TSLeft4Dead2
post Feb 13 2022, 08:16 PM, updated 4y ago

1,103 posts

- Current house under parent and brother name
- Brother want to forgone his portion and ask for transfer to other sibling now
- Parent already did a Will many year ago to transfer to other sibling

So do you want to do that transfer now ? May cost you up to 10k+

Or should you wait when parent not around and execute the Will at much cheaper cost ? But problem is Brother name/portion still on the house that time
mini orchard
post Feb 13 2022, 08:50 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Feb 13 2022, 08:16 PM)

Or should you wait when parent not around and execute the Will at much cheaper cost ? But problem is Brother name/portion still on the house that time
Is not a good idea to transfer to many children.

Whoever sibling is interested in the house should buy over.

Sale proceed goes to the parent and whatever balance distribute among the children when they are not around anymore.

Siblings living together in the house and are working should pay monthly 'rent' to upkeep the house.

At the end of the day, when the parents are gone, the house will be sold anyway .... either one sibling buying over or to outsider.

It is better for only one sibling to decide on the house.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Feb 13 2022, 09:01 PM
tik
post Feb 13 2022, 10:13 PM

59 posts

it is cheaper and easier to do transferring while everybody is stilll alive
forever1979
post Feb 15 2022, 10:00 AM

2,854 posts

i thought transfer via will is cheaper as stamp duty is waived ?
TSLeft4Dead2
post Feb 15 2022, 10:21 AM

1,103 posts

QUOTE(forever1979 @ Feb 15 2022, 10:00 AM)
i thought transfer via will is cheaper as stamp duty is waived ?
The will firm quote the fee for execution transfer also close to stamp duty cost
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 15 2022, 10:25 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

correct me if im wrong.

if transfer now, those that have never bought their 1st property will lose their privileges after getting the property transferred to their name.
DragonReine
post Feb 15 2022, 12:06 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 15 2022, 10:25 AM)
correct me if im wrong.

if transfer now, those that have never bought their 1st property will lose their privileges after getting the property transferred to their name.
Correct, this applies regardless of whether transfer while everyone still living or when the heirs inherit through parents' will later.
nihility
post Mar 8 2022, 11:19 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(Left4Dead2 @ Feb 13 2022, 08:16 PM)

From my past experience, transfer it now when you parent is still alive. It is very hard to gauge human characters, you will never know if your own brother will become a scum after your parent not around.

The argument will appear when your parent no longer around. Eliminate all the possibilities for that argument to happen when you can and able to do it. You can avoid unnecessary family feud & save a blood relationship.
mini orchard
post Mar 8 2022, 11:38 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Mar 8 2022, 11:19 AM)
From my past experience, transfer it now when you parent is still alive. It is very hard to gauge human characters, you will never know if your own brother will become a scum after your parent not around.

The argument will appear when your parent no longer around. Eliminate all the possibilities for that argument to happen when you can and able to do it. You can avoid unnecessary family feud & save a blood relationship.
When transfer to few children, there will be problems now or later
nihility
post Mar 8 2022, 11:45 AM

1,595 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Mar 8 2022, 11:38 AM)
When transfer to few children, there will be problems now or later
Transfer now can minimize the seriousness of the issue. Unless TS become char siew & kick the parent out after that, then nothing can be said.

Normally 2 names the most , even 2 names also are not encourage. Go single name enough. Those name not in the title, normally yes - commercial compensation by the name in the title.

Transfer now, what foreseeable problems? The most only kena caveat the title by the sibling boh song after the parent not around. If caveat, let them caveat la, after 5 year the caveat will auto be dropped. Let them go caveat every 5 years at the land office.
segiempat
post Mar 12 2022, 10:59 AM

142 posts

Sorry can tumpang this tread, my house under dad and my name and he wanted to change it all to my name as he is old. Whats the process like and rough cost involved? Property around RM300K now

0.0180sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:09 AM