LYN Toyota Corolla Cross V1, C-Segment SUV

adrive
post Jun 11 2025, 12:01 AM

826 posts

Would you guys recommend the petrol version or hybrid and why? Test drove both and somehow hybrid version seems to have audible humming/angry noise frequently I believe when it’s charging. Noticible from stop to move or when driving slowly. And feels a bit underpowered compared to the petrol version.

However if not for that sound I feel hybrid is more worth.

Also interested to know if this or x70 more worth? Feature wise seems like x70

This post has been edited by adrive: Jun 11 2025, 12:09 AM
adrive
post Jun 14 2025, 10:12 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Jun 11 2025, 08:21 PM)
more to city drive = hybrid, save petrol
more to highway drive = petrol
yes, petrol variant more powerful than hybrid
go and study/survey why cross, and not x70.. u will get many answer  cool2.gif
well generally what i see is the x series are more bang for the buck, just that after purchase fingers crossed hope dun have issues otherwise in for a long wait for parts

but what made you guys choose this car instead of hrv instead since they're almost similarly priced? especially hybrid versions
adrive
post Aug 12 2025, 11:11 AM

826 posts

I know most people buy this car for the hybrid, but how’s the real world fc for petrol version?
adrive
post Aug 12 2025, 12:23 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Aug 12 2025, 11:28 AM)
Can't answer you for the petrol fc but more for the first part of your statement.

Actually I saw a more of the petrol variant. Only with the facelifted version do I see more hybrids on the road (but that's one person's obeservation).

Used to ask myself why would people want a petrol version when hybrids just a tad more expensive but after listening to the youtuber Bro Wong - I begin to understand why ppl chose petrol version - cheaper, higher resale value, less maintenance vs hybrid. All this need higher petrol prices or higher usage/travel distance to justify the hybrid version economically.

These buyers just want a cheap reliable Altis with high ride height for school and grocery runs, don't want to deal with hybrid parts.
Although I agree that petrol has less issues to think about, hybrid shouldn’t just be about fc and direct convert saved rm to battery and replacement. It’s the drive experience when hybrid engine work with petrol together it will drive differently. It should become more obvious when subsidy removed.

But having said that I do keep reading fb posts about hybrid battery failure, even from Toyota. Not too sure it’s isolated cases or not.

adrive
post Aug 13 2025, 06:43 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Aug 12 2025, 04:08 PM)
my family have both petrol and hybrid, hybrid definately drives better.

but of course. resale, petrol trumps them all

i had this dilemma with the new camry, i still went for the HEV. although i know when it is time to sell, it will be painful
I think depends on the year being sold off. I can see there’s demand for hybrids. Probably at 5th year still can fetch alot
adrive
post Aug 13 2025, 06:49 PM

826 posts

Btw does your petrol variant come with wireless charger? I recall the SA says only hybrid has it but the website looks as if wireless charger come even with petrol variant….
adrive
post Aug 14 2025, 11:37 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Aug 14 2025, 10:35 AM)
the petrol variant was bought during the early ckd days where wireless chargers are not standard.

the subsequent batches have it as compulsory accessories.

Its rubbish to be honest
Aik? Can like that one?

Wireless charger rubbish or not having wireless charger in earlier batch is rubbish? lol

No high hopes, since it’s not being blown at the aircon angle
adrive
post Aug 14 2025, 12:59 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Aug 14 2025, 12:35 PM)
The wireless charger with clip is rubbish - or I duuno how to use it, I feel like the phone is pushed down with too much force, if there are sand or particles, habis the phone screen. Toyota make reliable cars but space utilisation is rubbish.
Yeah.. better designs are those flat surface. Cross Malaysia one looks like afterthought.. but better than nothing, if it can charge and not overheat la. Actually I don’t recall seeing this design in angmo version.. theirs is flat surface

This post has been edited by adrive: Aug 14 2025, 01:00 PM

0.0288sec    1.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:54 AM