Ask me Anything, 10 years in Recruitment (KL & SG)

TSmimikw
post Feb 24 2022, 10:12 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Bossku_Johor @ Feb 24 2022, 10:33 AM)
Got vacancy or not??
Hiiiiii Sorry boss, I'm here to offer input and share key learnings in the industry but not a job placer.
If you're super desperate, you can PM me your CV and I can help forward to my ex-colleague (in agency) but no promises!! rclxms.gif
TSmimikw
post Feb 24 2022, 10:18 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Perspective2021 @ Feb 23 2022, 11:26 PM)
Hi, do you know about Human Resources Development Fund (HRDF)?
Can employee request to utilize the fund for training purpose?
Hi - I'm sorry I honestly do not know. I only know companies pay a levy and they can claim training expenses from HRDF. Process wise differs from companies.

Probably a common misconception in Malaysia; Recruiters = HR.
Recruiters are not involved in HR policies actually - We are specialist in Talent Acquisition. For bigger companies, there are several HR pillars ; Recruitment, Comp & Benefits, Organisational Development/Employee Branding/Engagement, L&D - So I'm not a Jack of all trades smile.gif

This post has been edited by mimikw: Feb 24 2022, 10:19 AM
TSmimikw
post Feb 24 2022, 10:31 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Feb 21 2022, 05:16 PM)
Have you contacted back the recruiter and asked for a status update? I have spoken to a person who headed up a recruitment firm and she specifically told me that in the market, the candidate should be the one to get back to the recruiter with a simple follow up. Again its not an excuse with their behaviour or work ethics. At the end of the day, personally I see this is as a dog-eat-dog environment and results come to those who take action.
I just saw this post. Can't deny it's an overly competitive market out there but I beg to differ on your friend's statement. This may be controversial; many recruitment firms think clients are more important because they are the source of $$$ but I strongly believe candidates are equally as/if not more important because they're your "product"; without product, you cannot make a sale.

Clients only come to you because you have good candidates so I firmly believe in offering the best possible service to your candidates. What makes the candidates choose your agency over 1000 other agencies? It's the personal touch. If they like you (esp senior candidates), they will work exclusively with you (nobody wants their CVs to be in the hand of 10 recruiters)

Even if s/he might not be a good fit for this role now, this candidate could be GOLD for your next role in your next 10 years career as a Recruiter. Happens to me in soooo many instances where I reject them (politely) but stayed in touch and eventually place them somewhere else the following years.
So yeah, as a Manager who manages a team in an agency before, I always have my team to close off any ongoing candidates when a role is closed. No such thing as leaving them hanging after speaking to them smile.gif

This post has been edited by mimikw: Feb 24 2022, 09:08 PM
TSmimikw
post Feb 24 2022, 09:12 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(filage @ Feb 24 2022, 12:55 PM)
What sort of resume format do local recruiters normally favor?
For me, something that can be copied and paste easily cos during my agency days, we have specific template for our clients so it looks neater/more professional. Those with weird tables/graphs so are hard to work with.

The usual. Work experience, education experience from your most recent role (top) to least recent (bottom).
TSmimikw
post Feb 24 2022, 09:29 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(amboi_asamboi @ Feb 24 2022, 02:51 PM)
What are the most important things u look for in CV?

In what order please?
1. Companies & Roles (the bigger the names, the easier to place!) - sorry this is true in many cases.
2. Career trajectory (the best resume showcases trajectory - a tell-tale sign of a solid performer. We like to see how a candidate get promoted from role A to role B to role C through the years not a job hopper. If you hop one time too many, do state reason for places you stayed for less than a year.
3. Key achievements - this is an area where most candidates got wrong. Many list down their job description instead of achievements. I do not need to know what a Sales Manager/Solution Architect JD is - I know at the back of my hand and I probably look at 50 CVs of candidates doing the same job.
What sets the resume apart is your achievements; and they have to be specific/measurable. "Achieved cost saving within the Logistic services department by 20% within the first 12 months by implementing xxxx" "Successfully reduced XXX consumption from xx% to xx% YoY" "Overachieved Sales target at 130% every consecutive quarter in 2018 and was awarded as the Top Sales Employee company wide".
4. Only applicable for grad level roles - Education background/internships

Can I also add...
One thing I don't really care.
Master's/MBA - honestly it's not THAT important. I rarely, rarely ever get any hiring managers asking for Master's Degree holders (I'm referring to all Junior Executives, Managerial, Senior Managerial, Directorial roles). PhD? (Never ever). They're probably useful in a certain way but EXPERIENCE over EDUCATION, anytime. So yeah save your money!!!

This post has been edited by mimikw: Feb 24 2022, 09:31 PM
TSmimikw
post Feb 24 2022, 09:54 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Good Day @ Feb 24 2022, 05:46 PM)
How about energy industry?

Besides searching for jobs through Linkedin, company's websites, recruitment agencies likes Michael Page, Hays and etc, what is the best way to find another role in another energy company?

I even drop emails to recruiters in recruitment agency, but to no avail.
Sorry, I do not have much experience in this industry honestly.

1. If job boards/agencies are not working out, how about getting referrals from your own network? Do you guys have any networking events/groups/? Get introduced by someone gets you to the door.

2. Who are your Top 5 direct competitors and Top 5 indirect competitors? Search for their Recruiters on LI and PM them? They'd likely want you but you may want to request for their secrecy when handling your CV as the circle is small.
TSmimikw
post Feb 24 2022, 09:55 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Feb 24 2022, 10:31 PM)
why does hr professionals still asking for payslip
Already replied this question a few times along the way. In summary, company's policy smile.gif
TSmimikw
post Feb 25 2022, 05:18 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(amboi_asamboi @ Feb 25 2022, 01:12 PM)
YEAY!!!

I was having sleepless nights thinking about forking out the MBA costs haha

Thanks. These are really valuable insights, and makes sense too smile.gif
I guess really depends on roles? Maybe it's helpful in research/academics? For all Commercial and Corporate roles I've worked on before - Masters Degree is always only a good to have, never a requirement.
TSmimikw
post Mar 4 2022, 11:36 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Feb 28 2022, 05:02 PM)
Just curious, around how many % of IT firm able to offer >10k for developer in Malaysia?
Seems like that's not many option left if hit 5 figures range?
Yesss. Not only Malaysia; many international companies are offer >10K fully remote roles for full stack dev.
there is a global shortage for software engineers.

TSmimikw
post Mar 4 2022, 11:39 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Feb 28 2022, 11:17 PM)
I’ve tried applying Meta, Google, Apple, Twitter and Amazon. Netflix have very limited DS role in SG. Unfortunately none of them gotten back to me.

I’m also currently trying to apply to some other MNC within SG to kickstart the move to SG first, which will then make the next step easier as compared to jump directly from Malaysia.

I guess a referral really makes the most difference here.
FAANG - check out Blind for fully remote jobs. plenty of them but you need to master Leetcode (correct me if 'm wrong?) My company has a dedicated Recruiting team in Singapore hunting for SWE in SEA to ship over to California under H1B visa as SWE are soooo expensive to hire in Silicon Valley.
TSmimikw
post Mar 4 2022, 11:46 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(Maple66 @ Mar 2 2022, 01:09 AM)
Any recommendations?

Some brief background about me:-

1. 2+ years in auditing
2. Accounting degree in local U
3. With ACCA

Should I continue with my current job to get the title as a certified accountant (need to have at least 3years of experience), or should I try out in other places? i.e. commercial firm

Quite stressful currently đŸ˜¶
Really depends on what you're looking for - I can't really advise what's the best career move if I do not know you well enough. If you want to move out of audit, leave as a AM? It gives you better choices out there. An auditor with 4 YoE can practically go anywhere and still get hired.

If you're looking at monetary gains, I'd go for the FP&A/Financial Planning route vs Accounting. Most accounting roles are now taken over by COE in Cyber and can be pretty mundane.
TSmimikw
post Mar 7 2022, 09:24 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 4 2022, 01:27 PM)
Hi there, thanks for your willingness to share.

Can I seek your kind indulgence in sharing:

1. What made of the better CVs? How do you consider one's CV as good or bad?

2. Is asking for a sign-on bonus practice common in the Malaysian landscape?

Edit: Sorry, didn't go through the entire thread and not sure if this has been asked before. I will read it up if it has been posted before.
Yeah of course there are CVs that are better written than some, especially those who highlight their key achievements and show good career trajectory.

Sign-on bonus is more common for senior hires, but this usually need an additional layer of approval - When you ask for it, be sure to justify it with a reason (could be missing out on upcoming bonus/promotion/increment).
TSmimikw
post Mar 7 2022, 09:29 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(HumbleBF @ Mar 5 2022, 12:45 AM)
Hi, thank you so much for opening this. I have a few question on mind and am wondering whether I am in the right direction, and how do I compare with peers around my age and those who are in my industry?

I am 26 years this year, currently just got an increment to RM3.3k. started with RM3k and worked for almost 2 years in this company.

However, I just got head hunted of an offer of around RM 4.1k, with health benefits that is 8x better than my previous company.

The role I am in is the finance field (invoice processing etc.).

I am looking to advance in to an Analyst(Credit/Data) role in the future, thought of getting myself certified with Tableau first. Will this assist in better opportunities in the future?

Really appreciate it your time!

Thanks!
Congratulations on your new role!
Upskilling is always a good thing, whether it is to stay with your current role or to move to a new role. But do note, it's always easier to move field at a junior level where companies are more open to take a bet on the hire/train vs moving at a later stage. Python/SQL is also a good skill for Analyst type of roles.
TSmimikw
post Mar 7 2022, 09:38 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(SkyCaptain @ Mar 5 2022, 01:50 AM)
Do you know why recruiters approach and speak to candidates on LinkedIn and immediately want to gauge the candidates interest on the vacancy without first even sharing job descriptions?
Many reasons! My best guess is they want to keep the job confidential/exclusive (especially if they're from an agency). If the candidate is not interested, why bother sharing the job with them and have them share around within the industry so a competing agency can pick the role up and send their own candidates to the clients. For candidates. it may seem to be a job application process, to an agency recruiter - every job/candidate is business.

When I was a Recruiter in my agency days, I do not share the company/role upfront before I know for sure the candidate is looking for a, say Production Manager in the Automotive/Robotics industry because candidates tend to speculate. Sometimes, these roles are not advertised and are given to me exclusively by my client so there's abit of kiasuness there. So yeah, how I'd do it is - speak to candidates to gauge interest first, and share if only they're open to know more.

This post has been edited by mimikw: Mar 7 2022, 09:38 AM
TSmimikw
post Mar 7 2022, 09:49 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(peerlessmonarch @ Mar 5 2022, 12:49 AM)
Actuarial Science student breaking into investment bank here

I've had an internship so far in a small firm with a CEO that has quite a name in the industry

During my last year I may go for big/prestigious names like Creador, Aberdeen or just the big banks like CIMB/Maybank and etc

Any idea what other companies like those PE firms like Creador or names like Aberdeen that isn't well-known to go for?

Also, what do they want to see in interns and maybe perhaps even fresh grads?

Another thing, kinda pai seh to ask for salary as fresh grad, but companies will use it as a benchmark when you jump, so im stuck on this too haha

Thanks for your advice and time sifus, unkers and senpais
Ditto on the other reply to this post -

I'm not very familiar with IB scene but I know hiring managers are a BIG YES on internal referrals 99% of the time. If you have someone to vouch for you, you're pretty much set on landing a role. Don't bother with your starting pay too much, focus on the first couple of years, learn and master the trade. When you have experience, competitors will be banging on your door next smile.gif

For grads, your education background + internship will possibly land you an interview but it all depends on how you impress the interviewer to get that job.
TSmimikw
post Mar 15 2022, 04:20 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Mar 14 2022, 12:00 AM)
so the calculation goes on this way:

eg I got offered a 10k MYR job which makes it 120k annually

20% comm - 24k MYR

so recruiter take 10% cut from the comm of 24k -- rm2.4k??

I know that the commission are paid in phases until the candidate has passed probation, is it true?

what happens if the candidate resigns or couldn't pass probation? agency can't receive full commission then?
Hi, yes your calculation is correct. The average/target billing per recruiter is RM50K a month (back at my agency) so about 5K commission but I hit 80- 100K pretty consistently so commission can be pretty solid. We get it upfront (bigger agencies).
If the candidate resigns/didn't pass probation, the client will still have to pay for the fee but they will get a free replacement candidate within the guarantee period (usually 3-6months) - we never sign 6 months though
TSmimikw
post Mar 15 2022, 04:25 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Mar 12 2022, 02:24 AM)
Want to ask, do you normally sign the offer letter with another company before you tender or after you tender?

And let’s say after you sign the offer and your current company counter offers you, how does it work since you already signed the offer with the other company ?
AGREE with the other reply to this post. Always sign before you tender. Nothing is set in stone until you SEE and SIGN an actual employment contract.

And never accept a counter offer, it's not very ethical honestly smile.gif
TSmimikw
post Mar 15 2022, 04:32 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Mar 11 2022, 06:54 PM)
Why all headhunter ask so many info but failed to get a new job despite say "not an issue; since you fit most of the job description" ... Every year ask salary this and that but empty hope TT.TT
Recruiters (at least the better ones) love getting as much details possible to ensure the right role fit for you/client. Imagine a real estate agent who wants to know the buyer's preference on location, budget, size, etc etc etc. the more they know about you, the better they can match your expectation right?

On why they fail to get you a new job - the market is simply very competitive, you can be good but they're many better candidates too in the market. The only way is to skill up, gain better experiences, involve in interesting projects, furnish your CV, do interview preps, do mock interviews, up your game to compete. Only you can help yourself here tongue.gif

There are many jobs out there but all companies are competing for the top 20% of the available talent pool; likewise there are many job seekers out there but everyone is applying to the top 20% available jobs in the market.

This post has been edited by mimikw: Mar 15 2022, 04:33 PM
TSmimikw
post Mar 16 2022, 12:12 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Noice @ Mar 15 2022, 05:42 PM)
Hi TS! I'm from Sarawak and am interested to apply for some IT field jobs in KL and eventually relocating to KL. (I got 10 months of work exp only, currently freelancing)

Do you think it's a good idea to put my current address in my resume? Something like "willing to relocate" or it's better not to show it?

Do you think it's possible for someone fresh like me to apply for jobs especially out of state?

Many thanks, sifu!
Hi, you don't have to show it if you don't want to though there's technically nothing wrong about an out of town address too. For your situation, if you are applying to KL jobs, they will automatically assume you'd be in KL for the role so the more important thing to note down is your notice period/how soon can you start. Eg: 2 weeks/4 weeks?
TSmimikw
post Mar 16 2022, 12:39 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(forever14yay @ Mar 15 2022, 09:57 PM)
I wanna become a recruiter. Tried to apply two recruitment agency and they called me for phone interview. But seems like they think I should research more about recruitment field. I really did a lot of research about that. May I know how should I pass the first round of phone interview in order to get a job as a recruitment consultant?
A good recruitment consultant is very similar to a good sales person.
They'll assess your communication skills, confidence, EQ, drive & hustle and ability to build relationships with stakeholders. The common misconception is Recruiting is more HR; it's actually more Sales than HR. Consultative selling is the key. From my experience, depending on the size of the firm, candidates that presents themselves well are always the preferred lot.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0390sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:31 AM