Buying Ipad m1 pro : Don't know what size suitable, Advice needed

TSpergilahsayang
post Feb 2 2022, 11:49 PM, updated 4y ago

359 posts

Hello,

Planning to buy Ipad pro 12.9 M1 because the fastest android tablet in the world that I have right now just sux playing genshin + honkai impact game. But, iPad is pretty expensive, so I thought I could cut cost on the spec. Also, I don't play game with other devices (PC,console etc) as I prefer to play games on bed. This is my first time using Apple, I know nothing about them. Here some question:

1) is 128 GB enough? This iPad will only be used to install 2 games only and will only be use only for these 2 game. Probably will take 40GB for both. Nothing more. No productivity use, no nothing. But Also need to consider that I will store my gameplay recording and screenshots though.

2) Does it come with free charger?

3) Is it easy to transfer files from iPad to PC? I don't know, i got this perception from long ago that APple product only can connect with themselves xP

4) Malaysia got no dedicated Apple store like Samsung and whatnot? I cannot find Apple store like angmoh country.

5) If there is no Apple store, then do I buy from Shopee or Apple Malaysia website? I read from some user that their Apple product got delay 1 month? I may want to buy from Apple Malaysia website as I can get free engraving hehehe.....but scared if got delayed.

Hope Apple sifu here can clarify. Thank you ~
nate_nightroad
post Feb 3 2022, 12:21 AM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

1. Should be fine

2. Nope, can get something better from ugreen gan charger

3. Well i have not tried but you can get a dongle for the iPad so you get usb A and plug a pendrive in to transfer files. iOS has great file manager

4. They don’t have an official store or building but their official distributors like machines and switch are great.

5. I mean with the chip shortage delays are not just affecting Apple
TSpergilahsayang
post Feb 3 2022, 12:43 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Feb 3 2022, 12:21 AM)
1. Should be fine

2. Nope, can get something better from ugreen gan charger

3. Well i have not tried but you can get a dongle for the iPad so you get usb A and plug a pendrive in to transfer files. iOS has great file manager

4. They don’t have an official store or building but their official distributors like machines and switch are great.

5. I mean with the chip shortage delays are not just affecting Apple
Thank you for the input.

2. I reckon that buying the original charger would be... ummm what is the word... "safer"? I mean it is a piece of expensive hardware to be skimping for 3rd party charger? or all charger is just same same no difference in terms of making sure the tablet is 'safe' and last long?

5. Oooo that make sense. This is just a preference question, but if it is you, would you buy at shoppe or apple web or Switch?
Mr.PeeNutt
post Feb 3 2022, 01:06 AM

188 posts

nate_nightroad
post Feb 3 2022, 01:10 AM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(pergilahsayang @ Feb 3 2022, 12:43 AM)
Thank you for the input.

2. I reckon that buying the original charger would be... ummm what is the word... "safer"? I mean it is a piece of expensive hardware to be skimping for 3rd party charger? or all charger is just same same no difference in terms of making sure the tablet is 'safe' and last long?

5. Oooo that make sense. This is just a preference question, but if it is you, would you buy at shoppe or apple web or Switch?
2. Sorry, it appears Apple include the charger as pointed by another former

5. Engraving is only available from Apple website. So if you need engraving then go with Apple site.
TSpergilahsayang
post Feb 3 2022, 01:20 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PeeNutt @ Feb 3 2022, 01:06 AM)
Ohh 20watt out of the box, nice. Did not manage to find "whats in the box" from the Apple Malaysia website. Maybe I'm blind xP

Thank you
nate_nightroad
post Feb 3 2022, 01:27 AM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(pergilahsayang @ Feb 3 2022, 01:20 AM)
Ohh 20watt out of the box, nice. Did not manage to find "whats in the box" from the Apple Malaysia website. Maybe I'm blind xP

Thank you
Have to scroll all the way down to see 😮‍💨
ToniV
post Feb 3 2022, 08:16 AM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(pergilahsayang @ Feb 2 2022, 11:49 PM)
Hello,

Planning to buy Ipad pro 12.9 M1 because the fastest android tablet in the world that I have right now just sux playing genshin + honkai impact game. But, iPad is pretty expensive, so I thought I could cut cost on the spec. Also, I don't play game with other devices (PC,console etc) as I prefer to play games on bed. This is my first time using Apple, I know nothing about them. Here some question:

1) is 128 GB enough? This iPad will only be used to install 2 games only and will only be use only for these 2 game. Probably will take 40GB for both. Nothing more. No productivity use, no nothing. But Also need to consider that I will store my gameplay recording and screenshots though.

2) Does it come with free charger?

3) Is it easy to transfer files from iPad to PC? I don't know, i got this perception from long ago that APple product only can connect with themselves xP

4) Malaysia got no dedicated Apple store like Samsung and whatnot? I cannot find Apple store like angmoh country.

5) If there is no Apple store, then do I buy from Shopee or Apple Malaysia website? I read from some user that their Apple product got delay 1 month? I may want to buy from Apple Malaysia website as I can get free engraving hehehe.....but scared if got delayed.

Hope Apple sifu here can clarify. Thank you ~
1) 128gb should serve u well. if require u can subscribe for apple cloud service rm 4 for 50gb or get an external drive. ipad use usb type C

2) yes. free charger included

3) there are some limitation of what ipadOS can do. transferring file is still possible using flash drives.

4) if u need engraving will take time for them to prepare. my advice is not to engrave.
TSpergilahsayang
post Feb 3 2022, 10:00 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Feb 3 2022, 08:16 AM)
1) 128gb should serve u well. if require u can subscribe for apple cloud service rm 4 for 50gb or get an external drive. ipad use usb type C

2) yes. free charger included

3) there are some limitation of what ipadOS can do. transferring file is still possible using flash drives.

4) if u need engraving will take time for them to prepare. my advice is not to engrave.
1. Suddenly after wake up today, I got an epiphany. Aren't software gets bigger overtime? My 128GB phone (xiaomi though) slowly become small and in 1 year, only left 30GB. Since M1 is pretty powerful, I will keep it like 3-5 years.

3. Meaning, I buy dongle, and then connect to pendrive it will autoplay just like that? and then just use that pendrive to transfer to Window? If it is like this, then its pretty simple then. Otherwise, my second option is to make a local sharing file through wifi network that I see from Youtube. Did not manage to find anyone who claim they can just connect the iPad to Win directly and autoplay, so I gonna assume it cannot be done or need another software to do it or something.

4. I haven't thought of that hahaha. yeah yeah. Thank you thank you
ToniV
post Feb 3 2022, 01:18 PM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(pergilahsayang @ Feb 3 2022, 10:00 AM)
1. Suddenly after wake up today, I got an epiphany. Aren't software gets bigger overtime? My 128GB phone (xiaomi though) slowly become small and in 1 year, only left 30GB. Since M1 is pretty powerful, I will keep it like 3-5 years.

3. Meaning, I buy dongle, and then connect to pendrive it will autoplay just like that? and then just use that pendrive to transfer to Window? If it is like this, then its pretty simple then. Otherwise, my second option is to make a local sharing file through wifi network that I see from Youtube. Did not manage to find anyone who claim they can just connect the iPad to Win directly and autoplay, so I gonna assume it cannot be done or need another software to do it or something.

4. I haven't thought of that hahaha. yeah yeah. Thank you thank you
1. True that software will get bigger. But i dont think to the extent that it will fill your space up. Your storage will be filled with offline content higher such as youtube videos or songs if u have the premium version. If u are only playing 2 games i dont see the issue. For sure will be sufficient. If in the future u want to do some editings or content creation you may opt for 256gb. However i dont see the purpose as u can use external drive or use local file sharing which is safe and reliable. Your phone probably have lots of files from whatsapp or telegram. That's why using excessive space.

3. Ipad pro using usb type C. You can view content from your flash drive. However need to be in exFAT format if im not mistaken. No idea about connecting to windows.

My opinion : get the cheaper ipad 9 for games. Much more worth it. The pro may give some edge in terms of graphics but that's just my advice. U could go for the pro and use for things more demanding in the future.
TSpergilahsayang
post Feb 3 2022, 02:55 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Feb 3 2022, 01:18 PM)
1. True that software will get bigger. But i dont think to the extent that it will fill your space up. Your storage will be filled with offline content higher such as youtube videos or songs if u have the premium version. If u are only playing 2 games i dont see the issue. For sure will be sufficient. If in the future u want to do some editings or content creation you may opt for 256gb. However i dont see the purpose as u can use external drive or use local file sharing which is safe and reliable. Your phone probably have lots of files from whatsapp or telegram. That's why using excessive space.

3. Ipad pro using usb type C. You can view content from your flash drive. However need to be in exFAT format if im not mistaken. No idea about connecting to windows.

My opinion : get the cheaper ipad 9 for games. Much more worth it. The pro may give some edge in terms of graphics but that's just my advice. U could go for the pro and use for things more demanding in the future.
1. I see. That made sense. Well, I can give it a thought for a week or two whether to go for 128 or 256.

I don't know man. Genshin and honkai is heavy game with recently updated to 90 to 120 fps option. Samsung tablet, Snapdrag 865+ which probably the fastest chip android (for tablet that is) that I have right now cannot even achieve 60 fps consistently. I just thought 'buy it nice, or buy it twice'. I regret already and had enough of buying multiple times only to realised, its not as powerful as what I thought it would. So, I might as well go to the most over powered device there is straight away. Because , I am pretty sure even M1 cannot go consistent 120fps on genshin too, but if it can maintain >60, its a victory already xP

Thank you for the input. It has been really helpful.

This post has been edited by pergilahsayang: Feb 3 2022, 03:05 PM
andrewtho
post Feb 4 2022, 11:52 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(pergilahsayang @ Feb 3 2022, 02:55 PM)
1. I see. That made sense. Well, I can give it a thought for a week or two whether to go for 128 or 256.

I don't know man. Genshin and honkai is heavy game with recently updated to 90 to 120 fps option. Samsung tablet, Snapdrag 865+ which probably the fastest chip android (for tablet that is) that I have right now cannot even achieve 60 fps consistently. I just thought 'buy it nice, or buy it twice'. I regret already and had enough of buying multiple times only to realised, its not as powerful as what I thought it would. So, I might as well go to the most over powered device there is straight away. Because , I am pretty sure even M1 cannot go consistent 120fps on genshin too, but if it can maintain >60, its a victory already xP

Don’t think any game is able to push out constant frame rates - totally dependent on the scene and ‘action’. Apple’s ProMotion displays are adaptive, it will push out 120 when required.

My suspicion is that the game might not be well optimized for certain devices, but the new SD chips are more efficient now but not sure if it’s applicable to tablets as the phones are pretty awesome and snappy.
ToniV
post Feb 4 2022, 12:41 PM

2,374 posts

QUOTE(pergilahsayang @ Feb 3 2022, 02:55 PM)

Have anyone on youtube tested it? If yes can i run for several hours before frame rates dropping? If yes then u may proceed for your ipad pro purchase.
128GB is way sufficient for 2 games.
TSpergilahsayang
post Feb 4 2022, 03:58 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Feb 4 2022, 11:52 AM)
Don’t think any game is able to push out constant frame rates - totally dependent on the scene and ‘action’. Apple’s ProMotion displays are adaptive, it will push out 120 when required.

My suspicion is that the game might not be well optimized for certain devices, but the new SD chips are more efficient now but not sure if it’s applicable to tablets as the phones are pretty awesome and snappy.
Well, my suspicion its the combination of both. The game itself is heavy, and the developer also isn't well known for their timely optimisation, since they care more about pushing more content on a 6 weeks basis. However, one thing for sure, for some of the newer content that isn't optimised , you can still 'bruteforce' it if you have a stronger device and you'd not be 'that' disappointed if you had a stronger device to begin with.

About the adaptive refresh rate, im not sure how it'll work and everything. But to my understanding, let say if the game is too heavy and the FPS fluctuate wildly from 60 -90, isn't the display will constantly try to adapt and show that to you? Then, I don't see any problem as long as it does not do something like "Oh.... I see your game fluctuate 60 fps - 90 fps too wildly...so the display will locked you to 60 fps only tehee" sweat.gif

QUOTE(ToniV @ Feb 4 2022, 12:41 PM)
Have anyone on youtube tested it? If yes can i run for several hours before frame rates dropping? If yes then u may proceed for your ipad pro purchase.
128GB is way sufficient for 2 games.
Yes, from youtube Golden Reviewers. The only reviewer that really push games to the limit unlike most big Youtubers that just do short game play and then claim "ohhh this chip so OP can play any game at max setting no problem" ....which led me to buy Samsung tablet previously because I was led to believe it 'can' play those 2 games at 60 fps.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5TSEUhffwQE

This is just one of his test. What I can conclude from the myriad of his other videos are:

1) Even M1 ipad/iphone cannot be set to highest graphic setting if you want to play consistent 60fps for genshin.
2) At low to mid setting, can get consistent 60FPS for hours.
3) At lowest setting, you can set the FPS to 120fps, but maybe will only get it for the first 5-10 mins before it throttle and the fps will fluctuate wildly from 60 -90. However, if you ask me, fluctuation from 60 -90 looks pleasing enough to me.

So yeah, given that m1 is the strongest device right now, it is my best shot, despite m1 cannot fully go extreme with genshin (although I am sure it can Honkai 90fps, as this game is lighter than genshin). Im not looking for a tablet device that can kill all the game at 120fps no no no. I just simply want the best that the world can currently offer right now and keep my disappointment at a minimum thumbup.gif . And that should be enough.

Probably will visit Switch next week.

Thank you to all of you for the input, it has been really helpful in trying to understand this Apple product that I have no experience with. notworthy.gif

Will close thread in a day or two when there is no additional info or follow-up question.

0.0252sec    1.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:11 PM