Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> PC case lighting with full Noctua setup

views
     
TSkevyeoh
post Jan 25 2022, 10:21 AM, updated 4 months ago

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
4,214 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


Gais... i cannot really find much from google or YouTube.

Assuming if i am installing full Noctua heatsink, noctua gfx and noctua fans inside... any lighting ideas to share that can enhance and make it look nicer? For sure rgb wont work so i am kinda looking at white or slight orange colour scheme and wondering how and where to put those lighting... thanks for any suggestions gais!
wailam
post Jan 25 2022, 10:32 AM

Apa benda ini?
*****
Junior Member
859 posts

Joined: Nov 2014
From: Sandakan, Sabah


up and bottom or the side.
sHawTY
post Jan 25 2022, 11:32 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,993 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 25 2022, 10:21 AM)
For sure rgb wont work
Why RGB won't work?
Just use RGB lighting but set the color to white. Easy peasy

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jan 25 2022, 11:37 AM
TSkevyeoh
post Jan 25 2022, 11:35 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
4,214 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


lol..ya...what i mean is rgb color won't look nice on noctua...eventually still is white..

maybe simplicity is best eventually...just put one strip on top so got some lighting so can see a bit rather than dark dark inside

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 25 2022, 11:32 AM)
Why RGB won't work?
Just use RGB lightning but set the color to white. Easy peasy
*
sHawTY
post Jan 25 2022, 11:37 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,993 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

Your case brand & model?
TSkevyeoh
post Jan 25 2022, 12:23 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
4,214 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


fractal design define r5...

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 25 2022, 11:37 AM)
Your case brand & model?
*
sHawTY
post Jan 25 2022, 12:39 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,993 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 25 2022, 12:23 PM)
fractal design define r5...
Buy this:
https://shopee.com.my/FREEZEMOD-JXDT-5CX-ch...52-d6bbb33b2402

Stick it to the top of the case (has built-in magnet strip), connect it to the SATA power and choose the lightning option of your choice
And yes, you can choose white color too
Make sure to choose the "Remote" option when buying it so you can control it using just the remote control since your motherboard doesn't have an ARGB header
And choose 40CM so it will have the maximum coverage for your case

This thing has built-in 39 LEDs which is more than enough to brighten up the internal of your case

Using it myself, still works perfectly for close to 1 year now

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jan 25 2022, 12:40 PM
TSkevyeoh
post Jan 25 2022, 02:01 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
4,214 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


ahhh...actually maybe because i keep on searching and typing LED strip, i did not know got such lighting macam tube type also...thanks! one last question, can turn off also if needed?

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 25 2022, 12:39 PM)
Buy this:
https://shopee.com.my/FREEZEMOD-JXDT-5CX-ch...52-d6bbb33b2402

Stick it to the top of the case (has built-in magnet strip), connect it to the SATA power and choose the lightning option of your choice
And yes, you can choose white color too
Make sure to choose the "Remote" option when buying it so you can control it using just the remote control since your motherboard doesn't have an ARGB header
And choose 40CM so it will have the maximum coverage for your case

This thing has built-in 39 LEDs which is more than enough to brighten up the internal of your case

Using it myself, still works perfectly for close to 1 year now
*
sHawTY
post Jan 25 2022, 03:05 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,993 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 25 2022, 02:01 PM)
ahhh...actually maybe because i keep on searching and typing LED strip, i did not know got such lighting macam tube type also...thanks! one last question, can turn off also if needed?
Yes. The remote does have a power button so you can turn off the lights whenever you want

I'll take a picture of my PC with the white lights and share it here later so you can see it

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jan 25 2022, 03:06 PM
TSkevyeoh
post Jan 25 2022, 03:38 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
4,214 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


damn perfect....looking forward to your pic...
i was like contemplating also if i should just leave it and don't put lighting but sometimes with lighting can also enhance it... so happy to know can even power off as and when needed..

gonna hentam the 40cm one...as i measure the length of my casing...40cm still ok...got about 1cm gap left between at both ends

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 25 2022, 03:05 PM)
Yes. The remote does have a power button so you can turn off the lights whenever you want

I'll take a picture of my PC with the white lights and share it here later so you can see it
*
sHawTY
post Jan 25 2022, 10:17 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,993 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 25 2022, 03:38 PM)
damn perfect....looking forward to your pic...
Here you go:

PS: I have 8 of that ARGB stick in my PC laugh.gif

user posted image

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jan 25 2022, 10:19 PM
TSkevyeoh
post Jan 26 2022, 12:44 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
4,214 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


fuuuh... but are you able to adjust the brightness? that's the only concern i have now as my room is kinda totally dark actually sometimes so instead of so bright, if can tone down the brightness will be good for me...

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 25 2022, 10:17 PM)
Here you go:

PS: I have 8 of that ARGB stick in my PC laugh.gif

user posted image
*
sHawTY
post Jan 26 2022, 10:15 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,993 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 26 2022, 12:44 AM)
fuuuh... but are you able to adjust the brightness?
Yes. You can control the brightness using the remote
Just remember to pick the REMOTE option when buying it

user posted image

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jan 26 2022, 10:20 AM
TSkevyeoh
post Jan 26 2022, 08:23 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
4,214 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


sHawTY sir... i also see the option of cable hub...does that mean if i am going to install 2-3 strip, i can actually use the cable hub then i can control them altogether in sync? is that how you connect all your strips too?

also if you refer back to your setup, on the left side where you have your rear fan, the LED seems like a very short strip only, the seller selling 25cm as the shortest, so means we can cut and trim the length ourselves once we get the led strip?

thanks!
thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 26 2022, 10:15 AM)
Yes. You can control the brightness using the remote
Just remember to pick the REMOTE option when buying it

user posted image
*
This post has been edited by kevyeoh: Jan 26 2022, 08:26 PM


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
sHawTY
post Jan 26 2022, 09:30 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,993 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 26 2022, 08:23 PM)
sHawTY sir... i also see the option of cable hub
Don't buy that hub. It's crap
Get this one instead
https://shopee.com.my/Id-Cooling-Ha-02C-ArG...895.13266637354

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 26 2022, 08:23 PM)
so means we can cut and trim the length ourselves once we get the led strip?
Yes, you can cut it, provided you already have the correct saw because the case is made of aluminium
You also have to cut the strip inside at the correct place

But my advise to you is, start with 1 light bar first. You can add on additional bar later
TSkevyeoh
post Feb 1 2022, 06:35 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
4,214 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


Still trying to fully understand how this will work...

So with this ID cooling hub... i can still connect the strip and then the remote control for the strip can still work separately on its own?

Lets say now i also have gpu card holder with argb... with this hub... i can connect the LED strip with remote and also the gpu card holder argb connection and then both the LED strip and GPU holder will power up and I can still also manually control the LED strip colors with the LED strip own remote control (the FREEZEMOD one)?

Thanks.

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 26 2022, 09:30 PM)
Don't buy that hub. It's crap
Get this one instead
https://shopee.com.my/Id-Cooling-Ha-02C-ArG...895.13266637354

Yes, you can cut it, provided you already have the correct saw because the case is made of aluminium
You also have to cut the strip inside at the correct place

But my advise to you is, start with 1 light bar first. You can add on additional bar later
*
sHawTY
post Feb 3 2022, 12:51 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,993 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Feb 1 2022, 06:35 PM)
So with this ID cooling hub... i can still connect the strip and then the remote control for the strip can still work separately on its own?

Lets say now i also have gpu card holder with argb... with this hub... i can connect the LED strip with remote and also the gpu card holder argb connection and then both the LED strip and GPU holder will power up and I can still also manually control the LED strip colors with the LED strip own remote control (the FREEZEMOD one)?
Provided all your ARGB stuff is 5V, yes. 1 hub for everything
TSkevyeoh
post Feb 21 2022, 08:51 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
4,214 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


Just an update. I already bought this Freezemod LED bar and it is awesome. And now I actually bought a 2nd unit so i can put at the base of the casing as well.

And the ID Cooling hub works well too so now I can sync all my rgb parts together... ❤️ ❤️ ❤️

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 25 2022, 12:39 PM)
Buy this:
https://shopee.com.my/FREEZEMOD-JXDT-5CX-ch...52-d6bbb33b2402

Stick it to the top of the case (has built-in magnet strip), connect it to the SATA power and choose the lightning option of your choice
And yes, you can choose white color too
Make sure to choose the "Remote" option when buying it so you can control it using just the remote control since your motherboard doesn't have an ARGB header
And choose 40CM so it will have the maximum coverage for your case

This thing has built-in 39 LEDs which is more than enough to brighten up the internal of your case

Using it myself, still works perfectly for close to 1 year now
*
sHawTY
post Feb 21 2022, 10:35 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,993 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Feb 21 2022, 08:51 AM)
Just an update. I already bought this Freezemod LED bar and it is awesome. And now I actually bought a 2nd unit so i can put at the base of the casing as well.

And the ID Cooling hub works well too so now I can sync all my rgb parts together... ❤️ ❤️ ❤️
Nice

Share some pictures bro thumbsup.gif
TSkevyeoh
post Mar 3 2022, 11:25 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
4,214 posts

Joined: Jan 2003


Finally got the 2nd LED bar to put at the bottom side...
At first i visualize white color nice but after getting this and turn on rgb... it turns out nice also... but the best part is i also bought the ID cooling controller you recommended and with the push of a button only now i can change to white or rgb or even turn it off... love it!

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 21 2022, 10:35 AM)
Nice

Share some pictures bro :thumbsup:
*


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image Attached Image
sHawTY
post Mar 4 2022, 12:27 PM

Frequent Reporter
********
All Stars
13,993 posts

Joined: Jul 2005

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Mar 3 2022, 11:25 PM)
At first i visualize white color nice but after getting this and turn on rgb... it turns out nice also...
You kena racun with RGB d
Last time I hate RGB also, want my system to look professional

But after my old RAM kiok while building my new loop, I wanted to buy RAM sets that matches the gold build in my liquid cooling loop. So I bought G.Skill Trident Z Royal Gold
Turned on my system for the 1st time and fell in love with RGB immediately. Couldn't stop since, so the total number of RGB stuff in my gaming PC increased to 21

Burned 2 RGB in the meantime because too many RGB connected to just a single hub. So I separate it to 2 hubs, now no more burning hubs biggrin.gif
Skylinestar
post Mar 6 2022, 04:52 PM

Mega Duck
*******
Senior Member
9,732 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Sarawak
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Mar 3 2022, 11:25 PM)
Finally got the 2nd LED bar to put at the bottom side...
At first i visualize white color nice but after getting this and turn on rgb... it turns out nice also... but the best part is i also bought the ID cooling controller you recommended and with the push of a button only now i can change to white or rgb or even turn it off... love it!
*
kindly share your psu shroud mod notworthy.gif

 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0246sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th June 2022 - 10:45 PM