how long do your tyres last?

TSMysagavvt
post Apr 20 2022, 07:08 PM, updated 4y ago

45 posts

mine only 15000+km.... that was the tyre that came when i bought my new saga..... i think there's a problem.... usually tyres last 45k km, right?

BL98
post Apr 20 2022, 07:31 PM

742 posts

I think the way you drive affect the mileage of tyres.
hightechgadgets8
post Apr 20 2022, 07:34 PM

\(^o^)/
6,017 posts

vios 2017, continental CC5, 80k km, 2 years
teslaman
post Apr 20 2022, 07:35 PM

1,154 posts

QUOTE(Mysagavvt @ Apr 20 2022, 07:08 PM)
mine only 15000+km.... that was the tyre that came when i bought my new saga..... i think there's a problem.... usually tyres last 45k km, right?
60-100k km
jetblast
post Apr 20 2022, 07:39 PM

1,039 posts

Probably you like to accelerate and brake a lot. My tyres last 70K smooth driving
Roadwarrior1337
post Apr 20 2022, 07:57 PM

979 posts

Mine usually last 25k km

Due to my driving stulr
amscouzach57
post Apr 20 2022, 09:11 PM

526 posts

45k km was the longest I've ever got.

But most of my tyres were UHP & I'm a spirited driver.
zeng
post Apr 20 2022, 09:29 PM

1,810 posts

Concur with you that there is a problem.

Not sure whether your new saga stock OE tyres wear rating UTQG is low'ish below 350 or 300, I had been getting 110K-115K kms of tyre life consistently for the past decade from several pairs of XM2 (with wear rating of 420) replacement with a residual tread depth of 2.0-2.5 mm where 1.6 mm is the cut-off point for mandatory replacement.

If I may speculate the Saga's suspension alignment angles are most probably the culprit of relatively shorter tyre life in your case, never mind the fact that it is a new car.

Which axle tyre has the higher wear rate? Even or uneven?

Note:
The current pair of XM2 on my Avanza Front axle has been in use for 88K kms (of about 4.5 years duration) with a residual tread depth of 3.0-3.5 mm and ........ going.
Its rear pair was replaced some 3 weeks ago with serviceable residual tread depth to spare.
All 4 tyres were at its original corner respectively, and never rotated.

This post has been edited by zeng: Apr 20 2022, 09:35 PM
amduser
post Apr 20 2022, 10:18 PM

5,542 posts

my UHP tyres only last less than 2 years, i use my car for daily drive, genting hill climb, track and gymkhana, rotate every 8k km
littlefire
post Apr 21 2022, 10:30 AM

2,714 posts

BTW, did your ride did any tire balancing, rotation & alignment before since you getting the ride? Even new car also dont trust the service center will do it for you. Proper maintenance is every time went for service go out to tire shop and do the 3 things i highlighted above.

Besides that, how you drive? If always do high speed cornering, pick up like crazy speed and drive thru bad road conditions also can wear faster.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Apr 21 2022, 10:31 AM
TSMysagavvt
post Apr 21 2022, 08:45 PM

45 posts

my driving is mostly smooth..... seldom have to slam on the brakes..... only the front right tyre shows excessive wear.... the front right is not as bad as the left but still bad enough.... the rear tyres are fine..... my tyres usually last me at least 45k km........
ktek
post Apr 22 2022, 08:57 AM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

alignment lari. ur body weight affect oso
littlefire
post Apr 22 2022, 09:19 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(Mysagavvt @ Apr 21 2022, 09:45 PM)
my driving is mostly smooth..... seldom have to slam on the brakes..... only the front right tyre shows excessive wear.... the front right is not as bad as the left but still bad enough.... the rear tyres are fine..... my tyres usually last me at least 45k km........
Typical allignment lari bro, got go to tire shop do the 3 things i mentioned? tire balancing, rotation & alignment
MazeLoL
post Apr 22 2022, 04:55 PM

847 posts

Were using RE004 , Clocked at 60k now . i think thread were currently left around 40%
okuribito
post Apr 23 2022, 05:48 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Apr 20 2022, 09:29 PM)

The current pair of XM2 on my Avanza Front axle has been in use for 88K kms (of about 4.5 years duration) with a residual tread depth of 3.0-3.5 mm and ........ going.
Its rear pair was replaced some 3 weeks ago with serviceable residual tread depth to spare.
All 4 tyres were at its original corner respectively, and never rotated.
Wow! My front tires always wear out faster (front wheel drive) so have to rotate every 10k. Last set 53k over past 4 yrs, ecopia150 on small 1.8L sedan
TSMysagavvt
post Apr 23 2022, 08:29 PM

45 posts

thinking to changing to 195/50/15..... are the pcd for the new saga and the wira similar?

cooyard2
post Apr 27 2022, 03:12 PM

29 posts

60000km
steventan85
post Apr 28 2022, 11:36 AM

6,447 posts

30-40k ? im not sure ... i didnt really go check the mileage .. whenever i feel not comfortable , i will go change it ....

DM52
post Apr 29 2022, 01:23 PM

406 posts

15k km is very bad mileage owh for 1300cc power. u always launch at traffic light?. and what tyre model of this?.

I drive gentle most of them time including start from traffic light and come out from junction. I even wait car if want to come out from junction. most car I see rush when come out from junction because they see car approaching near as someone cannot wait. lol.

all my tyre at least 4 to 5 years or above 60k km. thats still got threads but rubber hardened already. so need to change.lol
SportyHandling
post Apr 29 2022, 05:10 PM

623 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=84813935

Found my response in an old thread above made in 2017. Short version is the tyres lasted 5 years 2 months, and the tyres still looked new when I sold the car. Long version below.

"I once owned the Nissan Sylphy. Bought new and sold it after 5 years 2 months old and believe it or not, the tyres are still the original tyres at the time I sold it. The more interesting fact is the front tyres remain at the front and had not been rotated to the rear, and more interesting fact is the tread on the front tyres looked intact and almost new.

The only reason the tyres looked new was the Nissan Sylphy could only be driven at slow speeds during corners. I mean really slow."
TSMysagavvt
post May 3 2022, 01:41 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(DM52 @ Apr 29 2022, 01:23 PM)
15k km is very bad mileage owh for 1300cc power. u always launch at traffic light?. and what tyre model of this?.

I drive gentle most of them time including start from traffic light and come out from junction. I even wait car if want to come out from junction. most car I see rush when come out from junction because they see car approaching near as someone cannot wait. lol.

all my tyre at least 4 to 5 years or above 60k km. thats still got threads but rubber hardened already. so need to change.lol
i drive this car like an ah pek...... anyway i got them replaced with a pair of landsail of the same size at rm290/pair including balancing and alignment
zeng
post May 9 2022, 07:47 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Mysagavvt @ May 3 2022, 01:41 PM)
i drive this car like an ah pek...... anyway i got them replaced with a pair of landsail of the same size at rm290/pair including balancing and alignment
Did you readjust the wheel alignment angles on the saga?
cooyard2
post May 9 2022, 03:11 PM

29 posts

manual only 20K km, auto around 60K km.
Aeon_Clock
post May 11 2022, 01:15 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(cooyard2 @ May 9 2022, 03:11 PM)
manual only 20K km, auto around 60K km.
blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
TSMysagavvt
post May 11 2022, 06:39 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ May 9 2022, 07:47 AM)
Did you readjust the wheel alignment angles on the saga?
yes.... had to....

amscouzach57
post May 11 2022, 06:46 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Apr 22 2022, 04:55 PM)
Were using RE004 , Clocked at 60k now . i think thread were currently left around 40%
Quite good mileage for a UHP, tyre.

This makes it more tempting for me to try this tyre for the next set
MazeLoL
post May 13 2022, 12:11 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ May 11 2022, 06:46 PM)
Quite good mileage for a UHP, tyre.

This makes it more tempting for me to try this tyre for the next set
Its a good dry tyre but again its darn noisy tho due to the design of threads.

Again you can have both comfort and performance at the same time. just pick one side biggrin.gif

Im eager to try out the GY Sport AS3 or AS5 tho.
ck2chan
post May 22 2022, 12:29 AM

2,144 posts

50K km, 5 years old. Still many thread and ok je.
epjx31
post Jun 7 2022, 09:51 PM

21 posts

With my OE fitment for SUV, my front tires lasted 32,000 km.

I was using Toyo Proxes R46. You can check out my review -->here
squidy841002 P
post Jun 9 2022, 08:48 PM

Probation

Myvi 14inches last 45K km... 15K seems kinda ebrake oftenly
anakMY
post Jun 10 2022, 01:51 PM

1,450 posts

60-70k km with 2 sets of toyo nano3.