Aircond broken, Aircond broken

abubin
post May 25 2022, 10:45 AM

10,429 posts

Complete replacement would only means black oil issue. If really is black oil then yes. The only way to fix is to replace whole AC system. You cannot replace part by part as the black oil is like a virus. As long as the virus remain in the system, it will continue to spread to other system if you only replace one part.

Price is about right at around 2k depending on parts you get. Used, oem, ori and so on.

Most workshops will recommend changing to more power compressor (Alza) but you should stick with original or oem myvi compressor. Bigger compressor will means higher FC and more work for the engine.

Good luck.
abubin
post May 25 2022, 01:37 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ May 25 2022, 12:16 PM)
Means the A/C compressor oil totally kaput.. A lot of people until today still did not knew that A/C system got compressor oil (Google PAG46/100 oil) circulating with the gas around the system and need to be flush/service time to time (At least every 2 years or 40k). The compressor oil is the 1 help lubricating the A/C compressor, when new the oil usually is light yellow/green/transparent depending on type/brand. Once too long neglected, gg compressor oil (turn black) = gg A/C compressor = gg whole A/C system as debris or dirty stuff will travel the whole A/C system and hard to clean it manually. So most A/C repairer see this condition, will recommend complete change..  laugh.gif
Also to note, myvi first gen (aka old myvi) is notorious for black oil issue. The reason is still unknown but usually cause didn't go through proper service intervals.

Be also very careful and ask the pomen proper questions. A lot of AC workshops will say to just change one part and save cost. I am not sure whether they don't know about black oil issue or just want you to keep going back to them for business. Regardless what they say, to be safe I would recommend to change complete system. Unless the pomen can confirm it's not black oil and will warranty on the fix. Cause if really black oil, changing only 1 part will solve the issue only for few months.
abubin
post May 25 2022, 05:04 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 25 2022, 01:47 PM)
My car also black oil (not myvi king) and pomen macam saying something like change whole set but after done i look at the piping still looks same (dirty).
Pomen also mentioned dont recomend to do flushing instead change whole set but bill listed flushing too. So im wondering if change whole set does it need flushing or i got scammed?

What is the part called anyway?

The bill listed was condensor and compressor.
What your mechanic means when not doing flushing only is just servicing the AC by changing the oil and gas. No changing of parts. When you change parts, you will need to refill the oil and gas. Not really flushing but adding. Still costs involved in terms of that.

As for changing complete set of AC, it really depends on the communications. Some pomen will mean changing EVERYTHING but some only means changing few parts only. This really need to be listed out properly and agreed on before work commence. Things like expansion valves and drier filter are parts that must be changed and sometimes not communicated but then suddenly kena charged. For black oil, you can either change the pipings or chemical wash them. Still something extra.
abubin
post May 25 2022, 06:44 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 25 2022, 05:20 PM)
This is the bill

Labour for checking, remove & change compressor & condensor RM180
Flushing with nitrogen & chemical solvent RM80
Compressor Denso RM1500
Condensor Denso RM520
Coolant RM40
Refill gas, vacuum + oik R134A

Should be more details breakdown?

So chemical wash is another term for flushing right?
Yes, that is chemical wash of the pipes and things didn't change.

Strange didn't show listing of expansion valve and filter drier. Maybe the pomen lump into other parts.

Also how come cooling coil didn't change? Lazy to change cause it's too much work? The issue will come back in less than 1 year. My car didn't fix properly and the AC issue already start showing. But it's already 2 years. Now using until it not cold anymore. Then change whole set.
abubin
post May 26 2022, 01:21 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 25 2022, 10:27 PM)
I'm also concerned about contamination, you know, using dirty container to measure oil or when their vacuum devices are contaminated with previous customers' dirty compressor oil/refrigerant.

As for official service centre, maybe it's worth to ask if they do it in-house or simply drive the car to be serviced by outside aircon guy.
If you have been servicing the car in SC for the first 3 years (due to warranty), the AC service is included in their schedule. AC service usually includes changing oil. This is when they plug the flushing machine into the AC and let it run for an hour. Check back your receipts.

If you don't mind paying more, just send the car to SC for all services. If anything is spoil, let them tell you what is the problem and then fix it outside workshop (cheaper). I have been doing this for my previous car (Honda City) and the car was in immaculate condition (engine, gearbox, ac) when I sold it on the 8th year.

0.0173sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:22 AM