Buying Advice A friend bought Nikon D80, $1200 w/ zoom lense

TSmypetridish
post Sep 24 2007, 03:04 AM, updated 19y ago

1,313 posts

Is it worth the price? A friend bought it in the US but he could have gotten it in Malaysia. I just wanna know it he fetched a better price or not.

p/s How does Nikon D80 compare to Canon EOS Rebel XTi? I'm a camera noob, but the Canon is being sold for $700 with 18-55mm lens. I guess the cannon is for newcomers yet does it offer better value as a first DSLR?

This post has been edited by mypetridish: Sep 24 2007, 03:17 AM
nuox
post Sep 24 2007, 03:49 AM

621 posts

if not mistaken Canon EOS Rebel XTi is eod 400d rite?
TSmypetridish
post Sep 24 2007, 04:05 AM

1,313 posts

yeah, according to this: http://www.dpnotes.com/canon-eos-400d-digi...-vs-nikon-d40x/

but what is a 40D? http://www.dpreview.com/previews/canoneos40d/

40D = EOS 400D = Digital Rebel?

Im so confused

p/s my sis's compact Canon Ixus 400 is called Canon SD300 in the states.
R a D ! c 4 L
post Sep 24 2007, 04:10 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

400D and 40D is two different models. Really.
CompMac
post Sep 24 2007, 04:30 AM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

To minimise (or further add tongue.gif) confusion of Canon and Nikon dSLRs naming convention:

Top Professional
Canon xD
Nikon Dx

Semi-Professional
Canon xxD
Nikon Dxxx

Entry/Amateur Level
Canon xxxD
Nikon Dxx

Replace x with any numerical value.

This post has been edited by CompMac: Sep 24 2007, 04:30 AM
TSmypetridish
post Sep 24 2007, 05:00 AM

1,313 posts

ah,no wonder the 40d is more expensive than 400d

btw, based on your chart, does that mean 400D is comparable to D80? the D80 is double the price of the 400D though...
CompMac
post Sep 24 2007, 05:12 AM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

For the entry/amateur level, Nikon has D40x and D80 while Canon's 400D sits somewhat between those two.
Mavik
post Sep 24 2007, 10:04 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Basically if checking reviews and comparison, the Canon 400D will usually go up against the Nikon D40x.
TSmypetridish
post Sep 24 2007, 11:05 AM

1,313 posts

hmm.. but this one is quite in depth

http://www.cameralabs.com/features/10Megap...est/page3.shtml

although we are all aware of the close to double the price of d80 compared to the 400d and a100

p/s is a $350 D80 w/o lens too good to be true? coz i found it selling online.
goliath
post Sep 24 2007, 11:08 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Sep 24 2007, 10:04 AM)
Basically if checking reviews and comparison, the Canon 400D will usually go up against the Nikon D40x.
I thought that Canon 400D will be used to compare with D80.. unsure.gif
Mavik
post Sep 24 2007, 11:13 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Sep 24 2007, 11:05 AM)
hmm.. but this one is quite in depth

http://www.cameralabs.com/features/10Megap...est/page3.shtml

although we are all aware of the close to double the price of d80 compared to the 400d and a100

Wow that is very very very cheap!
TSmypetridish
post Sep 24 2007, 11:22 AM

1,313 posts

i know. im a bit takut saja, but the site receive good reviews (the site, not the product)

i dont actually need one but i fancy gadgets and have always wanted to go into photography - semi-pro
cjtune
post Sep 24 2007, 10:17 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Sep 24 2007, 11:05 AM)
This is way too cheap. Even cheaper than most compact digicams!
Exercise caution and find out more about why it is so cheap.

scorgio
post Sep 25 2007, 01:57 PM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Sep 24 2007, 11:22 AM)
i know. im a bit takut saja, but the site receive good reviews (the site, not the product)

i dont actually need one but i fancy gadgets and have always wanted to go into photography - semi-pro
Which website?
TSmypetridish
post Sep 26 2007, 09:47 AM

1,313 posts

http://www.expresscameras.com/prodetails.asp?prodid=620700

http://www.expresscameras.com/prodetails.a...=620700&start=1

cans you be finding the flaws is any in the website? fraud maybe ke, etc...

This post has been edited by mypetridish: Sep 26 2007, 10:06 AM
scorgio
post Sep 26 2007, 04:00 PM

4,695 posts

I believe the site is genuine.

BUT "Please note: We only accept US issued credit cards. For international customers please call us at 800-772-0136 or 732-738-7387 for payment options."

And it didn't state what's included. It only state the body only. Maybe u'll get 'the body' only.

Cos I noticed, other than the body, their accessories & lenses price very high. Like 1GB CF for USD100, card reader for USD30.
TSmypetridish
post Oct 8 2007, 11:19 AM

1,313 posts

the site is selling it for $300 now...

camera curi kah? it's much lower than anything on the market

scorgio
post Oct 8 2007, 08:27 PM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Oct 8 2007, 11:19 AM)
the site is selling it for $300 now...

camera curi kah? it's much lower than anything on the market
Maybe, like I mentioned, price is only for 'body'.
No other accessories. Battery, charger, cable, manual all not included.
cjtune
post Oct 8 2007, 08:50 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Oct 8 2007, 08:27 PM)
Maybe, like I mentioned, price is only for 'body'.
No other accessories. Battery, charger, cable, manual all not included.
Hah, you still haven't bought it?

AbangCorp
post Nov 6 2007, 03:45 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(cjtune @ Oct 8 2007, 08:50 PM)
Hah, you still haven't bought it?
malaysian ppl at foreign country will feel a bit sayang with the big money spent as the currency rate reflect big spending in malaysia ringgit. If i were there, dont feel so as thats life. Until all country is one and that one is all...

hmmm.. in your case just beat it man

but if youre going back to malaysia, malaysia is a better place to buy photography things, no taxes

just my opinion
regards

0.0222sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:10 AM