Renovating old corner landed link house in PJ

SUSNew Klang
post Jun 7 2022, 01:21 PM, updated 4y ago

4,998 posts

House is double storey link,17 years new but considering to renovate so that no renovation needed after this. Previously save money to repay loan.

If got limited budget 300k, which are the essential renovation.

Downstairs marble flooring and upstairs parquet flooring. Feel like redo upstairs flooring with engineered hardwood. Downstairs marble flooring, just polish and wax. Toilet tiles and toilet bowls just use chemical wash, change toilet seats. Wiring and piping is something to consider.

Optional, I wonder whether I can do some of my observations in many other houses that have done walls removal and structural modifications, relocate columns, relocate toilets, extended downstairs and upstairs back till boundary, change gate, windows etc.

upcars
post Jun 7 2022, 01:25 PM

96 posts

re-do, all electricals, sewage piping, water piping and structural work already will set u back that much.
KingRyan
post Jun 7 2022, 01:34 PM

208 posts

With 300k for a double storey house intermediate also stretching it already. For a corner lot at the very least RM500k and above. Need to factor in the massive increase in price of labour and rawmat as well. Maybe 5 years back still ok.
SUSNew Klang
post Jun 9 2022, 12:33 PM

4,998 posts

Is it worth it?

I have small family

I am planning to send my kids overseas to migrate from this country governed by idiots not voted by majority
mushigen
post Jun 9 2022, 12:37 PM

4,955 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Jun 9 2022, 12:33 PM)
Is it worth it?

I have small family

I am planning to send my kids overseas to migrate from this country governed by idiots not voted by majority
I cannot brain why people ask this type of subjective question.

It's like asking whether musang king is worth the price.
keyibukeyi
post Jun 9 2022, 12:39 PM

150 posts

Just give it a naiisee paint, and floor polishing kit will do.
Jedi
post Jun 9 2022, 12:40 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,245 posts

Gambar mana pandan? /k rules kena ikut
acbc
post Jun 9 2022, 12:41 PM

9,052 posts

Just sand down the old parquet flooring. Much cheaper.

Old Merbau or Kempas can last many decades if no termites or water damage. However, the house will be gloomy due to darker nature of those timber.

This post has been edited by acbc: Jun 9 2022, 12:51 PM
EdEd
post Jun 9 2022, 12:42 PM

358 posts

just remember to redo the electrical cables
lonely66
post Jun 9 2022, 12:42 PM

595 posts

since u want to keluar why not sell just rent a house ?
SUSMr Mercedes
post Jun 9 2022, 12:43 PM

424 posts

For corner house, you'll need to up your budget by about RM200k. Total about RM500k to make it look livable and presentable.

If you want fancier stuff, prepare to spend more.
Boldnut
post Jun 9 2022, 12:58 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(KingRyan @ Jun 7 2022, 01:34 PM)
With 300k for a double storey house intermediate also stretching it already. For a corner lot at the very least RM500k and above. Need to factor in the massive increase in price of labour and rawmat as well. Maybe 5 years back still ok.

this. Dont do structural mod, it is expensive.
According to my contractor fren, it depends how many structural modification you do. If you plan to do a lot of structure renovation/changes, it could end up more expensive than demolish the whole thing and rebuild from ground up again.

I got a spare corner house in PJ I also plan to rebuild. Recently rough estimate quotation is Easily will be >500K+ thats assuming you end up around 2500-3500sqft depends the material you use. (I still thinking about it, because that corner house is quite run down sweat.gif ) This just building only, Interior cabinet not yet count. Luxury stuff could touch 700-800K. I know a guy who bought a corner for 1.3M, rebuild 1.5M (I dont know wtf, he do until 1.5m). At this point, you might as well just sell the house, get a bare semi-D at prime area.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Jun 9 2022, 12:59 PM
Blofeld
post Jun 9 2022, 01:01 PM

4,707 posts

can try like this

tahfeikei
post Jun 9 2022, 01:03 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Jun 7 2022, 01:21 PM)
House is double storey link,17 years new but considering to renovate so that no renovation needed after this. Previously save money to repay loan.

If got limited budget 300k, which are the essential renovation.

Downstairs marble flooring and upstairs parquet flooring. Feel like redo upstairs flooring with engineered hardwood. Downstairs marble flooring, just polish and wax. Toilet tiles and toilet bowls just use chemical wash, change toilet seats. Wiring and piping is something to consider.

Optional, I wonder whether I can do some of my observations in many other houses that have done walls removal and structural modifications, relocate columns, relocate toilets, extended downstairs and upstairs back till boundary, change gate, windows etc.
1. change wiring and pipes, change water tank, change toilet bowls, sink
2. fark wooden flooring, put nice tiles---IMHO
3, change metal roofing---cant remember proper name for it
4. change roof tiles
5. change gate/fencing/exterior garden wall
6. replant grass or tile up the garden
7. hide the unifi wiring and install lan ports everywhere if needed
GrIM
post Jun 9 2022, 01:08 PM

253 posts

I did my renovations recently for a normal double story terrace which already costs me 300-400k- redid the toilets (relocate and enlarge, redid water piping and electrical (1 to 3 phase), vinyl flooring for upstairs (downstairs remain marble and kitchen tiles) and new staircase (previous was wood now is concrete). So my guesstimate is that you can barely do any structural changes - you need to focus - for me better to change piping and electrical and redo the interior
pekoejazzy
post Aug 27 2024, 03:44 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(GrIM @ Jun 9 2022, 01:08 PM)
I did my renovations recently for a normal double story terrace which already costs me 300-400k- redid the toilets (relocate and enlarge, redid water piping and electrical (1 to 3 phase), vinyl flooring for upstairs (downstairs remain marble and kitchen tiles) and new staircase (previous was wood now is concrete). So my guesstimate is that you can barely do any structural changes - you need to focus - for me better to change piping and electrical and redo the interior
Did you do any extension to the house when you relocate and enlarge your toilet?

This post has been edited by pekoejazzy: Aug 27 2024, 03:44 PM
post Aug 27 2024, 03:47 PM

837 posts

let me see, i did my intermediate, flooring,roofing,piping,wiring, structure as well , around 300k
pekoejazzy
post Aug 27 2024, 03:51 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Aug 27 2024, 03:47 PM)
let me see, i did my intermediate, flooring,roofing,piping,wiring, structure as well , around 300k
May I know what kind of structure changes you made for that 300k budget? Assuming Carpentry (Cabinetry) also excluded right?
dickybird
post Aug 27 2024, 03:51 PM

2,093 posts

Must engage architect and ID baru worth it!
LDP
post Aug 27 2024, 03:53 PM

640 posts

QUOTE(New Klang @ Jun 9 2022, 12:33 PM)
Is it worth it?

I have small family

Ru also planning to migrate or ur staying back ?

0.0218sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:18 PM