Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Only Streamyx in Muar?, Any Wireless Broadband Service in Muar?

maychw
post Sep 25 2007, 03:24 PM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 33

Joined: Jun 2007


I'm moving to Muar next week. I was wondering if there's any wireless broadband internet in Muar? Do I really have to get a fixed line and then apply for Streamyx? rclxub.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
prasys
post Sep 25 2007, 04:05 PM


<3 Ash
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 12,488

Joined: Mar 2005
From: Kuala Lumpur

Your first option of course goes for Fixed Line + Streamyx

Your next options are :-

Celcom 3G - They really cover the hulu-hulu places in Malaysia with their 'widest' 3G Coverage and their HSDPA coverage.

DiGi EDGE - Pretty much the same

I am not too sure about Maxis 3G nor I recommend you to choose it , since you will be tied down with a 18 month contract. At least with Celcom there are no contract and you can cancel anytime
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
weilikler
post Sep 25 2007, 04:15 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 256

Joined: Nov 2006
most ppl use streamyx in muar... celcom broadband, depends in the area u stay and digi, i dun know anything about it... tongue.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
allrightall
post Sep 25 2007, 05:30 PM


Do You Regret?
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,680

Joined: Jan 2003
From: A road leading to my ah kong's House


for digi edge best if buy prepaid card and test 1st, if u like t speed, then good lor, but if not zzz... smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
maychw
post Sep 25 2007, 07:31 PM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 33

Joined: Jun 2007


Thanks for the reply.. smile.gif
For Celcom and Digi, do I always need to connect using my handphone? Nothing was mentioned about modem.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
weilikler
post Sep 25 2007, 08:07 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 256

Joined: Nov 2006
yes, u nid ur handphone... or maybe u can buy the (wat card is that i forgot!!!) for ur laptop to connect to celcom 3G, it's expensive though.... wat modem u mean?

This post has been edited by weilikler: Sep 25 2007, 08:08 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
maychw
post Sep 25 2007, 09:17 PM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 33

Joined: Jun 2007


QUOTE(weilikler @ Sep 25 2007, 08:07 PM)
yes, u nid ur handphone... or maybe u can buy the (wat card is that i forgot!!!) for ur laptop to connect to celcom 3G, it's expensive though.... wat modem u mean?
*
I'm a "always online" internet with my PC rarely shutdown sweat.gif . I can't connect my H/P 24/7 to my PC doh.gif .. Isn't there any data card or USB device provided by Celcom or Digi to connect my PC to the internet? icon_question.gif


Added on September 25, 2007, 9:20 pmIs anyone a current user of Digi or Celcom wireless broadband? How's the speed comparable to Streamyx?

This post has been edited by maychw: Sep 25 2007, 09:20 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
weilikler
post Sep 25 2007, 09:48 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 256

Joined: Nov 2006
oic.... my fren is a celcom user... but in his area line not so full, so not as fast as streamyx lah...
he wanted to buy the 3G card for his laptop last time, but he didn't buy it, because the price for the card is like, RM 900? forgot le.... blush.gif just remember quite expensive


Added on September 25, 2007, 10:01 pmoops... there is celcom broadband though, see whether u wanna subscribe to that... or u have 3G liao...

This post has been edited by weilikler: Sep 25 2007, 10:01 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
allrightall
post Sep 26 2007, 01:08 PM


Do You Regret?
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,680

Joined: Jan 2003
From: A road leading to my ah kong's House


since ts dun wan to connect using handphone, can use usb modem lor, available at digi centre or hp shop smile.gif but I dun remember t price LOL, shuld be around rm 800 I think.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
weichieh007
post Sep 26 2007, 01:33 PM


Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 337

Joined: Apr 2006
From: Kuala Lumpur


QUOTE(allrightall @ Sep 26 2007, 01:08 PM)
since ts dun wan to connect using handphone, can use usb modem lor, available at digi centre or hp shop smile.gif but I dun remember t price LOL, shuld be around rm 800 I think.
*
Is the USB modem really that expensive? Don't they come with the package itself? sweat.gif

Anyway, do I have to be a celcom/ digi user to subscribe? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by weichieh007: Sep 26 2007, 01:33 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
allrightall
post Sep 27 2007, 10:49 AM


Do You Regret?
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,680

Joined: Jan 2003
From: A road leading to my ah kong's House


QUOTE(weichieh007 @ Sep 26 2007, 01:33 PM)
Is the USB modem really that expensive? Don't they come with the package itself? sweat.gif

Anyway, do I have to be a celcom/ digi user to subscribe? sweat.gif
*
smile.gif yup, t modem have to buy urself, quite expensive too, good thing using modem is u dun hav to charge it, but then some hp allows usb charging too.

both using prepaid or postpaid oso can, if u want cheap then go for celcom 3g, but make sure ur area has 3g, i m using digi, these few days t coverage is siao siao wan, maybe maintenance work kua. smile.gif

for celcom 3g, its best u do some search first, cos got a few forummers complain liao. for me I m still sticking with digi. smile.gif

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
madhatter2k
post Oct 1 2007, 12:52 PM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 31

Joined: Jan 2006
From: wonderland..


i'm frm Muar, and i'm using Celcom 3G as a secondary connection to the net(Streamyx is the main)..

it depends entirely on where's ur location in muar and ur main purpose for using it, coz if it's surfing, downloading/torrenting, here it's suck(even though my house is near the town)..

but suprisingly it performes well when it comes to online games shocking.gif

for another option u can use DiGi EDGE, coz Maxis dun have 3G coverage here..

p/s: dun ever try to buy any datacards or usb modems here in Muar, THEY'RE DAMN EXPENSIVE!

This post has been edited by madhatter2k: Oct 1 2007, 12:55 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
stimix
post Oct 1 2007, 03:13 PM


Dunno
Group Icon
Travel & Living
Group: Moderator
Posts: 3,526

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Puchong, Selangor



The 3G (UMTS) & 3.5G (HSDPA) card for laptop wth PCMCIA slot is selling very cheap nowadays....I got mine from this seller:

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2007-10D...me_Vodafone.htm


Dannn..price drop again!...Last mth I bought it at RM388! Now RM368... sad.gif

3G USB modem still expensive but will be a better option for latest laptop w/out PCMCIA slot:

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2007-10D..._Desktop_PC.htm


User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
micht
post Oct 4 2007, 07:34 PM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 14

Joined: Jan 2006
QUOTE(maychw @ Sep 25 2007, 03:24 PM)
I'm moving to Muar next week. I was wondering if there's any wireless broadband internet in Muar? Do I really have to get a fixed line and then apply for Streamyx? rclxub.gif
*
YEAH Muar only got Streamyx service. cry.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skod
post Jul 4 2008, 12:49 AM


Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 890

Joined: Jan 2003
From: K . L . I . A


any update? im staying at bakri batu 2 1/4, jln dato haji kusai. pls!! need it for my fyp sad.gif

edit : maxis 3g available or not here?

This post has been edited by skod: Jul 4 2008, 12:50 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
edisonteck
post Apr 7 2009, 11:17 PM


New Member
*
Group: New Member
Posts: 2

Joined: Apr 2009
Hi
Broadband Internet Service Provider : Infolient (www.infolient.com)

For who live in Muar and want test this Infolient server speed, you can email to me: radedy@hotmail.com
I can inform the agent. Otherwise, you can direct to their website.

The internet speed i get (using firefox) when downloading AVG software in CNET (Time: 2.00PM) :-
Streamyx ---> around maximum 10kBps
Infolient ----> around maximum 130kBps

When i testing Infolient speed, i am using Modem Wireless (DLink) that Infolient provided. So i not sure do we will get around 130kBps when using our modem)


$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$


As i know, their promotion packages as below:
1MBps-RM59, 2MBps-RM99

For first month, 1MBps
Activation: RM 88
Stamp Duty: RM 10
Two months: RM 59x2=RM118
Total: RM216

Optional: The modem setting need to readjusted to use the Infolient.
EITHER
Infolient will charge some fees for sets your modem
OR
You set your modem yourself by using the information provided by Infolient.

I don't know whether got the subscription fee for this Infolient.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
epool86
post Apr 8 2009, 10:39 AM


Celcom Fan
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,159

Joined: Sep 2008
From: Malaysia



MUAR is Celcom3G Territory. i travel along from kluang, batu pahat and muar, celcom 3g is excellent at those area (early this year)..
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Deathgathzer
post Apr 14 2009, 12:44 PM


New Member
*
Group: New Member
Posts: 1

Joined: Apr 2009


QUOTE(micht @ Oct 4 2007, 07:34 PM)
YEAH Muar only got Streamyx service.  cry.gif
*
Beside wireless... About wired boradband .. i heard a another new broadband call INFOLIENT broadband also perform very well in MUAR.

Compare to Streamyx..INfolient broadband is much much better and that is fast !
after u register then u will know..

have a try dude .. no regret !

normally speed can perform up to 70 to 85 % of da package that u sign.
free i will post a speed test of this broadband ..

=) chill.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
snowcrash
post Apr 28 2009, 11:14 PM


Mortal Sword
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 584

Joined: Jan 2003
From: KL


Yeah, my gf in Muar (Jalan temenggong ahmad) & wants to get internet connection, looks like Celcom only is likely candidate, but will look into this Infolient thing as well. Any other candidates?

This post has been edited by snowcrash: Apr 28 2009, 11:43 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alpha_Tay
post Apr 29 2009, 02:50 AM


Beware The Spammer Star!
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,039

Joined: Jan 2003
user posted image
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=25399133

This post has been edited by Alpha_Tay: Apr 29 2009, 02:51 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cardin
post Apr 29 2009, 07:17 AM


..::unobtrusive::..
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,254

Joined: Jul 2007
From: <--airporT city-->
wow..great deal!! is diz only applicable 2 muar resident? or an outsider can apply 4 it?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cruxidex
post May 1 2009, 07:39 PM


Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 774

Joined: Aug 2006
From: Jalan Bukit, Kajang


im now in muar... Taman Bunga Raya~.. truly HSDPA with 3bar

when i do network search.. on celcom has 3G at my ground floor living room n a very shy 3G at my 1st floor

never would have expect... pinggir bandar kampung area got 3.5G
im loving it~~
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0757sec    2.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 09:21 PM