Do not buy car insurance from Etiqa

TSericthai
post Jun 16 2022, 09:33 AM, updated 4y ago

427 posts

This is a warning for people who don't know that Etiqa is a lousy insurance company.

I've been buying from Etiqa for many years, but recently I didn't renew my insurance for more than 1 year, they refused to renew my insurance unless I have Puspakom certification.

It was also very difficult to contact Etiqa staff to get more details so I really regret giving money to Etiqa for so many years.

I went to Puspakom and Puspakom staff said there is no need to have a test because it is under 3 years of non-renewal. Only cars above 3 years need to have a test.

At Puspakom, I managed to find another insurance company who is willing to renew my insurance without any car tests.

Having a test at Puspakom is a nightmare, the place is so crowded and a very long line of cars waiting to be tested and have to wait several hours even after booking a few days earlier. That's what I saw, luckily I found another insurance company.

This post has been edited by ericthai: Jun 16 2022, 09:36 AM
cfa28
post Jun 16 2022, 09:37 AM

4,830 posts

There are so many online websites to buy insurance

Did you try it
MrBaba
post Jun 16 2022, 09:40 AM

2,506 posts

U back luck je
mini orchard
post Jun 16 2022, 09:41 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ericthai @ Jun 16 2022, 09:33 AM)
This is a warning for people who don't know that Etiqa is a lousy insurance company.

I've been buying from Etiqa for many years, but recently I didn't renew my insurance for more than 1 year, they refused to renew my insurance unless I have Puspakom certification.
It was also very difficult to contact Etiqa staff to get more details so I really regret giving money to Etiqa for so many years.

I went to Puspakom and they said there is no need to have a test because it is under 3 years. Only cars above 3 years need to have a test.

At Puspakom, I managed to find another insurance company who is willing to renew my insurance without any car tests.

Having a test at Puspakom is a nightmare, the place is so crowded and a very long line of cars waiting to be tested and have to wait several hours even after booking a few days earlier. That's what I saw, luckily I found another insurance company.
Each insurer will access their own risk portfolio. If it think is too risky, it rather forego earning the small premium than to pay higher compensation later.

That is business decision.
poweredbydiscuz
post Jun 16 2022, 09:42 AM

3,835 posts

You renew through etiqa website?
fireballs
post Jun 16 2022, 09:43 AM

5,650 posts

What car and how old?
wong_86
post Jun 16 2022, 09:45 AM

DUDE
565 posts

why tell people don't buy company insurance ? who are you ? u just a peanut.

Anyway so many insurance company can survey, Ts not do enough homework la
Avangelice

5,274 posts

recently I didn't renew my insurance for more than 1 year, they refused to renew my insurance unless I have Puspakom certification

Would you be kind to explain why you didn't renew your insurance and possibly pay your road tax?
COOLPINK

3,666 posts

some insurance companies are more strict with requirements if your car is more than 15 years old.

i just browse online among the insurance companies until i get one that will let me renew it.

nothing to worry about.
N9484640
post Jun 16 2022, 09:46 AM

Chasing Electric
1,297 posts

Etiqa during MCO last year refused to renew my old junk's 3rd party insurance. Cant renew online, must speak to their staff but during MCO, they say nobody working so cant answer calls. So in the end nobody approve. Using ETiqa for more than a decade also useless.

Went to MSIG...they renewed it no problem.
Nomisma
post Jun 16 2022, 09:46 AM

etiqa is lousy company. towing took 1 hour wait to reach the Customer Service hotline, 5 hours wait for towing truck to arrive. dont buy, lol.

This post has been edited by Nomisma: Jun 16 2022, 09:47 AM
marcus_bread
post Jun 16 2022, 09:50 AM

506 posts

i thought Etiqa don wan give u claim damage or what. mana tau, is u din renew for over a year n face this issue.
i believe not much ppl like u got many cars until forgot to renew insurance
ran_deep
post Jun 16 2022, 09:53 AM

195 posts

I have no issue with Etiga so far. Towing is ok, so is claims process. And premium cheaper than others I have explored.
SUSEurochem
post Jun 16 2022, 09:54 AM

209 posts

I went to Puspakom and Puspakom staff said there is no need to have a test because it is under 3 years of non-renewal. Only cars above 3 years need to have a test.

https://forum.lowyat.net/user/leilei
leilei

anyway, i am using allianz now.... tow Saga 1.3MT to Saga 1.8MT 3 times a year also no questions asked laugh.gif
ycs
post Jun 16 2022, 09:54 AM

4,234 posts

buying a service for many years from same company means nothing
scorgio
post Jun 16 2022, 09:59 AM

4,694 posts

Luckily TS no complain NCD% dropped 1 tier.

Else whole M'sia insurance company, none can entertain him.
SUSguest16888
post Jun 16 2022, 10:04 AM

135 posts

thanks for sharing.

I had a 20 yrs old car.
Why insurance renewal cannot be done online ?

K.I.T.T
post Jun 16 2022, 10:07 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Jun 16 2022, 09:37 AM)
There are so many online websites to buy insurance

Did you try it
bjak can split payment 3 month
my insurance motor rm99 split to 3 month
Zot
post Jun 16 2022, 10:08 AM

7,938 posts

Ben using through Maybank for my previous car for almost 15 years without problem. Maybe some mistake in system, but cannot get hold on customer service is not good thing. Yes, very annoying.
hafiez
post Jun 16 2022, 10:10 AM

2,980 posts

that just standard practice to not to insured your car. just another way of saying no.

find other insurer. much easier rather go through those hassle.
ShadowR1
post Jun 16 2022, 10:15 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

Other insurance company kan ade ... apa susah ?

Why die die wanna renew with etiqa ?

U no likey them, bring ur business somewhere else ... no need lost hair for trivial matter.
cempedaklife
post Jun 16 2022, 10:30 AM

Master Decoy
4,359 posts

come here expecting claim process bad, open thread dah ready jump ship on next renewal.

end up see TS own stupidity.
life goes on.
19 Degree South
post Jun 16 2022, 10:32 AM

1,682 posts

You wanna save premium for one year and its only right for ppl to reject your renewal! Technically after one year its non renewal anymore! So suck thumb!
blanket84
post Jun 16 2022, 10:37 AM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jun 16 2022, 10:30 AM)
come here expecting claim process bad, open thread dah ready jump ship on next renewal.

end up see TS own stupidity.
life goes on.
Last time, people were dumb in private.
Alternate Gabriel
post Jun 16 2022, 10:54 AM

158 posts

I have a good experience with Etiqa when it comes to towing and claim.

Involve in accident, and easy process to claim. Even call for towing also didn't take too long time to wait. Perhaps that time I'm in the middle of KL, so the towing company can arrive fast
mini orchard
post Jun 16 2022, 10:54 AM

14,511 posts

Sadly, many here dont understand what is the meaning of 'RENEWAL' contract.

A renewal contract has to be renewed b4 expiry date for its continuation. Once expired, the contract is considered lapsed. Any 'purchase / renewal' after expiry is consider NEW and additional conditions can be imposed at the discretion of the other party.

Life Insurance, Tennancy, etc.
acbc
post Jun 16 2022, 10:56 AM

9,050 posts

Mine is Etiqa with unlimited towing. Ok only.

Previously with Kurnia but 600km limited towing.
cempedaklife
post Jun 16 2022, 10:56 AM

Master Decoy
4,359 posts

QUOTE(Nomisma @ Jun 16 2022, 09:46 AM)
etiqa is lousy company. towing took 1 hour wait to reach the Customer Service hotline, 5 hours wait for towing truck to arrive. dont buy, lol.
QUOTE(ran_deep @ Jun 16 2022, 09:53 AM)
I have no issue with Etiga so far. Towing is ok, so is claims process. And premium cheaper than others I have explored.
QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ Jun 16 2022, 10:54 AM)

Involve in accident, and easy process to claim. Even call for towing also didn't take too long time to wait. Perhaps that time I'm in the middle of KL, so the towing company can arrive fast
These are the feedbacks I need thanks!
I've been buying car insurance based on the buying process and price.
would really like to hear about claim process and tow process.

thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
blanket84
post Jun 16 2022, 11:04 AM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jun 16 2022, 10:56 AM)
These are the feedbacks I need thanks!
I've been buying car insurance based on the buying process and price.
would really like to hear about claim process and tow process.

:thumbsup:  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:
I buy from Allianz. They have their own tow truck team. My car breakdown once, tow truck came in less than 1 hour. But then my friend also kena once during peak hours, took them 2 hours to reach. Call them to take off my punctured tire at home because I don’t have the right tools to do it on my own. Took them about 45mins to come.

Latest I saw, they have on site windscreen replacement. That would be very convenient rather than kena scam by windscreen shop like I kena last time.
poweredbydiscuz
post Jun 16 2022, 11:06 AM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ Jun 16 2022, 10:54 AM)

Same. Many years ago car was stolen, the claim process was quick and easy.

Also called them to replace flat tire a couple of times, all done within half an hour.
19 Degree South
post Jun 16 2022, 11:17 AM

1,682 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jun 16 2022, 10:56 AM)
Mine is Etiqa with unlimited towing. Ok only.

Previously with Kurnia but 600km limited towing.
Generali, unlimited towing and roadside assistance.
sanosizo
post Jun 16 2022, 11:32 AM

4,553 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Jun 16 2022, 11:04 AM)
I buy from Allianz. They have their own tow truck team. My car breakdown once, tow truck came in less than 1 hour. But then my friend also kena once during peak hours, took them 2 hours to reach. Call them to take off my punctured tire at home because I don’t have the right tools to do it on my own. Took them about 45mins to come.

Latest I saw, they have on site windscreen replacement. That would be very convenient rather than kena scam by windscreen shop like I kena last time.
what did the windscreen shop scam you?
apache79
post Jun 16 2022, 11:42 AM

54 posts

i bought my insurance at bjak.com.. recommended.. so easy and fast.
keiz_jy
post Jun 16 2022, 11:51 AM

23 posts

have been using Etiqa for my previous and current cars, so far no issue at all. I had a major accident last time and the towing + claim is super smooth, maybe I am in KL tongue.gif
Cruxs
post Jun 16 2022, 11:54 AM

826 posts

I quit with etiqa. Now the best service is Zurich. Very good & fast.
danielmckey
post Jun 16 2022, 12:02 PM

1,053 posts

Many years with Etiqa. Zero problem. If you not happy just change Car Insurance. Small matter...
mushigen
post Jun 16 2022, 12:11 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jun 16 2022, 10:54 AM)
Sadly, many here dont understand what is the meaning of 'RENEWAL' contract.

A renewal contract has to be renewed b4 expiry date for its continuation
. Once expired, the contract is considered lapsed. Any 'purchase / renewal' after expiry is consider NEW and additional conditions can be imposed at the discretion of the other party.

Life Insurance, Tennancy, etc.
Is there such a thing as renewal contract? I only know of contract renewal, i.e., you renew the contract.

In any case, a contract renewal in the case of car insurance doesn't guarantee continuation as the T&C can change - insured amount, additional loading...
eidrag
post Jun 16 2022, 12:18 PM

242 posts

just change from takaful to etiqa, contact agent got quotation next day already got road tax at doorstep
MANUTD676767
post Jun 16 2022, 12:39 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(apache79 @ Jun 16 2022, 11:42 AM)
i bought my insurance at bjak.com.. recommended.. so easy and fast.
Have u tried renew expired insurance there? I mean after one year expired
LA773
post Jun 16 2022, 01:28 PM

1,065 posts

Ita normal during these 2 yrs of mco, many ppl dint renew their car insurance & road tax
Especially those with spare cars

I just started mine with etiqa insurance, online last month
Hopefully the service when needed will be good enough

I tried to renew my dads spare idle car which is 1 yr not renewed also
Couldn't renew online, need to chat with the agent
Think they asked for 4 angle photos
In the end, i asked a friend insurance agent to renew
blanket84
post Jun 16 2022, 01:56 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Jun 16 2022, 11:32 AM)
what did the windscreen shop scam you?
Claim full price from insurer, reuse the rubber on my windscreen instead of giving me brand new.

My windscreen sum insured was based on my experience changing them with Toyota including the rubber.

Babi workshop charge same price as Toyota for less items provided.
knight_hawk
post Jun 16 2022, 01:57 PM

191 posts

I use allianz, ok for most. Once got accident, i asked for spare car from allianz once sc took my car, which was a few days later. Allianz initially dont want to aporove spare car claim saying must be done within 24 hrs. I argue, their hotline never inform when i call to inform on day of accident. Finally gave spare car claim.
post Jun 16 2022, 02:25 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(knight_hawk @ Jun 16 2022, 01:57 PM)
I use allianz, ok for most. Once got accident, i asked for spare car from allianz once sc took my car, which was a few days later. Allianz initially dont want to aporove spare car claim saying must be done within 24 hrs. I argue, their hotline never inform when i call to inform on day of accident. Finally gave spare car claim.
want to use allianz too but they dont have online renewal..Zzzz

mr_geforce
post Jun 16 2022, 02:29 PM

267 posts

ini mau kena LOD...
andyng38
post Jun 16 2022, 02:36 PM

2,402 posts

Just shop around...a vehicle insurance agency could produce better results. I left Etiqa many years ago...got better rates for the vehicles from an agency my friend recommended. Was worth the effort smile.gif
poweredbydiscuz
post Jun 16 2022, 02:43 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(47100 @ Jun 16 2022, 02:25 PM)
want to use allianz too but they dont have online renewal..Zzzz
Touch n go and carsome (policystreet) can renew allianz online.
Gogurt
post Jun 16 2022, 02:48 PM

101 posts

first thing first. have you been driving over the past year?

and why did you not renew your road tax and insurance for a year?
Azzqech
post Jun 16 2022, 03:04 PM

530 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Jun 16 2022, 02:36 PM)
Just shop around...a vehicle insurance agency could produce better results. I left Etiqa many years ago...got better rates for the vehicles from an agency my friend recommended. Was worth the effort smile.gif
Shopping for an insurance with the cheapest rate is fine...until you want to make a claim and discovered it's cheap for a reason. It's better to go for a balance of market reputation and rates.
andyng38
post Jun 16 2022, 03:43 PM

2,402 posts

QUOTE(Azzqech @ Jun 16 2022, 03:04 PM)
Shopping for an insurance with the cheapest rate is fine...until you want to make a claim and discovered it's cheap for a reason. It's better to go for a balance of market reputation and rates.
Better rates are not necessarily the cheapest rates, and I'm well-aware of what u wrote wink.gif
jmas
post Jun 16 2022, 05:12 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(guest16888 @ Jun 16 2022, 10:04 AM)
thanks for sharing.

I had a 20 yrs old car.
Why insurance renewal cannot be done online ?
did you try bjak? I renew my father's iswara there, pacific insurance iirc, only 3rd party allowed
Enjoise
post Jun 16 2022, 07:21 PM

463 posts

find other insurer je la
MR_alien
post Jun 16 2022, 07:48 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

i'm pretty sure this concept is the same as the windscreen add-ons

of all the years u renew insurance, u never add-on
suddenly 1 year u add-on, guarantee any insurance company would be suspicious
and this isn't a myth, this is exactly what i've experience....no insurance company out there would let me renew with windscreen add-on without calling the customer service and submitting pictures/videos that they requested

if u suddenly didn't renew with etiqa for 1 year plus(no insurance at all) thn suddenly renew it back with etiqa...of course they would feel suspicious about it

oh ya, back when i suddenly add-on...etiqa is the only company that would let me add-on online without any question asked

0.0273sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:38 PM