[2022] iOS 16 Discusssion Thread

attw
post Jun 7 2022, 08:42 AM

32,468 posts

Hahaha… was waiting for you to open this thread bro smile.gif

Looks like nothing great in iOS 16 for iPhone - now we wait till September for new iPhones instead…

On another note, Apple is killing support for both iPhone 6S and 7 this year - didn’t see that one coming, thought the 7 would get another year laugh.gif
attw
post Jun 7 2022, 10:16 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 7 2022, 08:58 AM)
Hahaha.

Yeah. But 6s is one of the iphone that has one of the longest support of iOS also. Becos 6 stops at iOS 12 while 6s can get so many more update given that it is just one year newer iPhone than 6.
Ya, finally - a 2015 phone will stop getting updates. My mum is still using hers, it’s running fine on iOS 15.5. Fun fact: the Samsung flagships in that year was the Galaxy S6 and Note 5.
attw
post Jun 7 2022, 11:57 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 7 2022, 11:09 AM)
yeah. it is an incredible phone that has the most no of ios upgrade in history i think.

2015 to 2021 - iOS 9 to iOS 15.5

totally insane.. 7 iOS versions.

2014 iPhone 6 Plus only has iOS 8 to iOS 12

pathetic only 5 iOS versions.
my 2017 iphone X is getting iOS 16 which is 5 iOS versions only also.
dun even know if it will have iOS 17. tongue.gif
I think the norm is usually 5 years but the 6S is an exception, haha… Legendary stuffs!
attw
post Jun 7 2022, 02:12 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 7 2022, 12:49 PM)
What I like is can landscape unlock Face ID laugh.gif
Seriously? At last!! Was doing this on iPad Pro for the longest time and now finally it’s on the iPhone!
attw
post Jun 7 2022, 09:38 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 7 2022, 03:19 PM)
They’ve not confirmed which models will get it though… got a sneaky feeling it’ll be the series 12 onwards only…
attw
post Jun 8 2022, 11:40 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 8 2022, 10:02 AM)
Yea, but I guess only available on iPhone 12 and newer model
Yeah, same as the unlock with a mask thing laugh.gif
attw
post Jun 8 2022, 03:35 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Jun 8 2022, 02:44 PM)
With all those features in the pipeline, attw for sure will get the new iPhone haha 😂
I buy iPhones every year bro, haha… whether got USB C or not is immaterial laugh.gif - In fact, since the XS series I’ve been buying 2 iPhones a year, haha… XS Max and XR, 11 Pro Max and 11, 12 Pro Max and 12, 13 Pro Max and 13…. (One for the Mrs, and one for me, hahaha).

I suspect this year we’ll see a bump in all iPhone prices due to our currency weakening - so we’ll see…

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 8 2022, 03:09 PM)
I bet a lot people will be excited if iPhone use USB Type C
It’s coming bro… but in 2024…

https://www.gsmarena.com/usbc_port_will_be_...-news-54587.php
attw
post Jun 10 2022, 09:36 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 8 2022, 03:57 PM)
There is always a next year..... never ending.  laugh.gif
Almost time of the year for another Iphone bro...  Still feels like I got my 13 Pro Max just yesterday. Time passes so fast nowadays. biggrin.gif
How’s the 13 Pro Max treating you? Hahaha… Yeah, I know an iPhone is an iPhone is an iPhone, but having used the 13 Pro Max for two months before passing it to my wife my two main observations are crazy good battery life and it’s goddem heavy!

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Jun 9 2022, 10:42 AM)
Hahaha yeah I figured that would be the case for you.

I might actually skip this edition for real, I mean for real  rclxub.gif The weakening of our Ringgit for sure will have impact on the pricing, heck I think every manufacturer will eventually revise their pricing again too.
If the new MacBook prices are any indication, I suspect we’ll see a RM100 bump in price across board. If it’s much higher then yeah, I might just get one phone instead of two like previous years.

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 9 2022, 02:09 PM)
No need, Apple will persuade me laugh.gif
Hahaha, I don’t need any persuasion, but I do hope they come up with some design change this year… maybe they will finally ditch the notch as rumoured…
attw
post Jun 13 2022, 09:26 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 10 2022, 10:27 AM)
Mostly will make it looks like pill laugh.gif

For design don't think got any changes as they reserve for next iPhone which might come with USB Type C biggrin.gif
Yeah agreed, the big changes will come next year I guess in preparation for the EU directive to move to USB C. Anyways, as long as they maintain the battery capacity (or increase it) then I’m good smile.gif

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 10 2022, 11:40 AM)
Haha... its big, heavy, yeah good battery life and its an iphone lor. Like that lor....... laugh.gif
So what’s next for you bro, Carl Pei’s Nothing phone?

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 12 2022, 03:38 PM)
Though convenient, it would be less secure because its very apparent they have to reduce the criteria need to be met for every face scan to unlock the phone.
I’m still unlocking it with my Apple Watch so I’ve not enabled Face ID with a mask. My wife has done so on her 13 Pro Max and she said it’s mostly misses rather than hits.
attw
post Jun 14 2022, 08:52 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jun 13 2022, 10:59 AM)
the Face Mask ID works .... 0/10 times for me. That i don't even bother trying anymore.
Yeah, I heard lots of complaints too. I mostly just stick to unlocking with my Apple Watch, only annoyance is when using the banking apps that use Face ID then I’ll need to remove my mask briefly to access those…

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jun 13 2022, 06:39 PM)
The trick is you have to stare at your phone or rather your front camera for it to unlock. Works flawlessly for me.
Dont worry bro, if your wife's Face Id doesn't work with mask I will call my "friend" who works in Apple to sort out your wife's issue. But of course I can't reveal his/her name la.... LMAO. rolleyes.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Wah, got inside information… hahahah… laugh.gif

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 13 2022, 09:11 PM)
That why next year iPhone is having big changes

And wondering how Apple persuade consumer to buy iPhone this year laugh.gif
I think when it comes to iPhones, Apple does very little to no persuasion - those who want or need one will get one regardless of what they do or don’t do laugh.gif

0.0254sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:15 AM