accidentally used monograde oil in my iswara, need sifu advice

empire
post May 25 2022, 10:23 AM

2,549 posts

My spare Car is also Iswara. Yes, old engines need thicker engine oil to protect its internals. Ideally 20w/40 la...thicker so it lubricates and sticks onto each internal part nicely to protect it from wear and tear.

You can get away using the thinner 15w/40 if your engine has been well maintained.
empire
post May 25 2022, 10:30 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ May 25 2022, 10:25 AM)
Iswara still road worthy? shocking.gif
Iswara surprises me too. My regular car is a BMW, but I find myself driving the Iswara more often than not LOL! it is the workhorse that taxi drivers in the 90's,00's and 10's love the most thx to its super tahan lasak engine and tough as iron gear box.

Most new Spare parts are so cheap...cheaper than even Kancil and Kelisa! I will never sell my Iswara rclxms.gif
empire
post May 25 2022, 10:51 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ May 25 2022, 10:33 AM)
4G spare part now no original. Almost OEM that why is cheap.
even those days when the spare parts are original, the prices are still lower than Kancil's and kelisa's original spare parts. I know la..cos my good buddy has a Kancil and Kelisa in his house both used by his 2 younger sisters....and we often talked about cars those days.
empire
post May 25 2022, 11:06 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ May 25 2022, 11:03 AM)
I want find ori alternator and power steering pump, all no more. Now all from china OEM. And the power steering rack also mcb, claim few pcs already. gg the labor fee.

Ori 4G parts not cheap. Unless you buy counterfeit mitsu product. That one is cheap.
Same goes for Wira la....but OEM parts are in abundance. It's your luck. Those days even the Original Proton parts also got manufacturing QC problems. what, you think Ori Proton parts those days are perfect is it ?
empire
post May 25 2022, 11:18 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ May 25 2022, 11:14 AM)
wira ... only first batch is best. after 1998 or 2000 almost all rubbish.
Yes, Iswara first batch also the best. After that all lousy too. Why> cos Proton wants to impress the buyers first...and when word goes around that the car is very good then they cut costs by using cheaper parts from second batch onwards.
empire
post May 25 2022, 11:35 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(homicidal85 @ May 25 2022, 11:19 AM)
after making this discovery, i feel like i have been cheated all this while. i live in malaysia. i dont need multigrade bullsh*t that gets thinner faster. i should have been using cheaper, better monograde on all my cars all this while.
You are right! Many people also didnt know
empire
post Sep 12 2022, 02:50 PM

2,549 posts

up
empire
post Sep 12 2022, 03:34 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(homicidal85 @ Sep 12 2022, 03:27 PM)
UPDATE: after 3 months using monograde oil, my car takes 2 cranks to start in the morning. I think initially it was perfectly fine because there was still some residual EO (castrol magnatec probably was still sticking to the pistons and cylinders) but over time, the magnatec wore off. So, the monograde oil isnt fluid enough for a one time crank during early morning. But once it starts, it works fine. The engine still runs cooler than when i used multigrade oil.

if your engine is new, I wouldnt recommend using monograde oil just to make sure you have proper protection during the early morning cranks. but for old cars which might burn multigrade EO, its probably a better choice to use monograde because it doesnt suffer from thermal breakdown as quickly as multigrade so there is overall less chance of damage to the engine.
so are you happy using monograde ?

0.0161sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:16 PM