[Update] Bought MT-07, For beginner

TSRoofTopPrince
post Apr 6 2022, 02:49 PM, updated 3 months ago

As long as you have the memories, you can be with that person fo
575 posts

Hi all, just wondering what do you think of MT-07 for my first ride? Although I fall down few times due to usage of front brakes.
I can see neighbor countries are getting updates MT-07 with projector light but not us..

https://www.yamaha-motor.co.th/bigbike/mt-07/specification

Finally found the MT-07 of my liking... Buying at cash term.
Year 2019
Mileage 14k
Akrapovic racing titanium exhaust
Auto chain oiler
Engine slider
Domino grip
After market air filter
RM28k

Paid deposit of RM1000 to the seller but motorcycle still under loan.
Question;
Can i draft a agreement and paid him bank draft? Can someone guide me through the process on how to buy bike that under loan from private seller?

Update
Thanks for all the advise.
Paid RM25k to the seller via banker cheque to Aeon credit on Thursday, expected to get the bikes after raya... He says can only collect the bike after name transfer to avoid unwanted situation.
Snap his ic - yes
Sign mutual agreement - yes
I hope when I get the bike everything was there and smooth..

This post has been edited by RoofTopPrince: Apr 30 2022, 08:50 PM
onetwoswitch
post Apr 6 2022, 03:04 PM

209 posts

Good bike, one of my bike club member used it since 2015 and just sold in 2 weeks ago for Suzuki GSX750 (suzuki was too good deal, he couldnt pass). During the 7 years he used, no issues. He clocked more than 200K mileage by the way.
Voopoo
post Apr 6 2022, 05:03 PM

55 posts

just wondering if a 650cc will be easier to filter through stationary cars at traffic lights compared to a 250cc due to weight difference. newbie.

This post has been edited by Voopoo: Apr 6 2022, 05:04 PM
ZZR-Pilot
post Apr 6 2022, 07:11 PM

1,049 posts

Driving school bike.

You can test to the max during your B full course and then decide.
basilisk
post Apr 6 2022, 09:13 PM

30 posts

if u can afford to buy it y not.
the new version will be here sooner or later, jz hv to sabarly wait.
plus the price dono will increase ornot.

one thing, u can hardly find a high milage mt07 for sale cos they say change odometer reading oni needs rm150 .. lol....
felixwlchuan87
post Apr 6 2022, 09:20 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Apr 6 2022, 09:13 PM)
if u can afford to buy it y not.
the new version will be here sooner or later, jz hv to sabarly wait.
plus the price dono will increase ornot.

one thing, u can hardly find a high milage mt07 for sale cos they say change odometer reading oni needs rm150 .. lol....
hlym definitely want to clear the old stock first. so, maybe need wait long long liao
basilisk
post Apr 6 2022, 09:24 PM

30 posts

i think all d old stock oredi at dealers.. liao..

This post has been edited by basilisk: Apr 6 2022, 09:24 PM
basilisk
post Apr 6 2022, 09:26 PM

30 posts

if new price more expensive than susuki gsx750 ..
lagi mao mt07 meh... kekeke. ...
TSRoofTopPrince
post Apr 7 2022, 11:00 AM

575 posts

Their price almost identical to GSX-750, saw one MT-07 2018 with 32k mileage not sure ok or not.
onetwoswitch
post Apr 7 2022, 11:07 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Apr 7 2022, 11:00 AM)
Their price almost identical to GSX-750, saw one MT-07 2018 with 32k mileage not sure ok or not.
If you are buying directly from previous owner, high chances the mileage is what you see. But if from shop, most probably reconfigured.
lowpro
post Apr 7 2022, 01:32 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Apr 7 2022, 11:00 AM)
If almost identical price, go for the 4 cylinder. You won't regret it. I went from 4 cylinder to 2...having major withdrawal symptoms...
TSRoofTopPrince
post Apr 8 2022, 12:14 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Apr 6 2022, 07:11 PM)
Driving school bike.

You can test to the max during your B full course and then decide.
Ya I have test the bike, I think MT-07 suites me.
SUSskyblu3
post Apr 9 2022, 11:32 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(Voopoo @ Apr 6 2022, 05:03 PM)
just wondering if a 650cc will be easier to filter through stationary cars at traffic lights  compared to a 250cc due to weight difference. newbie.
I ride a 1000cc with two side boxes.
Filtering through the traffic jam Monday to Friday

No issues

This post has been edited by skyblu3: Apr 9 2022, 11:34 AM
ExCrIpT
post Apr 9 2022, 06:12 PM

1,665 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Apr 9 2022, 11:32 AM)
I ride a 1000cc with two side boxes.
Filtering through the traffic jam Monday to Friday

No issues
because you're master level already notworthy.gif
SUSskyblu3
post Apr 9 2022, 06:24 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Apr 9 2022, 06:12 PM)
because you're master level already  notworthy.gif
No.

It's more about getting used to the bike

So no need you worry so much.

Big bike, small bike. It's the same when you get used to that bike.
blackbox14
post Apr 10 2022, 12:34 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(Voopoo @ Apr 6 2022, 05:03 PM)
just wondering if a 650cc will be easier to filter through stationary cars at traffic lights  compared to a 250cc due to weight difference. newbie.
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Apr 9 2022, 06:24 PM)
It's more about getting used to the bike

So no need you worry so much.

Big bike, small bike.   It's the same when you get used to that bike.
It's important to take time to learn the bike's dimensions before getting into that, yes. How long it takes differs from person to person because different limits in the form of body size, muscle mass, mentality etc..

Filtering is still a very high risk action and I don't think people should be doing it immediately after getting their bike, especially if the rider is new.

If not confident yet just do what overseas riders/older uncles on big choppers do and stay in line like a car, but off to the side a bit to minimize chances of getting rear-ended. Better than getting into accident which when filtering almost always involves a car's side mirror/rear bumper.

This post has been edited by blackbox14: Apr 10 2022, 12:43 PM
TSRoofTopPrince
post Apr 11 2022, 12:14 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Apr 6 2022, 02:49 PM)
Hi all, just wondering what do you think of MT-07 for my first ride? Although I fall down few times due to usage of front brakes.
I can see neighbor countries are getting updates MT-07 with projector light but not us..

https://www.yamaha-motor.co.th/bigbike/mt-07/specification
I was starting with my friend 135lc for half a years... let's see... If I'm confident enough i think I can straight get a mt-07.
ajaibman
post Apr 21 2022, 09:38 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Apr 10 2022, 12:34 PM)

If not confident yet just do what overseas riders/older uncles on big choppers do and stay in line like a car, but off to the side a bit to minimize chances of getting rear-ended. Better than getting into an accident which when filtering almost always involves a car's side mirror/rear bumper.
I am an older uncle and ride a big chopper (1868cc to be exact) with 2 panniers and 240 mm wide rear wheel, still can filter like those grab food delivery at downtown KL road (sometimes) smile.gif

for TS try to get familiar with the bike first MT-07 is well known for a light but high torque bike and not soo good suspension system (out of the showroom that is), so if you came from LC 135 do ensure easy on that throttle.

The dimension of MT-07 is petite compared to the other similar range bikes (Kawa ER6series and Suzuki SV) so it would be easier to adapt.
blackbox14
post Apr 22 2022, 02:18 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Apr 21 2022, 09:38 PM)
I am an older uncle and ride a big chopper (1868cc to be exact) with 2 panniers and 240 mm wide rear wheel, still can filter like those grab food delivery at downtown KL road (sometimes) smile.gif
Yes, but you are not all uncles on the road. I have seen quite a few riding bikes similar to yours with no panniers who do not filter. I have even seen uncles on kapchais who do not filter depending on the traffic. Really depends on the rider, but usually younger rider will try to force their way between cars without a second thought.

Either way, I hope that doesn't mean you disagree with my main point there: as beginner, always approach filtering with caution and use examples of less aggressive riders when doing so. Each person has different limits, so I respect people who know when not to do something risky instead of challenging themselves for the sake of it.

In no way am I saying that you aren't skilled for handling your bike the way you do, though. It's just that public roads aren't a place for contests of ego. The objective is and should always be to get to the destination in one piece.
TSRoofTopPrince
post Apr 22 2022, 08:46 AM

575 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Apr 21 2022, 09:38 PM)

for TS try to get familiar with the bike first MT-07 is well known for a light but high torque bike and not soo good suspension system (out of the showroom that is), so if you came from LC 135 do ensure easy on that throttle.

The dimension of MT-07 is petite compared to the other similar range bikes (Kawa ER6series and Suzuki SV) so it would be easier to adapt.
Wow that's sometime cilok with chopper, I'm will take note on the throttle.. i did test my friend Vulcan s and their throttle was acceptable actually.

After going for few riding trips, I have all the confident level to ride now... My sis suggest me to look at the bikes now.

This post has been edited by RoofTopPrince: Apr 22 2022, 08:48 AM

0.0456sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:34 AM