[WTA] Focal from Xcite Audio, Anyone bought here before

TSiZuDeeN
post Apr 18 2022, 11:13 AM, updated 3y ago

3,466 posts

Hi!

Asking if anyone bought from Xcite Audio https://xciteaudio.com/ recently..

Their price seems to be cheaper that local set.. specifically their Focal range..

I bought there before but when I brought to authorized dealer to install; they pointed few things..

So I wanted to know if its original (cheaper because GREY import) or they selling fake/replica unit

1. Serial No on box removed; replaced with another serial no

2. Serial No on actual unit removed; replaced with in-house S/N

3. corroded terminals (compared to shining silver on the original unit)

4. thick bold (not sharp) focal embossed on the basket (compared to thin sharp font)

This is comparing the Focal RCX-165 model..

So do u think they selling original?.. specifically their focal range?

AlphaM
post Dec 11 2022, 02:17 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Apr 18 2022, 11:13 AM)
Hi!

Asking if anyone bought from Xcite Audio https://xciteaudio.com/ recently..

Their price seems to be cheaper that local set.. specifically their Focal range..

I bought there before but when I brought to authorized dealer to install; they pointed few things..

So I wanted to know if its original (cheaper because GREY import) or they selling fake/replica unit

1. Serial No on box removed; replaced with another serial no

2. Serial No on actual unit removed; replaced with in-house S/N

3. corroded terminals (compared to shining silver on the original unit)

4. thick bold (not sharp) focal embossed on the basket (compared to thin sharp font)

This is comparing the Focal RCX-165 model..

So do u think they selling original?.. specifically their focal range?
How much is the price difference? SQ ok?

TSiZuDeeN
post Dec 12 2022, 10:11 AM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(AlphaM @ Dec 11 2022, 02:17 PM)
How much is the price difference? SQ ok?
i return the whole shit back to them...

not going spend few k for fake products

AlphaM
post Dec 14 2022, 09:44 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Dec 12 2022, 10:11 AM)
i return the whole shit back to them...

not going spend few k for fake products
How u verify it is fake?
I was considering their focal earlier
TSiZuDeeN
post Dec 14 2022, 10:28 AM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(AlphaM @ Dec 14 2022, 09:44 AM)
How u verify it is fake?
I was considering their focal earlier
go to Focal Malaysia authorized dealer... as i mentioned below tell tale sign was the corroded terminals, emboss logo different etc

layman = 100% kena conned

you need those who deal with Focal to be able to tell the difference.. luckily the shop that i install also carry Focal brand (different model)

and i can reigster the Serial No ; using the local Focal distributor unit

Xcite claim their unit is ORIGINAl ; but Grey import...

if you believe their story go ahead
AlphaM
post Dec 14 2022, 09:00 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Dec 14 2022, 10:28 AM)
go to Focal Malaysia authorized dealer... as i mentioned below tell tale sign was the corroded terminals,  emboss logo different etc

layman = 100% kena conned

you need those who deal with Focal to be able to tell the difference.. luckily the shop that i install also carry Focal brand (different model)
and i can reigster the Serial No ; using the local Focal distributor unit

Xcite claim their unit is ORIGINAl ; but Grey import...

if you believe their story go ahead
Thanks for sharing, with that price I rather not risk
ktek
post Jan 6 2023, 10:45 AM

小喇叭
13,184 posts

could be grade B rejects. sell after refurb
less cost
dudester
post Jan 6 2023, 10:53 AM

1,222 posts

I was also interested with the focals from this shop. Thanks TS, i will skip them for sure now. given any doubt i usually skip online claims.

TSiZuDeeN
post Jan 6 2023, 12:44 PM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 6 2023, 10:45 AM)
could be grade B rejects. sell after refurb
less cost
yupp probably.. but for me since im spending 2k for a speaker, i rather take lower tier 'original' than high end 'fake'/unknown status

This post has been edited by iZuDeeN: Jan 6 2023, 12:45 PM
cfyong2020
post Jan 8 2023, 02:25 PM

390 posts

i bought a pair of this from them last time, not sure is fake or real.
cfyong2020
post Jan 8 2023, 02:26 PM

390 posts

ktek
post Jan 9 2023, 11:36 PM

小喇叭
13,184 posts

QUOTE(cfyong2020 @ Jan 8 2023, 02:26 PM)
installed ady. just use. dont think much
Balanced
post Jul 4 2023, 06:49 PM

874 posts

Found this thread. Initially interest to take their jbl component. They selling rm688 (sale) while outside shop and other online selling 899-988.
I guess its better i go to their shop and see their product

TSiZuDeeN
post Jul 5 2023, 09:39 AM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jul 4 2023, 06:49 PM)
Found this thread. Initially interest to take their jbl component. They selling rm688 (sale) while outside shop and other online selling 899-988.
I guess its better i go to their shop and see their product
yes you should.. and you need to know what to look for? else you wouldnt know how to identify fake vs real

unless you take their words
ktek
post Jul 23 2023, 08:33 AM

小喇叭
13,184 posts

bro, focal speaker sound character /signature is _________?
how izit, after upgrade do we need to tune a lot further
TSiZuDeeN
post Jul 25 2023, 11:34 AM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 23 2023, 08:33 AM)
bro, focal speaker sound character /signature is _________?
how izit, after upgrade do we need to tune a lot further
Depend on series.. but it's more for vocal clarity.. lacking mid

Yes with any sound setup you still need DSP to tune with

Speaker is not magical

Mashmellow16 P
post Sep 27 2023, 02:12 PM

Probation

In ICE Market we cannot trust anyone actually, when i called Focal Customer Service they claimed that every single product is made in JM LAB which in france, when you do general search in Google it said the same things, padahal NO! If you look into their official focal website particularly see polyglass last edition look at their magnet and ZOOM in you can see the "made in china" sticker. hmm.gif

After some digging, I found out that they have low-end series like auditor and access "made in china" , and higher series made in france. So siape tipu siape kita x tau lohhh..

I bought a slate fibre there recently, and saved alot of bucks. Didnt want to go someone who over-inflate everything. hehe

**sorry for the low-quality image* - guyssss pls go look into it. flex.gif
ktek
post Oct 7 2023, 01:22 AM

小喇叭
13,184 posts

QUOTE(Mashmellow16 @ Sep 27 2023, 02:12 PM)
In ICE Market we cannot trust anyone actually, when i called Focal Customer Service they claimed that every single product is made in JM LAB which in france, when you do general search in Google it said the same things, padahal NO! If you look into their official focal website particularly see polyglass last edition look at their magnet and ZOOM in you can see the "made in china" sticker. hmm.gif

After some digging, I found out that they have low-end series like auditor and access "made in china" , and higher series made in france. So siape tipu siape kita x tau lohhh..

I bought a slate fibre there recently, and saved alot of bucks. Didnt want to go someone who over-inflate everything. hehe

**sorry for the low-quality image* - guyssss pls go look into it. flex.gif

how mch izit
and quality after u upgraded

0.0190sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:36 AM