QUOTE(MUM @ May 1 2022, 10:36 AM)
because, what is low now can still goes lower or stayed low for a long duration of time,..
these certain emergency funds has its purposes in your overall wealth portfolio... has their purpose changed since they are 1st set up?
unless that emergency funds has a value that could last your > 3 yrs or you can access your money in EPF soon...that is another equation in question liao...
these certain emergency funds has its purposes in your overall wealth portfolio... has their purpose changed since they are 1st set up?
unless that emergency funds has a value that could last your > 3 yrs or you can access your money in EPF soon...that is another equation in question liao...
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ May 1 2022, 11:17 AM)
It might go down even lower. Estimate another 4 more times interest rate will rise by Fed. As long inflation level is high.
You can prepare by putting some cash in IBKR, to prepare to buy when u feel it's the right time.
QUOTE(encikbuta @ May 1 2022, 11:34 AM)
lol, I had the exact same dilemma! Just think of every horrible scenario that involves touching your emergency fund and project it happening in the next few days. Quite morbid but it worked for me, haha.
QUOTE(sgh @ May 1 2022, 12:02 PM)
Previously anything China don't touch now it is soon anything US don't touch. Wait it will go down further. Emergency fund don't touch please
Now I am touching countries outside US China small capital to try diversify away from China,US for new investment. Existing already invested stay put.
QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ May 1 2022, 02:49 PM)
Don't time the market. When in doubt, zoom out.
Nobody knows if it's going to go up or down tomorrow - you could be dropping 100k into current price thinking it's 30% off, but it could just as well be the best price you will see in 10 years. Or, the ATH you bought at next month could be the last time you ever see this price for the rest of your life.
Let's say you miss this "dip" and the market goes up 10% in the following months when you can finally buy in again - the difference in 10-20 years is minimal at best, because you only won one coin toss, you will still need to go through the rest of the coin tosses.
Emergency fund is emergency fund, if it isn't an emergency, don't touch it. It's there to safe guard your investment and it's a key player in your portfolio.
Just make your regular deposits every month, do a lump sum if you had a windfall that you don't need right now. Don't invest money you need. Close the app and live your life, don't look at the market every day.
Wow. Thanks so much everyone. I didn’t expect so many responses. You have all helped strengthen my resolve Nobody knows if it's going to go up or down tomorrow - you could be dropping 100k into current price thinking it's 30% off, but it could just as well be the best price you will see in 10 years. Or, the ATH you bought at next month could be the last time you ever see this price for the rest of your life.
Let's say you miss this "dip" and the market goes up 10% in the following months when you can finally buy in again - the difference in 10-20 years is minimal at best, because you only won one coin toss, you will still need to go through the rest of the coin tosses.
Emergency fund is emergency fund, if it isn't an emergency, don't touch it. It's there to safe guard your investment and it's a key player in your portfolio.
Just make your regular deposits every month, do a lump sum if you had a windfall that you don't need right now. Don't invest money you need. Close the app and live your life, don't look at the market every day.
May 1 2022, 05:16 PM

0.0409sec