Shell Fuelsave 95 VS Petronas Primax 95, 🤔, Petrol Comparison With Explanation

TSHillary33
post Mar 16 2022, 08:25 PM, updated 4y ago

41 posts

Guys, can you make comparison between Shell Fuelsave 95 and Petronas Primax 95 based on your personal experiences?
zerorating
post Mar 16 2022, 08:30 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

i only use petronas for petrol and engine oil, support local.
TSHillary33
post Mar 16 2022, 08:31 PM

41 posts

Would you please give reasons with it's explanation to support your statement?
GTA5
post Mar 16 2022, 08:37 PM

1,413 posts

I use Shell, engine got knocking sound.

I use Petronas, fuel consumption higher.
TSHillary33
post Mar 16 2022, 08:39 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Mar 16 2022, 08:37 PM)

Are you driving motorcycle or car?
BelaCHAN
post Mar 16 2022, 08:40 PM

580 posts

I drive saga BLM 1.3L manual, 12 year old car.

I find Petronas gives best fuel economy vs power, in the middle.

Shell fuel save DOES save fuel (about 5 %), but engine very rough and less responsive say about 5% less power.

and Caltex drains the fastest (up to 10% faster), but when bring full load or go up genting, the power increase is as much as 10%.

All in all, go fill up full tank of both fuel, and judge yourself. everybody's car is different, everybody's driving style is different.

This post has been edited by BelaCHAN: Mar 16 2022, 09:14 PM
sammm33
post Mar 16 2022, 08:42 PM

684 posts

between shell or petronas, i use which ever gas station which is closest to me the moment i need a refill.
accordvtec
post Mar 16 2022, 08:46 PM

107 posts

both also shit tier but shell shittier than petronas.
petron > all
geforce88
post Mar 16 2022, 08:49 PM

2,841 posts

ditch Shell and Caltex long time ago, just go for BHP. no regret.
6942nole
post Mar 16 2022, 09:02 PM

347 posts

used to pump petronas for about 180k km, average FC was 13.5km/L.
then switch accidentally to shell, and found it is a lot better.
current FC with shell, average is 15.5km/L (from total 130kkm).

SUSrtk74
post Mar 16 2022, 09:12 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(GTA5 @ Mar 16 2022, 08:37 PM)

try caltex/bhp
chuan1961
post Mar 16 2022, 09:33 PM

335 posts

comparison on what criteria?

fuel economy? performance? cost?

also, there are other factors like ur car model/ driving style etc.
I use shell cos they're the best fuel company in the world. 2nd, u notice how fast the pump fills up? I did some research. time urself at other station like Mobil or Petronas.
multiply that to number of times in ur life u pump at the station and thats a lot of time u saved. time is money.
3rd, shell has Grab pay n bonuslink. u get points. add it up. Save Money via grab rewards.
4th. someone said support local. LOL-screw that. who owns Petronas? Corrupted Politicians!

Stay safe.

This post has been edited by chuan1961: Mar 16 2022, 09:35 PM
MrBaba
post Mar 16 2022, 09:41 PM

2,506 posts

Axia myvi both shell 450km++ Petronas 300km++ ( max pun 350km je ) . Here comes the funny thing if other family member bawak FC become higher shell 350km+ max Petronas 250km max
MrBaba
post Mar 16 2022, 09:43 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(6942nole @ Mar 16 2022, 09:02 PM)
used to pump petronas for about 180k km, average FC was 13.5km/L.
then switch accidentally to shell, and found it is a lot better.
current FC with shell, average is 15.5km/L (from total 130kkm).
Proton right ?
poweredbydiscuz
post Mar 16 2022, 09:55 PM

3,843 posts

My personal preference is BHP > Caltex > Petronas > others.
I feel that BHP gives more power, Caltex gives smoother acceleration, and Petronas is good overall.
I don't really care much about fuel consumption (as long as still has subsidy).
myroy
post Mar 16 2022, 10:04 PM

BIG BOSS
1,202 posts

Shell (below - 2014
Petronas (start 2014-now)
1) Support local
2) Their mesra point i redeem cooking gas (never bought since 2018)
* my wife like to cook so 1 cooking gas/2month
3) Life and blood growing up up petronas
4) their *utilities one of the best
clean toilet/prayer room/

techron
post Mar 16 2022, 10:51 PM

40 posts

Why still comparing others when the best is obvious here
SUSrtk74
post Mar 16 2022, 10:54 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(techron @ Mar 16 2022, 10:51 PM)

Grant used caltex and now he's dead
SUSpfizer
post Mar 17 2022, 10:11 AM

149 posts

My car got better mileage using Petronas. Second is BHP. Shell is the worst mileage.
Selectt
post Mar 17 2022, 01:38 PM

wattttt!!
1,712 posts

i also think this but since the engine can sustain more degradation people wont notice it. they only care mileage and power/ acceleration, etc
sam04563
post Mar 17 2022, 02:03 PM

184 posts

i used to bump shell fuel until i found out petronas fuel actually gives better fuel consumption..

when lights on..
shell:180km (+/-10)
petronas:210km (+/-10)

i used to ride to work every day and the travelling distance is the same...riding is not restricted by traffic condition...will drive if not working..
a_dot_el
post Mar 17 2022, 03:08 PM

196 posts

Shell give me the best millage. Smooth sound also. Around 580km/tank.
Petronas gives me 2nd best millage, but very rough engine sound. Around 530-550km/tank.
Caltex is third in term of millage, but smooth. Around 500-530km/tank.
FidelisGVR
post Mar 17 2022, 03:37 PM

673 posts

i drive a 2015 Nissan Teana L33.

Mileage wise there's not much difference, can get consistently 500-ish kms on a full tank of 60L; I fill up the moment the fuel light warning turns on (by then the range would be around 130 kms).

the main difference is my engine runs smoother on Petronas 95. So I fill my tank with it every week.
Bossku_Johor
post Mar 17 2022, 03:56 PM

146 posts

Walao....no one here use petron one ah...?
abhipraaya
post Mar 18 2022, 11:30 AM

565 posts

For me Caltex Techron all the way. Been using this fuel for years on my turbo+super charged direct injection engine.

This post has been edited by abhipraaya: Mar 18 2022, 11:32 AM
poweredbydiscuz
post Mar 18 2022, 11:38 AM

3,843 posts

Username checks out.
Jasther
post Mar 18 2022, 11:48 AM

QUOTE(chuan1961 @ Mar 16 2022, 09:33 PM)
comparison on what criteria?

fuel economy? performance? cost?

also, there are other factors like ur car model/ driving style etc.
I use shell cos they're the best fuel company in the world. 2nd, u notice how fast the pump fills up? I did some research. time urself at other station like Mobil or Petronas.
multiply that to number of times in ur life u pump at the station and thats a lot of time u saved. time is money.
3rd, shell has Grab pay n bonuslink. u get points. add it up. Save Money via grab rewards.
4th. someone said support local. LOL-screw that. who owns Petronas? Corrupted Politicians!

Stay safe.
yes..
shell fuel safe is fuel economy.. if u want power, go for v power.. you can't have fuel efficiency and power tgt. its just like u want your kuda eat the cheapest grass n run #1 on race day... doesn't work that way ma..

about the pumps.. typically the nozzle dispense 15-20L a minute, can't rmb the tech spec, any oil co brand that uses the same nozzle can achieve the same.. for diesel pumps its even faster.. up to 45L a min...if i rmb correctly..

bootmod3
post Mar 18 2022, 02:07 PM

65 posts

Stopped using Shell unless emergency because it gives me the least power and fuel economy. The new formulation by Petronas is pretty good and balance between fuel economy and power.
xHj09
post Mar 18 2022, 08:38 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,617 posts

Shell around early 2010s. Now Petronas jer.
effectz
post Mar 18 2022, 09:20 PM

1,117 posts

Use both can't feel significant differences. This subject is too general guys.
ghoss
post Mar 18 2022, 09:53 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(BelaCHAN @ Mar 16 2022, 08:40 PM)
I drive saga BLM 1.3L manual, 12 year old car.

I find Petronas gives best fuel economy vs power, in the middle.

Shell fuel save DOES save fuel (about 5 %), but engine very rough and less responsive say about 5% less power.

and Caltex drains the fastest (up to 10% faster), but when bring full load or go up genting, the power increase is as much as 10%.

All in all, go fill up full tank of both fuel, and judge yourself. everybody's car is different, everybody's driving style is different.
I driving saga blm 13 y/o. Shell gives me the most power. Petronas/ petron better mileage. But not conclusive as daily drive pattern not same
ghostcommand
post Mar 18 2022, 10:03 PM

671 posts

Tried Shell, BHP, Caltex, Petronas, personally didn't feel any difference on my Honda. Fuel consumption also similar within margin of error.

All fuel has the necessary additives, but I personally go for BHP because they say they use better additives, stations are very clean and friendly staff.

This post has been edited by ghostcommand: Mar 18 2022, 10:04 PM
shuin1986
post Mar 18 2022, 10:11 PM

233 posts

Didnt notice any diff from Shell n Petronas for my mybi, only caltex felt smoother but less mileage... caltex full tank ~300km, petronas full tank ~360km, live in place with lots of traffic light
BelaCHAN
post Mar 19 2022, 12:22 AM

580 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Mar 18 2022, 09:53 PM)
I driving saga blm 13 y/o. Shell gives me the most power. Petronas/ petron better mileage. But not conclusive as daily drive pattern not same
Try caltex full tank =D
DeyBeardy
post Mar 19 2022, 12:32 AM

117 posts

For me
1) Petronas, since got a few near my house (and consistantly along many highway
2) whichever which is close by

Its just petrol, i just wan to go from A --> B
ghoss
post Mar 19 2022, 07:45 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(BelaCHAN @ Mar 19 2022, 12:22 AM)
Try caltex full tank =D
Ok bro
ze2
post Mar 19 2022, 07:48 PM

319 posts

Bhp
Caltex

biggie
post Mar 19 2022, 07:58 PM

1,291 posts

Petronas because many stations and one near my house and another where I work. And got setel
chuan1961
post Mar 20 2022, 10:38 PM

335 posts

I'm quite sure the pumps can be manually configured in terms of how fast they dispense fuel.
until today, shell pumps are the fastest smile.gif Useful when you are in a hurry.

QUOTE(Jasther @ Mar 18 2022, 11:48 AM)
yes..
shell fuel safe is fuel economy.. if u want power, go for v power.. you can't have fuel efficiency and power tgt. its just like u want your kuda eat the cheapest grass n run #1 on race day... doesn't work that way ma..

about the pumps.. typically the nozzle dispense 15-20L a minute, can't rmb the tech spec, any oil co brand that uses the same nozzle can achieve the same.. for diesel pumps its even faster.. up to 45L a min...if i rmb correctly..
Jasther
post Mar 21 2022, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(chuan1961 @ Mar 20 2022, 10:38 PM)
I'm quite sure the pumps can be manually configured in terms of how fast they dispense fuel.
until today, shell pumps are the fastest smile.gif Useful when you are in a hurry.
normally the "engine" unit they dont touch cause void warranty.. so speed should be the same, but the stations are required to do calibration to ensure exact amount of fuel are dispense..not sure if you are referring to the same. smile.gif
Bendot
post Mar 21 2022, 04:00 PM

46 posts

Before the introduction of Primax, i used shell. Have been using primax eversince its introduction by petronas as it gives more milage and no knocking sounds as when i used shell
chuan1961
post Mar 28 2022, 08:26 PM

335 posts

No, I was referring to the flow speed. So if what u say is correct, then the 'engines' are diff between the various brands then. Shell is the fastest from what I've experienced.

QUOTE(Jasther @ Mar 21 2022, 03:51 PM)
normally the "engine" unit they dont touch cause void warranty.. so speed should be the same, but the stations are required to do calibration to ensure exact amount of fuel are dispense..not sure if you are referring to the same. smile.gif
netmatrix
post Mar 28 2022, 08:56 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,735 posts

Driving 2008 Myvi and a 1975 Corolla.

On the old carburetor corolla, Petron does not cause any problems. But using Petronas or Shell does. The problem is not really about mileage. But rather the stronger cleaning agents inside Shell and Petronas. My corolla stalled 2 times in 2 years using either Shell or Petronas. Why did it stall? The fuel cleaned up rust form the fuel tank. This clogged up the fuel filter and fuel cannot get pumped to the carburetor.

On the Myvi however, it seems to give me a little bit more mileage. I was on Petron the last year and switched to Petronas few days ago again. But the mileage increase could probably be due to the service done to the throttle body back then. So no clear results here then. 😁
sanosizo
post Mar 28 2022, 09:13 PM

4,553 posts

I use petronas because got 8% rebate when using maybank petronas card. Every month I get back over rm30. Fuel consumption wise dunno because I never use other brand for my ertiga. With petronas I get at least 500km per full tank.
effectz
post Mar 28 2022, 09:45 PM

1,117 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Mar 28 2022, 09:13 PM)
I use petronas because got 8% rebate when using maybank petronas card. Every month I get back over rm30. Fuel consumption wise dunno because I never use other brand for my ertiga. With petronas I get at least 500km per full tank.
Problem is only on Fri and Sat.
sanosizo
post Mar 28 2022, 09:51 PM

4,553 posts

QUOTE(effectz @ Mar 28 2022, 09:45 PM)
Problem is only on Fri and Sat.
No issues for me because I always refill on Sat & Sun, that's the rebate days for my card.
maprocks
post Mar 28 2022, 10:05 PM

267 posts

Previously using Shell, switched to Petronas and now Petron.
In terms of mileage, Petron > Shell > Petronas. Not sure why, similar driving conditions though.
I'm now alternating between Shell and Petron. Usually will go for Petron, unless I'm too lazy to pay at counter or there are no Petron stations on my route, then will pump Shell with RFID instead.

This post has been edited by maprocks: Mar 28 2022, 10:05 PM

0.0282sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:09 PM