Tenant Didnt pay electric bill

TSgenjo
post Feb 17 2022, 08:57 AM, updated 4y ago

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

this is my first time renting out my apartment.

Currently the tenant already accumulated 2 months bill and havent pay yet.

If i am you , what will u do ?

Also actually how long didnt pay they will cut the electric and how much to reinstall back ?
nebula87
post Feb 17 2022, 08:59 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

Inform your tenant saying the unpaid electrical bills will deduct from the deposit.
TSgenjo
post Feb 17 2022, 09:00 AM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Feb 17 2022, 08:59 AM)
Inform your tenant saying the unpaid electrical bills will deduct from the deposit.
how long u waited before u deduct ?
Zot
post Feb 17 2022, 09:01 AM

7,938 posts

Should have let them connect electricity under their name. Anyway if under your name you can ask TNB to cut power anytime, right?
nebula87
post Feb 17 2022, 09:02 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Feb 17 2022, 09:00 AM)
how long u waited before u deduct ?
Like your situation now, 2 months of unpaid bills.
TSgenjo
post Feb 17 2022, 09:03 AM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 17 2022, 09:01 AM)
Should have let them connect electricity under their name. Anyway if under your name you can ask TNB to cut power anytime, right?
ya i can ask tnb to cut.

but just wonder what is the "standard" wait time or wait until tnb come cut ?

if tnb come cut, what is the penalty ?
max_cavalera
post Feb 17 2022, 09:04 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Feb 17 2022, 09:57 AM)

Also actually how long didnt pay they will cut the electric and how much to reinstall back ?
Why dont u just whatsapp them and screenshot the unpaid bill?

Sometimes they forget. Sometimes they too busy.

Also be mindful to msg them with a casual hey bro i notice u havent pay the tnb bill yet. Dont forget to pay and forward the receipt to me once done ya.

Just treat them with respect. Im sure they would pay it once rhey receive the msg
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 09:06 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Feb 17 2022, 08:59 AM)
Once you allow or start this way, he will also do the same for rental.

Utilities deposit are only meant to cover for final bill when TA expires.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 17 2022, 09:06 AM
max_cavalera
post Feb 17 2022, 09:06 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Feb 17 2022, 09:57 AM)

To make it easier for them to monitor and make payment. I would suggest them to install the tnb apps and add your tnb account no as tenants. They can easily monitor the bills and make pymt thr by fpx.

Even air selangor is also can be done.
nebula87
post Feb 17 2022, 09:08 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 09:06 AM)
Once you allow or start this way, he will also do the same for rental.

Utilities deposit are only meant to cover for final bill when TA expires.
Deposit is for owner backup right?

If he do the same for rental then you can kick him out already.

mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 09:09 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Feb 17 2022, 09:08 AM)
Deposit is for owner backup right?

If he do the same for rental then you can kick him out already.
Why want to teach tenant. Just remind him to pay.
sykz
post Feb 17 2022, 09:11 AM

346 posts

2±1 deposit?

Ask them to pay balance if not kick out.

After they pay, drag them go TNB change their name as tenant. Future liability will be under them even they run away.

TSgenjo
post Feb 17 2022, 09:11 AM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 17 2022, 09:04 AM)

Also be mindful to msg them with a casual hey bro i notice u havent pay the tnb bill yet. Dont forget to pay and forward the receipt to me once done ya.

Just treat them with respect. Im sure they would pay it once rhey receive the msg
already did many times.
Zot
post Feb 17 2022, 09:13 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Feb 17 2022, 09:03 AM)
ya i can ask tnb to cut.

If terminated because not paying, yes penalty involved but not sure if you requested to terminate service.

Talk to tenant and probably transfer the utility bill under tenant name. Here is your guide

https://blog.portalhartanah.com/tukar-nama-...l-elektrik-tnb/
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 09:15 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(sykz @ Feb 17 2022, 09:11 AM)
2±1 deposit?

After they pay, drag them go TNB change their name as tenant. Future liability will be under them even they run away.
Doesnt matter tenant account or owner. As long bill not paid and supply cut, no future elect reconnection.
nebula87
post Feb 17 2022, 09:16 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 09:09 AM)
Why want to teach tenant. Just remind him to pay.
Sometimes when you met some bad tenant, don't bother to teach.

They purposely want to drag the payment.

But if the contract both of you signed have the TnC written clearly, then he and you know what is the consequences of not paying the bills/rental.
sykz
post Feb 17 2022, 09:17 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 10:15 AM)
Doesnt matter tenant account or owner. As long bill not paid and supply cut, no future elect reconnection.
Then they give us option to change to tenant for what? Reconnection able to do but need to pay. I believed changing to tenant help truly helps instead the bill stick to your name. Currently TNB made it easier to do changing name to tenant.

mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 09:18 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Feb 17 2022, 09:16 AM)
Sometimes when you met some bad tenant, don't bother to teach.

They purposely want to drag the payment.

But if the contract both of you signed have the TnC written clearly, then he and you know what is the consequences of not paying the bills/rental.
If tenant worried about consequences, he wont delay or default.

mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 09:19 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(sykz @ Feb 17 2022, 09:17 AM)
Then they give us option to change to tenant for what? Reconnection able to do but need to pay. I believed changing to tenant help truly helps instead the bill stick to your name. Currently TNB made it easier to do changing name to tenant.
This topic has been discuss many times in Serious Kopitiam.

No payment, no supply ...

Search for old thread.
nebula87
post Feb 17 2022, 09:20 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 09:18 AM)
If tenant worried about consequences, he wont delay or default.
Haha. You haven't met worst biggrin.gif
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 09:22 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Feb 17 2022, 09:20 AM)
Haha. You haven't met worst biggrin.gif
That why I do homestay ..4 years oredi.

nebula87
post Feb 17 2022, 09:23 AM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 09:22 AM)
That why I do homestay ..4 years oredi.
Ya, that's why.

But Homestay will its own issue too.
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 09:25 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Feb 17 2022, 09:23 AM)
Ya, that's why.

But Homestay will its own issue too.
One or 2 nights, not much can be done.

Afterall Airbnb have insurance cover for host.
prdkancil
post Feb 17 2022, 09:27 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(sykz @ Feb 17 2022, 09:17 AM)
Reconnection cant be done on the same address/unit even wiv different tnb acc name . Change to tenant name might prevent u hv bad report in ctos ccris.
lalakiki
post Feb 17 2022, 09:28 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Feb 17 2022, 08:57 AM)

if every month just below then RM 20 - 40.... i think 7 month aso wont cut....
last time my house just that amount... 7 month still not yet cut...
annoymous1234
post Feb 17 2022, 09:30 AM

7,617 posts

I won't change name if I were u. This gives me a leverage. If they don't pay, I have the authority to ask tnb to cut. As simple as that.

Also if u don't want so much headache in the future, get insurance like speedhome

This post has been edited by annoymous1234: Feb 17 2022, 09:33 AM
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 09:30 AM

14,511 posts

sykz
post Feb 17 2022, 09:34 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Feb 17 2022, 10:27 AM)
Reconnection cant be done on the same address/unit even wiv different tnb acc name . Change to tenant name might prevent u hv bad report in ctos ccris.
What the fk. Bit bullshit then. At least safe from CTOS/CCRIS.
Strike Eureka
post Feb 17 2022, 09:36 AM

128 posts

Tell and remind him to pay or risk eviction, deposit are never meant to be deducted, as it's your final trump card as collateral.
Later deducted, he move out you also another headache
SUSMr Mercedes
post Feb 17 2022, 09:41 AM

424 posts

1. Forfeit the utilities deposit AND securities deposit (non payment of utilities is a breach of tenancy terms and gives landlord the right to forfeit securities deposit, in most instances)
2. Terminate tenancy agreement with immediate effect
3. Sue tenant in court for double rental (in the event he refuses to shift out) AND recovery of outstanding utilities (assuming your deposit is insufficient to cover the arreas).

This post has been edited by Mr Mercedes: Feb 17 2022, 09:41 AM
TSgenjo
post Feb 17 2022, 09:42 AM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

QUOTE(Strike Eureka @ Feb 17 2022, 09:36 AM)
Tell and remind him to pay or risk eviction, deposit are never meant to be deducted, as it's your final trump card as collateral.
Later deducted, he move out you also another headache
This i agree.
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 09:45 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(sykz @ Feb 17 2022, 09:34 AM)
Tnb only want money. Doesnt matter who pays or whose account.
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 09:54 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Feb 17 2022, 09:41 AM)
1. Forfeit the utilities deposit AND securities deposit (non payment of utilities is a breach of tenancy terms and gives landlord the right to forfeit securities deposit, in most instances)
3. Sue tenant in court for double rental (in the event he refuses to shift out) AND recovery of outstanding utilities (assuming your deposit is insufficient to cover the arreas).
Many tenants are like nomad. Is not easy to issue them legal documents.
poweredbydiscuz
post Feb 17 2022, 09:59 AM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Feb 17 2022, 09:41 AM)
Are you a landlord? Have you sue your tenant before? What's the outcome?
ycs
post Feb 17 2022, 10:07 AM

4,234 posts

give them 2 weeks to settle bill if not, get tnb to cut letrik
Lim Wee Huat
post Feb 17 2022, 10:09 AM

262 posts

Not being to pay utility bills ON TIME is already an early sign.. A sign of something worse is coming.
estcin
post Feb 17 2022, 10:09 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Feb 17 2022, 09:11 AM)
already did many times.
time to ask TNB to cut
SUSAccord2018
post Feb 17 2022, 10:11 AM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 09:54 AM)
Many tenants are like nomad. Is not easy to issue them legal documents.
sue them very time consuming, just cut the electricity then they will pay immediately.
CoffeeDude
post Feb 17 2022, 10:24 AM

1,609 posts

already did many times.
If whatsapp does not work, then call the tenant.

If call also does not work, then need to have face to face talk.
trendey222
post Feb 17 2022, 10:26 AM

use deposit. deduct from there.

need to collect 3 payments before renting out.

1 for first month rental fee.
1 for deposit bills
1 for deposit if anything broken.
chupapi_munyayo
post Feb 17 2022, 11:08 AM

398 posts

tumpang asking

apartment/condo
management or service fee, sinking fund all pay by landlord or tenant
let say around rm250
poweredbydiscuz
post Feb 17 2022, 11:10 AM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(chupapi_munyayo @ Feb 17 2022, 11:08 AM)
tumpang asking

apartment/condo
let say around rm250
Landlord.
chupapi_munyayo
post Feb 17 2022, 11:14 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Feb 17 2022, 11:10 AM)
Landlord.
used to rent when i was a student
students paid the mgmt fee and sinking fund
not a lot because it divided by 8-10 students
Singh_Kalan
post Feb 17 2022, 11:15 AM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Feb 17 2022, 09:03 AM)
ya i can ask tnb to cut.

Standard time is never.
Next time do a CTOS check on potential tenant. Below 500 marks, forget it.

This post has been edited by Singh_Kalan: Feb 17 2022, 11:18 AM
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 11:43 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(chupapi_munyayo @ Feb 17 2022, 11:08 AM)
tumpang asking

apartment/condo
let say around rm250
Service fee is 'enjoyment' of facilities ... tenant

Singking Fund is repair and upkeep (wear and tear) ... landlord

Landlord should include service fee in the rent.
MrBaba
post Feb 17 2022, 11:55 AM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Feb 17 2022, 09:02 AM)
Like your situation now, 2 months of unpaid bills.
Saw a news say tnb now can let u change owner name to tenant name but still can check how much bill hutang and take action before become huge bill..
etan26
post Feb 17 2022, 12:09 PM

323 posts

2±1 deposit?

You are wrong, TNB will still black list the unit until full payment when they can't find the tenant.
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 17 2022, 12:11 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,310 posts

has anyone of you ask management to bar assess card when tenant did not pay up ?

I am thinking of asking management to do so. owe me 3 months already. This renting business really headache. Next time really need to screen tenant before agreeing to rent.

BTW, how do we do a CTOS check?
WebDpot
post Feb 17 2022, 12:19 PM

1,026 posts

Depend on the bill amount, anyway ask them to pay bill online
Lembu Goreng
post Feb 17 2022, 12:24 PM

1,129 posts

already did many times.
And what was their reply?

Azzqech
post Feb 17 2022, 12:27 PM

530 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Feb 17 2022, 12:11 PM)
has anyone of you ask management to bar assess card when tenant did not pay up ?

I am thinking of asking management to do so. owe me 3 months already. This renting business really headache. Next time really need to screen tenant before agreeing to rent.

I don't think management will get involved with landlord's rent collection problem. However if you stop paying the service fee mgmt may bar access card on their own. But if tenant go and pay the service fee you are back to square one.

SUSBrookLes
post Feb 17 2022, 12:33 PM

1,354 posts

So appreciate if you get good Tennant. Dun be so demanding.
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 12:33 PM

14,511 posts

As owner, one can request to suspend access card without having to give reason.

Only owner can authorised reactivation.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 17 2022, 12:48 PM
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 17 2022, 12:34 PM

4,310 posts

QUOTE(Azzqech @ Feb 17 2022, 12:27 PM)
I don't think management will get involved with landlord's rent collection problem. However if you stop paying the service fee mgmt  may bar access card on their own. But if tenant go and pay the service fee you are back to square one.
she hasn't paid the water bill for 1 year with accumulated amount of about RM400.

I think that gives the management the excuse to bar assess card.

I am asking her to move out, but due to MCO, and well some compassion on my part, her payment is very late, she pays yes but just very slow.

Probably a good idea to ask management to bar her access card, until she settles the water bill.
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 17 2022, 12:37 PM

4,310 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 12:33 PM)
As owner, one can request to suspense access card without having to give reason.

Only owner can authorised reactivation.
Alright, it's just... as a human being, sometimes I wish i don't have to resort to this but... real world sometimes don't work that way..

The previous tenant is good, paid up on time, and if there was delay he will tell me as courtesy.

This current one, if you don't remind her, she diam diam will delay... giving all sorts of excuse.

but... at least she pays... for the last 4 years... but the experience was unpleasant, having need to chase the rent ...
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 12:43 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Feb 17 2022, 12:37 PM)
Alright, it's just... as a human being, sometimes I wish i don't have to resort to this but... real world sometimes don't work that way..

The previous tenant is good, paid up on time, and if there was delay he will tell me as courtesy.

This current one, if you don't remind her, she diam diam will delay... giving all sorts of excuse.

but... at least she pays... for the last 4 years... but the experience was unpleasant, having need to chase the rent ...
I suggest to have a discussion face to face to sort out. If she is in financial difficulty, give up the tenant. Ask her to find a cheaper place.

As landlord, I am not prepare to chase for the next few years, albeit she is paying ... but not on time always.
poooky
post Feb 17 2022, 01:06 PM

844 posts

tnb will auto cut after around 3 months no payment. even after payment it may take a day or two before power js restored.

I experienced before, came home to no power, took ice cold shower then slept without fan in the heat. not fun.
TSgenjo
post Feb 17 2022, 01:09 PM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Feb 17 2022, 12:09 PM)
You are wrong, TNB will still black list the unit until full payment when they can't find the tenant.
for real ?
Chrono-Trigger
post Feb 17 2022, 01:10 PM

4,310 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 12:43 PM)
I suggest to have a discussion face to face to sort out. If she is in financial difficulty, give up the tenant. Ask her to find a cheaper place.

As landlord, I am not prepare to chase for the next few years, albeit she is paying ... but not on time always.
yea, had a chat with her, she is moving out soon in May. It was a very unpleasant 3 years of renting the place to her.

Next time I really want to screen tenant, certain stereotypes are true, sadly.
sykz
post Feb 17 2022, 01:10 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Feb 17 2022, 01:09 PM)
Let me clarify with TNB as this make no sense.

SUSMr Mercedes
post Feb 17 2022, 01:32 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Feb 17 2022, 09:59 AM)
Are you a landlord? Have you sue your tenant before? What's the outcome?
Lets just say that I'm in the business of suing and being sued.

In general, Landlords usually have a strong case against a tenant, PROVIDED that the terms of the tenancy agreement are clear, precise and free from ambiguity.

the Landlord only needs to prove that there is a breach of the terms under the tenancy agreement to be entitled to any remedy/compensation/damages under the Tenancy Agreement.

Landlord usually wins in such disputes, unless the landlord himself has not adhered to/complied with the provisions under the tenancy agreements.
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 01:45 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Feb 17 2022, 01:32 PM)
Lets just say that I'm in the business of suing and being sued.

In general, Landlords usually have a strong case against a tenant, PROVIDED that the terms of the tenancy agreement are clear, precise and free from ambiguity.

the Landlord only needs to prove that there is a breach of the terms under the tenancy agreement to be entitled to any remedy/compensation/damages under the Tenancy Agreement.

Landlord usually wins in such disputes, unless the landlord himself has not adhered to/complied with the provisions under the tenancy agreements.
Would you proceed to sue if the tenant owes 2 to 3 months after minus tbe security deposits ?

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 17 2022, 01:45 PM
SUSMr Mercedes
post Feb 17 2022, 01:55 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 01:45 PM)
Would you proceed to sue if the tenant owes 2 to 3 months after minus tbe security deposits ?
You need to consider a few factors:
1. Is the tenant still refusing to shift out?
2. the possibility of recovery of the outstanding tnb bills even if you win the case and obtain a Judgement in your favour.
3. If you win the case, are Execution proceedings feasible? (Seizure and Sale, Garnishee, Judgement Debtor Summons, Committal, Bankruptcy)
4. What is your lawyer charging you? Does it exceed the outstanding utility bills?

etan26
post Feb 17 2022, 01:57 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Feb 17 2022, 01:09 PM)
for real ?
This was discussed before in this forum.
etan26
post Feb 17 2022, 01:59 PM

323 posts

Remember those Bitcoin mining cases, in the end the owner were still liable for it.
melt
post Feb 17 2022, 02:07 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Feb 17 2022, 01:06 PM)
tnb will auto cut after around 3 months no payment. even after payment it may take a day or two before power js restored.

I experienced before, came home to no power, took ice cold shower then slept without fan in the heat. not fun.
only if your outstanding more than your deposit. I saw a few more than 3 months and yet still have electricity
taitianhin
post Feb 17 2022, 02:15 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

you hv collected utilities deposit right?
That should enough to cover. TNB deposit usually RM300-RM500++

anyway, a good will, ask to to pay and said you receive notice to cut power.
Usually when deposit drained, a notice will serve. if is not drained, would takes 3-4 mths for tnb to react
SUSAccord2018
post Feb 17 2022, 02:21 PM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Feb 17 2022, 01:55 PM)
You need to consider a few factors:
1. Is the tenant still refusing to shift out?
2. the possibility of recovery of the outstanding tnb bills even if you win the case and obtain a Judgement in your favour.
3. If you win the case, are Execution proceedings feasible? (Seizure and Sale, Garnishee, Judgement Debtor Summons, Committal, Bankruptcy)
4. What is your lawyer charging you? Does it exceed the outstanding utility bills?
these are just typical theories. unless the amount is 40-50k then only worth the time/money to sue them in court. no one will sue just because did not pay utilities for a few months. If it's bitcoin mining 70k, then that's another story already.
lopo90
post Feb 17 2022, 02:54 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 17 2022, 09:04 AM)

Why should the landlord be the one to prompt the tenants.

Isn't it tenant responsibility to do the necessary without being ask hmm.gif
SUSMr Mercedes
post Feb 17 2022, 03:01 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Feb 17 2022, 02:21 PM)
these are just typical theories. unless the amount is 40-50k then only worth the time/money to sue them in court. no one will sue just because did not pay utilities for a few months. If it's bitcoin mining 70k, then that's another story already.
Like i mentioned.

Would the cost of legal proceedings for the recovery exceed the value of the total unpaid bills?

If yes, then it is not worth it, all things considered.
SUSbananajoe
post Feb 17 2022, 03:16 PM

PhotoPhag
661 posts

You should add tenant as separate billing with tnb
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 03:25 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Feb 17 2022, 03:01 PM)
Like i mentioned.

Would the cost of legal proceedings for the recovery exceed the value of the total unpaid bills?

If yes, then it is not worth it, all things considered.
The important criteria of all is whether the defaulted tenant has the ability to pay after judgement.

If bankruptcy is the ultimate end, then proceed at whatever cost.
annoymous1234
post Feb 17 2022, 03:29 PM

7,617 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Feb 17 2022, 12:34 PM)
she hasn't paid the water bill for 1 year with accumulated amount of about RM400.

I think that gives the management the excuse to bar assess card.

I am asking her to move out, but due to MCO, and well some compassion on my part, her payment is very late, she pays yes but just very slow.

Probably a good idea to ask management to bar her access card, until she settles the water bill.
Why did u wait till RM400 only take action? If second month didn't pay u should already took action. If future u csn try those insurance company like speedhome, instahome, blue duck, etc..

This post has been edited by annoymous1234: Feb 17 2022, 03:29 PM
SUSMr Mercedes
post Feb 17 2022, 03:29 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 03:25 PM)
The important criteria of all is whether the defaulted tenant has the ability to pay after judgement.

If bankruptcy is the ultimate end, then proceed at whatever cost.
There are some folks would rather be bankrupt than pay their debt.

Another issue is that, would the minimum debt threshold for bankruptcy be met?
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 03:34 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Feb 17 2022, 03:29 PM)

Agreed.

That why to sue without getting the money is like paying good money to chase bad.

Unless one know tenants profile, one has to consider seriously whether is worth the journey.

No point wining in paper judgement.
SUSAccord2018
post Feb 17 2022, 03:49 PM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Feb 17 2022, 03:29 PM)

Nola, the judge can let your tenant to choose to pay a lump sum or by installment one. If after that he no pay you, then you apply send him to prison for up to 6 weeks. You see he faster sells everything to pay you or not.
Mikeshashimi
post Feb 17 2022, 03:53 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

Just FYI, potong electric is illegal
SUSMr Mercedes
post Feb 17 2022, 03:59 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Feb 17 2022, 03:49 PM)
the judge can let your tenant to choose to pay a lump sum or by installment one.
The judge decides on what is pleaded in the Landlord's claim, which generally would be the full lump sum payment. It is not a choice on the part of the Tenant.

Debt incurred by the Landlord is immediately payable upon service of judgement on the Tenant.

Payment in installments would only be relevant if parties enter a consent judgement/execute a settlement agreement agreeing to a installment payment manner, where the quantum and date would be spelt out clearly.

SUSAccord2018
post Feb 17 2022, 04:02 PM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Feb 17 2022, 03:59 PM)
The judge decides on what is pleaded in the Landlord's claim, which generally would be the full lump sum payment. It is not a choice on the part of the Tenant.

Debt incurred by the Landlord is immediately payable upon service of judgement on the Tenant.

Payment in installments would only be relevant if parties enter a consent judgement/execute a settlement agreement agreeing to a installment payment manner, where the quantum and date would be spelt out clearly.
Read back your previous situation first la, you said they were not willing to pay rather bankrupt.. When they don't want to pay, the judge has the discretion to allow for installment. So minimum debt threshold for bankruptcy be met or not is not relevant.

This post has been edited by Accord2018: Feb 17 2022, 04:04 PM
cempedaklife
post Feb 17 2022, 04:05 PM

Master Decoy
4,359 posts

tough luck mate.

my ex-tenant, no pay several months still can use electricity and no late charges.
me in central kl? late a bit dah ada extra fee.
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 04:08 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Feb 17 2022, 03:49 PM)
Nola, the judge can let your tenant to choose to pay a lump sum or by installment one. If after that he no pay you, then you apply send him to prison for up to 6 weeks. You see he faster sells everything to pay you or not.
QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Feb 17 2022, 03:59 PM)

Normally, tenants wont appear for court cases unless he has a 50/50 of winning.

Even if can pay, he will wait for enforcement of judgement...similar to last minute withdrawal of auction cases.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 17 2022, 04:08 PM
SUSMr Mercedes
post Feb 17 2022, 04:09 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Feb 17 2022, 04:02 PM)
the judge has the discretion to allow for installment.
Judge will decide to allow or dismiss the Landlord's claim.

If the landlord pleads for a lump sum payment, the judge can only decide to either:

1.allow in full the Landlord's claim
2 allow in part, the Landlord's claim
3. dismiss the claim entirely.

Unless of course, for whatever reason, the Landlord pleads for an installment on his claim, then the judge may decide on that.

SUSAccord2018
post Feb 17 2022, 04:16 PM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Feb 17 2022, 04:09 PM)
Judge will decide to allow or dismiss the Landlord's claim.

If the landlord pleads for a lump sum payment, the judge can only decide to either:

1.allow in full  the Landlord's claim
2 allow in part, the Landlord's claim
3. dismiss the claim entirely.

Unless of course, for whatever reason, the Landlord pleads for an installment on his claim, then the judge may decide on that.
nola. under s4(6)(b) DA 1957 judge can let him choose for installment
SUSMr Mercedes
post Feb 17 2022, 04:22 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Feb 17 2022, 04:16 PM)
nola. under s4(6)(b) DA 1957 judge can let him choose for installment
Debtors Act?

That is only applicable if the Landlord decides to file JDS proceedings.

SUSAccord2018
post Feb 17 2022, 04:23 PM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(Mr Mercedes @ Feb 17 2022, 04:22 PM)
Debtors Act?

That is only applicable if the Landlord decides to file JDS proceedings.
you said they don't want to pay what. doh.gif
sykz
post Feb 17 2022, 04:36 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 10:15 AM)
QUOTE(sykz @ Feb 17 2022, 10:17 AM)
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 10:19 AM)
This topic has been discuss many times in Serious Kopitiam.

No payment, no supply ...

Search for old thread.
QUOTE(prdkancil @ Feb 17 2022, 10:27 AM)
QUOTE(sykz @ Feb 17 2022, 10:34 AM)
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 10:45 AM)
Tnb only want money. Doesnt matter who pays or whose account.
QUOTE(etan26 @ Feb 17 2022, 01:09 PM)
This is the reply from TNB careline.

In the case that mini orchard presented, the amount might be to big to be ignored by TNB as the owner didn't bother to check the money owed on monthly basis. TNB apps already existed more than 3 years ago, that's how I check as it's ease me.

For smaller amount case, I believed the changing name and reconnection should be no issue.

This post has been edited by sykz: Feb 17 2022, 04:43 PM

SUSMr Mercedes
post Feb 17 2022, 04:40 PM

424 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Feb 17 2022, 04:23 PM)
you said they don't want to pay what.  doh.gif
Yeap. The Landlord can opt for JDS, WSS, Garnishee proceedings if they wish to recover the lump sum debt.

mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 04:42 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(sykz @ Feb 17 2022, 04:36 PM)

In the case that mini orchard presented, the amount might be to big to be ignored by TNB as the owner didn't bother to check the money owed on money basis. TNB apps already existed more than 3 years ago, that's how I check as it's ease me.

For smaller amount case, I believed the changing name and reconnection should be no issue.
If the amount is small, most landlord would just pay off for reconnection.

Even if allowed under special cases, also need higher authority approval and take time unless landlord dont mind vacant period. Is similar to writing off 'bad debts'

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 17 2022, 04:51 PM
SUSAccord2018
post Feb 17 2022, 05:03 PM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(sykz @ Feb 17 2022, 04:36 PM)

In the case that mini orchard presented, the amount might be to big to be ignored by TNB as the owner didn't bother to check the money owed on monthly basis. TNB apps already existed more than 3 years ago, that's how I check as it's ease me.

smaller amount sure they let it. if bit coin mining 50k , are you sure tnb lets you to apply a new account?
sykz
post Feb 17 2022, 05:26 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Feb 17 2022, 06:03 PM)
smaller amount sure they let it. if bit coin mining 50k , are you sure tnb lets you to apply a new account?
Thank you for your deviation of subject and to put TS case in context to make it interesting, does the amount owed amounted as per your example or applicable to him as what I suggested?

Will not reply further. I already suggested solutions and provided info for clear clarification from TNB on the blacklisting and reconnection issue. Purpose of my reply is to help him. Not to nitpicking for the sake of it. I'm done here.
SUSAccord2018
post Feb 17 2022, 05:31 PM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 09:30 AM)
QUOTE(sykz @ Feb 17 2022, 05:26 PM)
Thank you for your deviation of subject and to put TS case in context to make it interesting, does the amount owed amounted as per your example or applicable to him as what I suggested?

Will not reply further. I already suggested solutions and provided info for clear clarification from TNB on the blacklisting and reconnection issue. Purpose of my reply is to help him. Not to nitpicking for the sake of it. I'm done here.
Nope, it is based on real-life happening that someone else has failed to get reconnected. It is important not to mislead others to think can easily change names and get reconnected especially if the amount is large ya.

This post has been edited by Accord2018: Feb 17 2022, 05:34 PM
Jasther
post Feb 17 2022, 05:34 PM

u can terminate the TNB under your name and ask them to register their own. so if they dont pay it's under their name. when they quit, then their responsibility to cancel it also.
tomato people

Tomato fan
1,733 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 17 2022, 09:01 AM)
This i sokong

This post has been edited by tomato people: Feb 17 2022, 05:35 PM
contagiouseddie

308 posts

It all start with a small tiny hill. Then it starts to grow bigger and bigger if left unchecked. Had 2 tenant electric bill 7.5K & water 2.5K, the other electric 3K and water 1K. Both also lari at the end. Always put their name and not ours as the account. Michael Chong selalu cakap, don't put your own name ar!!! Saw one of his press conference with a 700K electric bill before.
mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 05:35 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(sykz @ Feb 17 2022, 05:26 PM)

TS issue is not about tenant having an account.

Is still in his name and he has to pay up no matter the amount outstanding and deduct from the utilities deposit.

mini orchard
post Feb 17 2022, 05:42 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Jasther @ Feb 17 2022, 05:34 PM)
u can terminate the TNB under your name and ask them to register their own. so if they dont pay it's under their name. when they quit, then their responsibility to cancel it also.
If tenant dont cancel and how many do that if they have outstanding more than the deposit ?

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Feb 17 2022, 05:34 PM)
It all start with a small tiny hill. Then it starts to grow bigger and bigger if left unchecked. Had 2 tenant electric bill 7.5K & water 2.5K, the other electric 3K and water 1K. Both also lari at the end. Always put their name and not ours as the account. Michael Chong selalu cakap, don't put your own name ar!!! Saw one of his press conference with a 700K electric bill before.
If tenant pay up, no issue for landlord.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 17 2022, 05:46 PM
Singh_Kalan
post Feb 17 2022, 06:48 PM

2,033 posts

Malaysia is a pro tenant nation. If tenant choose to default, landlord will surely at the losing end. Laws are to protect the tenant and f the landlord. Thus doing some due diligent before agree to rent out is a must nowadays.

- ask the tenant to list out all the occupant name and ic
- do a ctos check on all of them. Below certain mark, then better be careful
mini orchard
post Feb 18 2022, 07:04 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Feb 17 2022, 06:48 PM)
Malaysia is a pro tenant nation.  If tenant choose to default, landlord will surely at the losing end. Laws are to protect the tenant and f the landlord. Thus doing some due diligent before agree to rent out is a must nowadays.

There is nothing special about tenancy dealing.

It is similar to any business dealings in credit terms. If debtors or borrowers default, one has to go through legal means to collect.

For the illegal, people like Ahlong also cannot escape such borrowers.

At least there is a consolation in tenancy where landlords can collect deposits. Most businesses dont have such term in credit sales.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 18 2022, 07:38 AM
Zot
post Feb 18 2022, 08:05 AM

7,938 posts

Malaysia is a pro tenant nation.  If tenant choose to default, landlord will surely at the losing end. Laws are to protect the tenant and f the landlord. Thus doing some due diligent before agree to rent out is a must nowadays.

As I mentioned in previous post, you can go to TNB and change the utility name under tenant name so that your name will not be blacklisted due to situation like this.
poweredbydiscuz
post Feb 18 2022, 08:12 AM

3,835 posts

You want people to give you the whole family's name and ic to you before tenancy is confirmed? Don't be naive.
nihility
post Feb 18 2022, 08:32 AM

1,596 posts

Normally this is what I'm going to do:

1) Forward the TNB's invoice to the tenant as the soft reminder.

2) Unpaid second month, forward subsequent month invoice with reminder + formal letter from owner notifying breach of TA condition for not paying the utilities billing. This is the beginning step to build up the case against the tenant.

3) I'll forward an of TNB message notifying that there will be electricity cut by what date. Any disconnection & reconnection fees to be by borne by tenant - they will usually freak out on this. Usually after this message is out, within 1 or 2 days, the bill will be cleared. *

* you pandai-pandai la buat TNB mesaj if you don't have that standard reply from TNB.

mini orchard
post Feb 18 2022, 10:44 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Feb 18 2022, 08:32 AM)
Normally this is what I'm going to do:

1) Forward the TNB's invoice to the tenant as the soft reminder.

2) Unpaid second month, forward subsequent month invoice with reminder + formal letter from owner notifying breach of TA condition for not paying the utilities billing. This is the beginning step to build up the case against the tenant.

3) I'll forward an of TNB message notifying that there will be electricity cut by what date. Any disconnection & reconnection fees to be by borne by tenant - they will usually freak out on this. Usually after this message is out, within 1 or 2 days, the bill will be cleared. *

* you pandai-pandai la buat TNB mesaj if you don't have that standard reply from TNB.
As landlord, why need to go to that extend. You have the right to remind the tenant about the outstanding since is your name.

If tenant know landlord is monitoring, he will be serious in settling the outstanding. Otherwise, kick him out when TA due
motion_sickness
post Feb 18 2022, 11:51 AM

86 posts

hi, i usually paid my bills once every 3 month or so

cos my monthly bills to cheap to pay monthly (rm<30)

usually i wait until it become 100 or so, baru syiok

sometimes you'll encounter gila tenant like me, doesnt mean i cant pay

edit : of cos i wont let it accumulated more than my electricity deposit. that is just wrong

This post has been edited by motion_sickness: Feb 18 2022, 11:54 AM
nihility
post Feb 18 2022, 01:32 PM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 18 2022, 10:44 AM)
As landlord, why need to go to that extend. You have the right to remind the tenant about the outstanding since is your name.

If tenant know landlord is monitoring, he will be serious in settling the outstanding. Otherwise, kick him out when TA due
I don't see any extreme move by doing it. If the TNB's power cutting notification SMS is genuine one, as the landlord, your are in the opinion that the owner should just keep quiet & let the TNB to proceed to cut the power & let the tenant suffer the damages on the spoiled goods in their refrigerator? I'm more inclined to inform.

If the tenant are repeating same behavior after that even though landlord didn't receive the TNB notification, I'll extend the fabricated TNB's message ( change the AC number , date, address , etc) to discipline their utility payment behavior. The fabricated SMS didn't inflict ay cost or damages but gives the desire outcome.

This post has been edited by nihility: Feb 18 2022, 01:58 PM
Manuk1188
post Feb 18 2022, 01:50 PM

257 posts

sounds odd ? doesn't pay TNB but ontime paying rental ? odd memang odd
KennyKB
post Feb 18 2022, 02:08 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(Manuk1188 @ Feb 18 2022, 01:50 PM)
sounds odd ? doesn't pay TNB but ontime paying rental ? odd memang odd
Not odd but very common. When you stop paying TNB, TNB can take a very long time to cut your supply. Sometimes 6 -12 months.
JonSpark
post Feb 18 2022, 02:22 PM

ai shiteru
4,894 posts

Download the TnB app to monitor the usage and get PDF copy of the bill every month, forward the bill thru WhatsApp or whatever means both of you use to communicate.

2 out of 4 of my tenants are slow in paying both rent and utilities, gotta spam them every week (written messages for future references in case needed in court case).

These fuckheads are epitome of machauhei.
mini orchard
post Feb 18 2022, 03:26 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Feb 18 2022, 01:32 PM)
I don't see any extreme move by doing it. If the TNB's power cutting notification SMS is genuine one, as the landlord, your are in the opinion that the owner should just keep quiet & let the TNB to proceed to cut the power & let the tenant suffer the damages on the spoiled goods in their refrigerator? I'm more inclined to inform.

If the tenant are repeating same behavior after that even though landlord didn't receive the TNB notification, I'll extend the fabricated TNB's message ( change the AC number , date, address , etc) to discipline their utility payment behavior. The fabricated SMS didn't inflict ay cost or damages but gives the desire outcome.
I wait for the fabricated sms b4 payment. If no sms means no cut lor.

If landlord no call monthly, no need pay rental ... same also. Have to fabricate sms .... lol.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 18 2022, 03:35 PM
nihility
post Feb 18 2022, 03:50 PM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 18 2022, 03:26 PM)
I wait for the fabricated sms b4 payment. If no sms means no cut lor.

If landlord no call monthly, no need pay rental ... same also. Have to fabricate sms ....  lol.
Only need to do for the TNB one. So far it is working fine by borrowing knife (TNB) to discipline the previous tenants.

The rental part, if they don't pay within the time frame, they will get letter from me. After I served 3 notices on the breach of the TA condition, I'll ask them to vacate my unit. So far haven't go until that extend. Normally after 1 formal notice, they will start to behave.
nihility
post Feb 18 2022, 03:50 PM

1,596 posts

double post - deleted

This post has been edited by nihility: Feb 18 2022, 03:50 PM
Singh_Kalan
post Feb 19 2022, 10:39 AM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Feb 18 2022, 03:50 PM)
Only need to do for the TNB one. So far it is working fine by borrowing knife (TNB) to discipline the previous tenants.

The rental part, if they don't pay within the time frame, they will get letter from me. After I served 3 notices on the breach of the TA condition, I'll ask them to vacate my unit. So far haven't go until that extend. Normally after 1 formal notice, they will start to behave.
That only works with tenant with conscience. If u meet with tenant from hell, your letter is as good as toilet paper. In residential home with meter inside the porch, TNB will never cut the supply for u. I got a friend with bad tenant, begging TNB to cut the supply for 7-8 month w accumulated bill >RM4k. Their reply, can t cut because gate is locked and no one inside.
nihility
post Feb 19 2022, 11:58 AM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Feb 19 2022, 10:39 AM)
That only works with tenant with conscience. If u meet with tenant from hell, your letter is as good as toilet paper.  In residential home with meter inside the porch, TNB will never cut the supply for u.  I got a friend with bad tenant, begging TNB to cut the supply for 7-8 month w accumulated bill >RM4k.  Their reply, can t cut because gate is locked and no one inside.
Luckily I haven't meet one & hopefully do not have to meet any of this kind. I still got tricks in my sleeve if the letter is not working, hopefully there is no need to go until that extend.

For the TNB meter inside the porch, spend some money to relocate the meter to the position outside of the porch. All the new developments, the TNB's requirement is to have the meter located outside the porch to prevent this issue.

SomaCruz89
post Feb 19 2022, 04:56 PM

289 posts

Meanwhile, it has been 3 weeks since we moved out and the owner hasn't return the 2 months deposit despite she agreed to do so after 15th Feb...
yehlai
post Jul 4 2024, 09:02 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

2±1 deposit?

If cut electric and water will affect the house?

Pro and Cons
Pro is don't need to worry the bill
Cons is when tenant not pay rent.. landlord cannot cut electric + water
yehlai
post Jul 4 2024, 09:04 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Feb 17 2022, 09:15 AM)
Thats what I think
Don't think change account to tennant is a solution at all

Unless the outstanding bill amount can transfer to tennant own property account then different story

This post has been edited by yehlai: Jul 4 2024, 09:56 AM
sykz
post Jul 4 2024, 12:57 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jul 4 2024, 10:02 AM)
If cut electric and water will affect the house?

Pro and Cons
Pro is don't need to worry the bill
Cons is when tenant not pay rent.. landlord cannot cut electric + water
Break down your cons further

Loss of rent + electricity
Or
Loss of rent only

If tenant pandai keep paying electricity then won't have cut but then action is up to you on the rent part.

Being a landlord it's not easy money ya.
yehlai
post Jul 4 2024, 01:08 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(sykz @ Jul 4 2024, 12:57 PM)
Break down your cons further

Loss of rent + electricity
Or
Loss of rent only

If tenant pandai keep paying electricity then won't have cut but then action is up to you on the rent part.

Being a landlord it's not easy money ya.
If unable to cut electric
tennant stay 6 months or yrs easily cost more than electric bill

2 months no pay I cut alrdy
SUSifourtos
post Jul 4 2024, 01:13 PM

2,256 posts

i love landlords.
You headache all the problem while i am protected by laws.

buy house, home loan blah blah blah.

I tired of your place, i move next slot...
LaiN87
post Jul 4 2024, 06:16 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,321 posts

When rent out the house, the best way is transfer ownership of TNB to the tenant then if have any due, will find them instead of you. If they curi electric will find them.

Easy to transfer just give copy of tenancy agreement.
Singh_Kalan
post Jul 5 2024, 03:40 PM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Jul 4 2024, 06:16 PM)
When rent out the house, the best way is transfer ownership of TNB to the tenant then if have any due, will find them instead of you. If they curi electric will find them.

Easy to transfer just give copy of tenancy agreement.
It's already highlighted many times its flaw.
Yes TNB will look for the tenant.... BUT
If the bill under the tenants name is not settled, TNB won't connect back the supply to that affected property. End up, landlord will have to settle it.

This post has been edited by Singh_Kalan: Jul 5 2024, 03:41 PM

0.0525sec    1.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:45 PM