LYN Toyota Corolla Cross V1, C-Segment SUV

dev/numb
post Mar 14 2023, 04:00 PM

691 posts

Question for car sifus;

Would opting for the extended warranty for the hybrid components result in better resale value down the line?

Reason is because I’m considering getting the Cross Hybrid for my mother (replacing her 2017 Vios) and my budget is around RM150k max, including insurance and tint.

If I get her the Cross Hybrid, will definitely select the 5yr Service Saver option (around RM3k) but unsure about extending the hybrid components warranty.

I know the car market is hard to forecast, with electrification coming and fuel subsidies potentially going away, but would like some opinions from those more experienced in car sales.

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Mar 20 2023, 08:49 PM
dev/numb
post Mar 21 2023, 03:51 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(bokbokchai @ Mar 21 2023, 12:35 PM)
Wished to know the estimated delivery time for cc hybrid nowadays. Anyone recently booked CC hybrid??
Salesman say 6 months, but might be a month or two earlier because he said some orders may be canceled after SST exemption date passes. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Mar 21 2023, 09:20 PM
dev/numb
post Apr 24 2023, 11:00 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Apr 23 2023, 10:16 AM)
Oh now only 2 months? Not 6 months? Wait which model you ordered?
Honestly I don’t know how this works. I think depends on dealership. I suspect some SA will just hold the order even if a customer cancels after SST exemption date passed, and then slot in a new customer into that order number. Also, I think waiting list for 1.8 G/V/GR models shorter than Hybrid.

Mine (Hybrid) ordered February and still scheduled to arrive July-August. In my case it’s actually better because buying in cash (plus resale of previous car) so I based it on the timing of my own cash flow. If car suddenly arrives before June I’ll be a bit short and will need to use the CC.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Apr 24 2023, 11:04 AM
dev/numb
post Apr 24 2023, 02:41 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 24 2023, 01:16 PM)
trade in old car will put u early priority. majority shop have trend like this
Not in my case. Previous car is Toyota brand also. Still offer same wait time. Price offered also not that great. I got better offer from Carsome adjuster/agent. In the end, I just order first. Will decide who to sell previous car to closer to time of new car arrival.

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Apr 24 2023, 02:19 PM)
I just placed my order. the SA told me it will arrive around 3 - 4 months, of course HP needs to get approval first.
How long is the validity of the HP after approval? Can get 100%?
Depends on your credit rating with the bank you apply to, first and foremost. Beyond that, I’m not certain since my last HR loan was a long time ago. Nowadays it’s either leasing (my current car is Kinto sub under my company) or cash. Better you ask in the “Latest car loan rate” thread, but generally 100% loan quite hard to get fast approval unless you have equivalent asset (eg: FD or gold) or credit rating in said bank.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Apr 24 2023, 08:41 PM
dev/numb
post Apr 26 2023, 06:51 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(jibpek @ Apr 26 2023, 01:26 PM)
mapren compressor damaged, and was quoted RM5+ to replace because this is a hybrid car, the compressor is drive by motor not belt.

Can anyone confirm?

Thx
On a hybrid, the a/c system is also responsible for cooling the battery. Compressor is not belt-driven. It’s usually called an eCompressor (Denso uses this term) because it’s powered electrically, and it’s connected directly to the hybrid system. If a/c system on a hybrid car rosak, can consider the whole car rosak, because cannot cool the battery and the controller won’t allow you to drive the car.

Toyota warranty for hybrid components is 8yrs standard for the Cross Hybrid and includes battery, inverter, and controller. They technically should cover the compressor since it’s driven by the hybrid system. If SC don’t agree, tell yapren* to contact Toyota directly. They should cover under warranty. Usually electric compressors are a lot more reliable than regular mechanical compressors since they’re fully sealed. Any fault that occurs is due to negligence during maintenance or installation, both of which are the carmaker’s responsibility.

* Use /k slang in Kopitiam only. Other sections better to use proper language.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Apr 26 2023, 07:33 PM
dev/numb
post Apr 27 2023, 10:13 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Apr 27 2023, 07:32 PM)
How long before we need to change the compressor?
A typical (belt-driven) compressor can easily last 12 - 15 years, or even longer. Depending on factors like how much they’re used (how much mileage you drive), environmental factors (eg; corrosion due to living near salt water) and quality of certain components (like seals and belt). The belt usually gets replaced sooner, like every 5 - 7 years or so.

Electrically driven compressors should, in theory, last longer since they typically spin at lower rev speeds and are better sealed. The downside is that a lot of it is integrated, so a major fault will require replacing the whole unit (OEM MSRP around 5yrs ago was around USD 800 - 1,000). Typically they’re supposed to last the life of the vehicle with proper care* but since they’re quite new tech there’s not enough long term real-world data available to accurate predict their lifespan. Failure rates are rare. If you plan to keep a Hybrid for more than 10 yrs, you should be worrying about the inverter and battery long before you think of the compressor.

* The “care” I refer to is basically inspection, which is Toyota’s job. Hybrid compressor failure in such a relatively new car is 99% caused by wrong amount of oil or coolant levels, installation error, or the unit was faulty to begin with. All of this can only be caused by Toyota (assuming the user never accident or use in industrial environments as commercial vehicle) during installation of the unit when car was assembled, or from their SC negligence during scheduled service. That’s why I asked him to contact Toyota directly if SC staff don’t agree. The warranty doesn’t state compressor is covered, but at the same time it doesn’t explicitly state that it is not covered either, and since it’s an integral part of a hybrid’s cooling system, he can easily make a case for getting it replaced under warranty with only labour charge needing to be covered.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Apr 28 2023, 05:12 PM
dev/numb
post Jun 14 2023, 04:06 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ May 28 2023, 09:50 PM)
Hey guys, my sister bought a cross hybrid. But i realize that the dash cam screen doesnt show the live feed. Salesperson told my sister that the only way to see is to connect by wifi to the phone.

I mean it doesn't really matter since no one stares at the screen while driving. But it also feels weird that the screen is taking up like 70% of the dash cam space but it just shows a toyota logo
QUOTE(peterscm @ Jun 13 2023, 10:27 PM)
Understand from the SA, the latest Cross dashcam does not have a screen. As you have mentioned, use WiFi and view on the phone.
From what I’ve read, 2023 onwards DVR doesn’t have screen with live feed. Need to connect your phone to the cam’s wifi and use a Toyota DVR app.

2023 Manual: https://www.toyota.com.my/content/dam/malay...ross-may-23.pdf

2021 Manual: https://www.toyota.com.my/content/dam/malay...er-cross-21.pdf
dev/numb
post Jun 16 2023, 12:07 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jun 15 2023, 01:42 PM)
does any owners here having steering knocking sound as well as the pedal clicking sound? i have both, and its just less than 1 month old.
Take to Toyota SC. Either wait for your one month service, or if you feel unsafe, take immediately. If you can replicate the issue anytime, easier to show the mechanic/foreman yourself.

The knocking sound is external like the screws for attaching the steering, or something coming internally? Does it happen when you turn to a specific point or random or all the time? Could be a simple screw holding the wheel or the steering column damping, or could an issue with improper lubrication on some joint or bearing, or could even be a more serious issue with the steering column or rack.

Same question for the pedal. Is it coming directly from the pedal assembly (try pressing with the car turned off) or do you feel it’s coming from some part further down the car when you press the pedal? If the former, could be a simple assembly issue with he pedal (possibly fixed with some lube or an o-ring) or if it’s the latter it could be some issue with the steering column/rack assembly or brakes (if it’s the brake pedal that’s doing the clicking).

Warranty will cover either of those issues. Have the SC settle it. If they buat bodoh, take it to another SC and raise your voice.

Edit:
Unlikely, but the steering knocking could also be some issue with one of the driver aids. Go to settings and try to disable Lane Tracing Assist (LDA) and see if the problem goes away.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Jun 16 2023, 12:09 AM
dev/numb
post Jun 16 2023, 12:26 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jun 15 2023, 04:21 PM)
What’s the average right now? Is that good or bad….
It’s very good. Toyota’s own estimate is around 4.5L/100km under “mixed driving” conditions. For comparison, that’s around the same as Perodua claims for a Myvi 1.3, and the Regular non-hybrid cross is claimed 6.6L/100km. You can probably achieve 4.2L/100km if your commute is mostly slow stop-start driving in traffic (not much highway use, or your usual highway commute always jammed) where you’re leaving a lot of the initial acceleration to the hybrid’s electric motor.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Jun 16 2023, 12:43 AM
dev/numb
post Jun 16 2023, 11:29 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jun 16 2023, 09:57 AM)
yeah this 4.2L is coming from my workdays commute (Mon-Wed Klang to PJ), and weekend (Klang- Kepong), if based on your numbers, I think if those of you who stayed in city and less highway can hit 3.9L/100km.
For me, if can get Toyota’s claimed consumption considered good already. laugh.gif

Please keep us updated on your knocking and clicking problem. I’m scheduled to collect mine on first week of July, and these are two more things I’m going to add to the checklist of “possible issues” I intend to wasap the SA (he’s a family friend) to look out for when he collects the car.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Jun 16 2023, 11:31 AM
dev/numb
post Jun 20 2023, 03:32 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jun 18 2023, 04:46 PM)
Do you all have window visors??? I just realise mine comes with it already. Also I feel like it’s making a high pitch noises from the windows visors when I’m driving at a certain speed. I can only hear it from the driver side. Hmmm.

Does anyone experience this?
Generally all modern cars are designed in a windtunnel without window visors, so their addition will cause increased wind buffeting, but the high pitched (whistling) sound is usually attributed to a small gap that air is passing through at certain pressures. That’s why it occurs at a certain speed range. Below that range, there’s not enough pressure generated to force air through that gap, and above that range the car’s aerodynamic design takes over and forces airflow above/around that gap. This sound you hear might not be caused by the actual visor, but maybe a small part between the visor and door frame that didn’t get enough adhesive coverage, or it could be a similar sort of gap on the rubber seals somewhere around the door assembly.

Try to get someone to drive while you sit on the left, and determine if you can here the same sound on that side as well. If yes, then it is most likely the visor, and removing them (go to accessory shop if you’re scared to do it yourself) will likely solve the issue. If not, then it is probably the issue I stated in previous paragraph.

Lastly, are you sure this high pitched whine is not coming from the electric motor charging the battery? Toyota hybrids have that, but not everyone can hear it, but some of the people who have ears sensitive enough to pick up that noise often mistake it as coming from somewhere else. That high pitched whine usually comes through the hybrid filter (a vent under the rear seats), but the way sound frequencies bounce around in a closed space can give some people the impression that it’s coming from somewhere in the front.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Jun 20 2023, 05:51 PM
dev/numb
post Jun 20 2023, 04:29 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jun 20 2023, 04:21 PM)
very well detailed explanation, did you drove a toyota hybrid before? yeah the whining sound is ok, quite pleasant, is the a/c noise is unbearable, and wind noise,

btw, sc told me its normal, for both of my issues. problem is there's no problem before that.
My relative had a Prius 1.8. Quite nice car. Slow as shit and also a bit too low for our lousy roads, but very quiet and refined. Only the DC motor whining during brake regen was a bit intrusive (for my ears). Not much wind noise. Obviously the Prius is designed for max fuel efficiency so very aerodynamic, and I fully expect a chunky hybrid SUV like the Cross to have more wind noise.

Is the Cross a/c noise very loud? When I test drive sounded okay, but maybe I just didn’t notice because busy talking to the SA. Got some weird noise or just generally loud blower at higher setting?

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Jun 20 2023, 05:49 PM
dev/numb
post Jun 21 2023, 10:54 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jun 21 2023, 08:49 AM)
Does your relative Prius both accelerator and braking pedal will have that clicking sound when engaged?

Cross A/C noise wont be loud, at times you will hear the water dripping sound, not all the time, just by luck, can't really know whether when will it kick in, according to my SA, its not only for Hybrid models but across all new range of Toyota. but not sure how far is true.
That Prius sold off long ago. Cannot recall any clicking sound. All I remember is the whine when braking. Then again, it wasn’t my own car so maybe I wasn’t paying enough attention.

I’m buying this Cross Hybrid is for my mother actually. Replacing her 2017 Vios E. No a/c water dripping sound in the Vios. Myself currently drives a Harrier XU80 (via Kinto, under company) and also never heard any a/c dripping sounds (and that car is very quiet so higher likelihood of me being able to hear unwanted sounds) in the year I’ve had it so far.

In your case, if you feel your SC/SA are trying to weasel out of their responsibilities by giving you the “this is normal” response too often for the clicking or knocking phenomena, maybe you should try visiting another SC first. It’s your right to seek a second opinion, since the car is under nationwide warranty. Your only loss will be time and petrol used. Can also contact UMW to complain. Tell them “Every issue also they say normal. If I wanted these kind of irritations, I would have bought something Chinese or French. This is not what I expect from Toyota!!” in a loud voice. Later they will book an appointment with an experienced SC and follow up for you. Once SC got pressure from main office they sure work properly.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Jun 21 2023, 01:05 PM
dev/numb
post Jun 22 2023, 12:28 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jun 21 2023, 11:29 PM)
Hybrid. For now im getting used to it. I can ignore it and live with it.

Also, Do you all experience some sort of whirring sound? It's very mechanical, almost sounds like something adjusting its angles or something. It comes quite often, not continuous, very short... almost as if from the dashboard. It's definitely not the engine/battery purring sounds when accelerates. This one happens even during idle... what's that?
Is it a similar sound to the one in the video here?
https://priuschat.com/threads/weird-2007-pr...g-noise.222374/
If yes, scroll to post #6 on that page for an explanation.
If not, then I don’t know. Sorry.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Jun 22 2023, 12:29 AM
dev/numb
post Jul 3 2023, 11:34 PM

691 posts

Collected the TCCH earlier today. Everything seems in order, but still early days.
Will report issues if/when I encounter them.

Already got first complaint from boss (mom) - not enough storage space in front.
Anyone got recommendations from Shopee?

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Jul 3 2023, 11:36 PM
dev/numb
post Jul 8 2023, 04:19 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jul 6 2023, 04:19 PM)
Congratulations. Hope it will live up to expectations. Having driven a Corolla Cross hybrid and non-hybrid, I can surely vouch for its quality in terms of comfortable and great suspension, good steering feel and zero rattling sound. Looks like a solid vehicle.

By the way, a question to owners who have bought a Toyota, may I ask what is the current or lowest interest rate you've got, and from which bank? I was told that the minimum load period is 2 years with minimum RM40k or 50k loan.
Car was purchased for my mother, so I’ve done limited mileage myself. I’m at her house now (we live separately) and drove her to nearby township earlier in the TCCH. So far only about 250km done. Mileage is around 20km/l. NVH is quite good. On smooth roads, it’s actually not far off my Harrier (XU80) in terms of road noise, but the differences become more apparent when road surface get rougher (not surprising considering the Harrier costs around 2x the TCCH). One bit that annoys me is that pull-out shade thing in the boot area - it makes a slight sound over bumps when extended, so I rolled it in.

The factory tint is crap though (like all factory tints). Plan to get something better after the 1month/1000km service is done, but I’m worried that the front and rear DVR units are stuck to the windscreen and will complicate installation.

Cannot give personal experience with regards to current loan rates as the last time I engaged with any bank’s hire purchase department was almost a decade ago. TCCH was a cash purchase (combined with resale of previous car), while my Harrier is leased via Kinto. For what it’s worth, a friend got 2.4x% fixed from PBB – 100k, 5yrs – for her Mazda last month.
dev/numb
post Jul 8 2023, 06:01 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jul 8 2023, 05:14 PM)
Thanks for the response. If I'm guessing it correctly the Harrier is CBU from Japan? Even though it isn't, at a price that is almost double that of the hybrid, it is excusable for the hybrid to show slightly higher noise than the Harrier when traveling on rough roads. The shade thing in the boot, from my limited experience it tends to contribute to rattling sound in the cabin when going over rough or uneven roads as it will bounce up and down with the car hence the noise.

Good note on the cheap tint. I understand it comes as standard with the vehicle. I didn't ask on it previously but is the tint very dark at the rear and side windscreens? If yes, the tint needs to be removed before the new tint can be installed otherwise it will be too dark. I presume you took the rear dash cam option by paying the additional premium. Not sure why you need to wait for the first service before you replace the tint as it can be done before that.
Harrier is JP-CBU. Had at for around 17 months (36 month subscription) and odometer is currently just below the 40,000km mark. Not a single rattle detected.

Cross rear tint is darker than front. Plan to remove factory Ecotint from all windows and install a decent brand. Currently leaning towards IrisPro or Xpel, although I’m still searching around. Yes, I ticked the rear dashcam (and 5yr service saver pack) option. Reason I’m waiting for the first month service is just my own personal SOP for any car.
dev/numb
post Jul 9 2023, 11:39 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jul 9 2023, 10:13 AM)
It is unfortunate the Corolla Cross comes with a tint that isn't effective. In other words, useless. Toyota have actually described the tint as "Toyota Premium Security and Solar Film" the the brochure of the Corolla Cross. Might as well don't include it if it doesn't help at all.

I'm not sure about Irispro or Xpel. May I ask what is the price range of these tints.

My only experience with aftermarket tints is Huper Optik and V-kool Elite. There isn't any doubt the V-kool Elite is better not only in heat rejection performance and longevity but also a more pleasant greenish hue which adds to a calmer and soothing ambiance. The Huper Optik has a brownish hue instead, and the heat rejection isn't as good, and the performance starts to drop just only after 3 years. The V-kool remains consistent after 5 years when the car was sold. I have read that the V-kool can last more than 10 years without a deterioration in performance.

If its proven the Premium security and solar tint on the Corolla Cross is lousy, I may go with the V-kool as it is proven to be good. With other tints, it's a gamble. The V-kool was priced at RM3.6k for a C-segment sedan about 15 years ago. It should be around RM4k-5k or higher depending on the packages for an SUV. The Host Optik is considerably cheaper at RM1.7k for a similar class C-segment sedan.
Most manufacturer tints are marketed as “premium” or whatever. In my experience, none of them offer sufficient heat rejection for our country’s UV index. My Harrier uses V-Kool – Elite 70 for windshield, 55 for front windows, 40 for rear – and the cost was a bit under RM5k (I consider V-kool overpriced now, but this was put down as company expense). Frankly speaking, if sticking to JPJ guidelines, even with the highest end brands I can still feel heat coming through the front on very hot/sunny days, so for the Cross I intend to go a bit darker for the windshield, probably around 50% VLT to match the front side windows, although I still need to perform some tests with my mom to see if she’s comfortable with it. IrisPro and Xpel are around the RM3k mark, +/- RM500 depending on spec combination. The 3M Crystalline series installed on my mom’s previous car was utterly useless.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Jul 9 2023, 03:58 PM
dev/numb
post Jul 10 2023, 01:43 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jul 10 2023, 12:49 PM)
May I ask if you have had the chance to test the quality of the dash camera both front and rear. I presume the quality is acceptable especially the rear dashcam since it's an add-on where potential buyers can choose between the one offered by Toyota and another model installed outside of Toyota workshop?
Not a dashcam expert. I usually just stick to stock manufacturer options. From what I can see, quality is acceptable. You can set it to 1080p and can easily resolve number plates (which is what matters in accidents, I assume). Has EV setting to adjust brightness. Parking mode only available for front unit, so if parking in shady place, better to reverse park so that front faces street. There are also a couple of safety features (lane watch and pre-collision, iirc) but they’re redundant since the car already has them. I’d wager third-party models would offer more features. Biggest irritation for me is the app requirement. The unit’s screen isn’t live and just shows a Toyota logo. For live viewing or any options, you need a stupid Toyota DVR app and need to connect to the cam via wifi. Also, firmware updates are a bit of a pain. Need to download separately using wifi/data, then connect to cam’s wifi, and then initiate update.
dev/numb
post Jul 12 2023, 12:29 AM

691 posts

QUOTE(melz84 @ Jul 11 2023, 11:41 PM)
My rear cam doesn't seem to record anything   sweat.gif

btw guys..  noob question here...  what did your SC did for your car for the first service ? (1000km)
my first service was given free and these items were on the service sheet . did they really change those items for you?
apparently my car service was done within 30 minutes, everything was recorded on the front dashcam from the time car was droved into the service area until they droved it out to the open parking area. no sign of them changing filters or oil at all.  hmm.gif

Doesn’t the cam record only when car is turned on? If engine is off (as it should be when being serviced) then it won’t record anything, unless you’ve enabled parking mode and increased the sensitivity, and even then I’m not sure if recording is triggered* by g-forces or movement. Besides, if it was recording wouldn’t the bonnet lid be blocking everything? Do the recordings have time stamps?

30 minutes does seem very short though. Definitely possible to change oil and filter in that time, but likely means the inspection of other components wasn’t done properly. After service, did they hand you the old filter and bottle of unused engine oil?

My TCCH only collected first week of this month, so first service will be end of the month or early next month. In my usual SC there’s a glass panel between lounge and service area, so I can see what they’re doing most of the time.

*edit: according to the manual, recording in parking mode is only triggered when it detects movement.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Jul 12 2023, 01:10 AM

0.0355sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:53 AM