My house still has a few of these kind of magnetic starters for the AC units. Are they still necessary for newer AC? Can I just replace them with those 15A or 20A water heater switches? How many amps are needed for AC?
Replacing AC magnetic starter
May 23 2022, 03:19 PM, updated 4y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
405 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Penis ular Bolehland |
May 23 2022, 03:26 PM
2,093 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
i use a 20A switch for mine
May 23 2022, 03:26 PM
3,665 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
for modern aircon they are not needed anymore.
15A switch is more than enough unless your aircon is big hp. This post has been edited by COOLPINK: May 23 2022, 03:27 PM |
May 23 2022, 03:46 PM
May 23 2022, 03:52 PM
3,665 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
jerm57 liked this post
May 23 2022, 04:01 PM
May 23 2022, 04:07 PM
7,938 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(jerm57 @ May 23 2022, 03:19 PM) Asking for help from electricians or DIY pros. I believe that what you called magnetic starter is mostly nothing more than magnetic contactor. The magnetic contactor is nothing more than just a switch that make contact on magnetic action. Usually this contactor has current rating depends on the rating of the motor.My house still has a few of these kind of magnetic starters for the AC units. Are they still necessary for newer AC? Can I just replace them with those 15A or 20A water heater switches? How many amps are needed for AC? A 1 hp air-cond has adequate soft start circuitry that will prevent massive current surge during start. So, normal 15A socket will do. Even good 13A socket also can work. |
May 23 2022, 05:12 PM
846 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
That national remote still working?
May 23 2022, 05:13 PM
45 posts Joined: Sep 2021 |
May 23 2022, 05:18 PM
1,791 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
your 15A or 20A Sw finally also connect to 20A MCB.
May 23 2022, 05:18 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,962 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
QUOTE(jerm57 @ May 23 2022, 03:19 PM) Asking for help from electricians or DIY pros. Yes u can just change with 20A switches, but if the aircond malfunction it will trip at the switch but trip at MCB.My house still has a few of these kind of magnetic starters for the AC units. Are they still necessary for newer AC? Can I just replace them with those 15A or 20A water heater switches? How many amps are needed for AC? Ownself DIY costs less than RM40 Oh btw u might need to buy the switch casing coz that existing switch does not look like have casing in the wall. this https://shopee.com.my/PVC-3-x-3-Nut-box-or-...jBoCw7IQAvD_BwE This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: May 23 2022, 05:19 PM |
May 24 2022, 09:28 AM
May 24 2022, 09:31 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
500 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
Changed my last magnetic switch air-cond just before the MCO started. Panasonic, 20+ years
May 24 2022, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ May 23 2022, 05:18 PM) Yes u can just change with 20A switches, but if the aircond malfunction it will trip at the switch but trip at MCB. Yah.. gonna fix myself. Any particular brand I should aim for? I heard UMS is good quality but they look basic as hell - grandpa style. And Schneider's is freaking expensive. Any that is a happy medium between good quality and good looks? I prefer a smooth modern switch.Ownself DIY costs less than RM40 Oh btw u might need to buy the switch casing coz that existing switch does not look like have casing in the wall. this https://shopee.com.my/PVC-3-x-3-Nut-box-or-...jBoCw7IQAvD_BwE |
May 24 2022, 10:59 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,962 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
QUOTE(jerm57 @ May 24 2022, 09:33 AM) Yah.. gonna fix myself. Any particular brand I should aim for? I heard UMS is good quality but they look basic as hell - grandpa style. And Schneider's is freaking expensive. Any that is a happy medium between good quality and good looks? I prefer a smooth modern switch. Schneider would be the most common brand i guess. They have few lines just see which design u prefer.I just bought one few weeks ago for RM25 plain white ones with led. There are cheaper selling in Shopee but duno imitation or original. Beware there are many imitation so if u buy online better buy from MALL seller just to be safe. Else just go to any reputable DIY shops or local chinese hardware shops. |
| Change to: | 0.0195sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:48 AM |