3,580 posts

i don't like 3 pots too
they don't last long at all before started having problems
MR_alien
post Feb 16 2022, 07:31 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Feb 16 2022, 07:05 AM)
why care so much about 3 cylinders and 4 cylinders. For me the value and the design/utilities i care the most.

Btw, im driving x50 and loving it.
trying come back here and comment after 5 years
see if there is any problems or weird noises
i can guarantee u that u will say u have

mine is japanese car somemore and i also have...they don't last long at all
meanwhile my proton saga 14 years old soon, no such noises rclxub.gif

TLDR : 4 cylinder > 3 pot anytime
MR_alien
post Feb 16 2022, 09:19 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Feb 16 2022, 08:20 AM)
Another worry about the x50 and x70 is the DCT

How well will it stand after 5 years or 10 years of Malaysia famous traffic jam
actually there are 3 things that owners should be worried about in the X50/X70
which is the reason why i won't recommend anyone to buy

the 3 pot engine, the turbochargers and the DCT

the same goes to perodua and other manufacturer as well(not just proton)
MR_alien
post Feb 16 2022, 10:38 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Feb 16 2022, 10:30 AM)
Turbo charging has been around quite long and should be reliable right

Still can see Evo 3 and many older WRX

saying this cos I kinda like the new Civic FE
reliable or not is 1 thing
but almost no owner service the turbo

yes, turbo need servicing too and manufacturer do not provide such service
which leads to turbo failure

think of the turbo as another engine, another wear and tear, another part of the car that requires your maintenance and your care
which means another money burning parts laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Feb 16 2022, 10:41 AM
MR_alien
post Feb 16 2022, 10:40 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Feb 16 2022, 10:37 AM)
i guess majority 3 cyl will have the balancing stuff..

but but but, why they back to 4cyl  tongue.gif
problem is no matter how much stuff or balancing shaft u add to ease the vibration
3 pot is still 3 pot, it's not balance
the balancing shaft only prevents the vibration from reaching the cabin/driver only
sooner or later, weird noises are going to come out

look at out viva, kenari, kelisa...the belting noise is infamous

noise that a normal 4 cylinder engine will never have
MR_alien
post Feb 16 2022, 11:09 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Feb 16 2022, 10:43 AM)
You mean honda does not provide servicing of the actual Turbo unit??
which manufacturer have actually?
because i've never seen before

even those japanese pickup truck turbo also drive until fail thn change recond one laugh.gif

preve owner, only a small percentage take it to outside turbo specialist to be serviced...most don't

QUOTE(c64 @ Feb 16 2022, 10:45 AM)
Exactly. Is 3 cylinder really save so much cost that they have to waste so much effort on balancing this shit? doh.gif
and if those parts fail, it's not cheap either laugh.gif

QUOTE(terradrive @ Feb 16 2022, 10:48 AM)
what belt noise? never had that

probably lazy owners didn't even change worn belts
whenever u drive beside a 3 pot car, there is always some weird noise coming from them
the most infamous one is belting noise...which is unresolvable(at least in the long term)

changed it, tighten it....it still comes back...mine is somemore japanese car
that's why i promise myself not to go back to 3 pot engine

it's only fine for the 1st 5 years, after that....problems and sound started to come out that even my 14 years old proton saga don't have

i mean it's reliable, it never breaks down on me but there is just things that 3 pot engine cannot beat 4 in-line

all my latest purchase are all 4 in-line engine...no means no for me laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Feb 16 2022, 02:17 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Feb 16 2022, 11:43 AM)
i own a few 3 pot cars before and never had any noise related to the belt.
sure there noise everywhere when idling or at low rpm but tat comes with the territory of  owning a 3 pot car.

could be the problem is unique to you or you got better hearing than most  brows.gif
anyway i agree 4 pot engines is the way to go for comfort.
if anyone has driven an inline 6 before they would know its even much, much smoother.

and yeah turbo maintenance is non existent here.
seal and bearings need to be replaced.

many do no know a turbocharger spins in excess of 100k rpm thus will wear and tear faster than other parts of the car.
not sure
mine is sometime start car have noise, when the a/c compressor work sometime there is belt noise
when accelerate the car at the same time as the a/c compressor doing it's job...also will have belting noise

thn after owning this car, i notice i'm not the only one facing this problem
and all of the car that is facing such problem are all 3 pot engine car laugh.gif

i will never see a 4 in-line engine car have this noise at all laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Feb 20 2022, 10:41 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(yugimudo @ Feb 20 2022, 08:44 AM)
Seriously, why saga is like random luck?

Some died in years, some last for eternity.

Mine has power window issue on left sides and the gear icon constantly light up even when the car have no issue running, sometime car can't start  and has to wait before can run again.

Other than those, it actually run pretty well. 2013 car.
there is no luck
for the 18 or so year dealing with proton

from driving my dad's proton waja to owning my own 14 years proton saga

i can indefinitely tell u, when people say proton/campro sucks...it's user problem...not product problem
they don't even take care of the car at all
i cannot tell u how many time i checked their engine....no or lack of engine oil, no coolant or use water, no transmission oil rclxub.gif
proton themselves actually resolved their power window issue like 13 years ago already, my saga suffered the problem on the 1st year...thn they switch supplier...i went to SC and claimed mine...it has been the same switch since then(13 years until now)

the gear icon indicates the transmission is overheating....my saga uses 4AT so i can't answer that
but i do have another CVT car but never suffered this issue before since i don't drive it like a mad man

the proton that last isn't that car is better built, it's because the owner took care of it

people kept saying perodua last....well, kinda...it depends on how the owner took care of it as well
recently buying used car, checked multiple perodua cars that suffered the same problem i mentioned above too
no engine oil, no coolant or simply use water, low on transmission oil or never change before(can see from the colour)
the car still running but for how long though...i straight walked away, i don't dare to buy such car laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Feb 20 2022, 11:38 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(yugimudo @ Feb 20 2022, 11:33 AM)
Thank you so much for the icon diagnostic but it on the minute the car is started.

Hence, I'm going with the mentality it must be the indicator wiring problem and dont fix things that are not broke.
if it's on the moment the car is started
thn u better get it checked out at the SC
small problem can turn to big

because those that i saw gear icon lit up are those when their cars already warmed up
like stuck in traffic or in the midst of cruising on highway

never i've heard it lit up once the car is started
did u check if there is even fluid inside?
MR_alien
post Feb 20 2022, 12:32 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Feb 20 2022, 12:18 PM)
Own a waja from 2002 to 2019, still on original fuel pump..change ATF fluid every 40k km and for some reason even changing fuel filter make mechanic shock that there is such item on the car lol

Alot ppl buy a car trash it when something broke of course it's car fault yet still wanna get back full price when selling.
bolded part felt straight to the heart

offer price is basically market price
went and check the car...so much problem....1 even need a full body knock and repaint
and he still wouldn't budge on the price and kept saying that's the market price for the car

i'm there like come on, the market price is if the car is in mint condition, taken care of...i have no problem paying the price if it is
but not when i need to pour so much $$$ in like it's a total makeover rclxub.gif
MR_alien
post Feb 21 2022, 07:58 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Feb 21 2022, 06:22 AM)
Regardless of what is on the specs, all i can say is the City acceleration is much much better than a VIOS/Yaris which is slow poke for the previous generation. Latest i haven't try yet, so no comment.

But VIOS does have better NVH than City.

But all bling bling stuff in VIOS really put off and some of those are half baked. Feels like Ah Beng car.
what more can u say about UMW?
they only recently release the camry with 2.5L dynamic force engine with 8AT which thailand has been driving for 3-4 years already rclxub.gif
MR_alien
post Feb 21 2022, 09:10 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 21 2022, 08:11 AM)
their loyal fan still said the previous engine still good when they launched the camry. Maybe sales too poor hence they need to launch this dynamic force. inb4 d-segment car is dead sales
poor sales i would say is due to many reason
but 1 of them is UMW pushing the prices way too high
MR_alien
post Feb 22 2022, 07:28 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Feb 22 2022, 12:13 AM)
corporate will not bring in something that does not yield profit. market has shown, everybody is folking to buy SUV.
i don't think it's about profit already
it's malaysia side is always slow in everything
i think when a new model is released, our brand here need months to discuss what spec to cut away before releasing it here

just look at honda, everything also slow
our neighboring countries already driving it for months, thn only release here
from the new civic to city hatchback
now the new HRV and BRV also...they even covered it up like it's something new laugh.gif (and that's SUV that u mentioned)

high chance the e:HEV model won't even be released here laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Feb 22 2022, 07:51 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(kel32 @ Feb 22 2022, 07:36 AM)
current popular delay reason, mco and covid-19
excuse only when thailand and indon both already released it laugh.gif
the one that is in the middle didn't get it laugh.gif
MR_alien
post Feb 22 2022, 08:01 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 22 2022, 07:58 AM)
faster than umw. we getting for few years of current-gen Camry with older engine while Thai already had this 3 years ago. And as usual all local spec HU by UMW is poor on most their model.
guarantee faster than UMW
honda is like 6 months slow
UMW is like 3-4 years slow and then cut kaw kaw the spec laugh.gif

0.0349sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:04 PM