QUOTE(achong09 @ Feb 21 2022, 08:45 AM)
Currently i am using the TPlink Archer C1200 router provided by Unifi TM. My Internet package is 500Mpbs upgraded via turbo upgrade from Unifi.
So far dont feel like speed is 500Mbps... done a speed test using cable ( cat 5e) got around 300+mpbs download speed roughly.. sometimes 200+Mbps download speed. if test using wifi got around 120 to 130 Mbps download speed....
Call up TM log a support case mention that Internet slow, technical come over within 3 hours ( good service) and told him i suspect modem cannot support 500Mbps request for a change, i dont mind to pay... he say this modem can support up to 800Mbps ( not sure he con me or not

) and then did a speed test using his laptop get around 400+ mbps or even 500Mbps using his laptop + his cable ( he using cat 6 cable). I told him how come test use my laptop is lower but test use his is higher speed? he tipu ka? he set something on his laptop to boost speed ka? he also help me enable ipv6 but i still dont see any diff...he refuse to answer me..

wah lau.. so overall he say speed fast what what to complain.. is ur laptop and cable problem la... wah lau

so he left and close the case..
so my question is, is this the case always? also do i need to change a new modem to enjoy good speed? I was in my relative house during CNY.. his internet speed is 500Mbps also but dem super fast... use my mobile play game load super fast.. compare to my home i dont feel the speed... also i saw his modem is huawei type ( the white color) he say tm give him when he subsribe it yrs ago... hmm...
That router supports the 2x2 antenna configuration. It can go up to 867 Mbps theoretically but with bandwidth setting of 80MHz channel. With big channel like this, you probably will encounter interference from your neighbor. Usually I would use 20MHz channel not only you have more channel to avoid interference but also will have better sensitivity and stronger signal. So, for this router can go up to 173Mbps with 20MHz and 2x2 antenna using 256 QAM modulation. Anyway, I think most likely the phone and laptop will have only 2x2 antenna too. So, the only way to get higher speed is to have 1024-QAM modulation.
The speed of your connection depends on both router and client side. If you have fast router but slower laptop, the speed will follow the lower speed device. Since you use LAN cable also slow, it probably that at certain time of day, there are too many people sharing the same node and it your node is very crowded, then the speed also probably can drop to half.
My home connection also do drop down to 250Mbps especially at night where most people at home

. I do get around 480Mbps from time to time. Few years ago, I can get close to max speed any time. Probably during that time not many people on the same node.