iPhone -> iBrick after installing update, cracked iphone cant run updates?

SUSdattebayo
post Sep 28 2007, 05:57 PM, updated 19y ago

5,366 posts

Apple is playing hardball with the unlocked iPhone movement.

In a terse statement, Apple said "many of the unauthorized iPhone unlocking programs available on the Internet cause irreparable damage to the iPhone's software, which will likely result in the modified iPhone becoming permanently inoperable when a future Apple-supplied iPhone software update is installed."

Apple also said that it "has discovered" the irreparable damage. Gee, think AT&T asked Apple to nuke these renegade programs?

The company added that it will release its next iPhone software update later this week. In other words, if your iPhone is set up for automatic updates it will become an iBrick. Apple's take:

Apple strongly discourages users from installing unauthorized unlocking programs on their iPhones. Users who make unauthorized modifications to the software on their iPhone violate their iPhone software license agreement and void their warranty. The permanent inability to use an iPhone due to installing unlocking software is not covered under the iPhone's warranty.

In other words, if you unlock the iPhone you are iScrewed. See Jason O'Grady's unlocking iPhone chronicles.

http://blogs.zdnet.com/BTL/?p=6371

lol anyone bought an iphone wanna try to brick their shiny new iphone? icon_idea.gif

evilpuppy
post Sep 29 2007, 08:08 PM

4,092 posts

eventually those hacker WILL find another way round to crack their iphone. never ending story...

This post has been edited by evilpuppy: Sep 29 2007, 08:09 PM
firedauz
post Sep 29 2007, 08:18 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Sep 29 2007, 08:08 PM)
eventually those hacker WILL find another way round to crack their iphone. never ending story...
True that. Give it like a week or two, it'll be released soon.

But in the meantime, whoever is not aware of it and just run the update, their phones are definitely gonna get iBricked laugh.gif
SUSdattebayo
post Sep 30 2007, 03:01 AM

5,366 posts

maybe later will come out custom firmware for iphone...
just like PSP laugh.gif
SUSxeda
post Sep 30 2007, 03:19 AM

740 posts

Dont update the phone then. Apa susah?
SUSdgrebel
post Sep 30 2007, 04:55 AM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(xeda @ Sep 30 2007, 03:19 AM)
situation:

visiting little baby cousin at bukit jelutong, after awhile u feel like going to the toilet, iPhone left on table. Baby cousin take it as a chocolate, start to "Nom, nom, nom" and activated iPhone update.

not only u get iBricked, u'll also shit bricks.
abang brother
post Sep 30 2007, 07:56 AM

4,967 posts

^True.

No use they stop the unlocking, theres like, a billion nerds and geeks around the world!!
stringfellow
post Sep 30 2007, 11:18 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(xeda @ Sep 30 2007, 03:19 AM)
QUOTE(dgrebel @ Sep 30 2007, 04:55 AM)
situation:

visiting little baby cousin at bukit jelutong, after awhile u feel like going to the toilet, iPhone left on table. Baby cousin take it as a chocolate, start to "Nom, nom, nom" and activated iPhone update.

not only u get iBricked, u'll also shit bricks.
iPhone updates doesnt happen OTa (over-the-air), you need to download the 100Mb+ update .ipsw file, launch iTunes, agree to the EULA, and then the process starts. I doubt your "baby cousin munching on the iPhone" situation would trigger such things, Apple is not stupid. The user end however, is open to question. rolleyes.gif

To the threadstarter, the hackers already have won. There are already working downgraders to downgrader those new iPhones with 1.1.1 in them to 1.0.2 to be jailbroken and unlocked. After that, follow what Xeda says "Dont update the phone then, apa susah?".
SUSdattebayo
post Sep 30 2007, 01:23 PM

5,366 posts

eh... this has moved in apple byte alrdy sweat.gif
actually I just want to share this article that I subscribe to, I dont know how actually this Apple stuff works nor do I care lol
stringfellow
post Sep 30 2007, 01:29 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Why are you posting if you dont care? Or are you posting to get a reaction from the current or future iPhone owners? Furthermore, you dont have to open a new thread , this news is neither shocking or important enough to warrant this.
SUSdattebayo
post Sep 30 2007, 02:02 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 30 2007, 01:29 PM)
Why are you posting if you dont care? Or are you posting to get a reaction from the current or future iPhone owners? Furthermore, you dont have to open a new thread , this news is neither shocking or important enough to warrant this.
dude, its not my intention for this to end up in apple bite, its origin is in kopitiam doh.gif
and i dont need a permit to open thread in kopitiam
stringfellow
post Sep 30 2007, 02:09 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

In any case, it's common knowledge that you run risks dabbling with customized firmwares. This fact is acknowledged and understand upon by those who know what risks they face, it is only that those who knows not a single clue about how the process works, and goes in blindly that got their iPhone bricked by this update. I'd say they brought this calamity to themselves since they dont really know what they are about to do.
SUSdgrebel
post Sep 30 2007, 02:27 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Sep 30 2007, 02:02 PM)
dude, its not my intention for this to end up in apple bite, its origin is in kopitiam doh.gif
and i dont need a permit to open thread in kopitiam
ya lor. my previous comment was written before mods transfer to apple bytes. pardon the lame joke.

0.0156sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:29 PM