Petrol Station Fuel Additive

TStkyong1
post Jun 9 2022, 10:23 AM, updated 4y ago

640 posts

Hi guys,

I am not sure if it is placebo effect or what....i notice if i pump the same brand petrol ( for example BHP ) at different BHP stations,

after fueling, i noticed certain BHP petrol station fuel giving me smoother ride.

it always happen to be that particular station giving me better ride.

other BHP stations after fueling, car feel more vibration.

am i the only one feeling? weird ?
Aydee
post Jun 9 2022, 10:31 AM

Mr. Big
735 posts

QUOTE(tkyong1 @ Jun 9 2022, 10:23 AM)
Hi guys,

I am not sure if it is placebo effect or what....i notice if i pump the same brand petrol ( for example BHP ) at different BHP stations,

after fueling, i noticed certain BHP petrol station fuel giving me smoother ride.

it always happen to be that particular station giving me better ride.

other BHP stations after fueling, car feel more vibration.

am i the only one feeling? weird ?
It's all the same, only thing that can cause that is sometimes water seeps into the underground fuel tank due to flood, rainwater but really rare occurrence. The water will evaporate quickly too and should not have any significant effect.
matrix88
post Jun 9 2022, 10:45 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Aydee @ Jun 9 2022, 10:31 AM)
It's all the same, only thing that can cause that is sometimes water seeps into the underground fuel tank due to flood, rainwater but really rare occurrence. The water will evaporate quickly too and should not have any significant effect.
fuel will evaporate quicker than water, water will get trapped and sink to the bottom of the tank because water is heavier than petrol.
ktek
post Jun 9 2022, 11:48 AM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

bp best. shell worst ever.
the rest acceptable. tried 95-97ron
Morpheus2be
post Jun 9 2022, 11:52 AM

464 posts

Additives added at the fuel depot. BHP iinm for certain stations in the south get from Pasir Gudang or Singapore depot. Most stations in KV get from Dengkil depot or sometimes Sg Udang Melaka/Port Dickson (depends on which company station). Sometimes, additional additives added for promo of new fuel product just for the initial word of mouth hype.
Jennypenny
post Jun 9 2022, 01:48 PM

85 posts

All fuels are approximately the same.

Feeling smoother and whatnot are mainly placebo effect

However, if your car needs higher octane, using higher (or the right octane rating) octane would make your car more efficient and can produce more power.

Like my M3, it needs Ron 98, putting Ron 97 gives me lesser mileage relative to Ron 100.
minizian
post Jun 9 2022, 03:39 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Jun 9 2022, 11:52 AM)
Additives added at the fuel depot. BHP iinm for certain stations in the south get from Pasir Gudang or Singapore depot. Most stations in KV get from Dengkil depot or sometimes Sg Udang Melaka/Port Dickson (depends on which company station). Sometimes, additional additives added for promo of new fuel product just for the initial word of mouth hype.
I always get the impression BHP Petrol was imported from Singapore outright and park in depot before being distributed to individual petrol station?

Does Caltex still do refining here in Malaysia or they also now import from Singapore.

My favourite combo is BHP + Techron Concentrate Plus (which i top up every 5k km as per manual), second choice would be caltex.
Morpheus2be
post Jun 9 2022, 04:32 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Jun 9 2022, 03:39 PM)
I always get the impression BHP Petrol was imported from Singapore outright and park in depot before being distributed to individual petrol station?

Does Caltex still do refining here in Malaysia or they also now import from Singapore.

My favourite combo is BHP + Techron Concentrate Plus (which i top up every 5k km as per manual), second choice would be caltex.
It's just not economically feasible for the whole nationwide network to get imported fuel from Singapore. In many areas, oil companies practice hospitality arrangements and get their supply from the nearest depot even if it's a competitors depot, due to transportation cost. The base fuel is the same, only additives are different.
abubin
post Jun 10 2022, 04:24 PM

10,429 posts

All fuel are the same. There are little difference in terms of additives which are too small to notice. Really is placebo. If you really want to test, get someone to pump petrol without you knowing where. Then see if your smooth feeling comes from same station. Even ron95 and ron97 there are really no difference. Those who feel them are really placebo only...must feel something lah since paying so much more for ron97.

0.0160sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:59 PM