Ideal duration to hold on to property?

TSMegaCanonF
post Apr 7 2022, 08:44 AM, updated 4y ago

861 posts

So I have 1 condo that is just entering almost 3 years now.

now its currently tenanted, but in the future I wish to dispose this property. Is 3-5 year holding time ideal? I will just continue tenancy for the third year, and plan to dispose it next year. (due to personal reasons, I don't wish to own stay in this condo anymore)

Or any sifus have any other advice? recently MRT3 was announced just near my condo, should I dispose before or after the construction finished?

Appreciate your thoughts on this.
matrix88
post Apr 7 2022, 08:53 AM

2,236 posts

off course dispose after construction finished to gain maximum appreciation la

why you want to sell in a hurry? market price no good now.
if you sell now, do you make any profit?
mini orchard
post Apr 7 2022, 09:10 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Apr 7 2022, 08:44 AM)
So I have 1 condo that is just entering almost 3 years now.

now its currently tenanted, but in the future I wish to dispose this property. Is 3-5 year holding time ideal? I will just continue tenancy for the third year, and plan to dispose it next year. (due to personal reasons, I don't wish to own stay in this condo anymore)

Or any sifus have any other advice? recently MRT3 was announced just near my condo, should I dispose before or after the construction finished?

Appreciate your thoughts on this.
By the time mrt3 completed, it will be another 10 years. During the 10 years, many newer condos will be up. Choices for highrise subsale will be plenty and high % of condos will be near the train line.

Newer condos have more perks from developers .... zero down, free legal fees etc.

If your current unit price the same or less than purchased price , unlikely it will appreciate in the future.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Apr 7 2022, 09:28 AM
nihility
post Apr 8 2022, 07:18 AM

1,595 posts

On the 6th year onwards. The first few years, the community are still not well establish, there will more empty units over occupied units. The surrounding shops & eateries also need some time to build up.

6th year onward, the RGPT % will be minimum, if I'm not mistaken, it will be 0%. On 5th year the RGPT is 15%.

On the 6th year, the community will be well established, there are not much vacant units compare to the initial few years.

0.0152sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:18 AM