Newbie, Need some advice. Just bought WOW.

TSmafeya
post Sep 25 2007, 04:35 PM, updated 19y ago

489 posts

Hello all...just bought WOW (TBC is on the way) and was wondering whats the best race/class to play? Any other advice for a new player (like which server has the most local players)? Looking forward to meeting you guys in game.
myremi
post Sep 25 2007, 04:53 PM

1,846 posts

It's class-dependant.

http://www.wowwiki.com/Choosing_a_class
http://www.wowwiki.com/Newbie_Guide

Simple guides. smile.gif
saingau
post Sep 25 2007, 05:18 PM

Do a bit of research instead of expecting to be spoon fed.

As for which servers to choose, you can see some of the recruitment threads going around.

Again, do a bit of research.

chaichai
post Sep 25 2007, 07:43 PM

Validating
66 posts

yet again for another newb asking silly questions to get gasak by the forumers...
/cheer... gasak time... rclxm9.gif
myremi
post Sep 25 2007, 07:46 PM

1,846 posts

Actually, was thinking that we probably need to make an FAQ posting with all the usual answers.

At least tolong them a bit lah. But a lot of effort. sad.gif Any volunteers?

And seriously, those old pinned-ups needs to be put down

TSmafeya
post Sep 25 2007, 08:17 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Sep 25 2007, 04:53 PM)
Read them and I think I might start a gnome mage or maybe a BE mage once I get my TBC. biggrin.gif

The frost talent seems really good but I'm a newbie so I really don't know as much.

QUOTE(saingau @ Sep 25 2007, 05:18 PM)
Do a bit of research instead of expecting to be spoon fed.

As for which servers to choose, you can see some of the recruitment threads going around.

Again, do a bit of research.
Sorry mate, was overly excited about getting my hands on WoW after so long when I posted this. Will you forgive me?

QUOTE(chaichai @ Sep 25 2007, 07:43 PM)
yet again for another newb asking silly questions to get gasak by the forumers...
/cheer... gasak time... rclxm9.gif
So true chaichai. icon_question.gif . sad.gif

QUOTE(myremi @ Sep 25 2007, 07:46 PM)
Actually, was thinking that we probably need to make an FAQ posting with all the usual answers.

At least tolong them a bit lah. But a lot of effort. sad.gif Any volunteers?

And seriously, those old pinned-ups needs to be put down
Now thats a great idea. And thanks again myremi. rclxms.gif
dEvILrOx
post Sep 25 2007, 09:07 PM

618 posts

muahah welcome to the darkside of wow jeremy lolz
myremi
post Sep 25 2007, 10:29 PM

1,846 posts

Frost mages are an interesting class to play but gear dependant at level 70 and also on knowing how to maximise DPS. I know a Frost Mage who out-DPSes the Fire Mages in the guild. Never below the 950 DPS mark for any boss fight. Regularly hits 1000 DPS.

Also, being a Frost Mage, there's alot of stigma to it that a lot of people think they do not have enough DPS. Like I said, gear dependant. Gameplay, I heard it's just usually Frostbolt, frostbolt, frostbolt.

Once you hit 70, head over to www.elitistjerks.com for information overload.
dEvILrOx
post Sep 25 2007, 10:49 PM

618 posts

frost mage basically their frost spells is lesser compare wif the fire mage, so wif a bit of arcane tree to boost the damage, i think can over dps a fire mage.
bazet
post Sep 25 2007, 10:51 PM

469 posts

Gnome Warlock
Undead Warlock
Tauren Warr
Orc Hunter

Please do some research

PVE vs PVP server
Racial for each races ( A lot of alliance esp human now crying about racial imbal )

If you need to choose BE, roll a paladin.

Less hunter more warr/healing class please
arrow
post Sep 25 2007, 11:17 PM

53 posts

since u r new and know little about the game , roll a hunter since it very easy to play , any race will do. experience the game in-hand urself. then read more by searching the internet of the things u don't understand.

myremi
post Sep 26 2007, 12:34 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(bazet @ Sep 25 2007, 10:51 PM)

Please do some research

Hee hee hee... I remember a time when you had a lot of questions too. cool2.gif

Now qualified to make those statements eh? drool.gif
dEvILrOx
post Sep 26 2007, 01:05 AM

618 posts

LOL !!! got back fired. we need to guide more player to the darkside, dun shoot them >< lure them ~~~
bazet
post Sep 26 2007, 09:45 AM

469 posts

QUOTE(dEvILrOx @ Sep 26 2007, 01:05 AM)
LOL !!! got back fired. we need to guide more player to the darkside, dun shoot them >< lure them ~~~
I'm getting tired being an easy target in BG as a tauren hunter even with 390 resil...warr still 2-3 shotted me, well this main solely for farming and I'm leveling an Orc Warrior.

Hunter is easy to play but hard to get spot in dungeon unless heroics ( CC / kite )

I'm enjoying my orc warrior atm, still at 24 with level 19 twink items.
5% hardiness & AP buff makes my day.

Kurei
post Sep 26 2007, 09:53 AM

19 posts

cant go wrong being a warlock.
myremi
post Sep 26 2007, 09:56 AM

1,846 posts

Hunters easy to play yes. But not easy to play well. And that's the heart of the problem with hunter classes.

The only way that you'll get into dungeons is to lead them yourself. Rather than wait for invites, you are the one dropping the invite.

Added on September 26, 2007, 10:22 am
QUOTE(Kurei @ Sep 26 2007, 09:53 AM)
You should hear what seen does. Hides in the trees and dots low flying Allies. HAHA!

This post has been edited by myremi: Sep 26 2007, 10:22 AM
Quazacolt
post Sep 26 2007, 10:40 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(bazet @ Sep 26 2007, 09:45 AM)
I'm getting tired being an easy target in BG as a tauren hunter even with 390 resil...warr still 2-3 shotted me, well this main solely for farming and I'm leveling an Orc Warrior.
Hunter is easy to play but hard to get spot in dungeon unless heroics ( CC / kite )

I'm enjoying my orc warrior atm, still at 24 with level 19 twink items.
5% hardiness & AP buff makes my day.
if ur at 390 resil and warriors 2-3 shot you i call bullshit. cuz i doubt warriors can dish out AT LEAST 10-11k dmg within 2-3 shots.

Added on September 26, 2007, 10:58 am
QUOTE(Kurei @ Sep 26 2007, 09:53 AM)
YOU WIN

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Sep 26 2007, 10:58 AM
ilovenba
post Sep 26 2007, 12:18 PM

QUOTE(mafeya @ Sep 25 2007, 04:35 PM)
Hello all...just bought WOW (TBC is on the way) and was wondering whats the best race/class to play? Any other advice for a new player (like which server has the most local players)? Looking forward to meeting you guys in game.
it depends on what class u like to play. all the races are quite balance to each class with likely 5% stats wise diffrent to each others. as for class, try a few so that u know which u love most to play with.
mainFrame
post Sep 26 2007, 12:20 PM

886 posts

just create some toons n go play em for a bit...
u'll eventually stumble across the class+race u'll like the most..
works for me..
Goblinsk8er
post Sep 26 2007, 12:49 PM

306 posts

Roll a Shaman on a PVP server.

Nuff said.

Edit: Spec Enhancement too

This post has been edited by Goblinsk8er: Sep 26 2007, 02:29 PM
novaRaiN
post Sep 27 2007, 02:18 AM

28 posts

The best advise for a new player like you is to spend around a week rolling toons of all races/classes and decide on what you really want to play in the long run to avoid rerolling another toon while you are lvling midway through 70.
Yue
post Sep 27 2007, 04:07 AM

387 posts

any race cept Night Elf male... nobody like em... srsly...
Bogardan
post Sep 27 2007, 09:16 AM

Druid is fun imo. Just got lvl 10 last nite.
Kurei
post Sep 27 2007, 09:40 AM

19 posts

or if u plan to be a notorious serial ganker like someone who had a late night out having 1 beer too many and seriously wan to screw some ppl for fun, Gnome frost mage is the way to go.
flush
post Sep 27 2007, 11:10 AM

QUOTE(Kurei @ Sep 27 2007, 09:40 AM)
or if u plan to be a notorious serial ganker like someone who had a late night out having 1 beer too many and seriously wan to screw some ppl for fun, Gnome frost mage is the way to go.
ur saying that cos ure a warrior biggrin.gif

Kurei
post Sep 27 2007, 12:52 PM

19 posts

One of the best survivability if not the best. Hardly any gy runs for this toon.
Quazacolt
post Sep 27 2007, 12:57 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Kurei @ Sep 27 2007, 09:40 AM)
correction, undead rogues lolz

0.0195sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:22 AM