Moving to Penang. Any advice?, Balik Pulau, Penang

TSineonota P
post Mar 14 2022, 12:56 PM, updated 4y ago

Probation

Hey guys, I'm originally from PJ. My wife and I moved to Langkawi last year in Jan, right before the total lockdown started. We're now thinking of moving to Balik Pulau, Penang in the next couple months. We like quiet places, instead of busier areas like Georgetown or Batu Ferringhi.

Has anyone from outside moved to Penang? How was your experience like? I'm curious to know about house rental, lifestyle, living costs, moving about, activities/events, meeting people, etc. Especially in the area of Balik Pulau Penang.

Appreciate any tips or insights! Whether from Penang lang or outsiders now living in the quieter areas of Penang.
mini orchard
post Mar 14 2022, 01:10 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ineonota @ Mar 14 2022, 12:56 PM)
Hey guys, I'm originally from PJ. My wife and I moved to Langkawi last year in Jan, right before the total lockdown started. We're now thinking of moving to Balik Pulau, Penang in the next couple months. We like quiet places, instead of busier areas like Georgetown or Batu Ferringhi.

Has anyone from outside moved to Penang? How was your experience like? I'm curious to know about house rental, lifestyle, living costs, moving about, activities/events, meeting people, etc. Especially in the area of Balik Pulau Penang.

Appreciate any tips or insights! Whether from Penang lang or outsiders now living in the quieter areas of Penang.
Rental only, no big issue. Dont like, move again. That is the best part being a tenant.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Mar 14 2022, 01:10 PM
yungkit14
post Mar 14 2022, 01:11 PM

850 posts

our traffic here ,you need to jaga is during holiday season
house wise ,rental can be vary .
Food of course cheaper than KL

you are lucky that most events happening in gurney drive .
fattynoob
post Mar 14 2022, 01:16 PM

balik pulau is "ulu" place... but u can enjoy the durian farm or nutmet farm there and of course famous balik pulau laksa at there.
TSineonota P
post Mar 15 2022, 11:43 AM

Probation

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Mar 14 2022, 01:10 PM)
Rental only, no big issue. Dont like, move again. That is the best part being a tenant.
Very true! Definitely should rent first before buying
TSineonota P
post Mar 15 2022, 11:44 AM

Probation

QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Mar 14 2022, 01:11 PM)
our traffic here ,you need to jaga is during holiday season
house wise ,rental can be vary .
Food of course cheaper than KL

you are lucky that most events happening in gurney drive .
Ya la gotta avoid traffic during holiday time. Rental in Balik Pulau looks much cheaper than other more populated areas in Penang island
TSineonota P
post Mar 15 2022, 11:46 AM

Probation

QUOTE(fattynoob @ Mar 14 2022, 01:16 PM)
balik pulau is "ulu" place... but u can enjoy the durian farm or nutmet farm there and of course famous balik pulau laksa at there.
We don't mind "ulu" hehe. As long as its nice to live in, safe, good neighbourhoods and decent amenities (F&B, clinics, hospital, etc)
yungkit14
post Mar 15 2022, 11:52 AM

850 posts

QUOTE(ineonota @ Mar 15 2022, 11:46 AM)
We don't mind "ulu" hehe. As long as its nice to live in, safe, good neighbourhoods and decent amenities (F&B, clinics, hospital, etc)
balik pulau got perks and disadvantage
If lets say delivery food,usually hard to get ppl to deliver food for you in that area .
If you work in bayan lepas area ,not an issue

mpyw
post Mar 15 2022, 11:57 AM

3,603 posts

I am from Balik Pulau....will go back to retire when time comes....slow pace, greenery, nice neighborhood, friendly people, good food, near to beaches and hills....

not a good place to make money but a good one to live...
TSineonota P
post Mar 16 2022, 04:47 PM

Probation

QUOTE(yungkit14 @ Mar 15 2022, 11:52 AM)
balik pulau got perks and disadvantage
If lets say delivery food,usually hard to get ppl to deliver food for you in that area .
If you work in bayan lepas area ,not an issue
That's a good heads up. Lack of food delivery might be troublesome sometimes
TSineonota P
post Mar 16 2022, 04:49 PM

Probation

QUOTE(mpyw @ Mar 15 2022, 11:57 AM)
I am from Balik Pulau....will go back to retire when time comes....slow pace, greenery, nice neighborhood, friendly people, good food, near to beaches and hills....

not a good place to make money but a good one to live...
That sounds perfect. Those are the kind of things we look for where we live. We work remotely so we can stay pretty much anywhere
adamtayy
post Apr 1 2022, 07:20 PM

1,400 posts

Its durian season, every june / july of the year
Cheap durians, are avail around balik pulau township
mushigen
post Apr 2 2022, 11:57 PM

4,954 posts

The number 1 problem I am facing is the way Png people behave on the road, regardless of whether they're walking, riding or driving any vehicles. This is something I can never get used to and I don't know how I'll ever manage if I am retiring here.

alesi616
post Apr 4 2022, 09:55 AM

810 posts

Penang food is not cheap if compared to KL, this comment is coming from a lot local Penangites.

For example, in KL, rm10 get you a big portion mee. In Penang, is is rm5 (wow so cheap) but when the food served, you will see the portion is just half of what you get in KL.

So it is the same......unless you are small-eater (eat less) then it is perfectly fine.
ck2chan
post Apr 6 2022, 01:09 PM

2,145 posts

Do you work from home or need travel to work in Penang island?
If you do not travel to work, Balik Pulau suppose to be a nice place to stay.
Greenery, cool air, can see sea, sunrise, sunset, great food and durian.
Ulu place better than stuck in the island peak hour traffic jam.

I stayed Pulau Tikus before, it's ok years ago before all the new condo start to build up and traffic jam keep increasing. thumbup.gif brows.gif
Yeah, Penang people still more friendly than Klang Valley but the car and motorcycle rider can be very bull..... tongue.gif
hlprop
post Apr 6 2022, 02:30 PM

23 posts

best if u have motorbike, get to more places easily anytime anywhere in this island

0.0243sec    1.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:15 PM