29 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Miniature Schnauzer Thread V3, Welcome to M.Schnauzer Family =')

TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 12:58 PM, updated 19y ago

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

1st thread : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/355358
2nd thread : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/510698

History :
The earliest records surrounding development of the Miniature Schnauzer in Germany come from the late 1800s. They were originally bred to be farm dogs in Germany, to keep the rats and other vermin out of the barn. In the breed's earliest stages, several small breeds were employed in crosses to bring down the size of the well-established Standard Schnauzer, with the goal of creating a duplicate in miniature.Crossing to other breeds, such as the Affenpinscher and Miniature Pinscher, had the side effect of introducing colours that were not considered acceptable to the ultimate goal - and as breeders worked towards the stabilization of the gene pool, mismarked particolors and white puppies were removed from breeding programs.

The earliest recorded Miniature Schnauzer was in 1888, and the first exhibition was in 1899. With their bold courage, the Miniature Schnauzer was originally used for guarding herds, small farms, and families. As time passed, they were also used to hunt rats, because they appeared to have a knack for it, and its small size was perfect to get into tight places to catch them.

The AKC accepted registration of the new breed in 1926, two years after they were introduced to the United States. The American Kennel Club groups this breed with the Terriers as it was developed for a similar purpose and has a similar character to the terrier breeds of the Britain and Ireland. The Miniature Schnauzer was recognized by the United Kennel Club in 1948. The United kingdom Kennel club however, does not accept the Miniature Schnauzer as a Terrier and lists it in the utility group for shows such as Crufts.

Description :
The Miniature Schnauzer is a small, squarely-proportioned dog with a long head, bushy beard, mustache and eyebrows. The thick, prominent eyebrows and long mustache are often trimmed to accentuate the dog's square cut shape. The front legs are very straight. The tail is usually docked. The oval eyes are dark colored, and the v-shaped ears fold forward when left natural or are cropped to a point and stand erect. It has a long head, strong muzzle, a well-developed black nose and a scissors bite. Coat colors include salt & pepper, black, white or a harsh black & silver outer coat with a soft undercoat.

Miniature Schnauzers are quite distinctive in appearance. They should be compact, muscular, and be "square" in build (the height at the withers should be the same as the length of the body). They have long beards, eyebrows, and feathering on the legs. In the USA, ears are sometimes cropped to stand upright and the tail is normally docked short. British Schnauzers have uncropped ears, as ear cropping is illegal in the United Kingdom. Since April 2007, docking has also been banned in the UK.

Their coats are wiry (when hand-stripped) and do not shed, which adds to their appeal as house pets. Miniature Schnauzers that are shown at dog shows needs to be hand-stripped to achieve the wiry texture that the breed standard calls for. Pets that are not shown, can be clippered. This will however turn the coat soft and make the dog lose color. The AKC, CKC and the KC (UK) recognizes only three colours: black, salt and pepper, and black and silver. The FCI, however, also recognizes white Miniature Schnauzers. Some breeders cross-breed Miniature Schnauzers with other breeds to try and introduce new colours, a practice that is discouraged by all major Schnauzer breed clubs. Height is 12 to 14 inches at the withers (American standard) or 30-35cm (FCI, German standard) at the withers, and they generally weigh 10 to 15 pounds (4.5 to 7 kg).

Temperatment :
Very perky and bright-eyed. Loving and intelligent. Energetic, affectionate, and obedient. Playful, happy and alert, they like children. The Miniature Schnauzer demands time and companionship from its owner. It can be feisty and fairly dog-aggressive - putting on a show of superiority without necessarily intending to fight. This can be fairly dangerous for the Miniature Schnauzer, who will challenge even large dogs, sometimes bringing more trouble on himself than he really wanted. Socialize this breed well with other dogs when it is still a puppy. If properly introduced, the Miniature Schnauzer will get along with another dog, but will not accept every dog that comes its way. Since the temperament of this breed can be quite variable, select a puppy from parents whose temperament you enjoy. They make good companions and family pets. Schnauzers tend to bark a lot, but it does not have a yappy bark and is not as annoying as one may think. Most of the time the dog's bark sounds like it is talking to you in a low carried-out voice. They make good guard dogs and mouse catchers. They are excellent watchdogs and are great to travel with. Some can be reserved with strangers, but most love everyone.

Health information :
Miniature Schnauzers are prone to diabetes, bladder stones and pancreatitis. They are occasionally genetically disposed to ideopathic hyperlipidemia (high levels of triglycerides, i.e. fats, in their blood). Hyperlipidemia makes pancreatitis much more likely for the affected dog. With proper care, without feeding the dog sweet or fatty foods, it can usually be avoided. As with many other types of dogs, mini schnauzers are not to be given any chocolate, since in their breed, it can act as a poison. Miniature Schnauzers with uncropped ears are prone to ear infections and deafness later in life if the ears are not checked regularly or dried out after swimming. They should not be overfed since they gain weight easily. They can also develop a type of skin allergy, which shows up as a 'hot spot' often around the neck area, which can be tender for the animal forming a hard crust after weeping

Living condition :

The Miniature Schnauzer is a good dog for apartment life. It is fairly active indoors and will do okay without a yard. About 15 years. It shows no signs of age until quite late in life.

Grooming :
http://miniatureschnauzer.ca/grooming.htm
http://members.aol.com/msbritmor/groom.html

PROUD OWNERS OF MS!! (pm me to be added into the list)

1. Syrian - Hepy
2. Digitral - Lui Lui
3. babymiki - Meeko
4. lilcatty - Copper
5. Jason86 - Toro
6. iluv2zzz & soondak - Miki
7. Madmoz - Siu Kat & Siu Wan
8. chillie - Sparky
9. ed0gawa - Girl Girl
10. j3ffm0n - Mojo , Puffy & BeeBee
11. freestyler<Jc & Ivy>- Odie(1 yrs old)(F)salt & pepper

Gathering pictures 16/09/07 at Island Cafe @ SS2
refer to Ms thread V2 --->

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/510698/+2000

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/510698/+2340

My LuiLui M.schnauzer's Dogster

http://www.dogster.com/dogs/579161

This post has been edited by Digitral: Sep 28 2007, 10:34 PM
TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 01:16 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Sep 20 2007, 01:07 PM)
me second!

Added on September 20, 2007, 1:08 pmdigitral.. no more bebe liao lah...
No problem .
hahhaa always forget Bebe change name and change owner edi XD
ok change edi thanks !

TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 01:34 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Sep 20 2007, 01:32 PM)
digitral........is jason86.not jason85 la...........haha.................
correction edi....
because u less active at thread mar..so forget la...
post more pic of ur Toro =')

TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 01:42 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

Jason ,
If u free post more pic of ur Toro , wanna see Toro pic which is after groomed look icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanksss flex.gif

so how's Toro laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Digitral: Sep 20 2007, 01:43 PM
TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 01:59 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Sep 20 2007, 01:53 PM)
sorry ah........now abit busy cos having exam......but i will try my best to be active in here.........

toRo now good.......better.....haha.....post toro's pic later..........cos dont know y very hard to attach photo now......
Oh having exam ? no wonder didnt see u around here for few days ya.
never mind concentrate ur exam 1st icon_rolleyes.gif

Toro after grooming look very leng jai liow ar..show me leng jai toro pic later when u free ya . Thanks ! smile.gif

TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 02:12 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Sep 20 2007, 02:03 PM)
cry.gif mochi-->yaya...........now his name is toro d............

digitral--> i try to post the pic.....but very hard.......maybb will post it later.........actually after grooming.toro look more tidy....
but still look the same.....cos he very playfull..wanna comb him.oso hard.... cry.gif  try to bite the comb sommore flex.gif

Added on September 20, 2007, 2:07 pm

i think so kua....but he always garu here.garu there.....dont know got tick o not leh........haiz.......

only 2 days no bath...today start smelly d..........so just now i just use water wash his leg,mouth,n his butt...............damn hard to clean him..run here run there.cannot duduk diam diam one......bath him until all my pant oso wet..... wink.gif
no problem , take ur time upload Toro's pictures
ya, i taking care sibling of Miki and Nana now also.
quite active too but luckily learn housebreaking very fast..just 1 day gao tim.
will automatically go toilet pee and poo...

TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 02:17 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(White Palace @ Sep 20 2007, 02:12 PM)
lust.gif Congrats on the opening!  cheers.gif
Thanks !

thumbup.gif
TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 02:18 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Sep 20 2007, 02:16 PM)
jason, where you bring toro grooming, and how much you paid?
Yalor , where u bring Toro grooming ya
icon_rolleyes.gif

TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 02:23 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Sep 20 2007, 02:18 PM)
Wahh..Nana so fast learned how to pee and poo in the toilet liao ah... Geng Ah !!! thumbup.gif
i think mayb luilui and pretty got teach her where to pee and poo oso tongue.gif girl talk la between the 3 furkids...hahaha....
yalor..surprise me...too..
the 1st day i get Nana back home then direct ask her go toilet
then she pee and poo edi .

then after tat no Miss edi , same spot and no pee/poo at my room .
yea i think LuiLui or Pretty teach her smile.gif . My manager told me Nana always simply pee and poo at his room ..
and my manager surprise tat Nana go my house stay then noe where to do bussiness edi but i ask my manager better faster move to his new home if not Nana really though my house is her house edi..then no good lor....1 month reli too long , i will ask my manager get Nana as soon as possible.

Well tat time i adopt Pretty also just use one day success her housebreaking edi.
then i think LuiLui teach her that nod.gif .

Added on September 20, 2007, 2:24 pm
QUOTE(jason86 @ Sep 20 2007, 02:20 PM)
iluv2zzz--> i go petfamily......only cost me rm 15 cos mayb i ask them dont shampoo/bath toro.......so tat y so cheap....but i just notice tat my house area here got one grooming shop...at second floor.....kelana jaya.but dont know good  or not.....
oh the kelana jaya wan...the second floor wan ..i heard before..
the logo is pet bathing inside bath tub wan right.
but i forget the name of the pet name..heard some of them say not bad de

This post has been edited by Digitral: Sep 20 2007, 02:24 PM
TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 02:26 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Sep 20 2007, 02:17 PM)
so good...me everyday must clean his poo 3 times...............morning.evening....then nite...... rclxub.gif

mayb miki teach nana how to do////
Hahaha Miki belong to iluv2zzz de ...her precious baby

anyway i think is my two furkid teach her de. because Nana will more obedient when she see my 2 furkids

TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 03:05 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Sep 20 2007, 03:00 PM)
so nonid worry..jenny not gonna to dognap copper,hepy,miki..or any other furkid..
Hahahaha why ler.
im sure lots of them aiming Copper rolleyes.gif

TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 05:38 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(lilcatty @ Sep 20 2007, 05:03 PM)
walau, u guys damn fast hand and leg larh, mm gam yuen, better post some pictures first bwahahah >D

Jade

Copper wub.gif
Catty got other Jade pic mar...i wan see Jade pics wub.gif

lol Copper cover it eye wink.gif

TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 05:45 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Sep 20 2007, 05:39 PM)
Thanks. I'll go for 3 x 2.  biggrin.gif

Btw, where is Petbuddy located? I tried google search but couldn't find.
pet buddy station Add :
9A,jalan ss24/11 , 47301 taman megah , PJ , selangor Darul Ehsan.
tel/fax :03 78804648
email : petbuddystation@hotmail.com

if u noe ming tien food court at where then u will know how 2 go there edi ...it's near pet family and ming tien food court . but pet buddy is located at 1st floor but u can easily seen a pet shop there ...because the display window is using clear glass , u can see through inside there wink.gif

This post has been edited by Digitral: Sep 20 2007, 05:46 PM
TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 05:59 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Sep 20 2007, 05:56 PM)
Ming Tien, quite near to Lim Kok Wing right? Any other branches? If not I think I'll stick with PetFamily, it's very near from my place.  tongue.gif
Hmmm...yea...cannot say quite near to lim kok wing
but the pet buddy is near to tmn megah @ ming tien foodcourt and pet family.... icon_rolleyes.gif

TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 06:10 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Sep 20 2007, 06:05 PM)
All MS owner, do you give your MS fan/aircond/nothing?? I wonder if Miki will hot if I do not switch on the fan for her... she sleeps outside near the kitchen, I sleep in my room. I think she loves aircond/cold place... I can see sometimes she enjoy sleeping right at the door of my room during the day time (I on aircond when I sleep at night, so the room remaining cool)... but I can't let her sleep in my room, because if I close the door when I sleep, she is force to pee/poo in my room...
Hmmm...normally if night time after 8pm i will on my air cond .
if no air cond will open fan all the time . the fan is special for my two furkid when me and my gf not around in the room with toilet door open. because my gf worry they will feel hot or sumthing .

TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 06:16 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Sep 20 2007, 06:13 PM)
Not very familiar with PJ areas, the areas that I usually go to are SS2, Damansara Jaya (KDU that area), 1U, IKEA, Centerpoint, Kelana Jaya.

Offtopic: The SS3 western food still there ah?  tongue.gif

Added on September 20, 2007, 6:15 pm

Waa, this one I need to learn from you all, else soon there will be a bald pup.  tongue.gif
Hahahah ic...then u can go to the pet shop which is convenient to u icon_rolleyes.gif
yea lots of people know how 2 1u / ikea there wan XD

erm , ss3 western food ? got address ?

Added on September 20, 2007, 6:19 pm
QUOTE(zeist @ Sep 20 2007, 06:13 PM)
Not very familiar with PJ areas, the areas that I usually go to are SS2, Damansara Jaya (KDU that area), 1U, IKEA, Centerpoint, Kelana Jaya.

Offtopic: The SS3 western food still there ah?  tongue.gif

Added on September 20, 2007, 6:15 pm

Waa, this one I need to learn from you all, else soon there will be a bald pup.  tongue.gif
hahha like Hun@crazymouse always said .
Learn from mistake , if groom wrong , then wait till grow back Haha icon_rolleyes.gif
but Syrian method really good oso , she let people groom 1 time 1st , then know the idea how 2 groom edi then she groom and trim lor...

well but syrian know wanna let her Hepy grow long hair..i wanna see Hepy with long hair look ... wub.gif

This post has been edited by Digitral: Sep 20 2007, 06:19 PM
TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 06:35 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Sep 20 2007, 06:29 PM)
Address ah? I don't know. I only know that its at this kopitiam beside a Shell station. Cheap western food. Chicken Chop RM5, Lamb chop RM6. That was long time ago.  tongue.gif

Some places they don't let you to see how they trim, but I will try to talk to them.  tongue.gif
well i guess every pet salon will not teach customer how 2 groom ...
because they wanna earn money =')

syrian send her Hepy grooming before , but just one time ..then after that hepy got the shape and Syrian get the idea how 2 groom icon_rolleyes.gif

actually my gf got try groom luilui with the horse look...hahha i cant stop laughing ...because it look weird with luilui look due to it ear is not cropped right.Beside that style will be look nice on male ...look like punk laugh.gif ..so it doesn't look like a horse XD

anyway dun have the idea where is the ss3 western food wo...but the price very cheap =')
if i know i will go and eat the western food icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Digitral: Sep 20 2007, 06:36 PM
TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 08:34 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Sep 20 2007, 07:43 PM)
Hey..i have a MS too .. lol ...
Long time didn't groom her dy. (i am broke, who wanna sponsor whistling.gif)

attached pictures are taken .. erm 6-8 months ago
Welcome to the Ms family =')
ur girlgirl really cute wub.gif

Added on September 20, 2007, 8:36 pm
QUOTE(lilcatty @ Sep 20 2007, 07:03 PM)
lol kalvin, here's other Jade's picture xD

and yenlu ar, i always on my fan to max whenever i go out to class, know Copper sure will beh tahan the heat lol, and aircon when i'm at home lurh biggrin.gif
Thanks Catty .
can see through pic that Jade very huge oh
but she is lovely XD

This post has been edited by Digitral: Sep 20 2007, 08:36 PM
TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 08:53 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(lilcatty @ Sep 20 2007, 08:43 PM)
haha no prob, but the only prob with Jade is her moustache will never be as white as LuiLui's one xD used so many whitening stuffs also useless hahaha xD
Catty ,
really got whitening cream wan a...
Hahaha...
never mind lor, as long as Jade is healthy and hapy ...her moustache brownish oso nvm de
but she is lovely wub.gif when jade will come Kl ya Haha

Thx for always praise LuiLui moutache white wub.gif

This post has been edited by Digitral: Sep 20 2007, 08:54 PM
TSDigitral
post Sep 20 2007, 08:58 PM

Full Capdase Product
7,578 posts

QUOTE(angelgurl_nee @ Sep 20 2007, 08:56 PM)
the cheras groomer oso say got this type of whitening cream one..
its like a gel one but when i wanted to see he was out of stock dy...wait nex month when i bring mikey for grooming oni see can snap some pics of the product or not  wink.gif
I see, because i know there Ms which is bring for dog show need to apply whitening cream to make the moutache / beard look more white ...Wondering how it look like. Hehe if u can snap some pics of the product then good , let us have a look XD Thanks Jenny icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on September 20, 2007, 9:00 pm
QUOTE(lilcatty @ Sep 20 2007, 08:57 PM)
hahaha jenny, but still Jade is 2 yrs+ older than Copper LOL! if he dont mind Jade become his wife then okays geh hahahah! and yealerh, because my sis always buy unisex clothes for Jade, but cute also LOL xD

lol not cream lerh kalvin, something like a shampoo but it's whitening one xD the shampoo color quite eerie lorh, sharp darker blue liquid >_< and Jade's not coming over KL d lurh, since she went back to sabah from KL xD soon Copper also have to go back also..
ic , though u saying whitening Gel hehehe....cuz i heard some people say apply whitening gel or what make Ms's beard look more white but some of them say not effective wan XD

huh ? Copper have to go back Sabah oso ? u ler ????
u have to went back oso ar ....
stay Kl bah...

This post has been edited by Digitral: Sep 20 2007, 09:00 PM

29 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0467sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:42 AM