Buying Advice Need suggestions..., pentax K100D

TSkabyss87
post Sep 25 2007, 01:33 AM, updated 19y ago

785 posts

Today i went surveying price between canon 350D and 400D...

fetching come comments over those two DSLR and which is more fit for newbies...

so i came across with this employee of a photoshop...

he was totally excited and show me around with pentax K100D...

all the while he was comparing the photo shot in auto mode with both pentax and 350D...

it seems clear that pentax takes sharper pictures and the colors are great too...

i asked him to show me the difference between both using manual settings... but he didn't...

i need some comments on this pentax K100D... anyone here using one?

and how was it comparing to any other dslr?
~\G.O.D/~
post Sep 25 2007, 01:48 AM

♪♬♪~\GooD/~♪♬♪〖&#
1,924 posts

can u tell me wht is the latest price for 350d and pentax k100d
TSkabyss87
post Sep 25 2007, 01:54 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(~\G.O.D/~ @ Sep 25 2007, 01:48 AM)
can u tell me wht is the latest price for 350d and pentax k100d
ermm... pentax K100D he quoted me with a 2.2k+ price...

350D cheaper at 2k+

note* both includes bag.. tripod.. lense kit 35-88mm.. strap..

pentax comes with a 2gb sd card.... 350D i think 1GB compact flash if not mistaken
~\G.O.D/~
post Sep 25 2007, 02:07 AM

♪♬♪~\GooD/~♪♬♪〖&#
1,924 posts

oic
u need to know abit la
pentax user not much (donno y) == hard to find pentax lens lol
canon got a lot fans right here.... easy find lens

wht is that shop name? i hear ppl say 350d price is rm1900 liao ....donno which shop selling that price?
TSkabyss87
post Sep 25 2007, 02:21 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(~\G.O.D/~ @ Sep 25 2007, 02:07 AM)
oic
u need to know abit la
pentax user not much (donno y) == hard to find pentax lens lol
canon got a lot fans right here.... easy find lens

wht is that shop name? i hear ppl say 350d price is rm1900 liao ....donno which shop selling that price?
yeap... thats what i'm concern about...

but the 1st thing is... is it worth at that price? 350D is cheaper but higher mp... pentax come with shake reduction...

for long term use... which 1 would be better?

Forgot What name liao.. its situated on 3rd floor in sungai wang... inside the computer section...

350D got ppl sell for RM1900... but it comes with lense kit and 1gb cf only...
~\G.O.D/~
post Sep 25 2007, 02:40 AM

♪♬♪~\GooD/~♪♬♪〖&#
1,924 posts

oic....
u got try ask others shop or not?
TSkabyss87
post Sep 25 2007, 02:42 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(~\G.O.D/~ @ Sep 25 2007, 02:40 AM)
oic....
u got try ask others shop or not?
got... the price will be higher if ya want bags.. tripods and stuff...

will be around 2.1k+-
~\G.O.D/~
post Sep 25 2007, 03:04 AM

♪♬♪~\GooD/~♪♬♪〖&#
1,924 posts

so which 1 u prefer most right now?
TSkabyss87
post Sep 25 2007, 03:06 AM

785 posts

ermmm... well... can't really made up my mind now...

still gotta do some research about both of them...

i think i need to spend more time testing both cams in the same time....

~\G.O.D/~
post Sep 25 2007, 03:08 AM

♪♬♪~\GooD/~♪♬♪〖&#
1,924 posts

u can try go here see see
http://chinese4.cari.com.my/myforum/viewth...&extra=page%3D6
that site got example of pentax pic.....(in chinese)

Pentax: appeals a lot, has IS, cheaper lenses, better body (hard to find lens)

Canon: higher resolution for same price, canon cameras seem to have better reputation (easy find accessory)

Pentax uses AA batteries.
Pentax pre-digital lenses might not give as good results as their digital range.
Canon's XTi has a self-cleaning sensor.
Most IS is really not needed - especially for wider-angle lenses.

This post has been edited by ~\G.O.D/~: Sep 25 2007, 03:15 AM
TSkabyss87
post Sep 25 2007, 03:26 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(~\G.O.D/~ @ Sep 25 2007, 03:08 AM)

Canon: higher resolution for same price, canon cameras seem to have better reputation (easy find accessory)

Pentax pre-digital lenses might not give as good results as their digital range.
thx for the sites... rclxms.gif

and i thought only 400D comes with self cleaning sensors?
soulfly
post Sep 25 2007, 12:38 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

only 400D has sensor cleaning, 350D does not
Mavik
post Sep 25 2007, 02:44 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

If you want Pentax lenses, its not hard to find them. You just might have to wait for the lens to arrive. J-One at Amcorp mall can get those Pentax lenses for you. I happened to be there browsing a bit when someone came in with his Pentax K100D. Jason the owner of J-One said, no problem, you tell him which Pentax lens, he can order for you.
vichio
post Sep 25 2007, 04:25 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(~\G.O.D/~ @ Sep 25 2007, 03:08 AM)

r u sure ? Pentax Pencake lens is as good as Canon L lens but 2 times cheaper
Self cleansing system in Canon XTi not affective ( also in K100D super )
IS really help a lot for long zoom, and do u have high budget to buy wide lens ?

idyllis
post Sep 25 2007, 07:00 PM

QUOTE(kabyss87 @ Sep 25 2007, 03:26 AM)
thx for the sites...  rclxms.gif

and i thought only 400D comes with self cleaning sensors?
as far as i've read,
the self cleaning sensors in both canon and pentax are practically useless. Only a marketing gimmick.
only olympus's fare decently in this. sweat.gif

about it not having as many lenses, well pentax, having inbody SR, have much cheaper lenses that can provide top notch shots at a fraction of the price of Canon's IS lenses. With SR, any third party lens you can find for pentax immediately benefits from it, resulting in inexpensive yet sharp photos. With canon, cheaper third party lens doesn't have IS, which means no help at all in tackling handshake. Don't think Canon will introduce inbody stabilization anytime as it will greatly undermine sales of it's IS lens.
Plus, Pentax actually have lenses that cover all reasonable ranges. Tamron and Sigma have macros, telephoto and wideangles for pentax to boot. http://www.shashinki.com is a reputable online camera shop, cheap and has a range of lenses for pentax. Founder is a malaysian based in japan but has a store in Perak. Very convenient transactions, free shipping for purchases above rm50.
i've purchased a FA 50mm/1.4 from him, and it arrived the day after payment.
good service as well smile.gif very recommended

Just thinking IF:
The thing about your purchase of 350 is that it's already being seen as an outdated camera by the pace of today's technology. if you get 350d, u may soon begin to outgrow it and be tempted to upgrade. the next upgrade that you'll be thinking of will probabbly be the 30/40d or the 5d, depending on your level of enthusiasm. Those cams body cost around 4k and 8k respectively. Though you can probably look for the many used canon cams for sale in malaysia. tongue.gif Canon actually has a notoriety for introducing upgrades of little value for the same level cams [ie: 300d>350d>400d], forcing people to come out more money for higher end dslrs.

Pentax's K100d will inevitably lead you to k10d or higher. Many are speculating a more advanced k1d to be launched next year. k10d is a direct competitor of 30d and d80, at rm 3k body. i'm using k10d as my first dslr, it's a fabulous camera, user friendly, easy to grow into and has plenty of lessons in store for me.
i would say that i will use this for many years, without worrying about further upgrades.

I'm just saying all this, at the risk of being long winded, because i think people who wants to invest in a DSLR will have to think about their level advancement and their rising expectations as they learn more about photography.

Or else, prosumer P&Ss will more than suffice, with live view, waterproof features, video shooting, more compact/mobile, sharper images [but more noise], and much much cheaper too.

only gripe i have about pentax is its marketing strategy in malaysia. i hardly see its presence in the market due to this. Despite the fact that pentax has a variety of accessories, the stores in kl don't stock them because they say, pentax not as popular. : / Sad, because i think pentax stuff is as good if not better than the rival brands.

I think shriro should invest in its marketing, with more promotions.

This post has been edited by idyllis: Sep 25 2007, 07:11 PM
TSkabyss87
post Sep 25 2007, 09:30 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 25 2007, 12:38 PM)
only 400D has sensor cleaning, 350D does not
thx for the clarification.. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Mavik @ Sep 25 2007, 02:44 PM)
If you want Pentax lenses, its not hard to find them. You just might have to wait for the lens to arrive. J-One at Amcorp mall can get those Pentax lenses for you. I happened to be there browsing a bit when someone came in with his Pentax K100D. Jason the owner of J-One said, no problem, you tell him which Pentax lens, he can order for you.
So they personally provide services to import the lense for me with duty free price right?

QUOTE(vichio @ Sep 25 2007, 04:25 PM)
r u sure ? Pentax Pencake lens is as good as Canon L lens but 2 times cheaper
Self cleansing system in Canon XTi not affective ( also in K100D super )
IS really help a lot for long zoom, and do u have high budget to buy wide lens ?
So far i've never take consideration on wide lenses... and i dun have high budgets on camera... sweat.gif
since the lenses are cheap and par with canon's lense performance i don't see any problem getting pentax over canon 350D or 400D????

QUOTE(idyllis @ Sep 25 2007, 07:00 PM)
as far as i've read,
the self cleaning sensors in both canon and pentax are practically useless. Only a marketing gimmick.
only olympus's fare decently in this.  sweat.gif

about it not having as many lenses, well pentax, having inbody SR, have much cheaper lenses that can provide top notch shots at a fraction of the price of Canon's IS lenses. With SR, any third party lens you can find for pentax immediately benefits from it, resulting in inexpensive yet sharp photos. With canon, cheaper third party lens doesn't have IS, which means no help at all in tackling handshake. Don't think Canon will introduce inbody stabilization anytime as it will greatly undermine sales of it's IS lens.
Plus, Pentax actually have lenses that cover all reasonable ranges. Tamron and Sigma have macros, telephoto and wideangles for pentax to boot. http://www.shashinki.com is a reputable online camera shop, cheap and has a range of lenses for pentax. Founder is a malaysian based in japan but has a store in Perak. Very convenient transactions, free shipping for purchases above rm50.
i've purchased a FA 50mm/1.4 from him, and it arrived the day after payment.
good service as well smile.gif very recommended

Just thinking IF:
The thing about your purchase of 350 is that it's already being seen as an outdated camera by the pace of today's technology. if you get 350d, u may soon begin to outgrow it and be tempted to upgrade. the next upgrade that you'll be thinking of will probabbly be the 30/40d or the 5d, depending on your level of enthusiasm. Those cams body cost around 4k and 8k respectively. Though you can probably look for the many used canon cams for sale in malaysia.  tongue.gif Canon actually has a notoriety for introducing upgrades of little value for the same level cams [ie: 300d>350d>400d], forcing people to come out more money for higher end dslrs.

Pentax's K100d will inevitably lead you to k10d or higher. Many are speculating a more advanced k1d to be launched next year. k10d is a direct competitor of 30d and d80, at rm 3k body. i'm using k10d as my first dslr, it's a fabulous camera, user friendly, easy to grow into and has plenty of lessons in store for me.
i would say that i will use this for many years, without worrying about further upgrades.

I'm just saying all this, at the risk of being long winded, because i think people who wants to invest in a DSLR will have to think about their level advancement and their rising expectations as they learn more about photography.

Or else, prosumer P&Ss will more than suffice, with live view, waterproof features, video shooting, more compact/mobile, sharper images [but more noise], and much much cheaper too. 

only gripe i have about pentax is its marketing strategy in malaysia. i hardly see its presence in the market due to this. Despite the fact that pentax has a variety of accessories, the stores in kl don't stock them because they say, pentax not as popular. : / Sad, because i think pentax stuff is as good if not better than the rival brands.

I think shriro should invest in its marketing, with more promotions.
thanks for the info... it enlighten me a lot between those two dslr which is canon and pentax...

pentax k100d might be my 1st choice since i'm still a beginner and without any extra cash on me... i'll had to work part time if i'm considering to get extra lenses... and the affordable price of pentax lenses will definately aid me a lot... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

idyllis
post Sep 26 2007, 01:24 AM

QUOTE(kabyss87 @ Sep 25 2007, 09:30 PM)
thanks for the info... it enlighten me a lot between those two dslr which is canon and pentax...

pentax k100d might be my 1st choice since i'm still a beginner and without any extra cash on me... i'll had to work part time if i'm considering to get extra lenses... and the affordable price of pentax lenses will definately aid me a lot...  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
you're welcome. it's still only a subjective opinion, but am glad to have helped!
good luck with the purchase, whichever it is.
enhaw82
post Sep 26 2007, 10:19 PM

Trigger Happy
2,009 posts

Pentax K100D will be a good choice for beginners...however i would recommend K100D Super at maybe an extra 200 bucks...it comes with sensor cleaning and the USM support for new pentax lenses...

i find pentax colours more punchy compared to canon and nikon...and it has better ergonomics compared to EOS 400D (tried my colleague's and realy tiring to hold long time...the grip too small) and D40/D40x (no place to rest my little pinkie)
TSkabyss87
post Sep 27 2007, 02:04 AM

785 posts

There has been a undefined news came out that canon will have a price slash on their selected cameras and lenses

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/526794

now i must say it will definitely raise the competition...

now the question here is... if it make the market price of all dlsr cam drops... is it still wise for me to get pentax with the same fixed amount of budget which is around 2k?

0.0208sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:59 PM