Working in Singapore got EPF or not, I meant Malaysian

mushigen
post Mar 14 2022, 09:36 AM

4,954 posts

TS, what's the reason for this thread? If it's for post count, ok.

If it's to find info before you decide to work there, I suggest you reconsider your decision. A person who likes to be spoonfed (Google search will yield those answers to your questions) will not survive there.
mushigen
post Mar 17 2022, 10:10 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(TianJian @ Mar 16 2022, 03:18 PM)
LOL if want find room  , i help u , not even cost $1000 per month  doh.gif  doh.gif a single middle-size private room only cost around $600-700
What's private room?
mushigen
post Mar 17 2022, 10:15 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(TianJian @ Mar 17 2022, 10:10 AM)
private room mean u stay alone la for the whole room doh.gif  doh.gif
Diu....I thought you were referring to a room in a private property (condo, landed) laugh.gif

Never heard of this term. At most people say "rent whole room" mah.

mushigen
post Mar 17 2022, 10:18 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Mar 17 2022, 10:12 AM)
Better skip cpf and put into epf. Percentage return so low and i think withdrawal at agr 65
1. If you qualify for CPF, you cannot opt out unless you reject being a PR. If you intend to stay long, it's silly to reject being a PR.

2. With CPF, you'll have employer contribution which is quite a big sum.

3. CPF contribution is tax deductible.
mushigen
post Mar 17 2022, 10:35 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(TianJian @ Mar 17 2022, 10:32 AM)
u need let him know benefit of CPF also
No.2, 3 are the benefits mah.
mushigen
post Mar 17 2022, 10:43 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(TianJian @ Mar 17 2022, 10:38 AM)
inetrest... can use for other things also
The combined interest (even if you max out your SA balance) cannot fight EPF interest, something like 4.xx% nia.

If you're referring to buying shares or property, then yes those are other benefits of CPF.
mushigen
post Mar 17 2022, 10:47 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(TianJian @ Mar 17 2022, 10:45 AM)
but month housing loan can deduct from cpf , epf cannot
Indeed, this is also why home ownership is high there. But many will be asset rich cash poor because cpf is kosong.
mushigen
post Mar 17 2022, 12:08 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Mar 17 2022, 11:37 AM)
if u come from a poor state or ulu place, what's the point of putting epf?

going to Sgp in order to have a better life yet still holding back?

retire back to ulu place so that your next gen need to go thru that poor life again?  laugh.gif

Sgp is the easiest way out of msia, ego wont put food on your table.
I know of quite a few Malaysians (PR) who still harbour the thought of returning to Malaysia even though they are past 50 years old and their kids are born and bred there. They tell me, "nvm, I retire in Msia while the kids have their own lives in Singapore". As if things were so simple.
mushigen
post Mar 17 2022, 02:34 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Mar 17 2022, 02:28 PM)
Retires back to msia 2yrs then conlan7firmed back to sg after that lol

Sg is crowded, cant deny that but it gives u access to everything that u need.

Once back to msia, safety already become an issue lol
I too know at least 2 person who did this. Bought house and cars upon returning, then last2 decided to pack up and go again. I don't think they will ever try to return again.
mushigen
post Apr 9 2022, 10:20 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Apr 9 2022, 02:11 AM)
Their salary so high, if bring back here x 3.
And if necro a thread in Serious K with a general statement, get one post count.
mushigen
post Apr 20 2022, 09:31 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(NeohJing @ Apr 20 2022, 03:06 AM)
Heard that working in SG, the CPF self contribution is 20%, and government give 17%.
Is that true?
Just want to know the CPF can take out or not?
That's contributed by the employer, not gomen.

0.0234sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:01 AM