EX5 stopped production

TSnojalanpulang P
post Jun 2 2022, 12:20 PM, updated 4y ago

Probation

Hi. I was making a survey of shops and ex5. Some shops replied that EX5 dah stop production. Is this just the Gold Limited Edition that stopped production or EX5 as a whole is exiting the market and being phased out? So far no other information I could gather on this.
alexei
post Jun 2 2022, 01:32 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

maybe u should just post in casual bike chat, and maybe more responses...
u open too many tered liao la...
iambryan1234
post Jun 2 2022, 03:48 PM

15 posts

You want to open how many tered wor

Also why would anyone buy an ex5 over a wave alpha
dinbk90
post Jun 3 2022, 01:08 AM

23 posts

It's true that ex5 fi is no more with the limited gold edition as the last batch units. Ex5 fi is the least laku punya kapcai among all the current honda kapcai lineups. Hence the reason boon siew decided to stop its production.

Most M'sians still prefer the old boxy look of the ex5 dream over this ex5 fi or known elsewhere as supercub dream fi. That's why this ex5 fi is not well accepted by many people here since they regard it as ugly & not masculine like the old ex5. Yet still, those who bought this ex5 fi are the ones who love classic cub design & intend to install supercub accessories from Thailand, Vietnam & Japan later.

If compared to other honda current kapcais, ex5 fi is inferior in many aspects except for the pgm-fi system. No brake disc & no gear indicator in 2022?? Wave alpha has them all except still using carb & even cheaper than ex5 fi. It does not make sense to most people to buy ex5 fi because of these reasons.

Many are hoping the latest supercub 110 round headlamp as in Thailand, Japan & Korea to be the next replacement but sadly, it will never happen based on the reliable source that I got recently since the latest trend & demand here in Malaysia will always be the high performance 150cc supermoped.. So, ex5 fi is gone for good la I guess...

TSnojalanpulang P
post Jun 4 2022, 07:20 PM

Probation

QUOTE(dinbk90 @ Jun 3 2022, 01:08 AM)
It's true that ex5 fi is no more with the limited gold edition as the last batch units. Ex5 fi is the least laku punya kapcai among all the current honda kapcai lineups. Hence the reason boon siew decided to stop its production.

Most M'sians still prefer the old boxy look of the ex5 dream over this ex5 fi or known elsewhere as supercub dream fi. That's why this ex5 fi is not well accepted by many people here since they regard it as ugly & not masculine like the old ex5. Yet still, those who bought this ex5 fi are the ones who love classic cub design & intend to install supercub accessories from Thailand, Vietnam & Japan later.

If compared to other honda current kapcais, ex5 fi is inferior in many aspects except for the pgm-fi system. No brake disc & no gear indicator in 2022?? Wave alpha has them all except still using carb & even cheaper than ex5 fi. It does not make sense to most people to buy ex5 fi because of these reasons.

Many are hoping the latest supercub 110 round headlamp as in Thailand, Japan & Korea to be the next replacement but sadly, it will never happen based on the reliable source that I got recently since the latest trend & demand here in Malaysia will always be the high performance 150cc supermoped.. So, ex5 fi is gone for good la I guess...
How about the new Honda Wave 110i that was launched in Thailand? Will we see that model arrive in Malaysia?
dinbk90
post Jun 5 2022, 01:56 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(nojalanpulang @ Jun 4 2022, 07:20 PM)
How about the new Honda Wave 110i that was launched in Thailand? Will we see that model arrive in Malaysia?
Sadly, no sweat.gif since that wave110i is a domestic model, which unique only in Thailand, since Thai people prefer its design. This is the same like our dash125 is only available to us but not in other ASEAN markets.

However, I speculate that the new smart engine 110 cc on that wave110i might later will be used in the future facelift of our wave alpha. Bear in mind, we always will receive new stuff 2-3 years later after everybody else has got it; typical boon siew strategy of late adoption to play safe, unless the new model is highly requested by our people (for instance, adv150 last time)

TSnojalanpulang P
post Jun 5 2022, 02:18 AM

Probation

QUOTE(dinbk90 @ Jun 5 2022, 01:56 AM)
Sadly, no  sweat.gif  since that wave110i is a domestic model, which unique only in Thailand, since Thai people prefer its design. This is the same like our dash125 is only available to us but not in other ASEAN markets.

However, I speculate that the new smart engine 110 cc on that wave110i might later will be used in the future facelift of our wave alpha. Bear in mind, we always will receive new stuff 2-3 years later after everybody else has got it; typical boon siew strategy of late adoption to play safe, unless the new model is highly requested by our people (for instance, adv150 last time)
So there's a chance we might see it next year? Because that's the bike that fits all of my criteria.
dinbk90
post Jun 5 2022, 03:41 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(nojalanpulang @ Jun 5 2022, 02:18 AM)
So there's a chance we might see it next year? Because that's the bike that fits all of my criteria.
Probably not sooner, sadly. Maybe 2 more years?? sweat.gif

There was a spy-shot of a new wave alpha facelift got leaked earlier this year. Judging from the pic, it still uses the same 110cc engine as before & its whole appearance more or less the same. The only noticeable different of this new facelift is a new tail light similar to rs v2. Not sure whether this new facelift might have pgm-fi upgrade or tank capacity upgrade. Don't put high expectation though.

0.0224sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:58 PM