2900 further down. i'm still a bit stuck on the 256bit (2950) v. the 512bit (2900). cuz the diff from 128bit to 256bit is a helluva lot. does the same apply to 256 and 512? i mean speed wise the pro can clock easily up to even XT speeds for so much less. and we dont know how much dx10.1 will b a leap from 10 yet do we?
eh i tot 2950pro should have 512MB launch 2gete with 256MB rite hmm.gif if thats the case we play the waiting game again lo laugh.gif

Added on October 5, 2007, 10:50 am
QUOTE(zeustronic @ Oct 5 2007, 08:53 AM)
lol... lucky you can wait, not like me i was itchy. u might consider to get Gladiator version 512MB DDR4 2950Pro. that means 2900Pro won't last long in the market, unless they drop the price to cater mid-range.
hahaha sure i will get the 512MB straight away...eh bro u no need 2 upgrade so fast la...your 2900XT still vr bloody powderful wey laugh.gif rclxms.gif

Added on October 5, 2007, 6:07 pmw00t 2900pro bulk available now drool.gif rclxm9.gif come lets start ordering now laugh.gif rclxms.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/521998

This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Oct 5 2007, 06:07 PM
PGV3910
post Oct 7 2007, 03:29 AM

1,885 posts

aiyaa..poket koyak lagii..2900pro is very promissing lor!!
but i like nvidia rather than ati.. tongue.gif
waiting 8800ultra price drop soon rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSgtoforce
post Oct 7 2007, 03:41 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Oct 7 2007, 03:29 AM)
waiting 8800ultra price drop soon rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
yeah
maybe it'll be like 7900gtx rite
hahaha
last time it was 2000+
now only rm900 at least if first hand (if available la)
maybe 8800ultra can reach rm1k later
PGV3910
post Oct 7 2007, 03:51 AM

1,885 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Oct 7 2007, 03:41 AM)
yeah
hahaha
last time it was 2000+
haha..if 8800ultra can get 1k...i rela poket koyak dua2 belah lor laugh.gif
damn!bulk baby sell xfx 8800gts rm888 ony shocking.gif
damn!damn!damn cheap! shocking.gif
but not worth lor upgrade from 8800gts 320mb to 2900pro 512mb...at least i'll go for 8800GTX! flex.gif
GTX is stand for tough card u know. brows.gif brows.gif
even 7800GTX,7900GTX.all this a legendary powerful card.fuhhh..GTX is stand for "tiada lagi persoalan" laugh.gif
choyster
post Oct 7 2007, 03:53 AM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Oct 7 2007, 03:51 AM)
haha..if 8800ultra can get 1k...i rela poket koyak dua2 belah lor laugh.gif
damn!bulk baby sell xfx 8800gts rm888 ony shocking.gif
damn!damn!damn cheap!  shocking.gif
but not worth lor upgrade from 8800gts 320mb to 2900pro 512mb...at least i'll go for 8800GTX! flex.gif
GTX is stand for tough card u know. brows.gif  brows.gif
even 7800GTX,7900GTX.all this a legendary powerful card.fuhhh..GTX is stand for "tiada lagi persoalan" laugh.gif
wah gtx so geng mer?Btw i am willing to spend 1k on Gc alone lor i feel its 2 much but for you guys hardcore 1
PGV3910
post Oct 7 2007, 03:59 AM

1,885 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Oct 7 2007, 03:53 AM)
wah gtx so geng mer?Btw i am willing to spend 1k on Gc alone lor i feel its 2 much but for you guys hardcore 1
4 sure tongue.gif "maknusia tak pernah puasss.." laugh.gif
i wonder..8800gts 320mb can play crysis smoothly ka? icon_question.gif this game very2 tempting lorr drool.gif

This post has been edited by PGV3910: Oct 7 2007, 04:09 AM
choyster
post Oct 7 2007, 04:27 AM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Oct 7 2007, 03:59 AM)
4 sure tongue.gif "maknusia tak pernah puasss.." laugh.gif
i wonder..8800gts 320mb can play crysis smoothly ka? icon_question.gif this game very2 tempting lorr drool.gif
if i only had the money cry.gif cry.gif
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Oct 7 2007, 12:51 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Oct 7 2007, 03:29 AM)
waiting 8800ultra price drop soon rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
QUOTE(gtoforce @ Oct 7 2007, 03:41 AM)
yeah
hahaha
last time it was 2000+
by the time 8800ultra hit 1k n i dunno whether the card still selling or not ah,there will b 9800GTX/ultra dy which is 5x faster than 8800ultra...so which one would u choose...obviously the latter card rite laugh.gif brows.gif

Added on October 7, 2007, 12:54 pm
QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Oct 7 2007, 03:59 AM)
NO laugh.gif expect it run max at medium at 800*600 brows.gif

This post has been edited by skylinegtr34rule4life: Oct 7 2007, 12:54 PM
Clavicus
post Oct 7 2007, 01:08 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Oct 7 2007, 12:51 PM)
Sauce pls. AFAIK, 8800 will run fine on higher resolutions with reasonable settings.
choyster
post Oct 7 2007, 02:12 PM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Oct 7 2007, 01:08 PM)
Sauce pls. AFAIK, 8800 will run fine on higher resolutions with reasonable settings.
the game is not even out yet shakehead.gif

Added on October 7, 2007, 2:15 pm
the game is not even out yet shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by choyster: Oct 7 2007, 02:15 PM
X.E.D
post Oct 7 2007, 06:39 PM

1,955 posts

With that pitiful framebuffer size, expect it to not even be able to use full textures. laugh.gif
Clavicus
post Oct 7 2007, 08:34 PM

765 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Oct 7 2007, 06:39 PM)
With that pitiful framebuffer size, expect it to not even be able to use full textures. laugh.gif
I remember Cevat Yerli mentioning about 8800, alongside with E6600 and 2GB of RAM to play this game on high(?). I might be wrong though. Then again, i duno which 8800 he's talking about, so .. It might turn out to be the same thing as playing Bioshock (or MOHA) on an 8600GT. Medium settings but overall playable experience.
PGV3910
post Oct 7 2007, 08:59 PM

1,885 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Oct 7 2007, 12:51 PM)
aiyak!don't said like that lor bro.. cry.gif sedih oooo.. cry.gif
at least 1024*768 ok lor.. laugh.gif
can anyone tell me how to get the demo version?try to google but can't find doh.gif

This post has been edited by PGV3910: Oct 7 2007, 09:01 PM
TSgtoforce
post Oct 7 2007, 09:16 PM

2,967 posts

demo coming out at 26th october
so sabar ye

anyways, boleh main DX9 la the game
but of course, the smoothness takde la
i wanna try play with both
ehehe
PGV3910
post Oct 7 2007, 09:22 PM

1,885 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Oct 7 2007, 09:16 PM)
demo coming out at 26th october
so sabar ye

anyways, boleh main DX9 la the game
but of course, the smoothness takde la
i wanna try play with both
ehehe
26th october?waduh2..lamanya kok.can't stand it anymore sad.gif
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Oct 7 2007, 10:47 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Oct 7 2007, 09:22 PM)
same here sad.gif all the best games dunno y must push 2 november dammit doh.gif
Ryo
post Oct 8 2007, 01:03 AM

871 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Oct 7 2007, 10:47 PM)
same here sad.gif all the best games dunno y must push 2 november dammit doh.gif
winter release man. perfect gift for Christmas biggrin.gif

TSgtoforce
post Oct 8 2007, 05:56 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Oct 7 2007, 09:22 PM)
tu baru demo
ianho
post Oct 8 2007, 08:47 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Oct 7 2007, 08:34 PM)
I remember Cevat Yerli mentioning about 8800, alongside with E6600 and 2GB of RAM to play this game on high(?). I might be wrong though. Then again, i duno which 8800 he's talking about, so .. It might turn out to be the same thing as playing Bioshock (or MOHA) on an 8600GT. Medium settings but overall playable experience.
The part that I remembered about the Cevat Yerli interview was about how Crysis is made to be top of the line rig killer for 3 years just like the way Far Cry was. It's made to torture a few generations of gfx cards. I remember going tru 3 gfx cards just to play Far Cry nicely last time. 6600GT cud hardly do anything, then i moved on to the 6800GT which played it smoothly at 1280 but when I moved on to 20" wide at 1680, again lag. So I bought the 7950GX2 n that played Far Cry smoothly again.

In fact I remember them asking him about today's current top line rigs. Quad core, 8800Ultra SLi n he sed it will only play Crysis at max settings at about 1280 reso. That's just sad. Cant see it in all it's glory even with a rig that costs more than a lot of ppl's cars. laugh.gif
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 8 2007, 10:09 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 8 2007, 08:47 AM)
In fact I remember them asking him about today's current top line rigs. Quad core, 8800Ultra SLi n he sed it will only play Crysis at max settings at about 1280 reso. That's just sad. Cant see it in all it's glory even with a rig that costs more than a lot of ppl's cars. laugh.gif
in that case, is that the game being unoptimized, or the game itself really need that much horsepower ? When even an 8800Ultra with 4 cores can't go smooth beyond 1280x1024, then the game developer should think of workarounds
vey99
post Oct 8 2007, 05:09 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Oct 8 2007, 10:09 AM)
in that case, is that the game being unoptimized, or the game itself really need that much horsepower ? When even an 8800Ultra with 4 cores can't go smooth beyond 1280x1024, then the game developer should think of workarounds
While we are slightly OT, most big games are like that, to prolong lifespan. Current high end cards ARE able to play these games at a decent enough setting, but to max it out you need future hardware. Same case Oblivion, Fear, even Ultima 9 way back...
ocz
post Oct 8 2007, 08:26 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

i heard sum1 mentioned 9800 gtx...will it be released...?
zeustronic
post Oct 8 2007, 09:24 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Oct 8 2007, 11:09 AM)
lol... use DX9 for smoother gameplay, if really wanna play in higher detailed gameplay in DX10 u of coz dig out ur pockets. or u might juz wait for nex gen GC to roll outs.
TSgtoforce
post Oct 8 2007, 09:57 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 8 2007, 08:47 AM)
The part that I remembered about the Cevat Yerli interview was about how Crysis is made to be top of the line rig killer for 3 years just like the way Far Cry was. It's made to torture a few generations of gfx cards. I remember going tru 3 gfx cards just to play Far Cry nicely last time. 6600GT cud hardly do anything, then i moved on to the 6800GT which played it smoothly at 1280 but when I moved on to 20" wide at 1680, again lag. So I bought the 7950GX2 n that played Far Cry smoothly again.

he said that
haha
well that means he's propagating dual gpus
hahaha

oh well i went from 4800se, 5950 ultra than 7800gt to actually play that game at the maxest
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Oct 9 2007, 11:06 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

u know... i think it's kinda dumb chasing all out for the new products... like back then when AMD X2 & Pentium D came out... i thank god i didn't got them and instead got a E6300 later... mana tahu 2morrow my supplier pricelist got new GC tat is fairly good in DX10 at lower price... laugh.gif the regret... sweat.gif
X.E.D
post Oct 10 2007, 06:45 AM

1,955 posts

http://techreport.com/discussions.x/13352

Big big BIG BIGGGGGG DX10 gains.

So ikanayam had the right contacts. laugh.gif
PGV3910
post Oct 10 2007, 12:12 PM

1,885 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Oct 10 2007, 06:45 AM)
http://techreport.com/discussions.x/13352

Big big BIG BIGGGGGG DX10 gains.

So ikanayam had the right contacts. laugh.gif
hehe..even cheap 8800gts 320mb can pawn pricey 2900xt rclxm9.gif
nvidia all the way cool2.gif
nelienuxe_sara
post Oct 12 2007, 05:55 AM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

lol bro

go read here
http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/1189/5
when did 8800gts win?
arjuna_mfna
post Oct 12 2007, 06:02 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Oct 12 2007, 05:55 AM)
lol bro

go read here
when did 8800gts win?
bro 3dmark in nothing... the important thing is in real games, hom many fsb can gain with high reso and setting, i use same review u use here, look in chart, nvidia win almost all in gaming
http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/1189/16/p...ista/index.html
X.E.D
post Oct 12 2007, 08:11 AM

1,955 posts

Really, do I need to repeat this over and over?

It took until about mid-2007 then the Geforce 8800 started being much better. Previously, DX10 was crap, DX9 was crap (early days) and some games refused to run (Splinter Cell DA)

Drivers take time. Just because it runs 3DMark "Great" doesn't even mean the drivers are at a good stage. As is now, the 2900XT needs 3-4 more months till we reach a verdict. Kay?
zeustronic
post Oct 12 2007, 08:19 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Oct 10 2007, 01:12 PM)
hehe..even cheap 8800gts 320mb can pawn pricey 2900xt rclxm9.gif
nvidia all the way cool2.gif
loled the 8800GTS 320MB run World In Conflict average 11fps 1280 x 1024 at very high setting in DX10. thats calling pwned??

This post has been edited by zeustronic: Oct 12 2007, 08:27 AM
V1V3C
post Oct 12 2007, 09:57 AM

25 posts

i've read somewhere (sorry, forgot) that even with better driver, the 2900xt wont gain much performance when AA is on becoz the fact that its lacking ROP thing compare to 8800 series. Is this true?

surely hope it is not: getting myself 2900pro soon sad.gif
X.E.D
post Oct 12 2007, 10:23 AM

1,955 posts

It's 2 different things.
Even when the AA performance deduction with 2900 is higher, when the overall performance is higher AA speeds will also increase.
jy14
post Oct 12 2007, 10:55 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

Gecube will be releasing the 2900pro 512MB DDR3 for about SRP RM 1180-1200, not within the expected price of below 8800GTS 320 yet, but it is much lower than the 8800GTs 640MB.

HIS will release the pricelist soon too.
Hyde`fK
post Oct 12 2007, 10:59 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

It's all about price over performance ratio. Having some tests better than the other doesn't makes the card a better value, as those cards have different price. Like, would most pay hundreds more when the performance gain is not much and hardly can be differentiate with our naked eye?
arjuna_mfna
post Oct 12 2007, 11:23 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Oct 12 2007, 10:55 AM)
Gecube will be releasing the 2900pro 512MB DDR3 for about SRP RM 1180-1200, not within the expected price of below 8800GTS 320 yet, but it is much lower than the 8800GTs 640MB.

rm1.2k for hd2900pro, it over price to me.... usd249 ~ rm800++ why it turn rm1.2k..

btw latest ati cat just release 7.10
http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx
bata
post Oct 12 2007, 11:32 AM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Oct 12 2007, 10:55 AM)

QUOTE(arjuna_mfna @ Oct 12 2007, 11:23 AM)
rm1.2k for hd2900pro, it over price to me.... usd249 ~ rm800++ why it turn rm1.2k..

btw latest ati cat just release 7.10
http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx
IIRC strongbaby can get it for rm1k....
and i took a glance from my supplier price list b4...
IIRC its +-rm 1k also laugh.gif

p/s: now cant see the price again sweat.gif
Chow
jy14
post Oct 12 2007, 11:52 AM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

Its normal for local distri to over price it for now. It'll drop much later when the item reaches here.
lolhalol
post Oct 12 2007, 12:34 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

http://www.zeonpc.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=71

so , still want to challenge teh 2900pro?> its actrually a XT tongue.gif flashable.. ah brings baack many many memories... smile.gif
RokXIII
post Oct 12 2007, 12:37 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Oct 12 2007, 12:34 PM)
http://www.zeonpc.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=71
so , still want to challenge teh 2900pro?> its actrually a XT tongue.gif flashable.. ah brings baack many many memories... smile.gif
a very good guide indeed! nod.gif
but i doubt that who else ald own the 2900pro now? It is limited product, rite?
lolhalol
post Oct 12 2007, 12:39 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Oct 12 2007, 01:37 PM)
a very good guide indeed! nod.gif
but i doubt that who else ald own the 2900pro now? It is limited product, rite?
if u check , theres many owners of it,, its just that it hasnt arrived here yet.. malaysia i mean.. iirc its should be here sooonn... neway i would rather buy this than the 2950 ... smile.gif cheap and bang per buck.. and flashable.. ahhhhhhhhhhh the memories
alpha_numeric182
post Oct 12 2007, 12:41 PM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

it's just like the X800 GTO²..can be flashed to X850XT..now this would be interesting.. brows.gif
tachlio
post Oct 12 2007, 12:55 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

how much power will this card consume??

Ryo
post Oct 12 2007, 02:52 PM

871 posts

approx 312W (load) if you OC it to HD2900XT speed

This post has been edited by Ryo: Oct 12 2007, 02:54 PM
jy14
post Oct 12 2007, 03:01 PM

**New 5-star General**
824 posts

lolhalol: So this will be like the Nvidia 7900GTO being flashed to 7900GTX ?
TSgtoforce
post Oct 12 2007, 03:03 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(bata @ Oct 12 2007, 11:32 AM)
IIRC strongbaby can get it for rm1k....
and i took a glance from my supplier price list b4...
IIRC its +-rm 1k also  laugh.gif

p/s: now cant see the price again sweat.gif
Chow
bata the muscular IT guy around
ehehe

2900pro...all these
are they really worth it to get now?
what games je yang ade that can really need it?

lolhalol
post Oct 12 2007, 04:39 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Oct 12 2007, 04:01 PM)
lolhalol: So this will be like the Nvidia 7900GTO being flashed to 7900GTX ?
yeah same
PGV3910
post Oct 12 2007, 05:01 PM

1,885 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Oct 12 2007, 08:19 AM)
loled the 8800GTS 320MB run World In Conflict average 11fps 1280 x 1024 at very high setting in DX10. thats calling pwned??
hehe..sure 2900xt power than gts 320mb maaa.price pun 2900xt menang tongue.gif .for my case,im only use 1024*768 laugh.gif

Added on October 12, 2007, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Oct 12 2007, 05:55 AM)
lol bro

go read here
when did 8800gts win?
i never trust benchmark score whistling.gif real gaming is important than nonsense benchies laugh.gif

Added on October 12, 2007, 5:05 pm
QUOTE(arjuna_mfna @ Oct 12 2007, 06:02 AM)
bro 3dmark in nothing... the important thing is in real games, hom many fsb can gain with high reso and setting, i use same review u use here, look in chart, nvidia win almost all in gaming
http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/1189/16/p...ista/index.html
yup!thats the point bro.important is how high is high fps and how low is low fps in gaming.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by PGV3910: Oct 12 2007, 05:05 PM
bata
post Oct 12 2007, 05:45 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ Oct 12 2007, 03:03 PM)
bata the muscular IT guy around
ehehe

2900pro...all these
are they really worth it to get now?
what games je yang ade that can really need it?
quite many titles what
Bioshock, Lost Planet, World in Conflict
end of this year will be moree tongue.gif

Chow
nelienuxe_sara
post Oct 12 2007, 07:21 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

yayaya
i try lost planet on my 2600xt
damn nice pict
but the df from dx9 n dx10 is hardly to see in this game
zeustronic
post Oct 12 2007, 09:25 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Oct 12 2007, 06:01 PM)
hehe..sure 2900xt power than gts 320mb maaa.price pun 2900xt menang tongue.gif .for my case,im only use 1024*768  laugh.gif

Added on October 12, 2007, 5:03 pm
i never trust benchmark score whistling.gif real gaming is important than nonsense benchies laugh.gif

Added on October 12, 2007, 5:05 pm
yup!thats the point bro.important is how high is high fps and how low is low fps in gaming.. biggrin.gif
I tot u earlier stated 8800GTS pwned HD2900XT, which refer price or performance rclxub.gif ??
X.E.D
post Oct 12 2007, 09:37 PM

1,955 posts

@Zeus
You know what to expect of someone who *ahem* owns a GTS and goes into a Radeon thread spewing. wink.gif wink.gif wink.gif
ronaldjoe
post Oct 12 2007, 10:24 PM

3,569 posts

PC Zone price : Sapphire 2900pro 512Mb DDR3 is RM1100 @ 12 Oct 07
At first I expect the price would be below RM1k mark but it's not at the moment sweat.gif
Probably got to wait for few more months for another price drop yawn.gif
nelienuxe_sara
post Oct 12 2007, 10:32 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Oct 12 2007, 09:37 PM)
@Zeus
You know what to expect of someone who *ahem* owns a GTS and goes into a Radeon thread spewing. wink.gif wink.gif wink.gif
lol
nvidia base fan...
i dun care the brand
as long i got the money n the card is at just the price
last time use galaxy 7300gt
then buy asus 8500gt
good enough since i not into fps
just play for fun
play dota need 8800 ultra ka?
wut a laugh
X.E.D
post Oct 12 2007, 10:51 PM

1,955 posts

I dunno, seems to me that in the nV official forums it's quite rough some times.

Radeon users can take pride on being civilized, not? biggrin.gif
nelienuxe_sara
post Oct 12 2007, 11:11 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

kinda lost here
haha
dunno wut u mean
RokXIII
post Oct 12 2007, 11:17 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 12 2007, 10:24 PM)
PC Zone price : Sapphire 2900pro 512Mb DDR3 is RM1100 @ 12 Oct 07
At first I expect the price would be below RM1k mark but it's not at the moment  sweat.gif
Probably got to wait for few more months for another price drop  yawn.gif
RM1.1k.... overprice for me... sweat.gif
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Oct 12 2007, 11:53 PM

13,340 posts

haiyah wait till when the next gen card comes out,the price will guarantee drop by 50% laugh.gif
king99
post Oct 13 2007, 12:00 AM

1,188 posts

Wait 5 years...8800GTX will be RM 120
shinjun
post Oct 13 2007, 11:26 AM

2,247 posts

Saw in bulk 2900pro for RM1k. laugh.gif
RokXIII
post Oct 13 2007, 12:04 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Oct 13 2007, 11:26 AM)
I would like to wait for 2950pro release soon... laugh.gif
SUSdattebayo
post Oct 13 2007, 01:01 PM

5,366 posts

cheaper than 8800GTS 640 MB lar
but slightly cost more than 320 MB version
sonic_cd
post Oct 13 2007, 03:05 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Oct 13 2007, 11:26 AM)
i got it today for 970 .... tongue.gif
ronaldjoe
post Oct 13 2007, 11:19 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 13 2007, 03:05 PM)
Bro. Where to get? Sapphire or HIS?
Please share. TQ
shinjun
post Oct 13 2007, 11:23 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 13 2007, 11:19 PM)
Bro. Where to get? Sapphire or HIS?
Please share. TQ
It's a Sapphire. tongue.gif

Check out for the pic here.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/484118/+560
ronaldjoe
post Oct 14 2007, 10:20 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Oct 13 2007, 11:23 PM)
It's a Sapphire. tongue.gif

Check out for the pic here.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/484118/+560
Thanks dude biggrin.gif
wk1168
post Oct 14 2007, 10:46 PM

myLensDB.com
778 posts

i bought it for 990 last week..... blink.gif
ronaldjoe
post Oct 14 2007, 11:12 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(wk1168 @ Oct 14 2007, 10:46 PM)
i bought it for 990 last week.....  blink.gif
Cheapest I could find in LYN Bulk is RM1000 sweat.gif
alpha_numeric182
post Oct 15 2007, 12:30 AM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

gecube and his haven't reach here yet..i'm sure the price will go down when it does eventually arrives here..
Games For Windows
post Oct 15 2007, 07:53 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(wk1168 @ Oct 14 2007, 10:46 PM)
i bought it for 990 last week.....  blink.gif
Where ru guys buying it from?

I wanted to get an 8800 GTS all along, for the past few months. Now the 2900Pro seems to be cheaper and FASTER. That is a huge deal for me.

Liuteva
post Oct 15 2007, 08:54 AM

Empty.
2,991 posts

2900PRO Vs 8800GT . Any ideas ?
post Oct 15 2007, 08:57 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Post deleted

This post has been edited by 168257061: Oct 15 2007, 08:58 AM
Nemesis181188
post Oct 15 2007, 10:28 AM

635 posts

Yeah I'm very interested how this card fair against 8800gts.
apis
post Oct 15 2007, 11:17 AM

1,175 posts

but still people will buy 8800gts.
sonic_cd
post Oct 15 2007, 12:58 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(Liuteva @ Oct 15 2007, 08:54 AM)
2900PRO Vs 8800GT . Any ideas ?
wait for the benchmarks or something ... getting the 3dmark 06 to run is a pain .... argh ....
zeustronic
post Oct 15 2007, 03:25 PM

2,605 posts

HD2950Pro coming soon performance should be 8800GT, expect it to be cooler & better power consumption than 2900XT or Pro.

This post has been edited by zeustronic: Oct 15 2007, 03:27 PM
sniper on the roof
post Oct 15 2007, 06:14 PM

23,414 posts

Yup.. both the RV670 and G92 is going to be much better buys.. cheaper (reference price lar), lower power consumption and faster than the 2900Pro.
Games For Windows
post Oct 15 2007, 07:16 PM

80 posts

Oh man... if the 2900Pro or even the 2950 performs WAY better than the 8800 GTS...

if...
that's the case...

I have to say goodbye to NVIDIA?
I prefer NVIDIA all the way... but the words "cheaper and better performance" is stuck in my head. Also "Direct X 10.1"... Also "512Mb"
(At first I was planning on getting the 320Mb 8800 GTS [which I have been planning since middle of this year !!!] )

If I get a GPU, I will use for more MORE than 1 year - - I can't afford.
Right now I am using 7800 GTX. Can't do AA + HDR. My max. res is 1280x1024.

zeustronic
post Oct 15 2007, 09:22 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Games For Windows @ Oct 15 2007, 08:16 PM)
Oh man... if the 2900Pro or even the 2950 performs WAY better than the 8800 GTS...

if...
that's the case...

I have to say goodbye to NVIDIA?
I prefer NVIDIA all the way... but the words "cheaper and better performance" is stuck in my head. Also "Direct X 10.1"... Also "512Mb"
(At first I was planning on getting the 320Mb 8800 GTS [which I have been planning since middle of this year !!!] )

If I get a GPU, I will use for more MORE than 1 year - - I can't afford.
Right now I am using 7800 GTX. Can't do AA + HDR. My max. res is 1280x1024.
If u r gamers who seek higher detail gaming, u should change graphic annually tongue.gif.
sonic_cd
post Oct 15 2007, 09:37 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

Q: I just bought a new ATI Radeon HD series graphics adapter and 3DMark06 freezes during the splash-screen. What is wrong and how can I fix this?
A: This is a known issue and we have been able to reproduce it in our test lab. The problem lays in an DLL which we use to detect the graphics cards' core and memory speeds. We are working on an update to correct this issue after which all Futuremark benchmarks should run fine with the latest offerings from all IHV's. Until then you can work around this issue either by renaming the "Direcpll.dll" file (found in %WINDIR%\system32\Futuremark\MSC\) to something else, or you can run the benchmark using the -nosysteminfo command line. Please note that if you use the -nosysteminfo command line, you will not be able to publish the result online. Futuremark will inform all its users when the update is available!
Link to this FAQ entry:
http://service.futuremark.com/support/sear...cid=14&fid=1311

no wonder the HD 2900 pro cannot run 03,05,06 .... kinda stupid imo
vey99
post Oct 15 2007, 09:45 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(Games For Windows @ Oct 15 2007, 07:16 PM)
If you wait long enuf sure got a card that will trump the current card you are eyeing...

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Oct 15 2007, 09:22 PM)
If u r gamers who seek higher detail gaming, u should change graphic annually tongue.gif.
That seems to be the case but more like 9 months... but 2900pro attractive at 512MB point. I think its a good fit for gmeers with 22" screen
apis
post Oct 15 2007, 09:59 PM

1,175 posts

x2900pro is better in some test compare to 8800gts.but it's cheaper than 8800 gts.more people aiming at 8800gts.
X.E.D
post Oct 15 2007, 10:05 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 15 2007, 09:37 PM)
Q: I just bought a new ATI Radeon HD series graphics adapter and 3DMark06 freezes during the splash-screen. What is wrong and how can I fix this?
A: This is a known issue and we have been able to reproduce it in our test lab. The problem lays in an DLL which we use to detect the graphics cards' core and memory speeds. We are working on an update to correct this issue after which all Futuremark benchmarks should run fine with the latest offerings from all IHV's. Until then you can work around this issue either by renaming the "Direcpll.dll" file (found in %WINDIR%\system32\Futuremark\MSC\) to something else, or you can run the benchmark using the -nosysteminfo command line. Please note that if you use the -nosysteminfo command line, you will not be able to publish the result online. Futuremark will inform all its users when the update is available! 
Link to this FAQ entry:
http://service.futuremark.com/support/sear...cid=14&fid=1311

no wonder the HD 2900 pro cannot run 03,05,06 .... kinda stupid imo
Well, a hotfix has just been released.
Google it.
sniper on the roof
post Oct 16 2007, 08:30 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Oct 15 2007, 09:45 PM)
If you wait long enuf sure got a card that will trump the current card you are eyeing...
That seems to be the case but more like 9 months... but 2900pro attractive at 512MB point. I think its a good fit for gmeers with 22" screen
Aiyar..I also often say don't wait.

But R670/G92 is less than a month away.. that's not wait.
vey99
post Oct 16 2007, 10:46 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 16 2007, 08:30 AM)
Aiyar..I also often say don't wait.

But R670/G92 is less than a month away.. that's not wait.
Thats the advantage of having multiple rigs, can upgrade cards more often lol at my wallet's expense... as long as the card is not noisy using stock HSF i will be happy, no need to buy aftermarket hsf
dark_evilz
post Oct 16 2007, 12:46 PM

241 posts

what's the diff between dx10.1 between dx10?? Sorry, noob here.
Spawnster
post Oct 16 2007, 03:41 PM

497 posts

i recommend to wait until 2950 or 8800gt is released. save yr heart and wallet some heartache. hehe smile.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Oct 16 2007, 05:28 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(Spawnster @ Oct 16 2007, 04:41 PM)
i recommend to wait until 2950 or 8800gt is released. save yr heart and wallet some heartache. hehe smile.gif
haih... go for next generation liao lor...
since 8800 already dubbed a failure due to it's failure in handling max detail DX10 graphics... sweat.gif

*maybe a Phenom powered ATI card wif D9 chips onboard... or Penryn powered nVidia card wif D9 chips onboard... brows.gif
juz kidding... tongue.gif
sonic_cd
post Oct 16 2007, 06:19 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Oct 15 2007, 10:05 PM)
Well, a hotfix has just been released.
Google it.
done .. well

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=3395814

strangely it cannot detect the card`s core and mem clocks . and i`m using the latest driver from ati on it
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Oct 16 2007, 08:31 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(dark_evilz @ Oct 16 2007, 12:46 PM)
what's the diff between dx10.1 between dx10?? Sorry, noob here.
dx 10.1 have more enhancements than dx10...so better save n taro your money on 2950pro since its the only dx10.1 card in the world 4 now laugh.gif rclxms.gif
zeustronic
post Oct 16 2007, 09:09 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 16 2007, 07:19 PM)
done .. well

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=3395814

strangely it cannot detect the card`s core and mem clocks . and i`m using the latest driver from ati on it
Don worry bout it so much as long it can run games smoothly, oc ur system & card bring out some juice..

This post has been edited by zeustronic: Oct 16 2007, 09:27 PM
alpha_numeric182
post Oct 16 2007, 10:17 PM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

do u guys think that the 2950 Pro will be cheaper that 2900 Pro? well..realistically the 2950 Pro should be much more expensive than the 2900 Pro considering the numerical model number rite? hmm.gif plus the new core and dx10.1..or does anyone know the price range for the 2950 Pro?
wk1168
post Oct 19 2007, 04:27 PM

myLensDB.com
778 posts

QUOTE(Games For Windows @ Oct 15 2007, 07:53 AM)
Where ru guys buying it from?

I wanted to get an 8800 GTS all along, for the past few months. Now the 2900Pro seems to be cheaper and FASTER. That is a huge deal for me.
ALL IT........
ronaldjoe
post Oct 19 2007, 10:05 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(wk1168 @ Oct 19 2007, 04:27 PM)
ALL IT........
ALL IT is selling it below RM1k? RM990 list price? laugh.gif
sonic_cd
post Oct 19 2007, 11:02 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 19 2007, 10:05 PM)
ALL IT is selling it below RM1k? RM990 list price? laugh.gif
970 is the lowest i got it for
choyster
post Oct 20 2007, 04:29 PM

1,802 posts

this card need power hungry Psu or not
dark_evilz
post Oct 20 2007, 06:28 PM

241 posts

ati card sedut banyak power...
so, better make sure your PSU can support...
sonic_cd
post Oct 20 2007, 06:32 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Oct 20 2007, 04:29 PM)
this card need power hungry Psu or not
ATI Radeon(tm) HD 2900 Series - System Requirements
System Requirements
PCI Express(R) based PC is required with one dual-width X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard
Connection to 550 Watt (750 for CrossFire(tm)) or greater power supply with two 2x3-pin PCIe(R) power connectors is required.
For enhanced performance with ATI Overdrive(tm), a power supply with one 2x3-pin and one 2x4-pin PCIe (R) power connector is required
Certified power supplies are strongly recommended. Refer to http://ati.amd.com/CertifiedPSU for a list of Certified products
(taken from ati website)

well i`m running it off my 400w enermax psu , which is listed under the ati website ....
alpha_numeric182
post Oct 20 2007, 07:02 PM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

does ur psu have the 2x4-pin PCIe power connector..i don't think it has..so ur running with 2 2x3-pins rite?
choyster
post Oct 20 2007, 07:55 PM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 20 2007, 06:32 PM)
System Requirements
PCI Express(R) based PC is required with one dual-width X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard
Connection to 550 Watt (750 for CrossFire(tm)) or greater power supply with two 2x3-pin PCIe(R) power connectors is required.
For enhanced performance with ATI Overdrive(tm), a power supply with one 2x3-pin and one 2x4-pin PCIe (R) power connector is required
Certified power supplies are strongly recommended. Refer to http://ati.amd.com/CertifiedPSU for a list of Certified products
(taken from ati website)

well i`m running it off my 400w enermax psu , which is listed under the ati website ....
wah shocking.gif need so much
sonic_cd
post Oct 20 2007, 10:12 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(alpha_numeric182 @ Oct 20 2007, 07:02 PM)
does ur psu have the 2x4-pin PCIe power connector..i don't think it has..so ur running with 2 2x3-pins rite?
yup , the 2x3 pin connector both used up ... i thought was only 1 pin when i bought the card .lol sweat.gif
ronaldjoe
post Oct 21 2007, 08:31 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 20 2007, 06:32 PM)
System Requirements
(taken from ati website)

There is no cooler master PSU in the list shocking.gif vmad.gif doh.gif
TSgtoforce
post Oct 21 2007, 08:57 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 21 2007, 08:31 AM)
There is no cooler master PSU in the list  shocking.gif  vmad.gif  doh.gif
dude
that is if u wanna overdrive or oc or crossfire
if using it single and at stock, biasa saja also ok
but dont use all those chapalang la like powerlogic magnum la, e-view, icute all those
malu la

i saw one mod worklog, beautifully done but psu is icute or acbel
malu la
PGV3910
post Oct 21 2007, 10:01 AM

1,885 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Oct 12 2007, 09:37 PM)
@Zeus
laugh.gif im not nvidia fan lar..
but i see 8800gt is quite promising hmm.gif
zeustronic
post Oct 21 2007, 01:18 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Oct 16 2007, 06:28 PM)
haih... go for next generation liao lor...
since 8800 already dubbed a failure due to it's failure in handling max detail DX10 graphics... sweat.gif

*maybe a Phenom powered ATI card wif D9 chips onboard... or Penryn powered nVidia card wif D9 chips onboard... brows.gif
juz kidding... tongue.gif
For GC Chpiset u usually see Hynix Samsung or Qimonda.
nagflar
post Oct 22 2007, 06:16 PM

1,813 posts

well should i get 8800 gts 320 or this x2900 pro ??? help help help
PGV3910
post Oct 22 2007, 07:05 PM

1,885 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Oct 22 2007, 06:16 PM)
well should i get 8800 gts 320 or this x2900 pro ??? help help help
x2900 pro is better lor..no doubt about it biggrin.gif
sonic_cd
post Oct 22 2007, 08:53 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Oct 22 2007, 07:05 PM)
x2900 pro is better lor..no doubt about it biggrin.gif
don`t simply junp and buy card like i did , check whether your psu supports the card first or not ..
ronaldjoe
post Oct 22 2007, 09:00 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 22 2007, 08:53 PM)
don`t simply junp and buy card like i did , check whether your psu supports the card first  or not ..
Cooler master iGreen 500W can handle this card well? only got 2 PCI-E 6 pin power.
No 8 pin PCI-E power. doh.gif
PGV3910
post Oct 22 2007, 11:02 PM

1,885 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 22 2007, 09:00 PM)
Cooler master iGreen 500W can handle this card well? only got 2 PCI-E 6 pin power.
No 8 pin PCI-E power. doh.gif
yes bro.ur igreen can handle it. biggrin.gif
alpha_numeric182
post Oct 22 2007, 11:15 PM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

2 6-pin pci-e power connector is enough to power up the card..the 8-pin is for the ati overdrive feature..
sonic_cd
post Oct 22 2007, 11:49 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(alpha_numeric182 @ Oct 22 2007, 11:15 PM)
2 6-pin pci-e power connector is enough to power up the card..the 8-pin is for the ati overdrive feature..
do you if any shop in lyp sells the 8 pin adapter ? thinking or trying the overdrive featrure .lol
zeustronic
post Oct 23 2007, 07:41 AM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 23 2007, 12:49 AM)
do you if any shop in lyp sells the 8 pin adapter ? thinking or trying the overdrive featrure .lol
Enermax DXX series which come 6pins & 6+2pins connector ready.
alpha_numeric182
post Oct 24 2007, 12:42 AM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 22 2007, 11:49 PM)
i don't think so..i've tried searching for it here and at LYP but nothing..i only found the 6-pin connector..maybe it will come out later..
sonic_cd
post Oct 24 2007, 01:02 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Oct 23 2007, 07:41 AM)
Enermax DXX series which come 6pins & 6+2pins connector ready.
aww.. man, that is not sound cheap ...... sweat.gif

http://service.futuremark.com/orb/projectd...ojectId=3594431
finally 05 up and running , i think i posted 06 somewhere already .
strange that even in 06 and 05 the ram/core clock is not there .lol
zeustronic
post Oct 24 2007, 09:14 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 24 2007, 02:02 AM)
aww.. man, that is not sound cheap ...... sweat.gif

http://service.futuremark.com/orb/projectd...ojectId=3594431
finally 05 up and running , i think i posted 06 somewhere already .
strange that even in 06 and 05 the ram/core clock is not there .lol
yeap Enermax freaking expensive almost same price as my mobo, i bought it bcoz i wanna try overdrive & for future CF setups. Maybe low range like FMA II or Liberty.
Games For Windows
post Oct 24 2007, 09:22 PM

80 posts

Can I 'tumpang' this thread? If I were to ask to ask opinions on upgrading my machine with a certain budget, where should I go? I got RM2,500 to spend on; new GPU, new processor and new display. Help.

zeustronic
post Oct 24 2007, 09:29 PM

2,605 posts

E6750 + 8800GT + Samsung, ViewSonic or LG 20-22" LCD display

This post has been edited by zeustronic: Oct 24 2007, 09:29 PM
Games For Windows
post Oct 24 2007, 09:33 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Oct 24 2007, 09:29 PM)
E6750 + 8800GT + Samsung, ViewSonic or LG 20-22" LCD display
That's uber quick... but here's the deal...

8800 GTS < 2900Pro

So, wouldn't it make sense to get the 2900Pro over even the 8800 GT?

But its ATI....

I don't want ATI...
alpha_numeric182
post Oct 24 2007, 09:55 PM

-=[ RED DEVIL ]=-
763 posts

if u don't want ATi then go for nVidia..
zeustronic
post Oct 24 2007, 11:01 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Games For Windows @ Oct 24 2007, 10:33 PM)

8800 GTS < 2900Pro

But its ATI....

I don't want ATI...
lol since u've NVidia tags all over sigs & Avatars Y not Nvidia??

This post has been edited by zeustronic: Oct 24 2007, 11:02 PM
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Oct 24 2007, 11:06 PM

13,340 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Oct 24 2007, 09:29 PM)
Q6600 + 8800GT + Samsung, ViewSonic or LG 20-22" LCD display
edited 4 justis icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Games For Windows @ Oct 24 2007, 09:33 PM)

8800 GTS < 2900Pro

But its ATI....

I don't want ATI...
ptui keep your nvidia fanboyism inside yrself please doh.gif
zeustronic
post Oct 24 2007, 11:11 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Oct 25 2007, 12:06 AM)
edited 4 justis icon_rolleyes.gif
ptui keep your nvidia fanboyism inside yrself please doh.gif
His budget 2.5K Q6600 slightly overbudget for him..
sniper on the roof
post Oct 24 2007, 11:30 PM

23,414 posts

Before November.... 8800GT is FTW!!

Details on thread titled 8800GT Preview
sonic_cd
post Oct 25 2007, 01:00 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Oct 24 2007, 09:14 PM)
yeap Enermax freaking expensive almost same price as my mobo, i bought it bcoz i wanna try overdrive & for future CF setups. Maybe low range like FMA II or Liberty.
but the psu is good though . thats what makes it worth it .

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 24 2007, 11:30 PM)
Before November.... 8800GT is FTW!!

Details on thread titled 8800GT Preview
you into fanboysim now ar ? tongue.gif

ruffstuff
post Oct 25 2007, 02:27 AM

3,345 posts

Best thing to avoid this card at all cost.
choyster
post Oct 25 2007, 02:30 AM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Oct 25 2007, 02:27 AM)
Best thing to avoid this card at all cost.
and the reason?
ruffstuff
post Oct 25 2007, 02:37 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Oct 25 2007, 02:30 AM)
and the reason?
price/perf and perf/watt just not in the sweet spot for this card as we know 8800gt and rv670 is the real thing.
choyster
post Oct 25 2007, 02:42 AM

1,802 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Oct 25 2007, 02:37 AM)
price/perf and perf/watt just not in the sweet spot for this card as we know 8800gt and rv670 is the real thing.
ati 3k series eh?
ruffstuff
post Oct 25 2007, 02:48 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Oct 25 2007, 02:42 AM)
ati 3k series eh?
Yeah. Should arrive next month alongside with Phenom processor.
maranello55
post Jan 30 2008, 11:11 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

Question,

Is the rm575 2900pro in the PCZONE pricelist is really 512 bit? If its true....wut a value....

nelienuxe_sara
post Jan 30 2008, 11:17 AM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

yes that the price...
can sofmod some more
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Jan 30 2008, 02:46 PM

13,340 posts

very worth it laugh.gif underclock XT still able 2 run crysis at medium @ around 1280*1024 laugh.gif
maranello55
post Jan 30 2008, 03:06 PM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

Thats wut i thought...its the only 512bit card in the market. strangely went to Czone just now and the guy insist that 2900pro is obsolete (ok fine 3-4 months is long in pc biz) but he made this impression as if 2900pro is unusable.

I asked him if he can get it for me or not he said anywhere i go "guarantee dont have"....i loled and chow. I went nextdoor...PCzone...they have it. but i cant have a look at it unless im really sure that i wanna buy it. Strange coz how can i buy i cant see it?

LOL
maranello55
post Jan 31 2008, 10:02 PM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

Found out the 2900pro 512bit on their price is a typo. Its actually 256bit. Hmm...now thinking.

EDIT: Sorry for not combining post.

This post has been edited by maranello55: Jan 31 2008, 10:02 PM

0.0826sec    1.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:07 PM