Soundproofing room from noisy bikes and cars, Modified exhausts smh

TSKoki
post Apr 19 2022, 01:21 PM, updated 4y ago

3,142 posts

So my neighbors are horrible and there are a lot of modified bikes and cars with super loud exhausts. I don’t know how I can live in peace anymore and it’s driving me crazy.

Mostly low frequencies is what I want to block off but I can’t seem to find any solution for this.

I do have quad 58x118cm windows which I have bought weatherstrips to seal it, but sound still pierces through. TBH, I don’t care about the windows anymore. I don’t mind covering it up entirely if it’s reversible back to the original state.

P/S: Moving out is not an option (yet). Property market is obnoxiously expensive.
Roadwarrior1337
post Apr 19 2022, 01:26 PM

979 posts

Change to condo. Dont have this rempit exhaust sound
TSKoki
post Apr 19 2022, 01:28 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Apr 19 2022, 01:26 PM)
Yeah no, then you gotta deal with upstairs noise. And rempit exhaust sound still get to condos btw.
jaycee1
post Apr 19 2022, 01:31 PM

AFK
2,487 posts

Windows makes the biggest difference.

Good double pane windows and have better gaskets that makes them very quiet but very expensive.
ayamAnoob
post Apr 19 2022, 01:46 PM

140 posts

roadside condo still have to endure the same shit

plus noisy and smoking neighbor

but i still prefer stay condo
QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Apr 19 2022, 01:26 PM)
wailam
post Apr 19 2022, 01:48 PM

Apa benda ini?
976 posts

well. You could file a police report regarding the sound. Its consider sound pollution if you forgot the name. Take note of the time and record a video if can.
acbc
post Apr 19 2022, 01:54 PM

9,049 posts

Egg cartons with corkboard can help to dampen the noise.
TSKoki
post Apr 19 2022, 02:03 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(wailam @ Apr 19 2022, 01:48 PM)
well. You could file a police report regarding the sound. Its consider sound pollution if you forgot the name. Take note of the time and record a video if can.
Done that before and still no change 🙃
wailam
post Apr 19 2022, 02:06 PM

Apa benda ini?
976 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Apr 19 2022, 02:03 PM)
Done that before and still no change 🙃
no police car patrol?
TSKoki
post Apr 19 2022, 02:07 PM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(wailam @ Apr 19 2022, 02:06 PM)
no police car patrol?
Once only, then after that same thing again.
TBH now even worse since there are even more rempits around the neighborhood.
metalfire
post Apr 19 2022, 02:16 PM

1,306 posts

1. do take note on the noise pollution coming from your neighbour
2. take pictures, take video recordings and timestamp.
3. report to your local council - noise pollution, disturbing peace of surrouding.
4. report to JPJ with those modified cars and bikes.

last resort change neighbourhood...yes buy house you can choose, but neighbours you can't...unless you stay bungalow.

This post has been edited by metalfire: Apr 19 2022, 02:16 PM
JollyRogers
post Apr 19 2022, 10:52 PM

141 posts

Seal the windows with cardboard , stuff rock-wool ( can buy from Lazada) In between
TSKoki
post Apr 20 2022, 08:38 AM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(metalfire @ Apr 19 2022, 02:16 PM)
1. do take note on the noise pollution coming from your neighbour
2. take pictures, take video recordings and timestamp.
3. report to your local council - noise pollution, disturbing peace of surrouding.
4. report to JPJ with those modified cars and bikes.

last resort change neighbourhood...yes buy house you can choose, but neighbours you can't...unless you stay bungalow.
Where to report for JPJ? Can't find in the website
metalfire
post Apr 20 2022, 01:18 PM

1,306 posts

QUOTE(Koki @ Apr 20 2022, 08:38 AM)
Where to report for JPJ? Can't find in the website
yeah I also tried searching at the jpj website...guess you need to contact them directly.

also make sure you have all the photos and videos ready.
lyt25_1234
post Apr 25 2022, 07:01 PM

1,152 posts

Buy noise canceling headphone.

0.0222sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:03 PM