Is it worth buying fridge inverter vs non-inverter

pigduck
post Mar 4 2022, 01:36 AM

422 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 4 2022, 12:05 AM)
My average bill without AC was 240-270 a month (that's why cannot afford to use AC) all due to an old chest freezer (NON) makan electricity.
Dumped it for INV Hitachi SBS fridge (3800 coz wanted black), white was 3200
Bill nowadays 100-120 only. Steady je.

For price of the fridge alone I ROI under 3 years easily.
You're haunting me or I'm haunting you?

I'm looking for a fridge also. Maybe around the 450 to 500 litre size. I want to push the fridge on those pull out tracks so I can clean behind or access things if needed. This is because I found out my Sharp fridge drain pan corroded and it's been leaking. The last few months I kept thinking it was my washing machine. Maybe that's how they end the life span of the fridge. By having a corroded drain pan. Called Sharp and they don't sell my drain pan. I've patched up the drain pan for now but am looking to switch out the fridge. It is an eventuality.

My electricity bill is pretty high so it must be because of my fridge. I bet it's a non-inverter since it's so old. Do non-inverters eat more electricity as they age and do inverters keep a steady pace?

I agree that 24/7 appliances should be inverter but maybe not for air conds that are on for 8 hours a day. I wonder if ceiling fans really save money with DC motors?

I've been trying to figure out what's drinking electricity. My suspicion is the plasma tv too.
pigduck
post Mar 4 2022, 11:08 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 4 2022, 03:20 AM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

400-500L range..
Mitsu, Hitachi should have something for you in that region. I recommend the Hitachi (443L) R-VG490P8M dual cooling fan and super saving (5* ST). I use this personally, very quiet too.

Non-inverters especially >15 years old fridge tend to suck up more power. Even more when the door rubber seals have minute gaps.
Older fridges tend to lose efficiency after some time.
I was an inverter sales rep back in the days and almost all factories never say NO to inverters. Inverters wear out after 5-8 years of 24/7 production line usage brows.gif

AC does save at least 20-30% between non and INV models - standard test methodology by ST, whereby NON can never score better than 3* ST (for the better NONs) and inverters 4* to 5* ST.

Ceiling fan not worth spending on DC motors. 41W max vs 68W max. But DC motor easier to control the speeds so thats why you have 9 speed control in DC vs maybe 3-5 speeds in AC motor models.. having more finer "gearing" allows yuragi fx to variate the speed for the wind feels.

You can get a clamp meter and use process of elimination (turn on your appliances one by one) and see what causes high amp draw.
Thanks for the recommendation. I think I'll need to go to the shops to speak to the ppl. I have a Sharp that I'm supposing is NOT an inverter but it's capacity is 577l (net) and I don't see anything like that anymore for the same size or thereabouts. I like the Hitachi you recommended as it fits into the hole I have and that will leave me with a gap enough to put my fridge on a track. I've also shortlisted a Toshiba I think.

I think DC motors on fans save at least 60w? Aren't AC motor fans running at least 85w? And DC motors about 35w? I'm thinking of Alpha.

I'm now thinking of TVs and LEDs. My Plasma apparently runs at 385w!

Inverters wear out because of the boards. My Panasonic AC's capacitator blew out about 3 months ago and now the remote doesn't work very well and there was this leak that happened a couple of days ago. It's as if the AC just keeps having problems. What I didn't know while opening up the AC the other day was how much sweat / condensation happens when it's powered on. The drain hole is so small and the pan looks so small in comparison.

ACs that are non-inverter are normally set at a range where the compressor doesn't shut off e.g. 22 degrees and below. I'm guessing with an inverter, it's good for people who like it slightly warm but at a constant, say 25 degrees? I think 24 degrees is ideal temperature. 1 AC that we use every day right now is 2 stars (Daikin).

All the fridges are now inverter ones Haven't seen any non-inverters unless it's small ones?

I'm just wondering whether I'll see savings with all this appliances switch out. Probably not if these inverters die out after 7 years.

0.0182sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:51 AM