Ask me Anything, 10 years in Recruitment (KL & SG)

Kelangketerusa
post Feb 28 2022, 05:37 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(Perspective2021 @ Feb 23 2022, 10:26 PM)
Hi, do you know about Human Resources Development Fund (HRDF)?
Can employee request to utilize the fund for training purpose?
You will have to go through your company for it. HRDF fee is paid by your company for purpose of trainings, so I guess to talk to your HR and see how to claim it.

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Feb 24 2022, 04:32 PM)
Hello TS, thanks for sharing.

I am currently working as a data scientist in a major international bank with multiple past job experience (last one parent company is china largest e-commerce as well as some regional tech startups).

On a week to week basis, I have been receiving PMs from recruiters on LinkedIn - unfortunately none of those recruiter are offering what I’m looking for. (I got multiple recruiter from bytedance but I’m trying to avoid going back to china 996 culture)

I’ve been mass applying for roles in FAANG (primarily SG office) over the years but didn’t get any feedback from their internal recruiter. I have also took the initiative to private message some recruiter/internal staff from their companies but most of them ended up asking me to apply via their career site. I suspect the biggest invisible wall is the need to obtain working visa for Malaysian, which is becoming harder than ever due to Covid and Singapore change of policy.

Personally, I’m quite confident I have the technical skill set (and the soft skills) to score the interview for roles I have applied for, but I’m having trouble getting any interview to begin with. Do you have any advice on what can I do to improve my odds on scoring an interview with these companies?

Seeing your reply to some forumer earlier to drop you their CV for you to pass to your ex-colleague - Do you mind taking in my CV if it helps?
That's because FAANGs in SG are more front office / marketing side, so they hire very little engineers or roles of it. Most of them would either be based in India or Silicone Valley, which is why you don't get traction there or the recruiters don't respond.

Kelangketerusa
post Feb 28 2022, 06:37 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Feb 28 2022, 06:27 PM)
It’s a shame really. I am having a hard time finding company that have great data infrastructure which in turn can enable me to grow further on my career path but I’m hitting this wall at this point.

Most of the companies within Malaysia just doesn’t have that kind of backend infra to cultivate this kind of job.
It's a growing field, certainly. Most startup here have pretty basic data infra (some data scientist still only have excel to work off from), but consider it another way, because its so new, that is where you have an opportunity to stamp your mark on it.

For FAANGs, a lot of them rely on internal referrals via other employees, so you would do well to go contribute to areas where you can get visibility, like opensource forums, start a blog about data science, contribute to sites like stackoverflow or where ever data scientist contribute to.

I used to help in hiring for software engineers, and most of them got in because they already have a good rapport with the current heads / colleagues, other than some that came in with very niche skills or languages.
Kelangketerusa
post Mar 6 2022, 09:10 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(peerlessmonarch @ Mar 4 2022, 11:49 PM)
Actuarial Science student breaking into investment bank here

I've had an internship so far in a small firm with a CEO that has quite a name in the industry

During my last year I may go for big/prestigious names like Creador, Aberdeen or just the big banks like CIMB/Maybank and etc

Any idea what other companies like those PE firms like Creador or names like Aberdeen that isn't well-known to go for?

Also, what do they want to see in interns and maybe perhaps even fresh grads?

Another thing, kinda pai seh to ask for salary as fresh grad, but companies will use it as a benchmark when you jump, so im stuck on this too haha

Thanks for your advice and time sifus, unkers and senpais
Tbh, internship means nothing much when we are doing hiring. Most of our hires are either internal referrals from employees in IB, or those that impressed during road shows and those coming from MT programmes.

Don't worry too much about fresh graduate salary given you haven't even secure your first job.

I don't think Credor or Aberdeen is considered top tier here, given their relatively small presence locally plus, they have lesser openings for hire. Big banks is bit hard just that's partly because the usual overseas grads or top local grads then to opt to join them and they can offer a more competitive salary.

Kelangketerusa
post Mar 22 2022, 04:38 PM

109 posts

This post has been edited by Kelangketerusa: Apr 4 2022, 03:58 PM

0.0277sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:52 AM