MSI laptop upgrades

TSmoonsatelite
post Jan 18 2022, 07:43 PM, updated 4y ago

737 posts

Hi Lads and Lasses, my cousin recently bought a MSI Bravo 15 laptop and wishes to have more RAM by installing another 8GB stick to make it a 16GB machine, however both of us are looking at the "Factory Seal" sticker and scratching our heads wondering if the laptop will be considered tampered if we tear the sticker off.

Any owners of a MSI laptop here?

This post has been edited by moonsatelite: Jan 18 2022, 07:45 PM
c64
post Jan 18 2022, 07:47 PM

711 posts

You peel off sticker, MSI can reject your warranty if shit hits fan.
Ludwig.
post Jan 18 2022, 07:48 PM

LOOOL
539 posts

try peeling the sticker to see if you can re paste it without it looking out of place

if yes, then just do it
if no, then you can actually still do it if you want
SUSCincai lar
post Jan 18 2022, 07:52 PM

113 posts

if your laptop got seal means your ram is not upgrade-able,.. it's solder on,.. not plug in,..
Brotherjoe
post Jan 18 2022, 07:55 PM

2,216 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Jan 18 2022, 07:43 PM)
Hi Lads and Lasses, my cousin recently bought a MSI Bravo 15 laptop and wishes to have more RAM by installing another 8GB stick to make it a 16GB machine, however both of us are looking at the "Factory Seal" sticker and scratching our heads wondering if the laptop will be considered tampered if we tear the sticker off.

QUOTE(c64 @ Jan 18 2022, 07:47 PM)
You peel off sticker, MSI can reject your warranty if shit hits fan.
Yolo or stay with warranty
If stay with warranty then use Virtual ram lor..
thales.of.miletus
post Jan 18 2022, 07:56 PM

94 posts

No issues with warranty on ram upgrade for my msi laptop.

But that was 10 years ago. GE620DX.

Even participated in their program to upgrade the screen to full HD biggrin.gif

Dunno now though.
PJng
post Jan 18 2022, 07:56 PM

12,053 posts

I don think upgrade RAM Void warranty, even you broke that seal
Many year ago i send my pc warranty, no problem at all, i broke seal because add RAM

Edit, is acer desktop, send to highpoint

This post has been edited by PJng: Jan 18 2022, 08:29 PM
azbro
post Jan 18 2022, 08:00 PM

4,403 posts

Kecian, my office i5 11gen 8Gb lappy significantly slower than my i5 5 gen 16gb old junk during start up. Both also using SSD

Nowadays 16gb is the way to go.
PJng
post Jan 18 2022, 08:02 PM

12,053 posts

Just google search, not sure apply on Malaysia or not

https://www.notebookcheck.net/MSI-should-re...s.445921.0.html

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?threads/...ry-seal.302869/
zerorating
post Jan 18 2022, 08:11 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

contact the manufacturer first before doing anything.
last time i ask acer whether i can upgrade ram myself and they said no problem as long no obvious physical impact on the notebook.
a year after i made rma claim and no problem claiming the warranty.

my dell laptop dont even have this warranty void sticker somemore.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Jan 18 2022, 08:12 PM
pipedream
post Jan 18 2022, 08:16 PM

2,353 posts

msi = tear off warranty sticker auto void

very bunga chibai company

edit: this is in response to a question i sent if i can change my graphic card thermal pads

This post has been edited by pipedream: Jan 18 2022, 08:16 PM
funnyTONE
post Jan 18 2022, 08:28 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

This is why MSI is in my ban list.
Overpriced shit with poor cs.
taiko8148
post Jan 18 2022, 08:31 PM

179 posts

Just download more ram…
eidrag
post Jan 18 2022, 08:36 PM

242 posts

other countries maybe break seal still can apply warranties depend on case
FusionXY
post Jan 18 2022, 08:45 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

MSI = Missing System Information.
Trees
post Jan 18 2022, 08:54 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jan 18 2022, 08:45 PM)

PJng
post Jan 18 2022, 08:56 PM

12,053 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jan 18 2022, 08:45 PM)
LOL, never think like this
krayden
post Jan 18 2022, 09:20 PM

578 posts

According to msi website, the bravo 15 has 2 sodimm slots. So it is upgradable.
You can ask msi if it affects your warranty or ask them if THEY can upgrade your ram without affecting warranty but that would probably cost more.
thewan
post Jan 18 2022, 10:36 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Jan 18 2022, 07:43 PM)

Warranty terms depend on the country. Why don't you ask MSI forums or contact customer support at MSI yourself if you are really worried about the warranty status. You can email customer support, and if they reply stating that you don't void your warranty, you can use that as proof when you send in your laptop for warranty and MSI ask for proof.
If they reply that you void your warranty, theres your answer. In this case, up to you if you want to take the risk of voiding your warranty to upgrade your laptop.
Another option, bring your laptop and the components that you want to upgrade to (ram/ssd/whatever) to their service center. They will charge a service fee to upgrade but keep your warranty intact, it might be worth it.

Theres no point asking random ppl in /K. Imagine we say no problem, then later you send in for warranty to MSI and cite /K as proof that warranty still valid. Would they care? If I was their technician, I won't care what /K ppl say, company policy > /K.

This post has been edited by thewan: Jan 18 2022, 10:38 PM
patienceGNR
post Jan 18 2022, 10:39 PM

♥ Ride All Day ♥
2,058 posts

If you're afraid of voiding the warranty, go to their service centre and request them to install it instead. biggrin.gif
azbro
post Jan 18 2022, 11:20 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Jan 18 2022, 10:39 PM)
If you're afraid of voiding the warranty, go to their service centre and request them to install it instead. biggrin.gif
Must be double the price and take a month to do it.
FusionXY
post Jan 18 2022, 11:25 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

Last time my friend got Acer Laptop.
Void Sticker on top of screw hole to remove cover for upgrade RAM.
FusionXY
post Jan 18 2022, 11:26 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(Trees @ Jan 18 2022, 08:54 PM)

This, my ex friend recommend this BS stuff.

QUOTE(PJng @ Jan 18 2022, 08:56 PM)
LOL, never think like this
brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
Trees
post Jan 18 2022, 11:31 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jan 18 2022, 11:26 PM)
This, my ex friend recommend this BS stuff.
brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
no longer fren kah? my fren recommend me alt+f4 only
KopiChia
post Jan 18 2022, 11:38 PM

1,779 posts

Be careful with msi they use same service center as acer and I think ZTE.

Also out of warranty repair is equivalent to chopping your arms and legs. I kena when my 6 month old gaming laptop is mobo fried frm water dmg.
FusionXY
post Jan 19 2022, 12:11 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(Trees @ Jan 18 2022, 11:31 PM)
no longer fren kah? my fren recommend me alt+f4 only
LOLX.
This was my primary or secondary friend.
He move to other schools already that's why I called it ex
ShadowR1
post Jan 19 2022, 12:20 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

Sent it in to msi for the upgrade.
wenching82
post Jan 19 2022, 12:25 AM

MSI got apple laptop?
netmatrix
post Jan 19 2022, 12:43 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Jan 18 2022, 07:52 PM)
if your laptop got seal means your ram is not upgrade-able,.. it's solder on,.. not plug in,..
Eh.... can lar if he has this model. 16GB x 2 some more.

https://www.crucial.com/compatible-upgrade-.../bravo-15-a4ddr

Anyway about this warranty sticker thing some company will honor the warranty even if seal is broken. Just say you bought laptop that time shop upgrade during purchase. Usually manufacturer will honor the warranty. If not tribunal la what else? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by netmatrix: Jan 19 2022, 12:47 AM
freakenstein
post Jan 19 2022, 02:33 AM

2,239 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Jan 18 2022, 07:52 PM)
Not necessarily , Acer nitro 5 or other models also does this but ram upgradeable.

0.0291sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:20 AM