microsoft surface, any review?

C-Fu
post Apr 18 2022, 03:57 PM

Ninja-Fu
1,051 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Apr 18 2022, 02:50 PM)
any review?

should get ipad mini or new laptop instead?
avoid surface like a plague.
1. damn difficult to open to upgrade/replace/repair. must get a replacement screen before attempting to open
2. some surface firmware got a stupid fking bug that can brick your keyboard port. nothing you do can bring that back.
3. very underpowered, unless you can trim and debloat your windows install
4. when it runs hot screen will flicker. leave it like that for some time and in a year your surface will refuse to turn on.

AssToast
post Apr 18 2022, 03:59 PM

Rarely on Lowyat
1,618 posts

If need 2 in 1 but don't want iPad, get Asus Slate 13
c64
post Apr 18 2022, 04:01 PM

711 posts

How heavy is Surface now? My kids new lappy 1.3kg, I think it's light enough.
babybaby1988
post Apr 18 2022, 04:20 PM

262 posts

so far so good for my surface pro 6, almost on 24/7 since 2019

keyboard kaput once maybe cos frequent detaching and bought replacement from tesco for almost 300+ (cheapest around)

only qualms is only one usb port and storage not upgradable except for the micro SD slot. So buy the latest one which allow SSD upgrade
TSChrono-Trigger
post Apr 18 2022, 06:52 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,310 posts

QUOTE(C-Fu @ Apr 18 2022, 03:57 PM)
avoid surface like a plague.
1. damn difficult to open to upgrade/replace/repair. must get a replacement screen before attempting to open
2. some surface firmware got a stupid fking bug that can brick your keyboard port. nothing you do can bring that back.
3. very underpowered, unless you can trim and debloat your windows install
4. when it runs hot screen will flicker. leave it like that for some time and in a year your surface will refuse to turn on.
thank you for your review.

hmm, looks like many negative review on surface.
Chanwsan
post Apr 18 2022, 06:57 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Lapsap lol. Luckily last time earning SGD can afford to waste money on this overpriced piece of crap but still not getting the iSheep face value
accordvtec
post Apr 18 2022, 07:11 PM

107 posts

im still with surface pro6. delicate yes. need extra care.
but i like it coz is my convenient productivity workhorse.
of course i got my own i9 desktop at home and office but this is convenience at doorstep
fantasy1989
post Apr 18 2022, 07:42 PM

4,707 posts

really depend on your usage

if you really care so much on mobility and weight

then no choice surface lor
firr
post Apr 18 2022, 07:52 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Apr 18 2022, 03:10 PM)
I use it to mainly read news/ surf internet just before bedtime.

Got an aging ipad mini 4 that has become very slow with each new iOS update.

But ipad mini price has gone  up to RM2200 now, someone recommend me to have a look at surface...

I also like to bring laptop to cafe to chill and do work (typing mostly) and read forum only
Can consider Samsung Galaxy Tab 7FE too, but need to spend extra for the keyboard.
gogocan
post Apr 18 2022, 08:42 PM

486 posts

Ex surface user.Battery difficult to replace and expensive.

End up went back to the ever reliable DELL latitude.

SUSMuchafaka
post Apr 18 2022, 08:49 PM

Dont know how to choose? Ask ppl
Sohaii
k!nex
post Apr 18 2022, 08:50 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Apr 18 2022, 02:50 PM)
any review?

should get ipad mini or new laptop instead?
If you are talking about Surface Pro , the main selling point is the touch screen and stylus. Only buy if you need those capability. Other than that , i think other manufacturers have similar item for much cheaper price. I have reviewed a similar HP unit before. Their wifi is better.

And if you break that screen on a Surface Pro , it is RM1200. You have to return the unit to Microsoft , they give you another unit. Your data of course is gone.
TSChrono-Trigger
post Apr 18 2022, 08:53 PM

4,310 posts

QUOTE(gogocan @ Apr 18 2022, 08:42 PM)
Ex surface user.Battery difficult to replace and expensive.

End up went back to the ever reliable DELL latitude.
dell good?
TSChrono-Trigger
post Apr 18 2022, 08:56 PM

4,310 posts

QUOTE(Muchafaka @ Apr 18 2022, 08:49 PM)
Dont know how to choose? Ask ppl
Sohaii
people need to look at budget mah, why you so bad mouth one?
bergstein
post Apr 18 2022, 09:00 PM

352 posts

if you want to use it to replace iPad, no, it's not

it's literally just a very portable windows laptop with touchscreen, that's all
it's still a windows device, app support is still windows
thedannyguy
post Apr 18 2022, 09:04 PM

78 posts

I have surface book. Really love it cos 3000x2000 resolution and most imptly detachable. Also bought a surface go 2 recently. Really love it cos windows os. Can do my work on it. Android tablet isn't that great
MADReaLJL
post Apr 18 2022, 09:15 PM

4,050 posts

I'm using surface pro 7+ (16gb ram, 512gb ssd)

Good for normal usage

Light gaming like asphalt is decent

Battery also lasts quite long

Handy enough, serves the purpose (work related)

But I'm still getting another notebook for gaming / rendering purposes

This post has been edited by MADReaLJL: Apr 18 2022, 09:25 PM
quadcube
post Apr 18 2022, 09:19 PM

1,924 posts

I have a surface pro, dog shit "laptop", absolute garbage..I turned it into a always on calendar display to make it at least useful
FusionXY
post Apr 18 2022, 09:20 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

Laptop better, if you rich then buy.
Overpriced for low RAM and Storage.
aaron_021
post May 18 2022, 01:53 AM

17 posts

Anyone own Surface Pro 8? How is the battery life?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0216sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:42 AM