How to Setup TP Link M4 Mesh Wifi in 4 storey hous, How to Setup TP Link M4 Mesh Wifi

TSDeskihaoz
post Mar 13 2022, 11:36 PM, updated 4y ago

61 posts

Hi, Sifusss, Im new to mesh wifi stuff.

Recently moved in to 4 storey house so i bought 3packs of TP Link MEsh wifi M4 model.

Currently setup was using TIME 300mbps package and modem have to put at G floor as the fibred cable built into there.

Router im using the mesh wifi router FREE by TIME when i upgraded from 100mbps to 300mbps recently and place at 1st floor living hall.

For the 3 packs of M4 mesh, 1st M4 i set as main deco and plugged into router at 1st floor living hall there.

2nd deco i plugged at second floor small living hall and 3rd deco I put at top 3rd floor inside my master bedroom.

Currently speed was G floor around 20-30mbps, 1st floor can get full 300++mbps, 2nd floor can only get around 60-70mbps and last top 4th floor can only can like 40-50mbps.

Can I ask if these reading were normal for this kind of house and placements?

Or how can I improve 2nd and 3rd floor speed atleast can reach half of 300mbps which around 100-150mbps?

*I tried to move around the M4 deco packs within the floors as well but not much differents. doh.gif

Seeking advise from you guys! Thanks in advanced~ smile.gif
TSDeskihaoz
post Mar 14 2022, 09:38 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(WongGei @ Mar 14 2022, 07:15 AM)
WoW, 4 stories house...the number you get just tell you that the mesh wifi node is not enough. House in Malaysia are suprisingly harder for radio wave to travel and you just need more mesh than you think.

https://www.tp-link.com/my/compare/?typeId=...2C35792%2C35789

Current configuration obviously doesn't satisfy your requirements. Try look into getting a higher spec device like m5 or m9 and put it as the main deco

JFYI, I'm using 3 x D9 + 2 x D5 for house and the speed at my house drop  from 300mbps at the main deco to 100mbps at the deco furthest away.
Hi.. Thanks for your reply! And it was rented unit actually.. haha

And one more is I thought is to move my router from 1st floor to 2nd floor…but not sure why the wall ethernet powerpoint just not working as like the 1st floor one..cos mostly working area would be at 2nd floor.😔

Anyway, will take ur advise into consideration! Thanks 🙏🏿
TSDeskihaoz
post Mar 14 2022, 06:54 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Mar 14 2022, 02:14 PM)
First remove your Time router. Connect 1 unit of M4 to the modem and setup with Time PPPOE credential.
To connect 1 deco to another, better use wired connection as backhaul.
But honestly I think you need a more powerful deco like the M9 or X60 / X90.
Hi, Thanks for the reply! if i remove the router cable…wont the internet will disconnect at all?

Wired connection backhaul i wish can do oso.. but it will be long long long cable needed to connect each of the decos floor by floor. Lol

What mean like bought another M9 unit to connect at router as main deco right?

Thanks alot! 🙏🏿
TSDeskihaoz
post Mar 19 2022, 03:34 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(wc_how @ Mar 16 2022, 09:37 AM)
If you need full speed (or near to full), you must use backhaul or tri-band mesh. These are your only option.
Wifi is half duplex. Mean your 2nd node or satelite will be half of your first node best speed.
Practically in real life your best speed for 1st AC1200 node, about 650mbps. Your 2nd node will be 325mbps while your 3rd will be 162.5mbps. Since your best speed was 300m+. I see that is very normal.
Hi.. Thanks for your reply! Backhaul means connect all mesh nodes with cable right?

And for my 1st main node speed is 340mbps, 2nd node shld be around 100-150mbps am i right according ur explanation…? But i only got 60-70mbps for 2nd node. 😢

For 3rd node oso only get 30-40+ mbps as well

0.0508sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:54 PM