are these condensatiion?, using an old MBP

TSiUnique
post Jun 8 2022, 09:57 AM, updated 2y ago

83 posts

I,m currently re-using my old MBP 13" mid-2009 for light office works.

this MBP was stored in storage (luggage bag) for about >5years
last I inspected it on 2016, everything was still well and good.

but when I re-inspected recently,
I find these

I tried wipe it out, nothing happens.
After some internet searching, some suggest that it is condensation under the glass panel.

do any of you experience this?
and how do you handle this?

as to change the panel, not really confident enough for DIY.
or, is there any physical shops (near Setia Alam/ Meru/ Batu Pahat) that able to offer such service?
AbbyCom
post Jun 8 2022, 10:18 AM

353 posts

These look like the polariser film is bad already. You can DIY to remove the film and replace it with new one or ask someone to help you do it.

I found in Carousell someone to replace the film in my 32" LCD TV and it cost me RM200 about a year ago - look for those who offer TV/laptop polariser film replacement services. The person who did it for me is in KL, so not in your area.

Below are the links to try (I have not bought these myself, so I don't really know, but more for your reference) if you want to buy the polariser films, I dunno how to differentiate the rear and front polariser films and how to replace it, which is why I sent it to someone who knows.

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/lcd-pola...7893006820.html

https://shopee.com.my/LCD-LED-POLARIZER-32i...4715.4786376390

This post has been edited by AbbyCom: Jun 8 2022, 10:31 AM
TSiUnique
post Jun 10 2022, 08:52 AM

83 posts

after further inspection & photo comparison on the Internet,
it seems that those are mold.

anyone knows where I can have the glass panel replaced?
wei
post Jun 22 2022, 10:17 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,491 posts

These are not mold or fungi. It is Vinegar Effects. You can google that. Most aged LCD will face this issue.

Mold will looks patchy and random, you will also see root like filament on the screen. It looks entirely different from this.

0.0112sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 11:32 PM