Dell 2407WFP as Imac 2nd Monitor

TSCrusader
post Sep 27 2007, 01:34 PM, updated 19y ago

783 posts

Just got my imac and I got a question for all the sifus here.

Can I connect my Dell 2407WFP monitor to my new imac as secondary monitor?

atrash
post Sep 27 2007, 01:55 PM

351 posts

yes..i think u can..
TSCrusader
post Sep 27 2007, 02:00 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(atrash @ Sep 27 2007, 01:55 PM)
yes..i think u can..
Thanks. But how? Do I need any special cable for connect? I don't see any connection point on the Imac that I use for the Dell monitor. blush.gif
lailaikatong
post Sep 27 2007, 02:24 PM

601 posts

Yup, you can... Your iMac has a mini-dvi port, which means you'll need a mini-dvi to dvi adapter to connect the external monitor....
TSCrusader
post Sep 27 2007, 02:52 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(lailaikatong @ Sep 27 2007, 02:24 PM)
Yup, you can... Your iMac has a mini-dvi port, which means you'll need a mini-dvi to dvi adapter to connect the external monitor....
Thanks, folks. notworthy.gif

Hmm... guess i need to visit Lowyat Plaza this weekend. sweat.gif
tishaban
post Sep 27 2007, 03:41 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Crusader @ Sep 27 2007, 02:52 PM)
Thanks, folks.  notworthy.gif

Hmm... guess i need to visit Lowyat Plaza this weekend.  sweat.gif
best to buy the Apple version. Not sure if other versions exist or can work.

xaw5126
post Sep 27 2007, 03:42 PM

3,488 posts

the adapter is only available @ Apple stores.
current SRP is RM89... don't be fooled by people charging more with whatever excuses.
if you have to, threaten to call Apple Malaysia - 03 27111888
TSCrusader
post Sep 27 2007, 04:07 PM

783 posts

Thanks again, folks. Plan to upgrade my new imac ram, DVI adapter and try to get the"Griffin Powermate" too (not sure can find at Lowyat) this weekend.

Going to get those mac stuff from the shop that I bought the imac. Hope they won't try to bs me.... else I'm going to threaten them with "I KNOW PEOPLE FROM LOWYAT.NET !!!, don't try to fool me!!!" flex.gif
xaw5126
post Sep 27 2007, 05:36 PM

3,488 posts

why not try this. "I will call & inform Apple Malaysia. 03 27111 888" hehe
hairol83
post Sep 27 2007, 11:15 PM

344 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Sep 27 2007, 05:36 PM)
why not try this. "I will call & inform Apple Malaysia. 03 27111 888" hehe
but why certain Apple Authorised Reseller still selling the adapter at RM109?
care to explain that? hmm.gif
xaw5126
post Sep 28 2007, 10:05 AM

3,488 posts

report them to Apple Malaysia. get the shop name, the manager's name... and go ahead.
shoguniphicus
post Sep 28 2007, 10:43 AM

428 posts

just wondering for my part. the other day i was checking on the price of some ram on Apple Reseller stores. i couldnt help wondering, why both ram (for MacBook Pro) is RM799 for 2GB and the other is selling RM899 for 1GB?

the branding problem? some brands are just pricier? and both are KTA, it's never close to KVR. and of course, one is offered by Premium Reseller, and the other one is Authorized Reseller.
clawhammer
post Sep 28 2007, 11:10 AM

///M
8,788 posts

The sales person from the Apple store told me that Apple LCD's are a lot better than those for PC's like LG, Samsung, etc.

Is it true and in this case, would the Dell look better or the Apple itself?
lokgotz
post Sep 28 2007, 11:34 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

yeah...u need a mini-dvi to dvi connector....
or if u prefer, mini-dvi to vga connector....

i think these both connectors are kinda hard to find.....i've been trying to get the mini-dvi to vga connector for quite some time...

and retail is RM89.....there are a alot of them selling Rm109 or even RM179.....just becarful....
TSCrusader
post Sep 28 2007, 11:54 AM

783 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Sep 28 2007, 11:34 AM)
yeah...u need a mini-dvi to dvi connector....
or if u prefer, mini-dvi to vga connector....

i think these both connectors are kinda hard to find.....i've been trying to get the mini-dvi to vga connector for quite some time...

and retail is RM89.....there are a alot of them selling Rm109 or even RM179.....just becarful....
Thanks, lokgotz.
cRazYee
post Sep 28 2007, 06:24 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(Crusader @ Sep 27 2007, 02:52 PM)
Thanks, folks.  notworthy.gif

Hmm... guess i need to visit Lowyat Plaza this weekend.  sweat.gif
hardly can see 3rd party mini dvi adapter

from apple 1 is RM 89

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Sep 28 2007, 06:25 PM
TSCrusader
post Oct 1 2007, 02:50 PM

783 posts

Status Update....

Just bought the mini-dvi to dvi adapter from MacStudio for RM89.

Cycom have a price tag of RM159. Asked why so expensive, the sales sotong said this is the price control by Apple M'sia. Instead of arguing with him I just walk downstairs to buy from MacStudio. Also upgraded another 1Gb Kingston RAM for RM100 from C-zone.
So far so good.

Thanks again, folks.

0.0173sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:36 PM