Down shifting clutchless motor, Newbie

TSRandomboi
post Jun 14 2022, 12:50 PM, updated 4y ago

91 posts

Hello sifus.

I tried google but cant get a clear understanding.

I previously use my friend ex5 so didnt care about this but since i have my own bike wanna make sure i take the best care i can.

Up shifting gear i understand. Throttle to neutral -> up shift -> rev throttle

But i dont understand shifting the gear down. I use this video as reference point.

https://youtu.be/mIaD8JvdE6M

So my understanding is that, before you down shift gear, you rev throttle abit then only down shift. Is that correct?

Do i rev and hold while i down shift or rev and release and down shift?

Thanks for any advice.
jaycee1
post Jun 14 2022, 01:07 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

What bike are you using now??

It's it is a kapchai, the bike has a centrifugal clutch so it would unload the drivetrain automatically and engage gradually.

However for clutch bikes, you can still upshot or downshift without a clutch. You just need to unload the drivetrain a split second before shifting. Clutch-less upshifts are easier to do, downshifts needs quite a bit more finesse. Some fancier bikes have autoblip feature on the quickshifter to help downshifts.

If you fark up a clutch-less downshift you might lock up the rear if you don't have a slipper clutch on your bike.
mADmAN
post Jun 14 2022, 03:20 PM

10,530 posts

no need to overcomplicate things.

what ur talking about is rev matching. there is no actual need to master it as this is more of a motorsports thing. they do it to minimize or eliminate the jerk that happens when u downshift while going high speed into a corner. that jerk could make the bike a lil unstable in high speeds and especially at a lean... in kapchai speeds, not so much. although good to master, no real need.

for cars, its usually referred to heel n toe. feel free to google... ull see that most people dont even practice this in their daily drives and just downshift like normal.

as for taking care of the clutch... bleh... the clutch is more resilient than u think. even with downshifting like normal (ie throttle to 0, then downshift n release gear lever) or even abusing it, the clutch will probably last longer than the engine itself unless u screw it up somehow like using car engine oil instead of bike engine oil (which can burn the clutch).

but if u really wanna know, the correct procedure is....
* throttle to 0
* press gear lever

* blip the throttle to the right rpm
* release gear lever

all this basically has to be done in a split second between them - its as if everything is done simultaneously...its that quick. not that hard to do but will take practice to master especially blipping the throttle to the right rpm as u may under rev or over rev.

i ride a z900 (which has had a few cases of burnt clutches) and i dont even bother rev matching when im at low speeds (like stopping at a traffic light or in housing areas etc) and my bike has been fine.

just enjoy riding the bike and downshift like normal. again, no need to overcomplicate things.
alexei
post Jun 14 2022, 04:13 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

Pijak only.... is called "zam" gear

if after u pijak, and u let go quickly, the bike will jerk forward and engine will roar
if after u pijak, and u let go slowly, the bike will jerk less and slow down as engine rev goes up

if after u pijak, u play play throttle, then let go, none of the above will happen, and then continue to ride

be one with the bike
TSRandomboi
post Jun 14 2022, 05:38 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 14 2022, 01:07 PM)
What bike are you using now??
It's it is a kapchai, the bike has a centrifugal clutch so it would unload the drivetrain automatically and engage gradually.

However for clutch bikes, you can still upshot or downshift without a clutch. You just need to unload the drivetrain a split second before shifting. Clutch-less upshifts are easier to do, downshifts needs quite a bit more finesse. Some fancier bikes have autoblip feature on the quickshifter to help downshifts.

If you fark up a clutch-less downshift you might lock up the rear if you don't have a slipper clutch on your bike.
Using lc135 so kapchai. Yeah. No problem with upshift. Downshift i dont know whether im doing it properly or not.

Since im using clutchless, it will unload the drivetrain automatically and engage gradually, does that mean if im within the speed range of the gear, itll be okay?

Speaking of speed range, is there like a recommended speed for each gear?

I.e.

Gear 1 for moving so speed range not applicable i guess

Gear 2 from 10kmh to 30kmh

Gear 3 from 30kmh to 40kmh

Gear 4 from 40kmh and above

For example, if im slowing down from 70kmh in gear 4, as i enter 30kmh should i change to gear 3? Or i should wait to 20kmh to change to gear 3?
TSRandomboi
post Jun 14 2022, 05:43 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 14 2022, 03:20 PM)
no need to overcomplicate things.

what ur talking about is rev matching. there is no actual need to master it as this is more of a motorsports thing. they do it to minimize or eliminate the jerk that happens when u downshift while going high speed into a corner. that jerk could make the bike a lil unstable in high speeds and especially at a lean... in kapchai speeds, not so much. although good to master, no real need.

for cars, its usually referred to heel n toe. feel free to google... ull see that most people dont even practice this in their daily drives and just downshift like normal.

as for taking care of the clutch... bleh... the clutch is more resilient than u think. even with downshifting like normal (ie throttle to 0, then downshift n release gear lever) or even abusing it, the clutch will probably last longer than the engine itself unless u screw it up somehow like using car engine oil instead of bike engine oil (which can burn the clutch).

but if u really wanna know, the correct procedure is....
* throttle to 0
* press gear lever

* blip the throttle to the right rpm
* release gear lever

all this basically has to be done in a split second between them - its as if everything is done simultaneously...its that quick. not that hard to do but will take practice to master especially blipping the throttle to the right rpm as u may under rev or over rev.

i ride a z900 (which has had a few cases of burnt clutches) and i dont even bother rev matching when im at low speeds (like stopping at a traffic light or in housing areas etc) and my bike has been fine.

just enjoy riding the bike and downshift like normal. again, no need to overcomplicate things.
Yeah the video talks about rev matching but when i google its mostly about motorcycle with clutch.

Normal for me is, neutral throttle -> press gear lever -> release gear lever -> slowly rev throttle again

Is that okay?

I think i understand what you stated.

Neutral throttle -> press gear lever and hold + rev at appropriate rpm -> release gear lever

Will try this and see what happens. Thanks for explanation
TSRandomboi
post Jun 14 2022, 05:47 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 14 2022, 04:13 PM)
Pijak only.... is called "zam" gear

if after u pijak, and u let go quickly, the bike will jerk forward and engine will roar
if after u pijak, and u let go slowly, the bike will jerk less and slow down as engine rev goes up

if after u pijak, u play play throttle, then let go, none of the above will happen, and then continue to ride

be one with the bike
Yeah. Thats the thing. Last time i pijak and release. Dont care since old bike so thought jerking is expected. After i pijak and release will feel some jerking with this bike so dont know whether thats expected or wrong so wanted to clarify especially after watching the video.

I will try that, pijak, rev throttle abit baru lepas pijak. Thanks.
mADmAN
post Jun 14 2022, 09:03 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Randomboi @ Jun 14 2022, 05:43 PM)
Normal for me is, neutral throttle -> press gear lever -> release gear lever -> slowly rev throttle again

Is that okay?
Yes thats the normal. Thats the way almost everyone downshifts

QUOTE(Randomboi @ Jun 14 2022, 05:47 PM)
Yeah. Thats the thing. Last time i pijak and release. Dont care since old bike so thought jerking is expected. After i pijak and release will feel some jerking with this bike so dont know whether thats expected or wrong so wanted to clarify especially after watching the video.
All vehicles will jerk when downshift without rev matching correctly
TSRandomboi
post Jun 15 2022, 07:41 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 14 2022, 09:03 PM)
Yes thats the normal. Thats the way almost everyone downshifts
All vehicles will jerk when downshift without rev matching correctly
Yeah. First time learning about rev matching. Last time my logic was "if i have to neutral when i shift gear up, then i should also neutral when i shift gear down."

Just wondering, i tried yesterday. Seems smoother but sometimes if i rev more than needed since im still learning the timing, theres is jerking-ish. I.e. from gear 3 to gear 2, press lever (hold) + rev throttle at higher rpm -> release lever
The movement is not as smooth as compared to if proper rpm or lower rpm

Will this cause quicker wear and tear to the engine?
JLA
post Jun 15 2022, 08:17 AM

2,788 posts

QUOTE(Randomboi @ Jun 14 2022, 05:38 PM)
Using lc135 so kapchai. Yeah. No problem with upshift. Downshift i dont know whether im doing it properly or not.

Since im using clutchless, it will unload the drivetrain automatically and engage gradually, does that mean if im within the speed range of the gear, itll be okay?

Speaking of speed range, is there like a recommended speed for each gear?

I.e.

Gear 1 for moving so speed range not applicable i guess

Gear 2 from 10kmh to 30kmh

Gear 3 from 30kmh to 40kmh

Gear 4 from 40kmh and above

For example, if im slowing down from 70kmh in gear 4, as i enter 30kmh should i change to gear 3? Or i should wait to 20kmh to change to gear 3?
it call auto cluth. the cluth system is auto. some model have manual cluth

scooter this one is clutchless

which gear to use just feel the power.
mADmAN
post Jun 15 2022, 11:09 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Randomboi @ Jun 15 2022, 07:41 AM)
Yeah. First time learning about rev matching. Last time my logic was "if i have to neutral when i shift gear up, then i should also neutral when i shift gear down."

Just wondering, i tried yesterday. Seems smoother but sometimes if i rev more than needed since im still learning the timing, theres is jerking-ish. I.e. from gear 3 to gear 2, press lever (hold) + rev throttle at higher rpm -> release lever

no... ur fine.... the engine etc is very resilient as long as u stay within the redline and maintain it properly. no need worry too much.
alexei
post Jun 15 2022, 01:09 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Randomboi @ Jun 15 2022, 07:41 AM)

It's called 'zam' gear, drop gear and brake aggressively, for corner entry...
if use free flow ekzos, the bike will also pop pop pop boom boom boom backfire

rev matching is making sure the rider is handling the bike smoothly
on big bikes, we got slipper clutch that reduces engine braking becoz too much can cause rear tyre to hop on the road, like bouncing, then lose grip, and slide
slipper clutch is not guarantee, some are tuned to slip more easier than others, and canggih bikes can adjust some more

back to autoclutch, drag engine won't cause damage, but will definitely increase wear and tear, and chances of breaking the oil film some where within the moving parts
in some cases (like me) over drop gear cause the rev to overshoot into redline and damaged my engine (yes, damaged)

the proper thing to learn is the right hand blipping the throttle (like pulas a bit), and the left foot releasing the gear pedal
is easier to learn on clutch bikes, becoz right hand blip throttle, left hand modulate clutch lever

0.0185sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:37 PM