Is it worth buying fridge inverter vs non-inverter

darkterror15
post Mar 3 2022, 03:14 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(Vigilant @ Mar 3 2022, 03:04 PM)
An inverter will save electricity cause it will cut off the electricity usage when the temp is at desirable settings?

For A/C most of us will go for inverters.
is actually the opposite, non inverter will cut off the compressor or on until max, no in between.

inverter type will run at lower rpm and adjust to your fridge load to save electricity. so it will keep running continuously.
empire
post Mar 3 2022, 03:15 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Mar 3 2022, 03:11 PM)
so far ayam know, typical service is the same with non inverter but spare parts more expensive
Inverter parts are DOUBLE PRICE of non inverters. You dont wanna believe, go ahead :-) Dont say I didnt warn you.
Zot
post Mar 3 2022, 03:15 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(kingdomdemon @ Mar 3 2022, 03:05 PM)
fridge inverter : beli
fridge non inverter : jangan

aircond inverter : no
aircond non inverter : yesss, beli

24 hours power on items need inverter. other than that, sorry no
My air-cond even on during sleeping hour also reduced by about RM30 per month. tongue.gif
adren1
post Mar 3 2022, 03:16 PM

137 posts

5 stars
MeToo

9,338 posts

QUOTE(kingdomdemon @ Mar 3 2022, 03:05 PM)
fridge inverter : beli
fridge non inverter : jangan

aircond inverter : no
aircond non inverter : yesss, beli

24 hours power on items need inverter. other than that, sorry no
Problem is Aircon with all the new features (aka premium line) are all inverter.

For fridge, dont need invert or no invert, just look at the 5 Star energy rating and the energy consumption.. its written there
scorgio

4,695 posts

QUOTE(djandrew @ Mar 3 2022, 03:06 PM)
does inverter aircond have more hard time doing service than non inverter aircond? anyone can share some experience? or both the same in terms of maintainance ?
Servicing the same.

Inverter models the copper pipe spec different, so usually installation cost slightly higher.

Next, the key is the Inverter PCB, which is at the outdoor unit. This part warranty only 1 year. If unlucky got fried, then to replace is RM3-500 (last I heard).
desmond2020
post Mar 3 2022, 03:17 PM

911 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Mar 3 2022, 03:15 PM)
Inverter parts are DOUBLE PRICE of non inverters. You dont wanna believe, go ahead :-) Dont say I didnt warn you.
bruh expensive also okaylah, too bad can not find stock

bugima betul
TSLembu Goreng
post Mar 3 2022, 03:18 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 3 2022, 03:13 PM)
even 10 sen also saving.

Inverter one has at least 10 years warranty. Non-inverter usually much shorter as far as I can remember
at the very start, pay RM1k more dy to get inverter.

Then inverter parts are way more expensive

Zot
post Mar 3 2022, 03:22 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Mar 3 2022, 03:16 PM)
Servicing the same.

Inverter models the copper pipe spec different, so usually installation cost slightly higher.

Next, the key is the Inverter PCB, which is at the outdoor unit. This part warranty only 1 year. If unlucky got fried, then to replace is RM3-500 (last I heard).
The reason for different copper size has nothing to do with inverter/non-inverter. The difference in size are due to:
1) Different refrigerant use.
2) Different power. You can see the after 1.5hp, the pipe gets bigger if not mistaken.
desmond2020
post Mar 3 2022, 03:24 PM

911 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 3 2022, 03:22 PM)
The reason for different copper size has nothing to do with inverter/non-inverter. The difference in size are due to:
1) Different refrigerant use.
2) Different power. You can see the after 1.5hp, the pipe gets bigger if not mistaken.
If you really wanna harmess the benefit of inverter, you should size you inverter one step higher HP, for example if normal use 1 HP, inverter one should buy 1.5 HP
Zot
post Mar 3 2022, 03:28 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Mar 3 2022, 03:18 PM)
at the very start, pay RM1k more dy to get inverter.

Then inverter parts are way more expensive
Inverter part the difference is only the control board. The rest is the same. Well. In my experience using air-cond, never had any faulty board. The main problem is after years it's getting noisier because the rubber insulator deteriorate. The replacement rubber (usually 3 pieces) on my 1hp air-cond I bought only around RM8 and I replaced them less than an hour. Now it sounds like new again.

I think when I replace my old non-inverter one with new one, my electricity reduction is about RM25~30 perhaps. Probably part of it due to more efficient compressor? I don't know. I used air-cond only during sleeping hour
Rubypoyo
post Mar 3 2022, 03:28 PM

374 posts

Ayam bought new fridge from non inverter to inverter....
but ayam check electric bill mcm no different je
TSLembu Goreng
post Mar 3 2022, 03:29 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 3 2022, 03:28 PM)
Inverter part the difference is only the control board. The rest is the same. Well. In my experience using air-cond, never had any faulty board. The main problem is after years it's getting noisier because the rubber insulator deteriorate. The replacement rubber (usually 3 pieces) on my 1hp air-cond I bought only around RM8 and I replaced them less than an hour. Now it sounds like new again.

I think when I replace my old non-inverter one with new one, my electricity reduction is about RM25~30 perhaps. Probably part of it due to more efficient compressor? I don't know. I used air-cond only during sleeping hour
I ask about fridge, not air-cond

Zot
post Mar 3 2022, 03:30 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Mar 3 2022, 03:24 PM)
If you really wanna harmess the benefit of inverter, you should size you inverter one step higher HP, for example if normal use 1 HP, inverter one should buy 1.5 HP
No reason for that except you probably spend same amount like non-inverter one but get faster cooling smile.gif
Zot
post Mar 3 2022, 03:42 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Mar 3 2022, 03:29 PM)
I ask about fridge, not air-cond
Same concept because the inverter part is about how the compressor in controlled. Both fridge and air-cond same cooling method.

For fridge, if your fridge is not open/close too frequent i.e. less loss of coldness, you probably don't much difference in power usage. That I can say for sure. If many people use fridge like many children in house laugh.gif then inverter is good. The non-inverter use of electricity is more because the compressor is shut off totally once the temp is reached. The current surge during each re-start of compressor makes it high power in use. The non-inverter one compressor cycle between full power on and totally off. The inverter one keeps compressor running but use less power when it is already cold. That is the difference.
TSLembu Goreng
post Mar 3 2022, 03:44 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Mar 3 2022, 03:42 PM)
Same concept because the inverter part is about how the compressor in controlled. Both fridge and air-cond same cooling method.

For fridge, if your fridge is not open/close too frequent i.e. less loss of coldness, you probably don't much difference in power usage. That I can say for sure. If many people use fridge like many children in house  laugh.gif  then inverter is good. The non-inverter use of electricity is more because the compressor is shut off totally once the temp is reached. The current surge during each re-start of compressor makes it high power in use. The non-inverter one compressor cycle between full power on and totally off. The inverter one keeps compressor running but use less power when it is already cold. That is the difference.
Actually not same. I’m quite clear about AC.

I want to know about fridge, so best to discuss fridge

genesiscopy
post Mar 3 2022, 10:58 PM

37 posts

I have a question about inverter fridge as well, does it save if they have this so called dual zone thingy, one focus on freezer only one for chiller part. Or is it just marketing ploy?

Is the same as dual inverter or different thing? Or am I just confused?
cempedaklife
post Mar 3 2022, 11:05 PM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

all i can say is i upgrade the size of the fridge by 100%, expecting electric bill to increase, turns out, still same, in fact maybe cheaper.
iamSUSUman
post Mar 3 2022, 11:12 PM

Inverter save electricity especially for long hour usage.
Fridge u open 24/7, so yes, it's the best optimization of inverter technology in home appliances.

Buy inverter.
Now u can discuss what brand u should buy
TSLembu Goreng
post Mar 3 2022, 11:14 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(iamSUSUman @ Mar 3 2022, 11:12 PM)
Inverter save electricity especially for long hour usage.
Fridge u open 24/7, so yes, it's the best optimization of inverter technology in home appliances.

Buy inverter.
Now u can discuss what brand u should buy
Really worth the extra 1k meh?

How many years electricity savings to recoup the 1k?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0299sec    1.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:04 PM