4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Working at Marcus Evans

lwb
post May 9 2008, 04:57 PM

1,504 posts

oh, my former tenant was a conference producer.
there's a lot of research work done with this role.
alxcnq
post May 11 2008, 11:56 AM

25 posts

How2Success, I believe to reach to those top management would involves a lot of lying+bullshit. I don't think there is much use of developing this kind of skill set as I believe this way would eventually destroy your company reputation. But I do agree with you there's some selling skills you can learn from there. However, if you are talking selling training events here, I think nowadays there're too much of training events in the market, its very congested. Company are receiving tons of calls, e-mails and faxes, I think a lot of time chances of you getting deals would be just by luck not by skills, because I think there's ntg much u cn do to show that your events are different from others because it's not.

So the thing you can do would be just, bullshit to get to those top management, talk a little bit(you wont event come to the phase of persuasion as they receive the same hundred calls selling same types of events everyday) and hope they give you their email or whatever, send over to them, and hope that they will chose your training instead of others, not much by persuasion skills because there isin't much of space for you to persuade, unless you lie to them or your event is really something special, than that's a different story.

This post has been edited by alxcnq: May 11 2008, 12:02 PM
tiffany_sle
post May 12 2008, 10:05 PM

32 posts

i quit after 2 weeks~~
it is sucks~~
my team has 10 ppl at first..now everyone left..
damn high turnover
smuxsmux
post May 13 2008, 09:59 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(ZiyiIsmyIdol @ Sep 22 2007, 02:00 PM)
i worked there once.... highly pressurized working environment... survival of the fittest.... number game..... ppl smoke non-stop lol.... make sure u r mentally very strong n prepared if u were to work there....

The pay is good only if u r in top ten of the ppl making it there... i was around  15th to 20th rank... out out around 100... n i still earn zit....

u heard of 80/20 rule?

well... its 90/10 here...
Been there.. and done that;)
Shi
post May 13 2008, 03:33 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ May 9 2008, 04:42 PM)
Does that consider as spamming  blink.gif  I'm just suggesting alternatives, not trying to fool anyone. Sorry if I offended anyone.

Anyway my sister almost joined Marcus Evans Few years back. Got to know them through Job fair. I think they are at every job fair right? It is a event company right. She got called for interview. Then offered but in the end she didn't accept. From what I remember she told me the sales and marketing are mostly through calls, seldom need to go out. I don't true or not.
Wah...ME people call veli veli annoiying... they bug bug bug to buy
xcutelilgal
post May 13 2008, 10:40 PM

261 posts

My friend is in marketing in Marcus Evans.
commission very high if can sell. They only sell by emails. Good commission can earn up to 15K

Vengeance_Mad
post Jul 14 2008, 02:44 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(smuxsmux @ May 13 2008, 09:59 AM)
Been there.. and done that;)
How tough is that?
elv2k
post Jul 14 2008, 05:11 PM

388 posts

Marcus Evans ..

The interviewer told me:
1. Everything is through phone. You don't need to meet your customer. However, exception is given under special circumstances.
2. You need to close the deal in 2 days maximum.
3. You will work in a team of 5 normally.
4. The basic probably low, but commission is attractive.
5. You will not call those middle management people that drive Saga, Wira, Vios etc. But those driving BMW, Merz etc.

Questions during interview:
1. Why I should hire you instead of the other applicant? What make you stand out?
2. What do you know about this company?
3. Do you think you can cope with this kind of job, fast pace and stressful?

My comment:
1. The receptionist working there is very rude.
2. I only see young people working there.
3. You must have very good English, communication skills.

This post has been edited by elv2k: Jul 14 2008, 05:12 PM
mcbarney666
post Jul 14 2008, 05:29 PM

405 posts

I managed to bullcrap my way into gettting the job thinking I would do well. How naive I was.

If you have the tenacity of a terrier and the never say die attitude of Phua Chu Kang, this is the place to be. But be prepared to face unhelpful colleagues, back-stabbing beeyotches and even worse managers.
Vengeance_Mad
post Jul 14 2008, 05:55 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(mcbarney666 @ Jul 14 2008, 05:29 PM)
I managed to bullcrap my way into gettting the job thinking I would do well. How naive I was.

If you have the tenacity of a terrier and the never say die attitude of Phua Chu Kang, this is the place to be. But be prepared to face unhelpful colleagues, back-stabbing beeyotches and even worse managers.
Wow, understood that its a survival "free for all" between colleagues, but tenacity of a terrier ? A dog I assume ?
=.="
Thought of going for this job, now I have to think THRICE. Hahaha. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Vengeance_Mad: Jul 14 2008, 05:56 PM
elv2k
post Jul 14 2008, 09:13 PM

388 posts

You can try and learn icon_rolleyes.gif

Maybe the job suits you..
Vengeance_Mad
post Jul 15 2008, 05:53 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Wanted to try buy my sis asked me don't.. She say I sure can't tahan.. LOL~
elv2k
post Jul 16 2008, 10:39 PM

388 posts

You knows yourself better, what do you think. Marcus Evans is International Company blush.gif
SUS2HK
post Jul 17 2008, 07:58 PM

404 posts

Becarefull of the building' security ' guard , F'g damn rude.
slidewave22
post Jul 23 2008, 03:14 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(elv2k @ Jul 14 2008, 05:11 PM)
Marcus Evans ..

The interviewer told me:
1. Everything is through phone. You don't need to meet your customer. However, exception is given under special circumstances.
2. You need to close the deal in 2 days maximum.
3. You will work in a team of 5 normally.
4. The basic probably low, but commission is attractive.
5. You will not call those middle management people that drive Saga, Wira, Vios etc. But those driving BMW, Merz etc.

Questions during interview:
1. Why I should hire you instead of the other applicant? What make you stand out?
2. What do you know about this company?
3. Do you think you can cope with this kind of job, fast pace and stressful?

My comment:
1. The receptionist working there is very rude.
2. I only see young people working there.
3. You must have very good English, communication skills.

Marcus Evans, overall Sucks...

been interviewed b4 for Corporate Sales Executive ( middle east)....

That arab guy who interviewed me damn lan c lan yong...i been asked some same questions above...
n always call n telling me to go their website n must know the product knowledge...sick of it...n tat arab guy
english suxx...talk like he's the god...basic pay is rm1500...

summore if managed to pass 1st interview, then must go 2nd interview with exams...lergh...wat is this man?...
this position almost same as telesales...n need to do sumthing like goin to become
'high ranking' position...

waste my time...

aresvasilios
post Jul 23 2008, 07:07 AM

i've been there almost 4 months..then i run away. during my tenure, i sold 1 event seat to an African guy, 2 seats to Egyptian, 5 seats to European..over 2 different events.

The experience? S*cks!!!

I raked in the sales, but the payment VERY slow, so my commission came in slow. My basic when I left was 500 ringgit. What can I buy at 500? Only enough for parking + fuel + phone..had to beg my dad for food money..shame on me. I felt like a loser..

If you wanna work there..be prepared. TOUGH competition, people not helpful, ur own teammate will backstab u, ur manager always tiau u if u didnt bring in the sales, fighting over sales leads, crappy computer (windows 98 machine people!!!) and bla bla bla...

Marcus Evans? I rather die than work there again..

PM me for further crap stories..
pennyloo
post Sep 11 2009, 04:25 PM

Oh boy, sounds terrible. How can they be international then?
Gosh, their website talks so much 'crap' about their CSR initiatives and all that.

This I Believe I got a call from them at 9am. Its this Ang Mor sounding guy who's the GM.
Googled the phone number and traced it to market evans and found out its an indian GM.
He asked me about my work experience in telesales.

I sounded sleepy, he said he'll call back. Wow, now i'm wishing he doesn't.
Thanks people for sharing... i Love LOWYAT.net
white.lion.clan
post Sep 12 2009, 07:19 PM

139 posts

if your a good sales person, who can do sales through phone!!
you can make it there , 1 out of 100 people join will be happy with the job.

its all about the money you make for the company , more sales you do more faster you grow and more money u earn , simple as that

cant do sale sno sales at all better look for another job

but through the training and working experience you get there , it is really help full for your own carreer progress in other companies

damienic79
post Nov 18 2009, 04:41 PM

Hi All,

Do not, I repeat do not entertain this company, whether as an employee, or a potential business partner, or as a delegate in on of their conferences/ summits/ events and this is why:

I have been an ex employee for a few years, and admittedly it has take me a while to improve my self esteem and self believe after working for this low classed, scheming and downright illegal company. I will start will the conference production side as I know about their practices there and feel sorry and guilty for lying and cheating( under duress fr senior management)

The speakers invited are usually faked to rake in sales. Marcus evans will downright lie about famous CEOs, VPs etc that have agreed to speak in their events. This is mainly done for a few reasons - to get sponsorship fr unsuspecting companies, and of course to get sales. Sometimes they will put power names to sell the tickets( knowing that these speakers have in not way either verbal or email confirmed) and then send an email 1 week before to advise that the speaker is sick/ family disaster etc, already pocketing your cash. As they have no refund policy, you have no choice but to attend a replacement event, whether its related or not. I have known many conferences which were scheduled to be cancelled anyway, but sales went on all the way till 1 day before the event!

There are also alot of scandals and people sleeping with each other there, and unlike most companies, these are actually encouraged. Ask anyone about a certain GM that slept with 2 of his colleagues and got one pregnant, in fact he tried to force her to abort etc but she didnt, in the end he was transferred and every1 in senior mgmt laughed about it...

They really have no ethics what so ever, with titles such as CEOs, VPs, business development director etc thrown everywhere. You get praised for lying and scheming to get the business.

These are just scratch and win ppl in suits, nothin more. Most ppl there are always drunk, on drugs and in a bad mood. Many trainers, speakers aren't paid after being promised a certain fee.. and mostly these guys speak once, get cheated and never ever deal with marcus evans again. I have known trainers who were promised a certain fee, only to be told the producer has left, will you accept 50% or nothing at all? .. or similiar cock and bull excuses that offices have moved...

The way the treat their staff is shit, directors and actually nothing more than Mcdonalds employees i.e. its a title only, you can be demoted or promoted and u earn as much, or less than them anyways.

The same goes with getting sponsors. Lies after lies and fake bloated figures are given to potential 'idiots' who might want to sponsor the event. They will promise 100 senior decision makers, make up a fake attendee list, only for the sponsor to show up with 20-25 low level ppl, or sometimes they even give out free tickets if sales are really bad.

Just google this company, or ask 10 ppl about marcus evans, you will get you answer about this dishonest and classless act of a company
Txi
post Nov 18 2009, 05:33 PM

592 posts

ha ha what BS company.

Gov should close them down .

" Ask anyone about a certain GM that slept with 2 of his colleagues and got one pregnant "

guarantee you it was that Indian GM . LOL

hey we should respam these F**. lets all send in false applics BS them and say nah don't need you , too s***.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0187sec    1.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:25 AM