Resale Value Perodua, How is it almost the same as a new one?

TSallomicro
post May 23 2022, 01:33 AM, updated 2y ago

88 posts

I was recently looking at website like carsome and mytukar. I noticed that the prices of perodua cars don't defer much from a new one, even if it more than 5 years.

Case in point, a new Axia manual is 23k. A 2018 Axia E is 23.9k.

If drops a little I can understand but to be almost the same as new one seems to be odd.

Can someone educate me on this? What determines the resale value?
linkinstreet
post May 23 2022, 07:07 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,215 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ May 23 2022, 01:33 AM)
I was recently looking at website like carsome and mytukar. I noticed that the prices of perodua cars don't defer much from a new one, even if it more than 5 years.

Case in point, a new Axia manual is 23k. A 2018 Axia E is 23.9k.

If drops a little I can understand but to be almost the same as new one seems to be odd.

Can someone educate me on this? What determines the resale value?
Availibility of spares, how easy it is to actually buy a new one (Produa has long waiting list), peer pressure to buy that brand, etc
Roman Catholic
post May 23 2022, 08:12 AM

3,030 posts

Senang cerita, parliamentarians are delirious, that's why.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: May 23 2022, 08:13 AM
dares
post May 23 2022, 10:50 AM

827 posts

A 2007 Kelisa is asking for RM18k now, go figure.

Used car prices has been ballooning as of late especially for historically popular brands such as P2, Toyota, Honda etc.

I believe this is due to the shortage of new cars and the resulting long waiting periods that cause more people turning to used cars, thus driving up the prices.
JZenith
post May 23 2022, 11:05 AM

Look at my stars. owai
697 posts

my friend booked civic, but need wait 5 months MINIMUM.
then he cash a perodua bezza 1.3 from carsome, then months later sell back rugi 2-3k, take it as rental.
TSallomicro
post May 23 2022, 03:31 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(JZenith @ May 23 2022, 11:05 AM)
my friend booked civic, but need wait 5 months MINIMUM.
then he cash a perodua bezza 1.3 from carsome, then months later sell back rugi 2-3k, take it as rental.
So he sold the bezza once he got the civic?

That comes up to just 2 months rental of bezza, so it's good deal.
Platinum Sand
post May 23 2022, 04:31 PM

184 posts

I'm myvi owner. It might be the only car in Malaysia can act as investment car.
1.parts cheap
2.fuel consumption not bad.
3.any foreman u meet usually can fix ur car. They might drive perodua as well
4.damm lasting the car. Never kacau at all. Serve me 11 years d.
5.fb many group. Can join. If car got problem can refer to fb. Because myvi population in MY alot
6. Bought my second hand myvi for 30k. Been drive it for 5 years. Today look at carsome around 23-25k. So means 1 year I lost 1k only. Lol.

abubin
post May 24 2022, 10:31 AM

10,423 posts

QUOTE(Platinum Sand @ May 23 2022, 04:31 PM)
I'm myvi owner. It might be the only car in Malaysia can act as investment car.
1.parts cheap
2.fuel consumption not bad.
3.any foreman u meet usually can fix ur car. They might drive perodua as well
4.damm lasting the car. Never kacau at all. Serve me 11 years d.
5.fb many group. Can join. If car got problem can refer to fb. Because myvi population in MY alot
6. Bought my second hand myvi for 30k. Been drive it for 5 years. Today look at carsome around 23-25k. So means 1 year I lost 1k only. Lol.
Cars can never be considered investment. Please don't confuse yourself. Even if you buy a bad condition car, fix it up and then resell it, this considered reselling. However, it is not investment. Maybe you can make profit from "antique" cars. Cause car prices only fluctuate with time.

Just buy the car and use it as you like. Enjoy the ride and enjoy the mods you may do to beautify it.

In terms of Myvi, yes it's as you mentioned above. Good car to have with points above.
Platinum Sand
post May 24 2022, 10:43 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ May 24 2022, 10:31 AM)
Cars can never be considered investment. Please don't confuse yourself. Even if you buy a bad condition car, fix it up and then resell it, this considered reselling. However, it is not investment. Maybe you can make profit from "antique" cars. Cause car prices only fluctuate with time.

Just buy the car and use it as you like. Enjoy the ride and enjoy the mods you may do to beautify it.

In terms of Myvi, yes it's as you mentioned above. Good car to have with points above.
Yes Bro. The words investment mean is, myvi don't need to repair every time. Other than oil change or w&t.
I compare myvi and other Conti/D segment car in 5 years.
I found repair cost confirm myvi much much cheaper.
Resale in 5 year. Fuhhh, can see the difference bro. I even saw Honda Accord almost same year as mine or newer. Their second hand price not much different to myvi.
In 5 years myvi spend around 4-6k to repair, I estimate la. 4-6k quite alot.
And for Conti/D seg car. In 5 years. If u spend 4-6k nothing much can be repair. Change tayat already around 2-2.5 k.

The only myvi sacrifice is not really comfort to drive long distance.
Tats my opinion la bro. Maybe the word investment not tat suitable, should say worth 99...hahahahah.
ktek
post May 24 2022, 01:40 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,541 posts

sst discounted offer
ktek
post May 24 2022, 01:41 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,541 posts

wait june end lah. price shot up 99
abubin
post May 24 2022, 07:12 PM

10,423 posts

QUOTE(Platinum Sand @ May 24 2022, 10:43 AM)
Yes Bro. The words investment mean is, myvi don't need to repair every time. Other than oil change or w&t.
Resale in 5 year. Fuhhh, can see the difference bro. I even saw Honda Accord almost same year as mine or newer. Their second hand price not much different to myvi.
And for Conti/D seg car. In 5 years. If u spend 4-6k nothing much can be repair. Change tayat already around 2-2.5 k.

Tats my opinion la bro. Maybe the word investment not tat suitable, should say worth 99...hahahahah.
Hence, which is why Myvi is a car I use for learning about DIY fixing here and there. Cause if screw up also no expensive to repair. LOL...
Platinum Sand
post May 25 2022, 08:56 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ May 24 2022, 07:12 PM)
Hence, which is why Myvi is a car I use for learning about DIY fixing here and there. Cause if screw up also no expensive to repair. LOL...
Hahahahah... Same bro. Yesterday just bought 5 point cable for grounding. Lucky myvi got lots of video can find in utube. Gonna try diy grounding once received item.
abubin
post May 25 2022, 11:12 AM

10,423 posts

QUOTE(Platinum Sand @ May 25 2022, 08:56 AM)
Hahahahah... Same bro. Yesterday just bought 5 point cable for grounding. Lucky myvi got lots of video can find in utube. Gonna try diy grounding once received item.
This is something I might do later. Just make sure to get good quality grounding cable. Cheaps ones are bad. If want to save cost, one option is to get jump start cables. Then crimp the cables yourself. DIY ma....
pcdoctor_my
post May 25 2022, 11:29 AM

Shift Xtreme
800 posts

QUOTE(Platinum Sand @ May 24 2022, 10:43 AM)
The words investment mean is, myvi don't need to repair every time. Other than oil change or w&t.

I echo abubin earlier comments also.
Read this bro. Educate yourself.

What Is an Investment?
An investment is an asset or item acquired with the goal of generating income or appreciation. Appreciation refers to an increase in the value of an asset over time. When an individual purchases a good as an investment, the intent is not to consume the good but rather to use it in the future to create wealth.
Sauce: https://www.investopedia.com/terms/i/investment.asp

Does your Myvi increase value over time? Hell no. Not in a million years.
A modern car is a depreciating asset . It cant and it wont generate appreciation value.
Obviously investment is the wrong word to begin word.
I know it's a KING (King of all wrong things FYI) , but its NOT a KING of asset investment.

BTW, please also dont compare maintenance cost with Contis, thats the wrong benchmark FFS.
Compare with Japs or even Toyota itself. Then thats a proper benchmark.

This post has been edited by pcdoctor_my: May 25 2022, 11:33 AM
Platinum Sand
post May 25 2022, 01:37 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ May 25 2022, 11:12 AM)
This is something I might do later. Just make sure to get good quality grounding cable. Cheaps ones are bad. If want to save cost, one option is to get jump start cables. Then crimp the cables yourself. DIY ma....
Yah. I bought the cable around 150 for 5 cable.hopefully it's pure copper. Everytime I switch on light I found my RPM drop a bit.suspect wiring la. Try grounding see can solve problem or not

Platinum Sand
post May 25 2022, 01:49 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ May 25 2022, 11:29 AM)
I echo abubin earlier comments also.
Read this bro. Educate yourself.
Sauce: https://www.investopedia.com/terms/i/investment.asp

Does your Myvi increase value over time? Hell no. Not in a million years.
A modern car is a depreciating asset . It cant and it wont generate appreciation value.
Obviously investment is the wrong word to begin word.
I know it's a KING (King of all wrong things FYI) , but its NOT a KING of asset investment.

BTW, please also dont compare maintenance cost with Contis, thats the wrong benchmark FFS.
Compare with Japs or even Toyota itself. Then thats a proper benchmark.
Myvi itself won't increase value bro.
Investment is something u can make money from it.even if ur investment make u earn rm1. It's called investment. But if invest in something and lost even rm1 tats not investment Liao. Tats my understanding la.
Btw, since I work in sales industry. I travel alot.2 month about 10k KM.
With such travel distance and my job. I can generate sales . Compare myvi and Conti/D seg car doing sales. You will notice huge difference. Especially in fast W&T such as engine oil,gear oil, tyre and others. Every years I spend around rm2180 ,for engine oil(rm250x6 month) and tyre 14'(rm170x4). Not include other parts.Tat figure is for myvi. I estimate Conti car tyre 16-17' rm450-500 per piece.Only for tyre already 1800. Not include oil. Somemore lots of moving parts need to maintain as well bro. Huge difference there. Best thing is myvi any parts rosak I can change or repair it straight away. Without worrying bout the price tat much.
TSallomicro
post May 25 2022, 10:29 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ May 24 2022, 07:12 PM)
Always wanted to try doing DIY for car, but don't dare. Takut do something and the whole car rosak until cannot use.

Wiras and kancil used to be the easiest due to cheaper and easy to get spare parts, but has been getting pricer now days.

I guess peroduas are a good place to start, especially the cheap ones.

abubin
post May 26 2022, 07:03 PM

10,423 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ May 25 2022, 10:29 PM)
Always wanted to try doing DIY for car, but don't dare. Takut do something and the whole car rosak until cannot use.

Wiras and kancil used to be the easiest due to cheaper and easy to get spare parts, but has been getting pricer now days.

I guess peroduas are a good place to start, especially the cheap ones.
FYI, you will definitely make mistakes!! I had done some mistakes but so far not big deal yet. Latest thing I did was screw the side mirror panel back with the signal wire inside the screw hole. End up burning a fuse. Luckily only fuse burn. Replace it and then reconnect back the wires, back to working condition. Hehehe...

0.0142sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:00 AM